Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing to come out of Brazil since tobacco and coffee beans
THE BAND: Edu Falaschi (vocals), Rafael Bittencourt (guitars), Kiko Loureiro (guitars), Felipe Andreoli (bass), Aquiles Priester (drums & percussion).

THE DISC: (2004) 13 tracks clocking in at approximately 67 minutes. This is Angra's 5th full length studio album (they have 2 live albums and 2 EP's as well). Included with the disc is an 18-page booklet...
Published on February 22, 2006 by R. Gorham

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Talented Band...
This is my 1st venture into the band Angra. Sometimes they sound like the European power-metal, other times a bit like a prog band, with a bit of their Brazilian influences creeping in to a few songs.

Where this bogs down is the writing, both the storyline and songs. The storyline, though better written than say, Avantasia, is not very well done. It is...
Published on May 5, 2005 by J-bird


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing to come out of Brazil since tobacco and coffee beans, February 22, 2006
This review is from: Temple of Shadows (Audio CD)
THE BAND: Edu Falaschi (vocals), Rafael Bittencourt (guitars), Kiko Loureiro (guitars), Felipe Andreoli (bass), Aquiles Priester (drums & percussion).

THE DISC: (2004) 13 tracks clocking in at approximately 67 minutes. This is Angra's 5th full length studio album (they have 2 live albums and 2 EP's as well). Included with the disc is an 18-page booklet containing song credits, song lyrics, band pictures, and thank you's. There are 2 versions of this album available... the single disc version, and the limited edition version containing a 2nd disc - with approximately 160 minutes of backstage scenes and concert footage from their 'Rebirth' tour in Brazil, Japan, Taiwan and Europe. For avid Angra fans, this 2-disc set is a must have. Label - SPV/Steamhammer.

COMMENTS: Bittencourt's story, "Temple Of Shadows" is a neat concept album (if you're into this kind of thing). Lovers of ancient history delight, because this is right up your alley. In the booklet, there s a brief paragraph prior to each song giving you a flavor of what's to come. It tells the story of a knight crusader known as The Shadow Hunter, who joins an army of the Pope during the 11th century... songs dealing with Holy Wars, angels & demons, destroying cities, the main character being injured, death and heaven. Musically speaking, the band is tight, poised and professional. Falaschi's voice is dead on - singing (not screaming), harmonious and melodic. Electric guitars shred. Beautiful guitar solos. Thunderous drums (lots of double bass pounding - if that's your thing) are the back-bone of Angra. Power progressive metal - pianos, orchestras, matching the intensity of the band in their softer moments. Favorite songs are the 7+ minute "Morning Star" and the epic 8 minute "Shadow Hunter". Fans of Dream Theater, Symphony X, Kamelot, Pain Of Salvation and Shadow Gallery will be happy with this release. The sound production is crisp. The only complaint I have with this album is that it isn't long enough. Angra - perhaps Brazil's finest export (5 stars).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live Angra!!!, November 27, 2004
By 
Elton Lee (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Temple of Shadows (Audio CD)
I just could not believe what I was listening to. Angra surely proves that they are a powerful force from Brazil. They should be among the elite bands in the world. This album is such a great album. It has a grand theme as well as a concept album. Masterfully orchestrated. All 4 musicians display their virtuoso with their instruments. You could hear blistering drum beats and their songs are full of melody, memorable tunes and sing along songs. It is just an awesome album and fans of rock metal must pick this one up. This is even better than their previous album Rebirth!! This time Angra is here to stay.....for a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to recall a better cd released of late., May 17, 2005
This review is from: Temple of Shadows (Audio CD)
This is Angra's best cd. The album is just spectacular. If it seems like plain power metal, then listen to it over and over. You will fall in love with this cd, I promise. The DVD was recorded in 2001 during the Rebirth World Tour and has awesome quality, very well recorded, but they need to show Kiko during his solos more. I am dissapointed that this cd doesnt include Gate XIII, a thirteenth track that is for some reason absent from this release. It's an instrumental track with violin renditions of the vocal melodies on each previous song. This is the best cd I've heard in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Angra delivers a masterpiece as good as the old Angra, March 28, 2005
By 
Roberto M. Barros (São Paulo, Brasil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Temple of Shadows (Audio CD)
I confess that when vocalist, founder and main composer Andre Matos, charismatic bassist Luis "Jesus" Mariutti and monster drummer Ricardo Confessori left Angra, I proclaimed the band dead. And when the uninspired Rebirth album was released, I was sure my prophecy was fulfilled.

But guess what, I was totally wrong. Temple of Shadows is an album as good as Angels Cry, Holy Land and Shaman's Ritual, taking the band into a new direction that fits perfectly the skills of the new lineup. Don't be fooled though, there is still plenty of Angra-like stuff there, such as Brazilian percussion, bombastic choruses and tempo variation. But this CD is more metal, sounds more aggressive, plenty of heavy riffs (like when John Petrucci gets mad), faster and even more diversified than previous releases.

