Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tekken is BACK!!!!!!
After the disappointing Tekken 6 and the meh style of Street Fighter X Tekken, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 (TTT2) sets the bar high for fighting games. Not only does it have a roster of over 50 characters (and counting thanks to FREE DLC), the gameplay and graphics are aesthetic at best(I believe it uses the same graphic engine as Tekken 6). TTT2 creater Katsuhiro Harada...
Published on September 11, 2012 by Lil' Radio

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dedicated Fans Only
Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is by no means a bad game. It's a very polished experience, with a lot of depth and a lot to master. It seems to have a decent community, and the online servers are stable, with very little lag. You will of course run into a little lag, as with most games, but it wasn't a huge problem for me.

There is a lot of customization for the...
Published 11 months ago by Matthew Cassatt


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tekken is BACK!!!!!!, September 11, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament 2 PS3 (Video Game)
After the disappointing Tekken 6 and the meh style of Street Fighter X Tekken, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 (TTT2) sets the bar high for fighting games. Not only does it have a roster of over 50 characters (and counting thanks to FREE DLC), the gameplay and graphics are aesthetic at best(I believe it uses the same graphic engine as Tekken 6). TTT2 creater Katsuhiro Harada listened as fans took Twitter to ask for their favorite Tekken characters to be brought back. Guess who's back? Jun, Alex, Michelle Chang, Angel, and Prototype Jack from Tekken 2. Forest Law is back from Tekken 3 just to name a few of the characters. The stages are a little reminiscent of Dead or Alive as far as being multi-tiered. The tag throws are much of an improvement from the first TTT and the tag assaults are the cherry on top! Here are the some of the modes:
Offline:
Arcade - similar run through of TTT2 in the arcades. Just like Tekken 6, these are offline ranked matches. You fight through opponents until you reach the boss battles - Jinpachi & Heihachi, True Ogre, Jun & Unknown. By defeating these characters, you unlock endings for your fighters. BTW, you can have 2 vs 2, 1 vs 1, or 1 vs 2 battles.*UPDATE* There is no story line to this game. It's pretty much a non-cannon dream match(kinda like King of Fighters '98 & 2002).
Ghost Battle - similar style to Tekken 6 with ranked matches (finally, you don't have to play online matches in order to get past 1st Dan!). You can also unlock customized items for your characters (i.e. the golden matches[hint hint]).
Vs Battle - not much to say about this mode...
Team Attack - the same style as all of the Tekken games
Time Attack - how fast can you defeat the game?
Survival - how long can you last?
Practice - to polish up on combos and tag attacks
Pair Play - you can form 2 vs 2 teams with a partner
Fight Lab - you play as Combot(from Tekken 4) to go through beginners' training and play some of the most strangest(but fun) battles. The more you progress, you more you can unlock items and gain more Gs(in-game money)
Customize - you can customize your characters to you liking(BTW, the game gives you 10 slots per character which gives you many options!). There are vast options to choose from & you can also customize rage colors & fight panels (the display for you characters during the vs screen)
Tekken Tunes - so get this: you can customize the stage music to you liking. I'm talking about your favorite songs: tracks from your CDs, mp3s, all of the good stuff. *UPDATE* I've finally added some of my favorite dance/pop songs and it makes the stages much better. It's definitely something worth experimenting with!
Online:
Ranked Match - pretty self-explanatory. Play through matches to raise you rank
Player Match
To keep it nice & simple, this is a must have for all Tekken fans and hardcore fighting game fans (like myself). Also, if you pre-order through Amazon or GameStop, you'll receive DLC characters (Angel, Michelle, Ancient Ogre, and Kunimitsu - all four from GameStop and Michelle and Angel through Amazon), the Snoop Dogg stage, and the Big Bikini Bundle which has over 100 costumes. Get you copy and GET READY FOR THE NEXT BATTLE! What are you waiting for?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Entry and Fighting Game this Year, October 1, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament 2 PS3 (Video Game)
After having a pretty mediocre Tekken 6, and lots of unsatisfying fighting games in-between, I could definitely say that this was the best fighting game I've played in a long time. Harada-san definitely listened to his fans on this one and has made the dream game we've wanted since the original Tekken Tag Tournament.

Gameplay
The gameplay mechanics builds up on Tekken 6's bound moves, where you can switch partners to continue a combo. One usage is Tag Assault, where you switch with your partner to continue a combo after a bound. This puts the opponent in Rage, however, and should be used wisely. There is also Tag Crash, which you can use to break your opponent's combo, but takes away the health you regenerate. So there is strategy involved with using these. The damage is also adjusted, so that you can still do a reasonable amount of damage without having to resort to using juggle combos like in Tekken 6. It gives players the choice to play old-school along with the new mechanics. In VS, you can do 1v1, 2v2, and even 1v2. There is also a mode called Pair Play which allows 4 players to play at once.

