Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on September 13, 2012
Writing a comprehensive strategy guide for a fighting game with 50+ characters before release is no mean feat; let's get that out of the way first. The authors have done their best to go in-depth about the characters, their strengths and weaknesses, key moves and insight into frame data. Insights are good and the sections on tournament mentality and how the systems all work are all very helpful - more so, probably, than the in-game Fight Lab tutorials and other information. However, the guide also suffers from some serious shortcomings that an editor should have caught before this was released. Overall, it's a good book. Would I still have bought it, knowing what I know now? Cautious yes; but I would prefer to wait for the inevitable 'complete' version when the DLC characters are all out. This would have been a better e-Guide than print guide, I think.

EDIT: What you will find in each character's section: an overall analysis of their strengths and weaknesses, their bread and butter moves (main launchers and combo filler, bound moves, pokes, strings), a few high-damage combos, when to tag and recommendations for partners, areas to work on, special stances or properties and how to beat each character. The insight shown into each character is great and will be a very useful starting point for anyone just now getting into Tag, even for crusty old Tekken vets.

What could be improved:

1) Poor organization - characters are not grouped in alphabetical order but by the authors who wrote their sections. This makes thumbing through the guide in search of specific info all but impossible. Using the table of contents often becomes absolutely necessary.

2) Typos: The text has several typos, repeated words and awkward grammar. Not enough to lower the overall quality of the guide, but enough to be distracting.

3) Notation errors: I've seen this all through the Jin Kazama section; the up and down arrows are reversed for many down + input moves. For example, half the time d+3+4 shows up as u+3+4, ditto d+4, d+1+2, etc. It doesn't happen all the time, which makes it more baffling. Was this a font error that inverted the up/down arrows? Editing? It's not from lack of knowledge of the characters - the authors definitely show their stripes in that regard.

4) No full movelists: yes, these are in the game, but movelists are one of the reasons one buys a print strategy guide in the first place. And maybe I've missed something, but this means that special team-specific tag throws and tag combos are probably not all in the guide - one of the main reasons one would buy such a book. EDIT: The frame data section does, of course, have movelists, but only to present their respective frame data, not to provide move-by-move analysis.

5) Incomplete frame data: Strings only show frame data for the last move in the string. No info on stopping the string part-way, which is useful in many cases.

6) No base game unlockable info or checklists: simply not there. No list of Gallery movies, ending movies, unlockable art, how to unlock customization items or costumes, list of stages, etc.

7) No customization info: Again, no list of vanilla customizations. Maybe this is because many such items will be released via DLC and the list would quickly become outdated, but it's still a noticeable omission.

8) No DLC characters? - I've heard mixed reports on this. I remember seeing the console exclusive characters, but not the pre-order DLC characters (Angel, Kuni, Michelle, A. Ogre). Will update after I verify.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on September 17, 2012
What this guide does wrong

-Organization: This guide is organized by writer instead of characters. No alphabetical order, good luck paging around

-Unity: In each section its clear that the writers don't make an effort to make each part equal between characters. Looking at one person's tag partner section describes who the character should be paired with for max efficiency and other times it describes which in game partners have special tags with the character. Being universal is important to have in a guide like this.

-Pre-order Characters: For a guide that has been christened by Namco Bandai this sure has little support from them. I can understand if the future DLC characters are not included but to not have the day 1 DLC pre-order characters is a little embarrassing.

-Incomplete Data: No complete movelists, only key stuff included instead of all actual character data.

-Book Quality: The binding is cheap and glued, I received my copy from Amazon, opened it once and heard the sickening glue creek.

-Icing: This cake is relatively bland one. Noted by Aris's review of the Soul Calibur guide, he is not a fan of explaining how to unlock stuff, character customizations, character profiles or any what I would call "extras" While I understand he doesn't like them it would have definitely helped to have stuff like that in this book. Instead it feels kind of unspecial.

Lackluster incomplete info, shoddy quality, and no cool extras. Do yourself a favor and sign up to Tekken Zaibatsu for competitive info , and if you want a guide for a fighter get the quality Future Press Soul Calibur 5 guide.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on September 15, 2012
Before blindly purchasing it, I would strongly recommend leafing through this guide at your local video game store

For how many pages this strategy guide has, it's amazing how little I could use it.

First of all, from an organizational point of view, the guide is a disaster. Rather than a standard alphabetical order, the characters are grouped together by 5 or so "gaming experts" who seemingly chose their favorite characters to write about. So be prepared to flip to the table of contents constantly to find your characters. Once you flip to your character's section, you won't see a move list, which I would consider a standard element of a fighting game strategy guide. Simply some "key moves" and lots of writing about various strategic elements. Now this would be potentially fine, but this leads to the second major problem. The guide is steeped in very technical jargon and abbreviations, to the point that you need to use the glossary in the back. Once again, be prepared to flip through the book a lot.

