Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Teenage Guy's Survival Guide
Safety Month BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc CaseLangVeirs The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 24, 1999
If I had to choose only one book to give to/read with my sons, this could well be it. Not only does it cover all the REALLY cringy topics in great detail, it also explains everything clearly, in accessible language for this age group, and with HUMOUR. Catch the page on how to shave - very down-to-earth, extremely useful, and very funny. A huge portion of the book is dedicated to "Surviving Love and Sex" - judging by the amount of time pubescent boys spend fantasising on such topics, this chunk is very necessary. It also gives sensible advice on the whole deal. What makes the book so utterly readable from beginning to end? - the cool cartoon character that takes us through, cracking little asides the whole way; the changeable type face which is fun to read, grabs your attention (especially in the Very Important bits) and keeps the pages interesting; and last but not least, the information and the way it has been handled - never preachy, never dull, just practical. Brilliant. Teenage girls should be given a copy of this too.
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2000
My son has been experiencing a lot of anxiety with regard to the whole puberty/growing up thing. I reserved this book at the library (for myself) but the librarian thought it was for my son and gave it to him. He stuck his nose in the book and read the whole way home, laughing out loud (and he is not much for reading). I am now ordering him his own copy.
The book is wonderfully reassuring about all of the many changes a boy's mind, body and emotions are experiencing as they make the journey from being a boy to a young man. It helps him to know that while the things that are happening to him seem strange, they are perfectly normal.
I especially recommend this book to single moms! It has answered many of my own questions too and my son and I are both feeling relieved. Thanks to the author for your help and humor! This is a cool book!
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2000
I'm fifteen and this book has helped me alot on a few things that I was worried about. I especially liked the section on how to ask out a girl, something that I had no clue on how to do before I read this. It has all kinds of practical advice that is a must need for guys in their teens, and girls should get a copy of this also. The author has a somewhat corny aproach, like an adult trying to be cool; but the author pulls it off through most of it, he writes in a way that makes it easy and comftorable to read without coming across like a scientist.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2005
What I like about this book is that the tone is just right for a self-conscious preteen boy who has more questions than answers but is too embarrassed to ask anybody. Leave this book in his room or in the bathroom without making a big deal of it, and I bet he'll take a look inside. Some books are so clinical; others don't provide enough information. This one gets it right--at least for your basic seventh or eighth grader. As someone who has been writing for girls for years, I'm always curious about what is out there for boys, and I like Daldry's style.

Carol Weston, author of Girltalk: All the Stuff Your Sister Never Told You
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2006
I'm a thirteen year old boy and I reserved this book at the library to read some time ago. I found it answers a lot of questions about growing up and puberty, although the part about sex was pretty short.

I think the parts about masturbation, mutual masturbation and pornography were very informative and will help answer the questions most guys my age have.

The style in which this book was written is very comical and somehow seems like an older brother who's telling you all you want to know. I recommend this book to all guys my age since it answers a lot of questions, which teen boys ask about sexuality, masturbation and most importantly, girls.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2006
This book is about dating, dumping and being dumped also how to deal with it. It is about puberty changes and how to deal with them and what to do. This book is about all you need to know to be a teenager. My favorite part of the book was the part the author talked about dating. This part of thee book informed me about how to approach a girl and how not to approach a girl. It also told me never to send a friend to ask someone out for you. It told me how to act when you dump someone or if you get dumped. It told me how to act on a date and what to do and what not to do. It also said what to do on a date and what not do on a date. This part of the book told me that a little cologne goes a long way so don't over does. I recommend this book because it was a great help. Now I know how to approach a girl the right way. I know how to have a good date and what to do on a date. Another reason I recommend this book is because I know how everything works puberty wise and that it happens to everybody. The last reason I recommend this book is because it tells you everything you need to know about being a teenager.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2006
I am a boy at age 12, and when i read this book i was amazed. I learned a lot. The stuff you cant talk about with your parents is in here. The truth is embarassing, but i loved it. The book is really funny, too. This book covers everything from your first date to masturbation. Not too much about sex, only one page. I reccomend this book for 11-16 year olds.

Teo
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2007
That's the phrase I heard from my son when I gave this to him. He also informed me that his cousin, whom I also gave this book to, thinks I'm weird. But guess what?? THEY ARE READING IT!

So does it bother me to be the weird mom/aunt? Heck no! This book is very informative and gives them the info in a humor-filled and age appropriate way. It's an easy read.

I suggest parents read it through first and address issues as they see fit.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2001
Parents should read this book first then share it with their teenage children. It covers the first date, first kiss anxiety and awkwardness, and moves on into puberty, sex,committment, depression, and drugs. Solutions offered are positive. Information is presented in detail and with occasional humor. Parents you can help your children transcend the growing up process more smoothly. This "survival guide" is a good start.
11 comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2006
first off i have bad spelling so excuse that.... any way i laughed thru the whole book i got it in the school library and spent a whole period reading it..... i recomend this book it goes thru every thing from dating to drugs from sex to materbating to porn to depression... it helps alot with all those embarsing questions.... you should defently get it
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse