Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Teatro Grottesco
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon November 21, 2008
Impressed enough by the Ligotti work I've seen in anthologies devoted to following up on H. P. Lovecraft's Cthulhu Mythos, I bought this anthology.

Is Ligotti a Lovecraftian writer? Well, based on this collection - and I have no idea how representative it is - yes and no. There are no explicit Lovecraftian allusions in this collection - no references to the forbidden books, nightmare locations, and mysterious entities created by Lovecraft and those adding to the Mythos. Yet, the pre-eminent, most important aspect of Lovecraft's work, "cosmic horror", the "infinite terror and dreariness" of existence, as one story here puts it, is shared by Ligotti.

Yet, that horror is expressed in vaguer and more general terms than in Lovecraft. In one of his stories, the horrific revelation is one of man's hidden evolutionary past, miscegenation in a family's past, the existence of alien races. The revelation at the end of a Ligotti story is rarely so specific.

And their prose differs. The scientific references in a Lovecraft story are not here. The technological trappings of a Lovecraft story frequently link it to its time of composition. Ligotti's stories are noticeably lacking in any specific technological reference. An "audiotape" is the most time specific reference there is. Otherwise, they could be set almost anytime during the 20th century. Ligotti's prose reminded me more of Lovecraft's idol, Poe, than Lovecraft. Always told in the first person, they frequently deal with odd psychological states and fixations. The notion of the alternate self, the doppelganger as pioneered by Poe in his "William Wilson", also shows up a lot.

In fact, if one wanted to be snarky, you could say Ligotti was a writer of bloated prose, stories almost always told in the same way, ending usually with some horrible revelation of malevolent, vague cosmic forces, a recycler of the images of dilapidated buildings and towns, abandoned factories, clowns and puppets, and intestinal viruses. In short, Ligotti's not a storyteller telling many tales in many ways, but a writer obsessively telling the same story the same way.

Yet, when that story is worth telling and told well, that sort of writer is also called an artist. And, by that definition, Ligotti is an artist.

What might seem, on a quick reading, bloated prose with frequent repetition of the same phrases and the same details of event and character, is not exactly poetry but it is incantory, akin to the repetition often found in writing for children. But here, rather than a child, it is adults introduced to a world of horrible wonder, the world of "the icy bleakness of things". The use of those recurring images is varied enough not to bore - though I can see some readers perhaps wanting to ration themselves an occasional Ligotti story rather than gulping them down all at once. And Ligotti is consistently, even more than Lovecraft, a writer of weird, not horror, fiction. The rewards of each are different.

Ligotti groups his 13 stories into three sections - Derangements, Deformations, and the Damaged and Diseased. These classifications are a bit too general to provide a sense of the collection.

Two of Ligotti's best stories deal with the world of work. In "The Town Manager", we are told of the mysterious disappearances of a town's unelected, unrequested town managers, each of which institute reforms which hasten the town's decay. "Our Temporary Supervisor" has the narrator in a meaningless job detailing how a new employee, in collusion with a new, horribly undefined and unseen supervisor, transforms a factory job into virtually round the clock enslavement via social pressure. While it is tempting to see these stories as commentaries on politics and capitalism, I think Ligotti has just set his existential horror in a more recognizable, specific setting.

The Quine Corporation is the force behind the latter story and is also mentioned in "My Case for Retributive Action". The title brings to mind the opening of Poe's "The Casque of Amontillado" and the plot Kafka's "Metamorphoses". The story seems to share the same vague setting, near the border of an unnamed country, with "In a Foreign Town, In a Foreign Land". In this collection of four first person accounts obliquely gazing the horror encroaching on a town, Lovecraft fans may strain to see echoes of the master's "The Festival" and "The Shadow Over Innsmouth".

The technique of multiple accounts in one story also shows up, as an artist's vignettes rather than recollections of characters, in "Sideshow, and Other Stories". It is an interesting story of trying to compare our world to an unknown order which may or may not exist, but compounded ambiguities make it a failure. Also, in the failed category, is "The Clown Puppet". The titular figure and his attached strings are a metaphor for unseen forces. But the image is too common, and the plot not very compelling.

