Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I thought
I was not expecting this movie to be as enjoyable as it was. Granted, it does not look good, and the day-for-night shots are particularly bad. Once we get past these problems, though, we find a very amusing story. The plot involves an Egyptian cat goddess who transforms normal cats into Teenage Catgirls, who are In Heat, of course. There are a number of surprises...
Published on July 9, 2000 by encyclopedia@deathsdoor.com

versus
36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bringing Up a Furball
It's almost impossible to review this film, as it's in a category that makes Ed Wood's efforts appear almost Speilberg like in comparison. I saw this movie on cable, and this alone is a credit to the film's producers that they got someone to buy it. This is the type of movie that has cult potential, right up there with Attack of the Killer Tomatoes. It's that bad...
Published on April 17, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bringing Up a Furball, April 17, 1999
By A Customer
It's almost impossible to review this film, as it's in a category that makes Ed Wood's efforts appear almost Speilberg like in comparison. I saw this movie on cable, and this alone is a credit to the film's producers that they got someone to buy it. This is the type of movie that has cult potential, right up there with Attack of the Killer Tomatoes. It's that bad. In fact, it's so bad I watched it twice, enjoying the exquisite awfulness of it all.
Where to start. Without spoiling any of the plot, such as it is, let us just say that the movie involves an Egyptian cat goddess (portrayed by a 60's vintage table piece that was probably picked up in the discount bin at Goodwill), a number of VERY busty young women (where they were picked up is anyone's guess) portraying humanized female cats in search of mates (don't ask), sundry stubble fields in Texas (where the movie was shot), and several very embarrassed looking felines, who if they could talk would be probably be suing their agents (or the ASPCA) right now.
This is the sort of movie where production values don't exist. Most of the movie takes place at night, and to achieve this illusion the world's cheapest blue filter was used. It doesn't make things look dark, but it certainly gives you a good chance to see if you're blue-green colorblind. The various 'special' effects are of such quality that you can almost hear the film's director debating whether to spring for pizza for the crew or buy yet another 'visual' effect. The dialogue defies description, although, at the risk of a small spoiler, the sight of the female lead achieving orgasm while yelling "Meow, Meow, Meow" at the top of her lungs was worth the pain of watching the rest of the film.
The above not withstanding, the movie is a hoot to watch. The young actors give it a good shot, and no one is taking anything seriously. The willingness of the actresses to walk in the nude or semi-nude through those Texas stubble fields takes courage rarely seen in filmmaking. Whether this film was a film school project gone wild, or whether everyone involved in creating the project had one too many Lone Star beers is impossible to determine. The credits at the end of the film list dozens of contributors and supporters, leading me to think that the film was paid for by passing the hat at local bars near Texas A&M. In any event, see the film if you get a chance. It deserves more word of mouth promoting to get it into cult status. After all, few have the courage to make the truly bad nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I thought, July 9, 2000
This review is from: Teenage Catgirls in Heat (DVD)
I was not expecting this movie to be as enjoyable as it was. Granted, it does not look good, and the day-for-night shots are particularly bad. Once we get past these problems, though, we find a very amusing story. The plot involves an Egyptian cat goddess who transforms normal cats into Teenage Catgirls, who are In Heat, of course. There are a number of surprises before it's all done. This is one that I would recommend, especially to my fellow Texans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meow!, June 14, 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teenage Catgirls in Heat (DVD)
Love "B" movies? Love subtle, but sometimes hilarious corny humor? TCIH is for you! It is so "B" it is good. Troma has a knack for script and editing that is fit for a feline. Where they got the feline actresses I really don't know, but there are busts galore in this genre of horror. Imagine it raining cats and...cats (no dogs)...only to have each and every feline turn into a naked teenage girl. That's the premise of this, and all of, Troma's films. I don't think I've ever laughed louder at a Troma flick than this. If you are a Troma fan...don't miss this one. It doesn't have the gore...just the silly script and busty girls. The DVD version is digitally remastered but the quality is sub-par. The sound is scratchy and muffled. But it's still worth a view. The best scene is when the innocent nerd, who's afraid to commit to another woman, gets seduced by one of the crazed felines. He falls head over tails for her. You'll PRRRR at that scene. And don't miss the TROMA preview section on the DVD. It's quite graphic...and may compel you to buy another TROMA flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Coming Of The Great Litter, August 7, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teenage Catgirls in Heat (DVD)
This movie was originally called (somewhat more modestly) simply "Catgirls," but once the friendly folks at Troma got a hold of it, it morphed into "Teenage Catgirls in Heat," which is actually a more descriptive title. This little gem was made in Austin, Texas and concerns itself with a bunch of housecats that commit ritual suicide under the direction of an ancient Egyptian cat goddess. The cats then magically become women who wander around scantily clad plotting a nefarious world conquest scheme so stupid I am not even going to go into it here (hint: it involves the coming of "the Great Litter.") As an aside, watching the catgirls play with string, meow, and chase mice is all well and good, but the director also likes them to use kitchen utensils in hostile encounters. (Watch for the potato masher and ice cream scoop in action.)