Modes
TTT2 has many of the same modes previous Tekken games had: Ghost Mode, VS Mode, Arcade Mode, Practice Mode, Survival, Time Attack, and Team Battle. A new mode called Fight Lab serves as a tutorial to new comers to the franchise. The mode introduces a very quirky story involving Lee Chaolan's alter ego Violet, who trains Combot into the ultimate fighting robot. You go through the techniques they teach you with some hilarious mini-games of sorts, and earn money for customization. As you go through the Fight Lab, you also gain techniques from other characters that you can use to customize your Combot's moveset, making him your own unique fighter. Its a very interesting way to teach the mechanics to new players. Customization has expanded since Tekken 6 and the items cost less now.

Graphics

The graphics are definitely a step-up from Tekken 6. Character models were completely done from scratch. The stages are more vivid and grand than ever before. When fighting, you also get dirty while falling on the ground, so little details like that are a nice touch. There are once again multi-tiered stages, with some having balcony breaks.

Sound

The Tekken franchise has always been one of the few fighting game franchises where I have actually enjoyed listening to their music. And this soundtrack serves as one of the best soundtracks I have heard in a long time. All of the music really adds to the stages they are featured in, and really pumps you up for a good fight. Nothing better than having a fantastic track to listen to while pummeling your opponent to the ground. And if the tracks don't float your boat, then TTT2 allows you to change the track for different stages using the Tekken Tunes. This is a very handy feature for those who aren't satisfied with certain music tracks, but really, the soundtrack is fantastic as it is. For the voices, Tekken now features more characters speaking in their Native tongue. Eddy Gordo and Christie now speak Portugese, Leo speaks German, Miguel speaks Spanish, and Lili speaks French. A very nice diversity, and certainly adds to the characters. The sound effects also make it feel more like a fight, and you feel satisfied when you get that punch in.

Online

While Tekken 6 failed horribly with its online, TTT2 remedies that with a fantastic online play. Using a modified version of Soul Calibur V's net code, you can play with anyone around the world with little to no lag. Most of the time, I've gotten 4 or 5 bars, and very rarely get lower than that. The only disappointing thing is that you can't use Pair Play online to team with another player.

Overall

TTT2 is the best entry in the series by far. It contains over 50 characters, with more coming with free DLC, which means you won't have a shortage of characters to use. The gameplay is well-balanced despite the wide cast. There is a great load of content that will keep you going for months. Online is better than ever before, and the music is godly. Perhaps my only gripe is that there is no mini game like Tekken Bowl, but that is forgivable as Tekken is a fighting game first. While newcomers will feel a little overwhelmed by the difficulty of the game and by the veterans online, the Fight Lab does a great job at showing them the ropes. If you have been a longtime Tekken fan or want a rewarding and enjoyable fighting game, then look no further. This IS the Fighting Game of the Year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, October 5, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament 2 PS3 (Video Game)
This was a good game I enjoyed it and look forward to the next. I think it would be hard to find another game like thid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tekken 6 was good. But Tekken tag 2 is even better!!!, October 16, 2012
By 
Pao-han Huang (Taiwan Taipei, USA, Portland OR.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament 2 PS3 (Video Game)
I have been a long term Tekken fans since Tekken3~
Since the previous version of tekken. (Tekken 6)
Harada has push the game to the whole new level~
I was hardly think of any Tekken franchise can be better than Tekken 6.
but Harada has prove again! They even do better than that!!!
I do understand some people complain abt the long juggling in Tekken game.
with all do respect, I think its all depends on ur fighting style.
I definitely is one of the big fan of the juggling combo~
it makes you observe the position in the stage better. then target for the huge wall combo.
Here comes the tag combo. The tag2 is even more intense than the very first tekken tag.
There are more variety tag combo you can do. and definitely involve more strategy.
Compare to Tekken 6. The graphic are significantly better. + more characters and new challengers.
Online connection is a blessed!!! I feel a bit lag or no lag at all!!!