"Purity" is another strong story. Rather than demolishing a vague and general notion of existence and replacing it with some general, nihilistic notion of cosmic reality, this story attacks the universal human anchors and consolations of country, faith, and family. The child narrator's father is up to something creepy in the basement - but Ligotti neatly surprises us with what that horror is and then throws in another hint about what the rest of the family has been up to. "The Red Tower" is the most Poe like story in its prose which recounts the odd appearance, history, and function of an abandoned factory. "Teatro Grottesco" has a writer seeking out a mysterious cabal that strips artists of their creative impulses and powers. Like so many stories in this collection, its narrator ultimately embraces the maleovelent forces that are revealed. This is also the first of four stories in the collection's last section that feature physical distress, specifically gastrointestinal distress, as a revelatory ordeal. "Gas Station Carnivals" is all right as a story but is mostly interesting for the delusional details of the title attraction. "The Bungalow Horror" combines a Poe-like doppelganger with "Teatro Grottesco"'s notion of destroyed artist. It is also something of a rumination of what people get out of writers like Lovecraft and Ligotti - and how the art serves its creators. "Severini" is the most physical story and the story whose images most evoke Lovecraft. Actually, its glimpses of a priesthood of Tantric Medicine on an island near the Philippines using dysentery as a tool of enlightenment reminded me of one of Lovecraft's favorite stories - A. Merritt's "The Moon Pool". "The Shadow, the Darkness" is a powerful story that, in its horrific insistence on humans as only bodies, tools for the Tsalal (evidently, recurring entitites in Ligotti's works) raises questions of free will and cosmic parasitism.
1414 comments| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2008
I am a relative newcomer to Thomas Ligotti, but I love his work. Evocative and cerebral, his stories conjure feelings of dread and surreal alienation. I think this is why H. P. Lovecraft is so often mentioned in connection with Ligotti; their styles are vastly different, but work the same empty and dimly-lit back alleys of our emotional cores.

I believe this is the only Ligotti book currently in print, and it is only the second I have read (after "The Shadow at the Bottom of the World"). Like a lot of short story collections, some stories appear in more than one book, and there are indeed a few in here that were included in "...Shadow...", but "Teatro Grottesco" is still well worth the cover price.

A few of the stories take place in a shared setting, near the foreboding border of a country controlled by an omnipresent company. Far from cyberpunk sci-fi, these stories have a rich old-fashioned tinge, and are some of my favorites.

If you tend to be attracted to things dark and offbeat, you owe it to yourself to check out Thomas Ligotti.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2010
I've always been drawn to strange things, and this includes books. One day I was at the local bookstore, and saw Teatro Grottesco on a display. I'm always wary of books that appear strange, as I'm usually disappointed. This time however, I can say without a doubt it has been the best book purchase I have ever made.

Every story in this book, for me, was an absolute delight. Not a single story has failed to give me the unsettling and atmospheric quality I seek. Maybe you are looking for the same, maybe you aren't.

In Ligotti's tales, I have found a disturbing familiarity, and perhaps this is why I keep going back over and over. Although not all may appreciate this brilliant body of work, there exist those that will find themselves deeply affected by these tales.

For the price, you cannot beat this book. If you are a lover of strange tales, and if you are anything like me, you may find yourself re-reading it when you have new books staring at you from your bookshelf.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2014
This book is different from a lot of horror. I don't mean to say it is better or worse but some horror fans will like it and some will hate it.

Some stories are driven by plot or character or even mood. Ligotti's stories - in this collection at least - seems to be driven by a world-view. He focuses on different aspects of this world-view in different stories but the main character is in all of them not a person or a monster but a conception of the world which speaks through people, places, things, creatures.

Here are some examples of what I mean.

The social/interpersonal aspects of this world-view are highlighted in "Purity"

"The Clown Puppet" delves into the psychological aspects of Ligotti's world-view

"The Red Tower" is about ontology. In a very odd way it is the only story I can think of where existence itself is a character. It was an unsettling experience for me.

"Our Temporary Supervisor" is about the nature of work.

"The Bungalow House" is the most interesting of the book for me. In another of Ligotti's books - "The Conspiracy Against the Human Race" - which I have yet to finish so I may not accurately capture his thoughts here - he makes use of the idea of sublimation which he borrows from Peter Wessel Zapffe. I am probably going to oversimplify this but basically Zapffe/Ligotti believe all of humanity is running from certain basic facts of existence. In a very subtle move, one of the ways we run from this knowledge is to write about/make movies about/sing about the very facts we are trying to escape from and thereby we exert some measure of control over them - albeit in a false and dishonest way. In this story Ligotti demonstrates the paradox in a vivid fashion.

