Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ticket to success for Guided Autobiography groups, September 8, 2001
By 
Cheryl M. Svensson (Corona del Mar, California USA) - See all my reviews
September 8, 2001
Book Review by Cheryl Svensson
Telling the Stories of Life Through Guided Autobiography Groups
James E. Birren and Kathryn Cochran
I have led Guided Autobiography groups using, Telling the Stories of Life Through Guided Autobiography Groups, as my guide. The manual has proven to be the ticket to success!.
Guided Autobiography is an ordered, logical process of sequential steps that assist in writing one's life story. Each of the ten week sessions focuses on a theme that explores the important aspects of life and provides sensitizing questions as a guide to uncover the true life story. The purpose is an exploration of one's own life in a meaningful way that is
self-enriching and can also be left as a legacy for family members. The group process supports this end and provides the security and encouragement for self-exploration.
James Birren and Kathryn Cochran have provided guidelines to lead groups from the initial steps of recruiting group members to the final wrap-up session and saying good bye. Complete lesson plans are included that cover every feature of the weekly session. Each of the ten-week sessions includes a specific checklist, e.g., reminders to bring name tags, roster sheet, paper, pens, etc. to ensure success. The sensitzing questions, one of the keys to the Guided Autobiography process, are
included for each life theme. Furthermore, there are additional
suggestions and techniques for each session to stimulate creative writing skills, use of metaphor, and prompts to prime memories among others.
Having the training manual when running Guided Autobiography groups is like having a professional pack your suitcase when you embark on an extended ten week journey; nothing has been forgotten, the proper clothes for each occasion and all weather conditions have been anticipated, everything is mixed and matched perfectly, and all that's left is for you to enjoy the trip.
Telling the Stories of Life Through Guided Autobiography Groups does all that and more. Having the training manual frees you to fully engage yourself in the exciting Guided Autobiography process and grow along with your fellow travelers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful guidance for autobiography groups, December 1, 2010
By 
J. Neill (Hockessin, DE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Telling the Stories of Life through Guided Autobiography Groups (Paperback)
This book describes in great detail the method James Birren has used for over a quarter of a century. It contains very useful and evocative prompts covering major areas of life to use with autobiography groups. Its advice on group organization and facilitation is outstanding, revealing the knowledge, perception, skills and experience of the authors. The tone throughout the book is one of respect and attention to the uniqueness and dignity of all individuals involved, not surprising to any familiar with the career of or personally acquainted with its major author, James Birren.

I found that this handbook also provided innumerable aids in facilitating a process similar to Guided Autobiography, "Life Review," for groups in a variety of settings--nursing homes, retreat and senior centers, faith sharing groups and training of counseling and health care professionals. There is nothing important left out from the organization to the implementation of such groups. The insightful and sensitive prompts provided addressing a person's life story have routinely produced rich responses from those involved. While not the major intent of the book, utilizing the process described has not failed to produce group bonding in the groups where it has been used.

Particular attention should be paid to the leadership of these groups. Experienced leaders will recognize the wise advice and others will have sound counsel from Birren and Cocharan about the skills needed and pitfalls to be avoided. I highly recommend the book for guided autobiography and other similar groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enriching our Lives together, September 29, 2010
By 
Rachel Macpherson (Busselton, Western Australia Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Telling the Stories of Life through Guided Autobiography Groups (Paperback)
Does to perfection what the book title suggests. The authors have given a helpful, and essential, description of the qualities which a group faciitator should possess. Following this the whole program is set out clearly, week by week, with useful suggestions for the presenter. This is a rich source of experience which has been shared so generously by the authors. Dr.James Birren and colleague have practised and shared a wonderful journey to be enjoyed by many people. The group I am leading is highly motivated; they are finding that their involvement not only gets them moving to write their stories but it also becomes a truly desirable social experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Handbook for Jump-Starting Autobiographies!, February 13, 2012
By 
Ronald Gross (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Telling the Stories of Life through Guided Autobiography Groups (Paperback)
An inspiring and meticulous Handbook that provides everything you need to know about conducting groups using this proven methodology. Includes "camera-ready" materials for planning, promoting, organizing, and conducting your course -- from the initial news release, to the final session evaluation form. The authors are the originator of the method, James Birren, a giant in the field of gerontology, and an experienced practitioner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Autobiography themes, July 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have used this guide to conduct dozens of interviews and record life histories for future generations. It causes the reader to think about a theme and recall how they lived, thought, felt and decided at the major branching points in their lives. Major branching points is just one of the 8 or 9 themes. Each theme has sensitizing questions to prime the memory and the best part, the questions and theme fit on a single page - so the person recording their life story does not have much preparation before they are richly engaged in telling the story of their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great teaching aid, November 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Telling the Stories of Life through Guided Autobiography Groups (Paperback)
I found this book to provide excellent guidance on facilitating a Life Writing course. I had no experience in running a Life Writing Program but with the lesson outlines and other important suggestions included I found my feet very quickly. I have to admit, I adapted some of the lesson plans and put more emphasis on writing exercises which stimulated people's memories, creativity and flow, rather than personal development.

The groups I've taught were mainly older people, aged 60 years +, and they seemed to appreciate this focus. The sensitizing questions and weekly topics offered in the book and given out to participants seemed to stimulate a lot of writing and creativity. One of the Senior groups I ran wanted the course to run 24 weeks rather than 12 and has kept meeting (self run) weekly for nearly 18 months. The group is about to publish a book of stories. There also seems to be friendships along with confidence and well developed writing capacity among the participants. After a year some members had written more than 25,000 words on their life story. I suggest reading Gabrielle Rico's book, Writing the Natural Way also, as her writing exercises help people overcome writing blocks and can be incorporated into lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you help elders with their life stories, this book is a must, July 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Telling the Stories of Life through Guided Autobiography Groups (Paperback)
Most personal biographies tend to be glorified laundry lists of chronicled events: schools, marriage, job, children.

To break with the boredom of linearity, revered gerontologist James Birren suggests approaching the subject's life from the vantage point of various themes: family, geography, work, spirituality, aspirations . . . the list goes on.

Put into context, the talking points of a life take on a resonance that makes them appealing to even non-related readers.

Which makes this book a bargain. Better yet, take one of Birren's Guided Autobiography (GAB) trainer's courses and lead a group on a journey through their own lives, looking at them with fresh eyes and discovering who they really are and how they got that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read and reference., April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Telling the Stories of Life through Guided Autobiography Groups (Paperback)
I purchased this as the accompaniment to a class I was taking; I found it to be an excellent reference - both for the class and for long-term use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Telling the Stories of Life through Guided Autobiography Groups
Telling the Stories of Life through Guided Autobiography Groups by James E. Birren (Paperback - June 7, 2001)
$24.00 $18.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.