The second half of the book features "frame data" for very advanced players. (While I'm at it, what was the point of separating the frame data? Why not just put each character's frame data in their strategy section of the book?) I wish this frame data could have been more useful and I'd like to get better at the game, but the book features barely a page explaining what it is and how to really use it. It seems to be more for expert players who are already well-versed in the game mechanics. So maybe the book is for experts and I just shouldn't have purchased it.

But read some of the product points that Prima provides:
-Complete move lists, combos, and details for all 50 characters.
-Frame data gives you the advantage and lets you push your skills to the limit with technical breakdowns of key moves.
-Strategies for new, intermediate and advanced players show you how to become a better fighter.
-Tag throws and combos covered in full detail.

This is where I call "false advertising" on Prima's part. "Complete move lists" are NOT in this book. If you look at the frame data section, you'll find incomplete move lists kinda, but for characters like King or Nina with their complex throw combos, you'll need to look elsewhere to find the button combinations. That's extremely disappointing as complete move lists are pretty much the main reason many people buy these books for fighting games. Yes, the move lists exist on in-game menus, but it's much more convenient to have it nicely printed out in front of you. Next, the guide does not feature ALL characters. For those of us that want to find strategies for DLC characters like Kunimitsu and Angel, once again need to look elsewhere. Some might consider this "splitting hairs," but if Kunimitsu (or whoever else) is one of your main characters, then it's a major bummer for that character to not be included in the book. Yet another instance of false advertising: if you're looking for how to execute those special tag throws (like Nina to Anna, Jun to Kazuya, etc), LOOK ELSEWHERE. So far as I could see, they were not in the book (but then again, I blame the poor organization of the guide if they actually were in there). The best you'll find are 3 or so custom tag combos, allegedly created by whichever gaming expert wrote about a given character. But these are not the special "tag throws".

In short, I'm extremely disappointed that Prima had this published and had the nerve to charge this much for it. It has poor organization and is aimed at very expert players, despite claiming to have "strategies for new, intermediate and advanced players". I might have let this slide, but the purely false advertising of "complete movelists" for "ALL" characters, as well as their claims of "Tag throws" being covered "in full detail" mean that this book is a lie and an expensive one at that. Make sure you know exactly what you're buying (and what is actually useful to you), before picking this up. Needless to say I returned my copy.

This gets 2 stars, because some people might be able to salvage the strategy and frame data portions of the otherwise incomplete guide.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on September 26, 2012
I have been in the fighting game community since SFIV vanilla dropped and knowing nothing about the genre have made a habit of buying all guides for all fighters and their revisions since. (Even went back in time to buy guides for SFII and SF Alpha series.)

I have only dabbled in Tekken 5DR and Tekken 6 (FNG).

So this is more a review of the strategy guide as a guide.

TERRIBLE

Unacceptably terrible after the triumphs of the Soul Calibur V and Ultimate Marvel Vs Capcom 3 strategy guides.

It's as if this guide was made in a vacuum without realizing what a strategy guide can and should be.

It's written by experts as if other experts would be reading it o_O so many things that from a noob perspective needed explaining wasn't explained.

The guide was written as if everything that was said in the Tekken 6 guide is already fully understood by the audience and did not need repeating or updating.

Simple game concepts and mechanics like how the Red Life bar functions and how much HP characters have are completely omitted. They tell you back dash cancelling is very very important but don't explain or give tips on execution.

Whole sections of move information are in the wrong character's area.
Roger Jr moves in Jack 6 section? Heihachi in Roger Jr? Is this musical chairs?
Same move and explanation listed exactly the same under two different characters.

Editor FAIL.

The pictures in the character sections are few and unrelated to the moves at hand. Especially hard to justify or accept when compared to UMVC3 guide where every move is pictured or the SCV guide which has links to videos of moves!

Throws have specific sections for some characters, yet not all throws are explained? Tag combo throws are the big fun thing in this game and are completely unmentioned.

I had thought that certain characters have an affinity for each other and have special moves exclusive to certain pairings but find no explanation of these in the character section or suggested tag team.

I haven't read a character section yet the pointed out any specific changes to characters' move properties since Tekken 6 or indeed if the characters have any new or removed moves.

The Strategy sections which is supposed to coalesce all of the information presented about the character into an actionable game plan for offense and defense is a joke. The large print and limited suggestions almost make one think that Tekken is not a deep game and there isn't much to know. (Contrary to the opinion every hardcore tekken player I have met)

This book feels like an obligatory money grab made by people that resent you for having to read the guide and expect you to just go to the major tekken websites instead.

And I echo all comments made by 1 or 2 star reviews written before me, just didn't want to rehash all of it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on September 14, 2012
With 3D fighting games I usually get the guide if only for the move lists, though the strategies provided are usually accurate too. Unfortunately this guide fails at both of those requirements and is just a complete mess as well.