Sublimation - as Zapffe uses the term - reminds me of all the European philosophers I read in college who talk about nothingness as if you could experience it. But talking about it so quickly turns into a verbal game that just puts more distance between you and what you're talking about - or rather the nothing that you aren't talking about.

Taken as a whole, Teatro Grottesco is probably the book that comes closer than any I've read to capturing the quality of a fever dream. Some other stories and novels come close - some of Laird Barron's stories for example - but none I've read capture it as well as this collection. If you like weird, unsettling dreams you will probably enjoy this book.

I will give this warning, though. It can be an exhausting book. I wouldn't want it to be the only book I had on a long plane ride, for example. It is worth it, though.

Ligotti uses the phrase "bland malevolence" in one of the stories. This seems to be the key to understanding this book. Malevolence is so common place in Ligotti's world - if only we hand the eyes to see it - that it is the bland, the mundane, the norm. We just ignore the bland malevolence. And that is why we need to read Teatro Grottesco. We need reminders, not new knowledge.

But the knowledge is rather pointless. Talking about meaninglessness or even writing great books about it is just a dodge as the narrator of "The Bungalow House" and the narrator of "The Shadow, The Darkness" also realize - eventually.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Teatro Grottesco is Thomas Ligotti's fifth collection, containing tales written throughout his career. Almost all of Ligotti's fiction is an attack on the same lines, a slander against just about everything in our world. Still, Ligotti is not an author content to repeat himself; his various stories approach his thematic mission in their own way. It's honestly debatable whether this is a horror collection at all, at least in the traditional sense. Monsters are almost wholly absent, and the suffering and violence present here is almost never the point of the stories and often takes place in the periphery if it's shown at all. But this is certainly a Ligotti collection, in many ways the fulfillment of the promise, the broadening of the vision, displayed in Songs of a Dead Dreamer. Teatro Grottesco is the author at the height of his powers, filling the reader with both awe and dread as the collection goes on.

Ligotti's name is rarely mentioned without Lovecraft's also coming up in the conversation. The comparison is apt, but where Lovecraft strove to render humanity irrelevant when compared to the vastness of the cosmos and time, Ligotti seeks to attack us as individuals. Lovecraft's ancient vistas and sunken cities are here replaced by industrial districts and offices, slums and small towns, corner cafes and backroom art exhibits. Ligotti's work is precision targeted, built to attack and not bothering to sustain itself once its point is conveyed. The work in this collection is inimical and difficult to grasp, half-created oddities rendered seductive by flowing prose and immaculately stained atmospheres.

The opening story, Purity, perhaps best displays the almost unfinished nature of much of Ligotti's work. The elements are all present, but they're assembled out of order and connections are often pushed into the shadows and difficult to spot. The story seems, at first, to be about the narrator's father and his bizarre experiments. In actuality, however, the supernatural elements of the story are merely a red herring, a tangent to absorb the reader's attention while Ligotti hits us in the back with a killing blow. Unlike many of Ligotti's stories, the narrator is not a loner, and dialogue and relationships play a large role in the tale. Those various characters drift offstage as the story closes, leaving the tale's meaning buried in brief pockets of exposition and a single off hand comment.

Many of the first section, Derangements, are similarly fragmentary. We are shown glimpses and images, brought into the picture when events are already well in motion but nowhere yet near ending. The Clown Puppet is one such story, a visit by the demon on strings that heralds all things in the narrator's life. The Red Tower, too, is generally devoid of traditional structure. It is, I think, the pure essence of Ligotti's beliefs and style. It's a story without a single human element save for the off stage narrator, a parable for all existence written with moments of sly humor near-drowned under impersonal and inevitable imagery:

"I can certainly picture a time before the existence of the factor, before any of its features blemished the featureless country that extended so gray and so desolate on every side. Dreaming upon the grayish desolation of that landscape, I also find it quite easy to imagine that there might have occurred a lapse in the monumental tedium, a spontaneous and inexplicable impulse to deviate from a dreary perfection, perhaps even an unconquerable desire to risk a move toward a tempting defectiveness. As a concession to this impulse or desire out of nowhere, as a minimal surrender, a creation took place and a structure took form where there had been nothing of its kind before." (p. 79, The Red Tower)

Sideshow and Other Stories is one of the two tales in the collection that is more mosaic than united narrative. Our protagonist, a writer temporarily unable to create, meets another writer in a café. The mainstay of the tale is five unconnected vignettes penned by the other, older writer. Where many writers go through extravagant lengths to insist mid story that the transpiring events are real, Ligotti openly takes us through flights of fancy within imaginary settings, tales told by fictional people about fictional things that lose none of their impact from their incorporeality. Fiction is not rare within the author's fiction. Ligotti's work makes its impact from its ideas, from convincing you that it is describing your reality, not from the actual nuts and bolts of its own construction.