I am really amazed by how smooth online fighting game can be, especially a complex 3D fighting game as Tekken!
it is definitely one of the best fighting game after SF4 and Tekken 6.
just get it. I am sure it will not let you down!!! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U got to be crazy not to have this, October 14, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament 2 PS3 (Video Game)
Hey, if you're a tekken fan, or even just a little, you should get this. Some stages are a reminder of the first installment (TTT for PS2), even close up graphics are great, the fighting sequence just as good or even better than the first. I've heard some complain about the difficulty, if you've played TTT for the PS2, u should find last stage and gameplay overall to be a breeze, even on medium difficulty. So wat r u still doing reading this review, go get this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, September 26, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament 2 PS3 (Video Game)
This Tekken is sure Fire and a must have for any fan of its genre. Keep bringing that Great console gaming. Really Really wish street fighter would stick to their 2d roots and bring another back, because tekken sticks to their 3d roots and are off the chart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Tekken, best fighting game, most fluid realistic animation, November 25, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament 2 PS3 (Video Game)
The title says it all! find me another fighting game that has more realistic moves! Virtua Fighter has only a few characters (drunken master, crane guy, and shaolin guy) that move realistically, dead or alive is for boob junkies (and the girls have all similar moves). what else is 3d? Nothing beats tekken tag 2, so much content, show me another fighting game that has this many characters, with each having that many moves! Fluid animation, pretty good graphics, good netcode, i havent experienced lag, playing online is free on the ps3, ps3 is a superior controller for fighting and racing games compared to xbox360 controller. and the level of cutomization, come on, this should keep any figthting game fan busy for months! a true gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overdue installment of Tekken franchise., September 26, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament 2 PS3 (Video Game)
Tekken is back and in its fittest form yet. Tekken 5 renewed my faith after the step backward that was Tekken 4. Tekken 6 seemed unnecessary except for the fact that it filled out the roster more, but it didn't achieve quality online play. Tag hits all the notes it needs too and feels like an expansive and enriched Tekken experience. If you go back and compare this to the original, you'll see that Namco has really kept up with this series over the years. This is also the first Tekken that not only succeeds at online matches, it does a very admirable job of it. And deep, so deep. It's almost taunting you to master its seemingly endless strands of intricacies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What fighting games are all about, September 16, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament 2 PS3 (Video Game)
I will start by saying I am a HUGE Tekken fan however I will be as objective as possible to give an honest review and not be bias like those "It's Tekken so it's awesome. 5 stars". I will start off by saying I am a fan of many games (from fighting, shooters, platforming,etc.) and in this generation (PS3,Xbox360) often suffers from rushed development which causes the final product to be "incomplete". Tekken Tag 2 is one of the few rare exceptions and is truly a "complete" game. That's what I believe however I will allow whomever is reading this to form their own opinion. Hope you enjoy my review!=]

Online:
Well nowadays online is all the people play for so I will start here lol

The first issue I have with this game is the online pass for those who buy this game used. I personally don't believe in paying to play "online." Fighting games are about...fighting. Many want to see how they fair with opponents online and charging $9.99 to do so for people who buy the game used isn't right. I wasn't going to buy the game because it had an online pass which I believe is a way for companies to nickle and dime us, the consumers, for features that should be included in our $65 game

That aside the online is good. I played the first day it came out (September 11, 2012) reached 2nd Dan and did not have too many matches that where horribly laggy. The matches were actually playable for the most part. While you wait for an oppenent there is a "practice" mode which allows you to brush up on attacks before using them in the match. A definite nice touch instead of looking at a "searching for playing match" icon. I believe this gives this generation the "thrill" of playing Tekken in an arcade then have someone randomly come up to play you. That's what it felt like for me anyway.

I only played ranked matches and player matches but there are a few other online modes and features.

*Side Note* After playing Capcom games and playing Tekken there is a certain level of respect amongst the Tekken community members. In Capcom games I played online (MvC3,SfxT,SF) I was flamed and sent hate mail calling me: Cheap, turtle, spammer and other degrading terms. In Tekken I received gg, nice match and other respectful things. The negative mail still exists but, from my experience, you receive more respectful mail.

Offline:

arcade- go through 8 battles then unlock an ending movie for your character
time attack-Beat the aracade as fast as you can
ghost battle- battle "ghosts" which are more skilled CPU opponents. Gives a "online experience" to those without internet
practice- well..practice your moves lol
survival-fight as many people before you die

The "core" of the fighting games. There isn't a "story" mode because Tekken Tag 2 is a non cannon game, in other words, it has nothing to do with Tekken's main story. It's made purely for fun and "what if" situations. The endings for this game are very well done. They have different artistic approaches which very from full CGI endings to motion comics all with subtitles. I actually laughed at a few of them because of how silly they where lol I will admit most of Tekken 6's endings sucked but these ending really do the game justice.