There are two heroes of the film (one of which turns out to be one quarter cat on his maternal grandmother's side...don't ask) who uncover the plot, and with the help of one particularly helpful feline girl, Cleo (yes, like Cleopatra...,) a Brahma bull, and a very unusual bit of romance (there is unforgettable dialogue here, asking if the catgirl has been spayed), the plot is foiled. You may actually wish it hadn't been, though, when you see the headpiece that our hero, Warren, has to wear after dealing with a tiger. (This thing would have shamed Bootsy Collins even in the 1970s.)

This whole thing is extremely silly and low budget, with much of the film in shot day-for-night (resulting in everything being a lovely shade of blue), and special effects being no more than close-ups of actual cats and stuffed toys flung from roofs (for the ritual feline suicides.) I was especially enthralled in when Warren got to interrogate a domestic housecat using unethical methods involving a garbage can, catnip, and feline hypnosis.

The movie is entertaining in a campy way, but is not suitable for younger viewers due to the scanty catgirl attire. The extras are extremely lame by Troma's standards: the commentary track is somewhat annoying and not all that enlightening and the additional features (especially the sequel shtick) vary from very lame to atrocious. All told, I thought this was one of the best Troma films (though it's not gory, unless you count the scratching and hissing) and I recommend it to lovers of campy, but fun, bad movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good lesson in shoestring budget movie making., July 8, 1998
By A Customer
This movie has become a late-night favorite of Cinemax and the USA Network's "Up All Night." Filmed in 1991 in Austin, TX, this ultra-low-budget comedy was a multiple nominee in the 1994 Drive-In Movie Academy Awards ("The Hubbies"), and is great viewing for anyone interested in creating or otherwise involving themselves in the area of low-budget movie making. When that wears thin, there are always "catgirls" to look at. The important lesson aspiring filmmakers should derive from this movie is what it looks like on screen when blue filters are used on the camera lens to simulate nightime during daylight shots (i.e., scrape up the extra money and BUY SOME LIGHTS). As a final note, this Troma Team release is well worth the price as a collector's item alone -- Lance Henry's feature film speaking-role debut as "The Paperboy" is only sure to rise in price. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmm. girls, November 14, 2002
This review is from: Teenage Catgirls in Heat (DVD)
I was totally unaware until I bought this movie that the B movie industry is alive and well in today's culture.
The story's kinda hard to follow in the beginning, but it comes around. Obviously this is a B movie so there are no big names and the acting isn't great. Plus the story is so convaluted with T&A that I found myself wondering how they could work so much into the script. The one supporting actor is a riot. He's a rogue cat hunter. He hunts stray cats. Wow. Wanna laugh? Pick this one up. It'll sit on the shelf for a while after you watch it once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Typical Troma trash, February 4, 2005
This review is from: Teenage Catgirls in Heat (DVD)
I'm a lover of bad movies, but this one isn't loveable at all. It's just extremely amateurish, low budget, and has nothing of interest. The plot is about an ancient egyptian statue of a cat that's been locked away in a suitcase for some time. It comes to life (well, they show a picture of it and do a voiceover), and it tells all the cats in the area to commit suicide. Then they are reborn as women who walk around and do extremely corny immitations of cats. There are a couple of bumbling cat hunters who are trying to unravel this "mystery", but most of the middle part of the movie is spent with one of the cat hunters getting ready to go on a date with one of the catgirls. She meows and holds her hands up as if they were paws, etc. This must take an hour. It's an 80 minute movie but seems to drag on for at least two and a half hours. For some reason most of the movie is filmed through a blue filter. Maybe this was to give it an "eerie" look? It just makes it look like it was filmed through a blue filter. The ending is just ridiculous - it's as if they got to the end of the movie and were completely out of money, and even more completely out of ideas, so somebody came up with a really really dumb idea and they just filmed it.

Overall, there are so many good B movies out there, why watch one that is as awful as this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teenage Catgirls In Heat, April 28, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teenage Catgirls in Heat (DVD)
Excellentato! I remember first seeing this movie on cable and for a low budget movie, this one was Awesome. One of my favorites from Troma to date. Meoww.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont Underestimate Humour, January 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am not a big fan of so called "B" movies, but after reading the other reviews I decided to take a chance on this one (I have spent more than 2.99 on rental films from other unnamed companies and have been disappointed). I must say that I enjoyed it. If you are still undecided, then maybe I can clarify a few things. This is a comedy and there are different types of comedies. If you like the sophisticated intellectual comedy of Woody Allen then this is not the film for you. BUT, if (like me) you enjoy the classic Montey Python style of smart slapstick humour mixed with National Lampoon's love of pretty young women in various stages of undress (without exaggeration), then you should find this very entertaining. Dispite what others have written here the story line is quite coherent (if you pay attention) and there are some very smart and cute jokes (i.e. one catgirl's description of the behavior of men). So if you enjoy smart slapstick humour I think you will enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stupidly funny, December 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
if you cant have a bunch of friends over with a few drinks and beer pong/stupid board games (twister) and enjoy this movie you dont deserve to live. a few boob shots, but funny, wont offend even the most ridiculously prude chick you know. no gore, just funny. its about cats taht turn into mentally disabled horny cute naked chicks (5 minutes worth of nudity tops) what could be funny?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Teenage Catgirls in Heat
Teenage Catgirls in Heat by Scott Perry (DVD - 1999)
Used & New from: $9.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.