Two of Ligotti's "Corporate Horror" stories begin the second section, Deformations. In addition to the two stories here, I'd add The Town Manager from the first section to the list of the collection's corporate horror; though it does not share the setting of the other two, it uses the same general techniques to establish the same feel.

The Town Manager depicts a small town where all work is assigned and directed by a Manager. As managers appear and disappear, the town disintegrates and the jobs grow bizarre, grueling, and reward-less. The disappearance of the first manager in the story is marked by the townspeople's obsession with the Manager's light bulb. Throughout the collection, characters fixate on either small details or seemingly insignificant objects, unable to look away while the world changes around them.
The surreal imagery and disquieting oddities of the town are excellently depicted, but it's the stories climax - the realization that there is no escape possible, and that the narrator's town is only remarkable in how open it is in its purposeless manipulation - that cements the tale's power

My Case for Retributive Action is one of the collection's strongest tales. The narrator is a nervous and broken individual from over the border, forced to work for the Quine Corporation to afford the medicine that he needs to keep functioning. The doctors, however, all work for the Quine corporation, as does everyone else on this side of the border (and, perhaps, on the other), and there's no escape possible once the job is taken on. The familiar odors of cigarettes are banned in Quine's storefront offices, while the smell of pickles permeates everything, further hammering home the senselessness of it all. Like in many of Ligotti's stories, My Case for Retributive Action is plagued with a slippery and untrustworthy timescale, here crystallized with the "indefinite hours" that govern the schedules of Quine's workers, those working in a workplace that (like ours?) has come to not only dominate, not only define, but become their lives.

The final corporate horror story, Our Temporary Supervisor, is one of the two stories in the collection that I found lacking. Like in the prior tale, our narrator takes what he assumes to be a temporary job with the Quine corporation, viewing the work as an unfortunate stepping stone on his way to bigger and better things (though what those bigger and better things are is as unknown to us as it is to him, a vagueness that many of Ligotti's narrator's goals seem to share). At the beginning, the corporation seems almost normal, but, as we progress, the emergence of the indefinite hours and endlessly frantic pace of the previous story emerges, and the narrator's attempts to distance himself from the system are inconsequential in the face of its inescapable, unguided, and unnecessary productivity.

And yet, the very inevitability of the story plays against it. Deprived of even the possibility of another outcome, the monotony of ceaseless work becomes - well, monotonous. The supernatural aspect of the story, the temporary supervisor of the title that waits in a seemingly empty office as a "dark ripple" that may or may not have "arm protrusions" and "head protrusions" (p. 115, Our Temporary Supervisor), is an initially interesting image but ultimately feels undeveloped and never manages to instill a sense of fear or unease. In the end, Our Temporary Supervisor is somewhat interesting but wholly lacking in emotion, retreading the ground of the prior two corporate stories without making half of their impact.

The final story of the second section is In A Foreign Town, In A Foreign Land, the second of the two mosaic stories, previously published as its own collection of four stories. This is the most abstract piece of the entire collection, almost wholly devoid of actual motion or characterization, instead relying almost wholly on language and ambiance. The four interconnected stories are about a "northern border town" (the same border that was crossed in the Quine stories?) that seems to lie between death and life.

Names take on a very special significance here, as they do in many of the other stories in the collection. Especially in the first story, His Shadow Shall Rise to a Higher House, the people of the town seem to understand the world around them only through names, through attempts to quantify the unknown into the manageable and easily identifiable. Epithets abound here, characters introduced through their prior deeds without the slightest hint of what lies within them.

