Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Season Two -- Part One
This latest Nickelodeon offering of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles is a 1-disc DVD release containing the first 6 episodes of season two and 2 Special Features.

1 - "The Mutation Situation"
2 - "Follow the Leader"**
3 - "Invasion of the Squirrelanoids"**
4 - "Mutagen Man Unleashed"
5 - "Mikey Gets...
Published 6 months ago by Bowman

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome episodes but doesn't work in aus
Actuall DVD is awesome all turtles are. Pissed I wasn't told it wouldn't work in aus DVD players, had to change region code on DVD player..
Published 4 months ago by Renee price


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Season Two -- Part One, March 15, 2014
This review is from: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem (DVD)
This latest Nickelodeon offering of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles is a 1-disc DVD release containing the first 6 episodes of season two and 2 Special Features.

1 - "The Mutation Situation"
2 - "Follow the Leader"**
3 - "Invasion of the Squirrelanoids"**
4 - "Mutagen Man Unleashed"
5 - "Mikey Gets Shellacne"
6 - "Target: April O'Neil"

(** These two episodes are inverted in their correct airing chronology....???)

Special Features:

* 6 Shorts: "The Mutation of a Scene"
* Channel 6 News Special Report: Creatures of the Night

* Widescreen Format
* Dolby Digital - English 5.1 Surround
* Run Time: 135 Minutes (Don't ask me why this listing specifies 173 minutes.)

This just hit the Walmart shelves this past Tuesday, and given the content, we are probably looking at Nickelodeon releasing another complete season in 3 rations. Right now it will cost you $34.88 (Amazon) for all of Season One on DVD. I really enjoy this show but I can't say the same for this marketing approach. (Hence the 4-star rating)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem (DVD)
we like this show. Great for the boys.
Will probably get the next volume when it is released.
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TMNT MUTAGEN MAYHEM, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem (DVD)
MY GRANDSON LOVES TMNT. HE HAS WATCHED THIS COUNTESS TIMES AND STIL CONTINUES TO ENJOY IT EACH TIME
HR PLAYS IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Episodes Great, Release method not, April 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem (DVD)
Of course this series is awesome. I give it five stars. I just hate the way they release 1 disc at a time. And the fact that one disc only contains 6 episodes and some useless extras that aren't really interesting to watch. Not to mention they still haven't released a combined season one package. But I guess that's how they milk the money out of a good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars season two is here!, April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem (DVD)
BOOYAKASHA!!! Great dvd and an awesome start to season two. Contains the first 6 episodes and couldn't be more pleased with this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the next for my collection, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem (DVD)
My daughter loves these, I dont know why, but she does. These is the newest collection of the new verison of Ninja Turtles that is now on Nick. I personally preferr the older cartoon verisons myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid set of 6 funny episodes, March 17, 2014
By 
J. Bakker (Shadow Moses Island) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem (DVD)
Full review at MetalArcade. net

Nickelodeon’s revival of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles series has turned out to be an incredible success, with second and third seasons of the show ordered within weeks of the initial episode airing. It’s easy to see why, as the Turtles’ recipe of action, humor and charm has managed to stay fully intact with this reincarnation. Following up on their release of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Ultimate Showdown, which featured the final twelve episodes of Season One, Nick has released Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem, collecting the first six episodes of Season Two.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem’s six episodes showcase a great cast of voice talent. Featuring Jason Biggs (Leonardo), Rob Paulsen (Donatello – and the original Raphael from the 80s cartoon), Sean Astin (Raphael), Greg Cipes (Michelangelo), Kelly Hu (Karai) and Josh Peck (Casey Jones), everyone here does a solid job and fills their roles well. Peck makes his series debut on Mutagen Mayhem. Special mention needs to go to Hoon Lee and Kevin Michael Richardson, who are perfectly cast as the voices of Master Splinter and Shredder, respectively.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem sees the four brothers rushing to recover 63 canisters of mutagen that have accidentally been dropped all over New York City. Unfortunately for them, new threats have already sprung up as a result of the ooze, and the Turtles come face to face with a number of them in this DVD set. “The Mutation Situation” sees the group becoming a bit over-confident in their abilities after defeating Shredder and the Kraang, but their celebration is cut short by the arrival of new enemies in NYC – including a mutated Mr. O’Neil, creating tension between April and the Turtles.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem’s first episode,“Follow The Leader” has Leonardo struggling to keep his brothers in line, as they begin to disobey his orders. But when a new army of robot Foot soldiers enter the fray — able to predict and adapt to all of the Turtles’ moves — Leo learns that following orders isn’t always the best way to get things done, and that being unpredictable can have its perks. “Invasion of the Squirrelanoids” pits the Turtles against a terrifying new foe – mutant squirrels that reproduce inside a host, evolving into an even more horrifying form — an obvious homage to the classic Alien horror films. Frankly I found this episode, as well as “Mikey Gets Shellacne” – where Michelangelo rubs mutagen on himself and begins to mutate into essentially a giant zit — a bit too gross and disturbing for children. And the horror film references seem out of place to me — it’s not something the Turtles have been known for previously. And Casey Jones’ redesign — it’s definitely going to take a while to get used to. I’m used to a musclebound badass in a Jason mask, not a kid with a whole row of missing teeth that isn’t any bigger than April.

“Mutagen Man Unleashed” sees the transformation of the kid formerly known as The Pulverizer into Mutagen Man, who Donnie thinks may be the key to finding a cure for April’s father — a retro-mutagen. Unfortunately, Timmy is after April, and the Turtles have to team up with Casey Jones and employ some stealth and diversionary tactics to keep her safe. “Mikey Gets Shellacne” – while overall a pretty disgusting episode — sees the double-mutation of Dogpound into a much cooler, creepier, skeletal form, Rahzar (fans of the 80s movies will remember him). Finally, “Target: April O’Neil” has the Kraang and Karai sending a new robotic creation after April, and she gets closer to Casey while trying to avoid the Turtles as much as possible. But when Donnie and the Turtles save her once again, she realizes that she’s been treating them unfairly. As an aside, I really enjoy the shows that the Turtles watch, echoing what’s going on in their lives — last season it was Space Heroes, and Mutagen Mayhem sees the debut of a 70s Voltron-esque series.

Unfortunately, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem is really light on extras, but that should be expected if you’ve picked up any of the previous releases. The standard “Mutation of a Scene” shorts are here, showcasing how an episode comes together from storyboards to rough CGI to final render. Besides six of those, there’s a very short extra titled “Channel 6 News Report: Creatures of the Night”, which features reporters talking about the mysterious sightings around town lately. I guess that the really good extras, like commentaries, cast interviews and full features are being saved for the eventual Blu-ray release.

Overall, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem is a solid DVD set with six interesting, funny episodes, although a few of them weren’t quite my cup of tea and may be too disturbing for children. Still, it’s a strong collection for fans of the series, but you may want to watch the episodes and use your own discretion before letting your kids see them. A few more extras definitely wouldn’t hurt, either. While Mutagen Mayhem is likely my least favorite TMNT set released thus far on the whole, it’s still TMNT, and there’s no denying that the two hours of entertainment on display here is still leagues above most other kids’ TV shows today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem (DVD)
Great show, no closed captioning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ghr, July 3, 2014
This review is from: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem (DVD)
connor hip bf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Turtles!!, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem (DVD)
My daughter loves TMNT!
Great DVD! I just wish they put them out faster!
Must have for your turtle collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutagen Mayhem by Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (DVD - 2014)
$14.98 $8.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.