Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Triumph over pain
I bought this book today and have already read the whole thing. This is a very compelling story about a young girl who suffers almost unimaginable abuse from her mother and step father. It is not easy subject matter to read, but I agree strongly with the author that only by those who have been abused sharing the details of their stories will the rest of us learn to...
Published on February 29, 2012 by ScrapHappy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars halfhearted attempt to recreate memories
Sad story but seems like something missing ... Didn't keep me glued .... Characters weren't 3 dimensional ... Half hearted attempt to develop characters
Published 13 months ago by Cee


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Triumph over pain, February 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tell No One (Story of Child Abuse Survival) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book today and have already read the whole thing. This is a very compelling story about a young girl who suffers almost unimaginable abuse from her mother and step father. It is not easy subject matter to read, but I agree strongly with the author that only by those who have been abused sharing the details of their stories will the rest of us learn to recognize and take action on the many "faces" that abuse can present in public. (Unkempt appearance, constant unexplained bruises, etc are common signs, but some of the others that are less visible are also important, such as the author's ravenous hunger at school because she wasn't being fed at home, etc...)

Regarding the ebook formatting, this book is in good shape with very few errors. The story does have a jarring shift of verb tense several times throughout, especially in the early chapters, but overall the story is very well written and even with some grammatical errors the heart and soul of the author and her (loving) family shine through. Ignore the occasional misspelled word and let your heart hear what she is saying, because that is what really matters anyhow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, April 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tell No One (Story of Child Abuse Survival) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book in three hours! Sarah's story was so sad how a mother could treat her daughter. For many years Sarah just couldnt understand why she wasnt good enough for her mom? Her mom suffered from Bi-Polar mental disease and in those days it was not a well know mental sickness and was not treated right. Sarahs aunt Linda is the hero in this story and deserves a metal for how she took care of Sarah and nursed her back to health. Sarah tells her story with strength and courage , and sends a message to others to look for signs in child abuse!! Congrads Sarah you made it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That rare thing, a well-written self-pub., March 7, 2012
This review is from: Tell No One (Story of Child Abuse Survival) (Kindle Edition)
Don't get me wrong, there are some good self-pubbed books out there (MY KIND OF CRAZY: Living in a Bipolar World is my best pick so far) but many of the self-published books, especially those in the personal memoir genre, are pretty awful. No matter how interesting the blurb, I'm always a little wary - is this going to be another really badly written whine?

Tell No One, however, is refreshing in its honesty and its pathos, and (miraculously!) also has very few typos, grammatical wince-fests, formatting errors, etc.

It feels a little weird giving five stars (can one really _love_ a book about child abuse?), but I can't in conscience give less.

It's evident from the moment Sarah's mother appears that she has some fairly severe mental health issues. One can only cringe at the pain of a four year old forced to deal with a highly unstable mother without support from anyone, and not being in a position to understand what is wrong.

Unusually, this book also shows a child being rescued from a horrendous situation, and beginning to heal in her mid teens - again, very refreshing. So often hope is downplayed.

There's little if any self-pity here, and much that is moving. Highly commendable, and exceptionally good (and unusual!) for a self-pubbed memoir.

One can only hope that Sarah can eventually forgive her mother just for her own sake, so that those wounds do not fester. It is, however, encouraging to anyone who has survived painful times to read of a child who has been through so much growing into a woman who has survived, even thrived, and now has a happy marriage and children of her own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emotional Page Turner, May 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tell No One (Story of Child Abuse Survival) (Kindle Edition)
Once I started reading I couldn't put this book down. It is a frank, open, honest account of the author's tortured childhood. It is written in such a way that you go on the journey with the author, feel her pain and eventually her triumph. Hopefully this brings awareness to Child abuse and the cracks in the system that is supposed to help and protect these children. Long are the days of looking the other way. It's time that as a community we get involved and ensure our children's safety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book th, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tell No One (Story of Child Abuse Survival) (Kindle Edition)
this is one of the best book I've read.. it was sad but the way it ended almost made up for what happened to her....... she was finally home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad, December 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tell No One (Story of Child Abuse Survival) (Kindle Edition)
this is a great book that shows people the.truth and pain that hides behind so children's eyes. never let a child go unnoticed when you think that maybe something could be wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!, December 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tell No One (Story of Child Abuse Survival) (Kindle Edition)
It's definitely different saying a child abuse story is amazing but this book really is. The author has great courage going through all that at such a young age and for so long. I finished this book in 2 hours and highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made me cry :'( just love this story <3, May 27, 2013
This review is from: Tell No One (Story of Child Abuse Survival) (Kindle Edition)
Wow. This is a true survival story. There is so much detail !
I think i read this book about 5 times in a row. And all it does is bring tears to my eyes! If u are looking for a book, where u think "OMG. THIS MOTHER IS NOT A MOTHER"! Cause that's what i was thinking the whole in tire time... i dont think sarah ever had a day without wanting her nan or aunt !! PLEASE get this book... its so good u will enjoy it so much! Totally worh is money <3 :')
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sad Story, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tell No One (Story of Child Abuse Survival) (Kindle Edition)
What this little girl was put thru by the hands of her mother was unbelievable. Very sad story i cried several times when reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, October 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tell No One (Story of Child Abuse Survival) (Kindle Edition)
To look threw the eyes of someone who's child hood was a nightmare and can become her own protector is amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.