IAFTIAFL is about what's beyond. Beyond the setting and the rare recurring character, the stories are united only by their mood. The stories each approach that theme in different ways and with different central characters, while just what is beyond is itself shifting. These are expository in nature, contemplation and "metaphysical lectures" drifting about a core established by vivid and bizarre imagery:

"Now I could see the parade approaching. From the far end of the gray, tunnel-like street, the clown creature strolled in its loose white garments, his egg-shaped head scanning the high houses on either side. As the creature passed beneath my window it looked up at me for a moment with that same expression of bland malevolence, and then passed on. Following this figure was the formation of ragged men harnessed by ropes to a cage-like vehicle that rolled along on wooden wheels. Countless objects, many more than I saw the previous day, clattered against the bars of the cage. The grotesque inventory now included bottles of pills that rattled with the contents inside them, shining scalpels and instruments for cutting through bones, needles and syringes stuck together and hung like ornaments on a Christmas tree, and a stethoscope that had been looped about the decapitated dog's head. The wooden stakes of the caged platform wobbled to the point breaking with the additional weight of the cast-off clutter. Because there was no roof covering this cage, I could see down into it form my window. But there was nothing inside, at least for the moment." (p. 161-2, A Soft Voice Whispers Nothing]

The final section, The Damaged and the Diseased, contains more traditionally Ligotti stories, but these tales are polished to an artistic sheen, at once beautiful and terrifying. This story cycle of overlapping themes and hidden artistic societies is one of anticlimaxes. In each story, Ligotti manages to both chillingly evoke a subtle and powerful menace - a conspiracy, a monster preying on artists, a hidden master - with sufficient skill as to render those surface stories excellent on their own. And then he goes further, deconstructing everything about the tale in just such a way that, as the last visages of storytelling crumble before your eyes, you realize that your life is just as destitute, as meaningless and hopeless, as that of the cycle's narrators.

Throughout the collection, Ligotti revels in repetition, many of his stories endlessly circling the same phrases and images, unable to escape, building to an inevitable climax like water circling a drain - though a sewage pipe might be a more fitting image. This repetition shows itself in almost every story of this section, but it's Severeni that truly epitomizes the technique, building to a fever pitch in its final pages. The entirety of the final cycle too has a rhythm, one formed of recurring themes and personalities - if not names - and it's one where the familiar is felt to always be lurking just out of sight, never to appear.

As I said earlier, the tales in this collection are more complete, presenting us with problems and characters and bringing situations to a head in a way that those of the first section and I A Foreign Town, In A Foreign Land so pointedly neglect to do. All the same, these are probably the most depressing of the Ligotti stories that I've read. Purity undermines the things that bind us together, but these tales eventually undermine everything that makes us who we are as our various narrators strive to better themselves, their quests (unsurprisingly) ending in a failure as crushing as it was unavoidable. The title story savages artistic aspirations; Gas Station Carnivals (my favorite of the collection) memory, our sense of self, and those around us; The Bungalow House our fundamental ability to form any meaningful relationships with the people in our lives; Severini our own person; and, finally, The Shadow, The Darkness our motivations and consciousness, our world. The stories each attack a different aspect of us, striving to leave us, in the end, forced to conclude, as the narrator of The Bungalow House does:

"First, that there was nowhere for you to go; second, that there was nothing for you to do; and third, that there was no one for you to know." (p. 238)

Though there is more action here than in prior sections, the stories are still primarily tales of mood and atmosphere. Up until its conclusion, The Bungalow House is a story delivered through artwork, the "Metaphyischal Lectures" fluttering on pamphlets in the northern border town of In a Foreign Town, In a Foreign Land the stars of the story. Gas Station Carnivals, too, is centered on imagery, on a series of bizarre festivals in isolated gas stations, one of the many almost comically absurd images in the collection that are rendered vivid by Ligotti's prose.

In the collection's title story, the narrator remarks: "Suffering through the days and nights of an illness, especially an intestinal virus, one becomes highly conscious of certain realities, as well as highly sensitive to the functions of these realities, which otherwise are not generally subject to prolonged attention or meditation." (p. 191, Teatro Grottesco) Illnesses, both intestinal and otherwise, plague Ligotti's various narrators. The final section is rife with them, some discomfort time and time again either the symptom or cause of a worldview profoundly delusional falling away.

