Industrial-Sized Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Deradoorian Storm Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Shop Popular Services Home Theater Setup Plumbing Services Assembly Services Shop all TransparentGGWin TransparentGGWin TransparentGGWin  Amazon Echo Fire HD 6 Kindle Voyage The Walking Dead\ Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Deal of the Day


December 16, 2008 | Format: MP3

Song Title Artist
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: January 10, 1997
  • Release Date: December 16, 2008
  • Label: 143/Lava/Atlantic
  • Copyright: 1997 Bjork Overseas Ltd./One Little Indian Ltd. under exclusive license to Elektra Entertainment Group for North America
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 51:20
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B001OB81LO
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (78 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #26,306 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

37 of 42 people found the following review helpful By Gyakusetsu on July 1, 2005
Format: Audio CD
Telegram is basically a beautiful compillation of the best mixes (and one b-side) from nearly all of the 'Post' singles.

The album revisits all of the songs off of 'Post' (except for 'It's Oh So Quiet' and 'The Modern Things') and completely revamps them.

1. Possibly Maybe [Lucy Mix] 4/5
This is a very odd version of possibly maybe with complete new vocals. It sounds almost mechanical, but it's deffinitely Björk doing what she does best!

2. Hyper-Ballad [Brodski Quartert Version] 5/5
This is the Brodski Quartert performance with bjork of Hyper-Ballad. The song has so much energy from the strings, and Björk gives one of her best performances with the quartet that I have ever heard.

3. Enjoy [Further Over The Edge Mix] 4/5
This is the most bizarre track on the entire disc. Its an electronic buzzing mind trip like none other. The music is all buzzing beats with sampled Björk vocals. Very awesome track.

4. My Spine 5/5
It takes you through glass windchimes and a sensual tune brought by Björk. A delacate & pretty song, it is a dust devil of pretty beats and chimes.

5. I Miss You [Dobie's Rub Part One - Sunshine Mix] 2/5
In my opinion, the worst track on the disc. It's basically the 'Post' version, except slowed down and put to hip-hop. Not very good.

6. Isobel [Deodato Mix] 5/5
This is the true highlight of the whole album. The song Isobel has here been put with a contemporary jazz beat and really awesome instrumentals that just take the already wonderful song to the next level.

7. You've Been Flirting Again [Flirt Is A Promise Mix] 5/5
Very simple and pretty. The beginning entices you and the beautiful string arrangements keep you wanting more.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful By J. Holmes on August 16, 2004
Format: Audio CD
say goodbye to the deliciously demented Sugarcubes, and say hello to Bjork solo pop star! in her old bands it was obvious that there was a mighty strong force brewing in her mind and with her vocals. sometimes her ideas seemed suffocated by her fellow band member's contributions; so thank god that someone had the sense to let her go solo and really explore the outer and inner dephths of her talent. now that she has enjoyed a healthy and high profile solo career for quite some time; it's amazing to take a look back at her past catalogue and examine her progression over the years.

"Telegram" stands out not just as an excellent Bjork album, but also as a superb example of how a remix album should be done. (Massive Attack's "No Protection" is another outstanding example.) the Bjork originals on "Telegram" are not just given a thumping 4/4 techno beat or some other kind of lazy "remix" treatment. in fact, many of these songs add so much more life to the originals that you may have a hard time choosing which is your favorite. it's also amazing to me that even though each song gets a different remix from a different artist, the whole album has a very coherent and organic feel to it. the songs flow and some of the performances are downright brilliant! "Possibly Maybe" warps and spaces out Bjork's sultry vocals and adds a lazy stumbling beat that fits it perfectly. Deodato's treatment of "Isobel" is sheer bliss, and "I Miss You" in the hands of Dobie becomes a fun and bouncy hip-hop lite anthem. the new track on here "My Spine" comes across alot like some of the percussion from Tom Waits' "Bone Machine" album crossed with some crazy calypso. it's a great song and fits in perfectly with the whole of the album. there are lots of great ideas and artistic energy here on "Telegram.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Al Castro on July 29, 2008
Format: Audio CD
A remix usually constitutes just what it implies: vocals with some new instrumentals, and maybe a reverb, delay, and cutup, or two. But Björk being Björk, her less-than-monumental yet doubtlessly ambitious 1996 remix album Telegram is cut from a different cloth than most remixes. In fact, it's another fabric entirely.

Before any commentary, it should be duly noted that, if you disliked Post, stay far away from Telegram. There is certainly difference between the two, but if you found yourself moaning at the LP version of "Headphones," you'll practically gag on the minimalist remix on this disc.

But "Headphone" is the only track that's drastically minimized. The other songs feel busier, in fact. "Army of Me," for example, goes from the lead character to the anthropomorphic tree in the background. "Army of Me" is not minimized in a traditional sense, though the harsh electronic beats applied to it on Telegram diminish its original declaratory beauty.

If you found "Hyper-ballad" lacking on Post, you'll be happily surprised by the Brodsky Quartet version here. It sweeps into a Top Forty, Coldplay-esque crescendo that communicates such a rife, orchestral beauty----a beauty not found in the aforementioned forty. The hip-hop remix of "I Miss You" is a decent, slow-moving old-school mix that not everyone will find Björkish enough. Then again, the yuppie-lounge mix of "Isobel" may cause some listeners to instantly press "eject." And as for "Enjoy"? I don't what the hell is going on there. It's grating and pretty damn annoying. Instantly forgettable.

"Cover Me" has a little drum n' bass thing going on, and it works to an exciting degree.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?