Fight Lab:
What is new is the Fight Lab mode. Think of it as "Tekken 101" which many fighting games lack. Fight Lab explains basic movement, how to block, how to juggle and the new Tag features. It's a hands on approach to learning how to play Tekken while using Combot. You use development points to teach Combot new attacks which can help you complete this mode. There are 5 chapters each with 2 stages and a "boss" battle. This mode ACTUALLY teaches newcomers the basics of how to play Tekken, not how to use combos with a character (like Capcom games are known for lol) There is freedom to experiment and develop with trail and error. Fight Lab give a suggestion but allows you to do it any way you want. I enjoyed this mode even though I'm a Tekken veteran.

Customization:
This is a mixed one for me. They have a lot of items and you can color them manually instead buying colored items (for the most part) There isn't as many possibilities as Tekken 6 so some may feel limited in the choices however it's not a game breaker. There is alot you can customize including the background that shows in the character intro (varies from fire backgrounds to a Halloween background). The panel that shows your character can be customized as well to show alternate art work. Main grip is that items are unlocked in "ghost battles." Overall the customization, while not as good as Tekken 6, still delivers. THe final level of the fight lab have you fight customized Tekken fighter who look like Street Fighter Characters lol

Fighting Roster:
59 characters (some to be released as free DLC) which is the most characters in a Tekken game to date. All include unique move lists, most characters have their own unique fighting style. There are plenty of characters to choose from with their default designs looking nice. I'm sure and could find someone they: A.) Feel comfortable playing with or B.) Using the customization feature to change the characters to look however they want.

Fighting:
Tekken's fighting is solid and the moves are more fluid than Tekken 6. Many stages have breakable walls and floors. Tag Moves have been added which range from generic team grabs to unique grabs with certain charters(Example: Jin and Jun) You can also have your partner on screen attacking along side of you which opens up nearly endless combinations of combos. Your partner can dive bomb into battle to save you. It's a Tag game however you can fight with a partner or if you prefer to fight solo that is cool too. Fighting alone allows your recoverable health to regenerate with time in exchange for no partner.

Graphics:
The game is beautiful. Honest. Your character falls in water you can see their clothes are wet. You will see dirt on your characters clothes and hair. The stages are well done and certain non playable characters react to the fighting. I knocked a girl sitting by a pool in the water lol Trust me the graphics will not disappoint.

Tekken Tunes:
Tekken Tunes allows for you to customize the background music found in the various stages and menus. The soundtrack is well done and being able to put your favorite songs as the main menu theme or the online practice mode while you wait for a match is an awesome idea. The online mode allows you to put music from your PS3 memory. I think the online menu is the only one able to do that though

Trophies:
Tekken Tag 2 supports PSN trophies and unlcoking them aren't all that hard nor time consuming like OTHER games (I'm looking at you Street Fighter x Tekken which your "perform 500 cross assaults","activate pandora 500 times" and "win like this 300 times"!-_-) There are over 50 characters and unlocking 40 of their endings unlocks a trophy. Reaching Tekken Lord in offline is the hardest/time consuming trophy in the game and even that wasn't really all that hard. Majority of the other trophies you will unlock just by playing the game without even knowing it lol Considering all the trophies that require fight specific requests can be done in practice mode it's an easy platinum trophy

The Verdict:
IGN gave Marvel vs Capcom 3 an 8.5/10, Ulitmate Marvel vs Capcom 3 an 8.5/10 and Street Fighter x Tekken a 9.0/10. All the games I just listed were not only INCOMPLETE games but pushed DLC (some already on the disc) charged you, the consumer, full price for an incomplete product along with extra to "complete" it. I've played all those games and they were not a "complete" product. Yet Tekken Tag 2, with MORE playable characters than any of those games and FREE DLC, received a 7.5/10 from IGN. I'm not getting paid by anyone to review this game. Good fighting + Good content + Good online + Free DLC = Fun Game. I'm just telling the truth. Tekken Tag 2 is a complete game and I give it a 9.9/10 because no game is "perfect" but this game is pretty damn close to perfection. It's no wonder Tekken is the best selling fighting franchise of all time. I'm confident this game will go down as one of the best fighting games of this generation of gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TTT2 is amazing., December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tekken Tag Tournament 2 PS3 (Video Game)
Everything about this game is great. The control is near perfect as long as you know what you're doing. There is a lot of outfit customization, not quite as much as Tekken 6, but there's still a lot. The online has a few hiccups every now and again, but its still playable. I love this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tekken Tag Tournament 2 PS3
Tekken Tag Tournament 2 PS3 by Namco (PlayStation 3)
$22.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.