Earlier in the collection, other ailments play a similar role. Frequently, as the supernatural becomes more pronounced, Ligotti's narrators try and compensate by becoming more and more focused on the mundane, the mechanical. As the metaphysical visitation at the heart of The Clown Puppet builds, for instance, our viewpoint character finds himself almost hypnotized by inanities: "[I] looked away from its pale and pasty clown face and its dead puppet eyes, gazing instead through the medicine-shop window and focusing on the sign in the window of the meat store across the street. Over and over I read the words BEEF-PORK-GOAT, BEEF-PORK-GOAT, filling my head with meat nonsense, which was infinitely less outrageous than the puppet nonsense which I now confronted." (p. 65, The Clown Puppet)

The Shadow, The Darkness is the capstone of the collection, one of Ligotti's longest stories, and several of its scenes are horribly powerful. The ending - an out and out plot twist, a rarity in a Ligotti story - is well done, as are many of the stories images, but the tale is let down by the verbosity of its principle character, Grossvogel. Grossvogel is, to some extent, supposed to be a rambling and unfocused man, and so his lectures are not precisely out of character, but they do grind the tale's pace to a halt to such an extent that even the narrative ending is not enough to invigorate it. It's still certainly an interesting story, but it's not one nearly as powerful as those that preceded it.

As I said in the beginning of the review, Ligotti uses his varied work to approach similar themes in different ways. Interestingly enough, that concept doesn't only apply to broad story ideas. There are several aspects of work that the author has returned to time and time again, honing and refining them. In that vein, Teatro Grottesco is host to several interesting overlap with the author's nonfiction work, The Conspiracy Against the Human Race, which was released three years after the Mythos Books edition of Teatro Grottesco. In The Shadow, The Darkness our narrator finds himself conversing with the author of a manuscript called "An Investigation of the Conspiracy of the Human Race." (p. 272, The Shadow, The Darkness), and readers of The Conspiracy Against the Human Race may recognize the Bungalow House quote from a few paragraphs up ("First, that there was nowhere for you to go; second, that there was nothing for you to do; and third, that there was no one for you to know." (p. 238)) as an early version of its form in that later book: "(1) there is nothing to do; (2) there is nowhere to go; (3) there is nothing to be; (4) there is no one to know."

Such things aren't particularly important in and of themselves, but they do show - along with the revisions that Ligotti is doing for the Subterranean Press editions of his stories - that Ligotti is an artist perpetually evolving. Still, even in the midst of an upwards trend that one can only hope will continue indefinitely, there are great places reached at which one can stop, look at what's around them, and see it for the masterpiece that it is. Teatro Grottesco is Ligotti's mature, most focused and most polished collection. This volume is perhaps the most accomplished work of his career. If Subterranean Press does reissue Teatro Grottesco, I'm curious to see Ligotti's revisions, because, as it stands, Teatro Grottesco is the rare work that is almost pitch perfect, every word doing its part in weaving the author's insidious spell. This is Ligotti at his most assured and his most persuasive, essential reading both for the converted and the curious.

[Note: all page numbers from the Mythos Books hardcover edition.]
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2015
I highly recommend Teatro Grottesco as a great introduction to Ligotti. The short stories are a fantastic way to begin to wrap your head around his prose. A lot of people compare him to Lovecraft, and the vibe is definitely there. Reading his work is almost like a throwback to a different era of writing. Pages fly by without a single conversation except for the lengthy and haunting internal dialogues of the narrator. This might seem off-putting to someone who has never read anything quite like it, but you really owe it to yourself to get acquainted with this author. You will not be disappointed

I'll give an example of how his work affected me after reading the first story in this book. I finished in bed and closed the app - yes, yes, I know - I thought, "That was really good. I enjoyed that." I drifted off into dreamland with the knowledge that I had found a new author that I enjoyed. I woke at 3:30 in the morning with the story on my mind. The more I thought about it, the more terrified I became. The story became very scary for me. It had seeped into my mind while asleep and frightened and excited me like no other author has done since I first read "The Damnation Game" by Clive Barker way back in high school - a long (too long) time ago,

Do yourself a favor and read Ligotti.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2015
The author is one sick dude, which is a major compliment. Horror fiction was always fun but never truly scared me. This guy scares me. He is a master of the creepy. He makes the most basic, non-violent events seem horrifying and creepy. Bizarre stories. Unlike any other stories you will ever read. Also, the author appears to be a mental patient if you read his interviews, so it's a nice bonus to know the tales really do come from a sick mind.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
Thomas Ligotti, is certainly an interesting writer, his stories are very unique and he has a demand of the dark, creepy, weird and horrific atmosphere quite like no other horror writer. This is actually the first "total" collection of Ligotti shorts that I have read. All my other experiences have been with his stories included in compilations. As much as I love Ligotti, I have to admit, it gets to be a bit slow at times when reading his stuff back to back. But this still doesn't detract from the awesome story telling force that ligotti is.
His stories about the "Northern Border Town" and the deeply wooded, gray and dreary nature of it, remind me ALOT of where I grew up in a small town in Northern Minnesota deep within the woods.
Absolutely excellent, you like scary stories, well give him a try.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2010
-- not for the suicidal. This is my first exposure to the author's incisively bizarre imagination which is expressed in precise and clinically sterile language typical of a detached observer rather than a participant, the narration being in first person notwithstanding. The often hypnotic and, with subtle alterations, repetitive prose serves perhaps to intuit the incessant chatter within the disturbed psyche of obsessed individuals fixated on the inexplicable and abysmal nature of their perceived realities.
Reclusive oddball loners with haunting secrets of murder and unnatural repercussions (fueled by the need of some sort of vengeance by the parties involved) and hopeless treadmill wage-slaves, maintaining the system with their monotonous daily grinds at the assembly blocks or in drab storefront offices, inhabit the gloomy landscape of some godforsaken, foggy northern border town gradually fading into the bleak environment of oblivion. Occasionally, grim and seemingly indifferent clowns, a marionette puppet menacing in its persistence, and the garb of a jester/fool join the surreal parade as messengers of fate/death, as manifestations of the trickster archetype of liminality.

"Our company [Teatro Grottesco Ventures] is so much older than its own name, or any other name for that matter. (And how many it's had over the years - The Ten Thousand Things, Anima Mundi, Nethescurial.)...I go around with a trunkful of aliases, but do you think I can say who I once was really?...Possibly I was the father of Faust or Hamlet - or merely Peter Pan" (p. 180).

Featured in three short stories ('the town manager', 'my case for retributive action' and 'our temporary supervisor'), although explicitly named only in two of them, is the shadowy and dreaded Quine Organization, the all-pervading presence of which is conveyed by the writer in a tangentially Kafka-esque, Dickian fashion. It is a monopolist entity, a political as much as a commercial one, "whose interests and activities penetrate into every enterprise, both public and private,...[and] in whose employ are all the doctors [and pharmacists] on this side of the border...and perhaps also on your side" (pgs. 82, 88, 97, 99).
Common threads that run through several or all of the five stories from the last (3rd) segment dubbed 'The Damaged and the Diseased', albeit varied in articulation and intensity, are: artistic underworld, art-magic, schizophrenia/split personality, women dressed in purple/crimson/emerald green, "backstreet hospital with dated fixtures and a staff of sleepwalkers" (p. 175), and, last but not least, gastrointestinal agony induced by a sense of anxiety "to be a success at doing something and at being something" (p. 261), or by bacterial/amoebic infestation. Either way, I wonder, without revealing too much, if the hilarious and somewhat gross concluding piece ('the shadow, the darkness') is, in part, a not so veiled assessment of post-modern art.

Finally, T. Ligotti's diagnosis of the human condition is encapsulated in the following passage:

"We should give thanks...that a poverty of knowledge has so narrowed our vision of things as to allow the possibility of feeling something about them...[W]ithout the suspense that is generated by our benighted state...who could take enough interest in the universal spectacle to bring forth even the feeblest yawn, let alone exhibit the more dramatic manifestations which lend such unwonted color to a world that is essentially composed of shades of gray upon a background of blackness?...All our ecstasies, whether sacred or from the slime, depend on our refusal to be schooled in even the most superficial truths and our maddening will to follow the path of forgetfulness. Amnesia may well be the highest sacrement in the great gray ritual of existence. To know, to understand in the fullest sense, is to plunge into an enlightenment of inanity, a wintry landscape of memory whose substance is all shadows and a profound awareness of the infinite spaces surrounding us on all sides" ('a soft voice whispers nothing', pp. 143-4).

And what solution is offered as a way out of this entrapment?

"I wanted to believe that th[e] artist had escaped the dreams and demons of all sentiment in order to explore the foul and crummy delights of a universe where everything had been reduced to three stark principles: first, that there was nowhere for you to go; second, that there was nothing for you to do; and third, that there was nothing for you to know" ('the bungalow house', p. 214). In other words, non-striving and disengagement through non-attachment. Easier said than done (sigh).
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2013
"He showed them the way into the nightmare, but he could not show them the way out..." - `Teatro Grottesco'.

