Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps time for Nina and Eddie to take a break?
OK, this gets 4 stars because it's not as good as the previous novel. Having been castigated for giving spoilers in my review of that - which makes it a trifle hard to review given this is mind-fluff prose and you can't really comment on a high technical skill in writing these kinds of novels - then suffice it to say the cliff hangers of the last novel are resolved...
Published on March 16, 2012 by travelswithadiplomat

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wish they stick to th tites
I wish he publishers would stick to the same titles in every country. I bought two of this guys books that turned out to be the same book, just with a different title, and I was about to do the same with this one. We live in a global community, people.
Published on April 15, 2012 by Maria Garcia-Montes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wish they stick to th tites, April 15, 2012
This review is from: Temple of the Gods (Paperback)
I wish he publishers would stick to the same titles in every country. I bought two of this guys books that turned out to be the same book, just with a different title, and I was about to do the same with this one. We live in a global community, people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps time for Nina and Eddie to take a break?, March 16, 2012
This review is from: Temple of the Gods (Paperback)
OK, this gets 4 stars because it's not as good as the previous novel. Having been castigated for giving spoilers in my review of that - which makes it a trifle hard to review given this is mind-fluff prose and you can't really comment on a high technical skill in writing these kinds of novels - then suffice it to say the cliff hangers of the last novel are resolved swiftly in this one.
By the end of the novel we are throughly sated with car chases, helicopter gunships - the scene in Japan at the top of the highrise made me, curiously, think of the film Entrapment - Eddie's cheesy one-liners and bouncebackability, a submarine return to Atlantis, a trip to the cradle of Africa - reminded me of the plot of Tomb Raider II -, a meteor and the usual high octane action.
I've got to say, McDermott is in danger of veering towards competing with Matthew Reilly and doesn't need to. There are plot parallels with Reilly's Five-Six-Seven trilogy and Eddie is becoming a trifle boorish despite the author's attempts to have a reconciliation with his Dad. There's a faint whiff of implausibility creeping in - perhaps odd to say given the nature of this book - but you've either got to be hugely over-the-top like Reilly, or more plausible like Steve Berry. I guess it comes down to the fact I like Scarecrow and Cotton Malone more as characters. Eddie Chase just doesn't quite have as much depth to his character.
Still, Andy's made a career here but with so many loose ends and characters tied off at the end of this his next project will be interesting. I suspect something different or new may come from his pen and that'll be good to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, August 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Temple of the Gods (Wilde/Chase 8) (Kindle Edition)
Even as a Hollywood blockbuster this would be dismal. The characters don't take a break, every chapter sees Nina and co in a new impossible situation: from the break-in to the billionaires super secure tower, the helicopter gunship attack at the same tower, the James Bond like escape from the tower, to the underwater attack, and then the attack on the billionaires mountain hideaway (Eagles Nest anyone?) Bring on Jack Reacher any day. Needless to say this is not great prose either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous action author!, April 28, 2014
By 
Jo Denson (Killeen, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Temple of the Gods (Paperback)
This is the book "Return to Atlantis" under a different title. Wish publishers wouldn't do this, we waste our money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read...., May 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Temple of the Gods (Paperback)
If you enjoy fast action this a book for you... They get in and out of more scrapes than you can imagine.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eddie and Nina are back!!, April 30, 2014
By 
Deanna Haddrill (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Temple of the Gods (Wilde/Chase 8) (Kindle Edition)
Yay!!! Nine and Eddie are back and better than ever!! Gone is the constant fighting and arguing and lack of belief in each other. This book was a welcome return to what makes these books work - Eddie and Nina supporting each other and getting the job done. Have to say though, that Eddie needs to buy a lottery ticket - the amount of times he escaped what appeared to be certain death was nothing short of miraculous!! A nice return to Atlantis. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brains and braun, April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Temple of the Gods (Paperback)
Very easy to read and sometimes you get some actual factual history. But I would confirm your knowledge by checking the internet or see if any comments are made by the author at the end of the book. The action is fast so put on your seat belts. This is an adult book. The language can be colorful but does add to the character of the plot. I always love it when a spin is added to any myth to try to make the myth alive and factual. Just remember most myths are based on some past actual outcomes. The Ebla tablets are showing that their were some actual occurrences in the past that are bringing to light some explanations that have been hard to prove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super read!, November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Temple of the Gods (Paperback)
One simply can't go wrong with an Andy McDermott book when one loves the adventure genre as I do. This one does not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars TEMPLE OF THE GODS, August 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Temple of the Gods (Paperback)
I was hoping to get a smaller book. This size is more difficult to carry when traveling. Contents are OK. Some of his others are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome!!, June 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Temple of the Gods (Paperback)
As good as all his other books. Works with the rest of the other books great. Very satisfied with this read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Temple of the Gods (Wilde/Chase 8)
Used & New from: $11.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.