Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small, pricey, and intriguing.
You'll pay a lot for what you get in this set: six angled blocks (four triangles, two parallelograms) with embedded magnets, all packed in a small grey pouch made of thick industrial grade felt. It's a neat package that readily fits into a medium sized purse.

Be forewarned that while this is a toy that will probably intrigue your young child, it's one that...
Published on July 17, 2012 by J. Manly

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars tegu prism
Great quality, smaller than i expected, bought for my three year old, she seemed to like them alright, but I returned and will get her magformers in a year or two.
Published 4 months ago by T Curtis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small, pricey, and intriguing., July 17, 2012
By 
J. Manly "healthychoices" (Honolulu, HI United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6 Piece Tegu Pocket Pouch Prism Magnetic Wooden Block Set, Nelson (Toy)
You'll pay a lot for what you get in this set: six angled blocks (four triangles, two parallelograms) with embedded magnets, all packed in a small grey pouch made of thick industrial grade felt. It's a neat package that readily fits into a medium sized purse.

Be forewarned that while this is a toy that will probably intrigue your young child, it's one that benefits from the involvement of an adult--especially one who nonverbally explores what the blocks can do. They're pretty versatile. Click, clack. They can come together--but they can also, depending on the orientation of the embedded magnets, 'ignore' or even repel one another. Do 'magic' by making a block move without touching it. Put one on the tray table of an airplane and move it by holding another block beneath. Make four triangles into a square. Build a house. Etc. They are a great fiddle toy, even for adults.

So, they're a handy take along. Most children will allow themselves to be distracted with these during a period of enforced waiting in a confined space. A real plus is that the sturdy pouch makes it easy to ensure that all the (expensive) pieces come home.

These are priced high so as to allow support of educational programs in Honduras, where they are manufactured. Also, Tegu requires resellers to adhere to a pricing agreement, but there are price reductions periodically, both on Amazon and on the Tegu site. Go there to sign up for their occasional emails, which include special offers--sometimes as much as 35 to 40% off--and the introduction of new products not available elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best for trips by train plane and at home, May 24, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6 Piece Tegu Pocket Pouch Prism Magnetic Wooden Block Set, Nelson (Toy)
these blocks are great for the road I have a 2 and 5 year old, both enjoy it equally. We have more sets at home that are played with often (note we do not have TV on often) The toys are well made and appeal to both kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, December 25, 2012
By 
Best Grownup (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6 Piece Tegu Pocket Pouch Prism Magnetic Wooden Block Set, Nelson (Toy)
This was one of my adult son's stocking stuffers this Christmas. I had not seen the product before, but he is still fascinated by magnets, so this looked like fun. I also had an ulterior motive, as I had bought his daughter a 26-piece set of the blocks, and I figured this would be a gift for him, but also a gift for her.

My son loved this immediately, and he loved it even more when he and his daughter played with the fuller set.

Great packaging, and a fabulous purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What could be better?, January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6 Piece Tegu Pocket Pouch Prism Magnetic Wooden Block Set, Nelson (Toy)
The prism shapes offered many interesting possibilities for building during a plane trip. Between the convenient pouch and the magnetic properties, my three year grandchild did't lose any of the pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kinda cool, but could be better., January 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6 Piece Tegu Pocket Pouch Prism Magnetic Wooden Block Set, Nelson (Toy)
This is exactly what it looks like. A set of wooden blocks that stick together with magnets.

The quality is high. This is definitely something that could sit on the desk of a professional that likes gadgets and doodads.

Rating would be a five if the magnets were aligned such that block edges would meet up in all configurations. Often, when you match two blocks with similar edge lengths, the magnets pull together in a way that the edges are misaligned by a 1/4 inch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So cool and fun to explore, June 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6 Piece Tegu Pocket Pouch Prism Magnetic Wooden Block Set, Nelson (Toy)
Blocks and magnets! What better combination for building and exploring?! The case and block colors make a lovely gift and make up for the cost. I got this for two different adult males on my Christmas list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars tegu prism, March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6 Piece Tegu Pocket Pouch Prism Magnetic Wooden Block Set, Nelson (Toy)
Great quality, smaller than i expected, bought for my three year old, she seemed to like them alright, but I returned and will get her magformers in a year or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor finish, February 8, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6 Piece Tegu Pocket Pouch Prism Magnetic Wooden Block Set, Nelson (Toy)
The blocks colors were dull and the paint was not finished well. Not worth the price, do not buy! I expected a much better quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.