First off, as the other reviewers stated, there are no complete move lists and for a game like Tekken where a character can have 194 different combos, that's a crippling problem. I use this so I don't have to go online and print out a bunch of pages and waste paper and printer ink. Not only does it not have the full move lists, but what is there is so incredibly lazy it's almost funny. The combos provided are nothing but screen shots; seriously, they took a screen shot from the game, blew up the image of the button combination and threw it in the book. You can even tell they're all from the PS3 version since the colors correspond to the PS3 button colors, brilliant.

Also, the strategies are next to worthless for the average player as the authors used incredibly confusing terms. They even needed to make a glossary in the back so you could just understand what they were saying. What the heck does Upside down Exclamation Point mean? The only people that are going to even half-understand this are the expert players or tournament players and I doubt they'd even buy this guide because they wouldn't need it.

Also NOTHING is in any type of order; multiple authors worked on this and each picked a random selection of characters. Oh and each of them uses a different writing style so good luck with finding any consistency in this disaster. Plus there are typos, errors and even missing parts! In Heihachi's section the author says that one of his attacks is his best move...but he doesn't say how to do it! There's nothing that says the input for this move and it's not even listed in the back! Nice job guys, seriously, bravo.

Why on earth Prima printed this guide I will never know. Bradygames did the guides for Tekken 4-6 as well as all of the Soul Calibur Guides and they were near perfect.

In short: do not waste your money on this guide and just print the move lists off the internet.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 15, 2012
Since i just met few very negative reviews i decided to give my opinion as well.
First the not so good thing about the manual is that there is no full complete move list for the characters. The listed combos are very few and they are not so good IMO. The character's order on the frame data page is confusing because of the characters order its not alphebetical, but you can get used to it and also i really got dissapointed by not seeing info about the new DLC characters.
Second the good things about the guide... I really like the way how they explained the strategies and the moves , this is very useful i am kinda new to this game and i enjoy learning many characters at once so the manual provides very helpful and quick information about the characters and strategies against them.
Overal. This product can be very useful for the newcomers so they can get into the game more quickly. The modern Tekken offers so many characters and moves and some people just don't know how to start it , i think this is where the manual shines. It provides quick useful move list for each character (except the DLC).I wish there are few scans here for the people who want to see what this guide contains ,the so called information here can be tricky. I can't recomend it to anyone , i've already met negative reviews and i respect them but still this manual doesn't deserve 1 star.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 16, 2012
Whew! Good thing I still have my receipt. This guide is terrible. I usually buy bibles(guides) for fighting games only. My UMVC3 and SFXT(no DLC charcters however. Of course, it's Capcom) guides are really good. Full picture for EVERY move. No typos and full details on everything. This guide has 2 pages in random order about character analysis with 3 good combos not in the games Command List. The move list are at the end, again, not in alphabetical order. Wordings are terrible, bad editing like common typos (up is reversed with down sometimes. WTH?) and page 120-121 is blurred!!! WHO PUTS OUT BLURRED AND INCORRECT GUIDES?! I'm returning this ASAP!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 6, 2012
Not much to say really, the other reviews cover my views rather well... I think Prima should create a 2nd edition of this book and offer it freely as a replacement for people that bought the guide. Between the errors, listing by author rather than character, inconsistency between authors and analysis of only a hand full of moves per character it is hard to see where this book fits exactly. It's not detailed enough to be a book for advanced players, and at the same time it doesn't feel like it would be a good book for beginners either. Almost half the book is dedicated to frame-data, which is very useful, but only for hardcore players, the quality of the frame-data is questionable though since it was collected by analysing game footage in slow-motion (I'm not joking, it says so in the book).

In the end, I feel the Tekken 6 guide was better in almost every way, and while there was a bit of information overload here and there, it was nicely done with frame data integrated into the pages as moves were discussed, characters were listed alphabetically as well and just seemed like a better guide overall.

I gave the book a 2/5, it wasn't easy to do, but really, the quality of this book is well below average in my opinion. I wouldn't say don't buy it, but beware of what you'll be getting if you do get it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 29, 2013
This guide shows you information based on "Pro" gamers input... All well and done, but poorly executed.

The character list is categorized by the gamer who review the characters, then put into alphabetical order. Instead of strictly A-Z organization, it's "this guy's A-Z, then this guy's A-Z".

Then content... It isn't complete! There are character movelists, but they aren't complete with every move and string/combo provided by the game itself. Case in point, King's throw-chains are not listed in this guide. There isn't a straight-forward list of who has special interactions with who when characters are paired together.

Nice attempt, but far from decent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 23, 2014
I bought this guide for a penny (one cent; 1¢; $0.01USD) at Toy's R Us. Not only is this guide incomplete and missing many key characters, but also the frame count information at the end is out-dated. There is a .pdf update on prima's website but it only covers a few dozen pages. It has been discontinued by Prima's publisher and is not worth more than a single red cent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.