Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tempered Steel
If you have not read this book you are lucky. You can look forward to one of the best reads of your life. A very uplifting story even though written about the horrors of war. Mr. Goforth certainly can entertain. If you like decent Presidents an effective military & old ships get & treasure this book. Enjoy!

L Puryear
Published on November 3, 2011 by Leland S Puryear

versus
29 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The premise of this book is completely wrong
I'm slowly learning that when there are less than ten reviews of a book to take them with a grain of salt. After all, everyone has at least ten friends that could write a review. This book is nothing more than a long, drawn out war story in which the American's seldom lose. However, the author completely ignores some very important facts.

It starts with a...
Published on October 20, 2011 by tom4416


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tempered Steel, November 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempered Steel (Roger Hammond Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If you have not read this book you are lucky. You can look forward to one of the best reads of your life. A very uplifting story even though written about the horrors of war. Mr. Goforth certainly can entertain. If you like decent Presidents an effective military & old ships get & treasure this book. Enjoy!

L Puryear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding Naval thriller!, July 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempered Steel (Roger Hammond Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As an avid reader of techno-thrillers, I have to say this is one of the most skillfully written works I've ever read. The story line was amazing, and Goforth's style and writing skills are first-rate. I've Googled "Hunter Goforth" and "Tempered Steel" and nothing comes up!

Who is this guy, what are his previous works, and what is he working on? What is his website?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The premise of this book is completely wrong, October 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempered Steel (Roger Hammond Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm slowly learning that when there are less than ten reviews of a book to take them with a grain of salt. After all, everyone has at least ten friends that could write a review. This book is nothing more than a long, drawn out war story in which the American's seldom lose. However, the author completely ignores some very important facts.

It starts with a massive EMP attack on the US but somehow, communications and even travel are restored relatively quickly and the US soon learns that North Korea is the instigator of the attack. So, how do we retaliate? By re-commissioning warships that are decades old and sending them into battle against North Korea. But wait a minute, at least half the US fleet was at sea, presumably out of the range of the EMP but somehow, we can't use our carriers and their air wings to fight the enemy, we have to do it the old fashioned way with battleships and destroyers and car carriers as landing craft. And even if the entire naval surface fleet was damaged, the subs would all still be operational.

In reality we would have surfaced a couple of subs off the coast, peppered it with cruise missiles and if that didn't discourage the North Koreans, used some nuclear armed missiles from the same sub and obliterated the leadership of the enemy. And even if we didn't want to go nuclear (remember, they used 80 nuclear weapons against the US), an aircraft carrier parked off the coast would have destroyed their weak airforce and carpet bombed the heck out of them and the whole thing would have been over in days.

Why we would spend all the money and time bringing old ships back on line has more to do with the author's love of old naval hardware than a proper premise for this book. While the writing style is decent, the story line is so implausible that even suspending disbelief makes it hard to like this book. Does anyone really think we would have a kill ratio of 100:1 in our favor when operating on foreign soil with limited supplies and munitions? And yet the well armed and equipped North Koreans, who have planned the attack for months, are falling like flies in the face of a retreating US force in South Korea.

To those that loved the book, glad you did. To those that haven't bought it yet even the free sample isn't helpful because it covers the actual attack nuclear attack against the US which is pretty interesting and well written. However, thirty pages after the end of the sample, it all fell apart for me and I absolutely struggled to finish this book, more because I hate wasting money that because there was anything left worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, exciting, action-filled story. A must read., April 18, 2011
This review is from: Tempered Steel (Roger Hammond Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Tempered Steel is an absolutely amazing book. I couldn't put it down and read it in a day. From start to finish, this story will keep you transfixed. Constant action and suspense permeate the whole story. For $3.00 (Way underpriced I think) this is a no brainer to purchase.

If you like the genre of Tom Clancy, then you will be blown away by this book. (IMHO it far surpasses Clancy's writings)

Fair winds and following seas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, June 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempered Steel (Roger Hammond Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book and I really enjoyed it. I read some of the other reviews and I must say it seems that the fact this is fiction has been forgotten. What I enjoyed was seeing the ship under her skipper turn into a highly effective fighting ship and unlike some of our other wars it was not micromannaged from the White House. The other thing I liked was the President that listened to people that knew what they were talking about and were not afraid to think outside the box and then acted on their advice. Yes, this is fiction and what is covered is highly unlikely ever to really happen but the point is made several times about how the Armed Forces were drawn down too far as is about to happen again just as it has after every war we have fought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!!, August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempered Steel (Roger Hammond Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I've read most of the reviews, even commented on a few, and have to say I think some of the reviewers are nitpickers who need to stop reading fiction and go back to non-fiction. This book started with a bang, literally, and shot forward from there. All the criticism aside I'd like to suggest that you nitpickers get over it.

During WWII they could build a ship in ten weeks. Even after an EMP I think we have the technology today to refurbish mothballed ships in three months.

Everything and everyone in this book was bigger than life. The president was the perfect president at the right time and don't forget he got rid of the politically motivated military officers so the remaining officers had to be good. OK, they were better than good and better than life, but they were perfect characters for a fiction war novel. The people were bigger than life, the equipment was better than life, and the accuracy and combat effectiveness was better than life. Excellent! I don't read books like this to read about the US losing.

I'm a 22+ year Navy 'Tin-Can' sailor. I've been on a ship doing Naval Gun Fire Support (NGFS) for ground troops off South Vietnam, done NGFS up rivers in Vietnam, and got into a shooting battle or two with NVA short batteries off North Vietnam. I could feel the combat in this book and appreciate the way the author put it all together.

Bottom line is that this was a fun fictional war novel and I enjoyed reading it. As a 22+ year veteran of the US Navy and an Enlisted Surface Warfare Specialist, I for one enjoyed the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No nitpicking, January 29, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempered Steel (Roger Hammond Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As a lifelong amateur student of miltary history and avid reader of techno-thrillers, I was most curious about the premise of this book. There are several reader reviews for this work which comment upon how the 'reality' of this scenario is completely wrong, how there would have many ways in which the facts would have precluded how the author laid things out. And they're totally correct. But... it doesn't matter. The writer is a gifted storyteller and has a most readable style. I thoroughly enjoyed this book (in spite of its logistical inconsistencies) and would advise you to drop any nitpicking and just go with it - it's a great yarn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tempered Steel, August 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempered Steel (Roger Hammond Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A fun read about a little war between North Korea and the US featuring our old battleships. Believable and with lots of detail of the old ships and their firepower. Good characters and plot development. If you like action, this book has a lot and it flows nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good yarn, August 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempered Steel (Roger Hammond Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
THis had a good variety of story lines. I recommend this to anyone that enjoys books about war and the men/women that fight in them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real World Threat, July 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempered Steel (Roger Hammond Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. Being ex-Navy it rang some bells. We always have loved the old battleships. For those who are critical...get a life, this is fantasy and it is a very enjoyable read. I would like to see more from this author whoever he or she is. I know this is a pen name. Whoever you are you did a great job and this is coming from a Navy Combat Veteran who served on an aircaft carrier during the Vietnam War. I also like the fact that there were so few typos. That is rare in kindle books. For those who say the premise is unlikely, check with the military. EMP is one of their greatest fears. It would not be difficult to disable this country. It is a frightening prospect. I thank this author for bringing that threat to the forefront. Remember hat Tom Clancey predicted the use of aircraft as terrorist weapons before it actually happened. We need to be prepared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.