Customer Reviews


469 Reviews
5 star:
 (294)
4 star:
 (97)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


174 of 190 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dylan's roadhouse blues--dark, rowdy, haunting, and among his latter-day best
There's been no singer-songwriter in the near 60-year history of rock music who's a better storyteller than Bob Dylan. He proved it with his (now legendary) humble folk beginnings, and he continues to prove it today, as evidenced by the very dark, very epic 'Tempest,' an album that can proudly stand next to the best of his post-'Blood on the Tracks' repertoire...
Published 19 months ago by Jack Tripper

versus
75 of 107 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a wild, but rickety, ride
Bob Dylan is on cruise control. At the age of 71, he still tours relentlessly. And he records new albums about as quickly as your great-grandfather can peruse his collection of pre-prohibition vinyl records. He's like an old, rickety car making its way down the highway on fumes, puttering on with no sign of what'll give first: the engine, or that old tape-deck...
Published 19 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 124 25 2647 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Bob is still a force to recon with!, December 3, 2012
By 
G. Simms "Ireadlots" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempest (Audio CD)
I recently heard that the list of rock stars who are around 70 years old who are still making worthwhile contributions to the genre begins with Bob Dylan and ends with Neil Young. Tempest has received "uneven" reviews, but the appeal of this album should transcend die-hard Dylanophiles. The tracks may sound similar (a result of the loss of voice (voice? what voice?) he might once have had, but as another reviewer added, he has "great diction" so that the words of this poet are not lost. The band is extraordinarily tight, and each and every song is filled with enough meaning to require multiple listenings. I strongly suggest that every listening is a worth wile expenditure of time. Not an album for background music. It's one of those which demands you attention. Give it the attention it deserves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tempest comments., December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempest (Audio CD)
Great new songs by Dylan, with good variety. Excellent lyrics and musical arrangements. He is still going strong at 71!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Bob Dylan!, December 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempest (MP3 Music)
This is Bob Dylan sounding his age, unfortunately, but it's still Bob Dylan, and nobody can write or perform the way he does. Personally, I'm a never-say-die fan of this man (because he IS the man) and I'm not going to review anything lower than 5 stars for Bob Dylan, ever. That being said, this is a solid album that has some really good songs on it. I suggest that you listen to the MP3 samplers before you buy if you're uncertain. This review is biased but at least I'm putting in my vote. The man is a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's Bob, November 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempest (Audio CD)
Not as good as earilier stuff, but it's Dylan and he is still around. I'm enjoying it. It's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks! :), November 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempest (Audio CD)
I bought this as a Christmas present so I can't actually review the CD itself, but incredibly fast shipping and a great price & great packaging. Thanks again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tempest, November 29, 2012
By 
greg carlson (san jose, ca United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempest (Audio CD)
It's hard not to appreciate one of the greatest poets this country has produced. And we're so lucky he's still churning out wonderful stories like the title track. A Dylan fan since his first album came out, there isn't an artist out there that can match his creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DYLAN as powerful as always, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempest (Audio CD)
Bob Dylan has delivered for about 40 years (more maybe?). TEMPEST is as unique and moving as the best of the rest. "Desquane Whistle" is a lilting, toe-tapping up-tempo kick-in-the-ass healer type of song for our troubled times. A sweet good ol' American tune that can pull us all together, (if only for a few minutes). The title song TEMPEST is that very special and rare occurrence when an great artists' varied powers of expression coalesce into a whole that is more than the sum of its parts resulting in a masterpiece of art that touches the soul. This one song is worth the price of the whole album. But don't be chincey and just buy this one tune on your ipod you will miss too much. Live a little and listen carefully to all of this American Masters latest offering to us, you will be very challenged and not at all disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On top of his game after more than 50 years!, November 23, 2012
This review is from: Tempest (Audio CD)
In this, his 35th or 36th studio album spanning a career of 50+ years, BD continues to fortify his position at the top of relevant, folk/rock musicians. Apart from a few short, periodic voids of creativity, his latest albums exhibit talent equal to his previous best. While some reviewers have recently criticized his aging vocals, since when was Dylan's voice ever considered his most eloquent attribute? Dylan's voice has always been "off," but endearing; a major ingredient of his attraction and success. More attractive, however, are Dylan's lyrics and musicality.

I would grade "Tempest" as one of Dylan's top ten albums. Great lyrics, outstanding music, all of which were provided by exceptional back-up musicians in a top-notch recording by Columbia. If you're a Dylan fan, you need to hear this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tempest--Bob Dylan, November 23, 2012
By 
J. Humphrey "lostmountainman" (Sequim, Washington United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempest (Audio CD)
Great music from a master song writer--Bob Dylan. Highly recommended. One of the greatest poets and song writers of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Dylan CD, November 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Have always loved anything Bob Dylan does, but the 1st song very nice to dance to & extremely cheerful sound..beautiful & the 2nd is very romantic & touches the heart...all so wonderful & as usually new interesting sounds & lyrics with this wonderful artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 124 25 2647 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa37f3750)

This product

Tempest
Tempest by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.