Surely any writer in whatever genre he or she is writing in aspires to develop and hone their own unique literary `voice', their own use of prose and storytelling technique appropriated to not only relate a tale but to do it in such a way that it is almost instantly recognizable to the adroit reader. Authors such as Edgar Allen Poe, Charles Dickens, Cormac McCarthy and Stephen King all share something of a kinship, in that their works are redolent of their signature mode of expression; they're familiar because they are identifiable in their creative methodology. Thomas Ligotti is such a writer, and unfortunately he appears to be one who has largely `slipped through the cracks' when it comes to wide recognition. His literary `voice' is similarly unique, but his popularity has, it could be argued, been marginalised by his relentlessly grim subject matter, an aspect of his fiction this reviewer will address later.

`Teatro Grottesco' is another collection of short fiction and it's another sublime cornucopia of tales that are typified by a sense of dread and anxiety. The first story here, `Purity' sets the tone for what is to follow, a solemn and unsettling vignette focused on a family that are near constantly moving from house to house due to the nature of the father's bizarre experiments in rented basements, introducing a theme that echoes throughout many of the stories to follow, that of the cyclical nature of nonsense. "Nothing that drives anybody makes any sense, if you haven't noticed that by now," one character notes and it's this notion that informs many of Ligotti's characters motivations. `The Town Manager' is centered around a municipality that exists in a state of chaotic flux, where the citizens are beholden to the god-like commands of a mysterious individual guiding them without challenge for fear of immolation or worse. "Change was the very essence of our lives" our narrator informs us. Moving from this disturbingly whimsical story Ligotti delineates a harrowing sequence of other glimpses into his thematically sinister and disquieting literary landscape. `The Red Tower' is chock full of references to a factory that produces "a line of quite morbid, quite wonderfully disgusting novelty goods" that are so repulsively creative they resonate in the mind long after you've finishing reading. A group of stories highlight an eccentrically-envisioned town whose inhabitants and story cogency that owe much to that of fever dream logic. `Gas Station Carnivals' is particularly alarming in its effectiveness to disorient and leave the reader with imagery that is quietly horrifying.

If there's a unifying sensation to be gleaned from nearly all of the tales here, it's that of mounting dread. Ligotti is not, it appears, interested in shocking the reader, more in drawing you into scenarios that are nightmarishly surreal and profoundly unsettling. His use of language however is, at times, somewhat bloated and overly intricate; indeed there's a line in the closing tale, `Severini' where our narrator recants the following slightly damning criticism of a particular character, that Ligotti the writer could himself be accused of, "our minds were numbed by all the verbal build-up that had led to this moment of unveiling". There is a definite tendency on the author's part to stray into overly verbose and tediously exact diction at times that has the effect of over emphasizing his narrative intent and makes for a wearying reading experience.

Ligotti has often been compared to Lovecraft, not in the sense that the author is utilizing any of the cosmic-horror mythos popularized by the New England born fantasist, but in his creation of his own curiously realized literary universe. If anything this author has much more in common with Poe and Franz Kafka in his prose style and the storytelling manner in which he explores his own `pet' concepts. There's a marked sense of dislocation in Ligotti's settings; you never get a sense of exactly what time period we're dealing with here. There are references to such things as tape recorders, trams and telephones but other than these recognizable aspects of twentieth century technology there is no real `marker' for where and when his stories are set and this adds to the dream-like nature of the fictional output here.

This reviewer would not recommend diving in and reading this collection of the `deliriously preposterous' cover to cover as it's akin at times to willfully indulging in a somewhat masochistic compulsion to immerse oneself in imagery and concepts that are nightmarishly executed. There's a marked lack of humor in the texts that doesn't help either in assuaging the queasy sensation while reading that you're on a carnival ride that refuses to stop; and while the initial thrill is certainly exhilarating there does come a time when you really do need to get off and "get your bearings" as one character remarks in the story `My Case For Retributive Action'.

Ligotti is a deviously creative talent and deserves a much wider audience, if only to dispel the horror community's widely held contention that he is one of the genre's best kept secrets.

Highly recommended.

Written by James Keen from Horror Novel Reviews. Horror Novel Reviews does not receive payment for reviews. All books are promotional copies.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.