Edu Falaschi is singing his soul out here, like he wants you to feel what he is feeling, poised, aggressive but with a marvellous interpretation. Damn, from what I heard he was one of the top contenders for Bruce Dickinson's place in Iron Maiden. Kiko Loureiro is less of a guitar hero than before and more of a soloist full of feeling. Guitar Rafael Bittencourt stepped up to the main composer post, creating songs that are so diverse, yet fitting together perfectly. Felipe Andreoli is an OK bassist, but Aquiles Priester is also a monster drummer. He has less feeling than Confessori, who uses more non-metal style drumming and variations, but his precision and speed make him perfect for the new Angra sound.

About the songs, Temple of Shadows is full of songs that will slap your face, getting a WOW out of you and making you sing and hum together from the very first time.

- Spread Your Fire is a bombastic opener, fast, with the keys taking the lead and Edu singing his lungs out on the chorus. It has some Rhapsody grandiose here, but sounding way better. Awesome.

- Angels and Demons is THE song that would have made Fireworks a perfect album. Probably my favourite song in this album, it is led by melodic guitars, Edu shifts from aggressiveness to melodic when he sings the chorus until the great ending "...Angels & Demons arise". Two awesome fast melodic solos end when Edu brings one of his best interpretations. Perfect to say the least.

- Waiting Silence adds even more complexity, yet it is so easy to love this song. Led by keys, it has Edu singing his anguished and desperate cry while the song evolves slowly into a bombastic chorus.

- Wishing Well is the first ballad, very Angra-like where Edu sends shivers down your spine in one B-E-A-U-tiful epic chorus.

- Temple of Hate is the song I don't like here, because it's a more generic melodic metal. Not even Gamma Ray's Kai Hansen participation helps.

- Shadow Hunter is a great slow became faster song. The Brazilian acoustic starting precedes very melodic guitars and a slow singing by Edu, all followed by a chorus where Edu and the backing vocals duel. There are 3 solos, the first is hum-along, melodic and slow, followed by a faster and quick one, and then by a more intimate, slow and reflective. Great song.

- No Pain for the Dead is my second fave here. A sad, slow start evolves into a heavy and dense epic metal, where Edu spills out all his desire to end his life (and you believe him), all marvellously complemented by Edenbridge's Sabine Edelsbacher angelic voice.

- Wings of Destination is another great song, heavy and fast, but with lots of tempo variations, where Edu melodic voice duels with Blind Guardian's Hansi Kurch and his harsher voice. Wonderful.

- Sprouts of Time is one of those ballads that makes you wish to pick an acoustic guitar and learn how to play. A very Brazilian rythm with a catchy chorus that makes you sing. The soundtrack for a sunrise.

- Morning Star is probably the heaviest Angra song ever, even though it alternates with slow, Brazilian rythms and more epic parts. There are some John Petrucci riffs that would easily scare the Napalm Death guys. Perfect.

- Late Redemption is a unique song, combining Brazil's popular singer Milton Nascimento doing the reflective, God-like parts in Portuguese, like the conscience of the once again anguished, but epic Edu Falaschi singing in English, who knows his time to die has arrived. Impossible not to get emotional here.

Frankly, I cannot understand how some reviewers said that Angra mixes a lot of stuff from European bands and that is all. Sure they are heavily influenced, but try to find any Euro-band that sounds like The Shadow Hunter, Sprouts of Time or Late Redemption, for starters. Angra is a unique band, one that has discovered a new soul, bringing freshness into metal. If you don't believe me, listen to Temple of Shadows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Adventurous undertaking by Rafael Bittencourt, August 9, 2005
This review is from: Temple of Shadows (Audio CD)
When I heard about the concept of this album I was filled with glee and a little trepidation; a concept album set during the Crusades where a member of The Knights Templar begins to question his faith and the reasons for the war against the Muslims? Very relevant for our times don't you think. I was wondering though could Rafa Bittencourt pull this off, because make no mistakes this is HIS album. And he proves that while he may not be as adventurous musically as his departed colleague Andre Matos, he is capable of pulling off moments of superb melody. However unlike Angra under Matos, Temple is almost exclusively Euro Power Metal - with limited progressive interludes and little of the Brazilian influences that characterised their earlier albums. And that is where the problem may lie. Conceptually it is adventurous but musically not so.

After a short instrumental intro prepare to have your ears quite literally pinned back by the sheer velocity of opener "Spread Your Fire"; an absolute blistering song and a call to arms with speed, melody and a choral harmony chorus. It really is fists in the air stuff and possibly the album highlight. It is quite easy to imagine an army of Crusading knights singing along in unison with the chorus as they set out along the road to Jerusalem. The song showcases Edu Falaschi's grittier voice; the album really does show that for this type of music (power metal) Falaschi is probably better suited than Matos.

"Angels and Demons" is next - and after the opener it seemed like a bit of a let-down. However it has a good groove and interesting solos. "Wishing Well" follows the average "Waiting Silence" and it is my least favourite song - I find it very wishy-washy.

"The Temple of Hate" recaptures the ferocity of the opening track with guest vocals by Kai Hansen. It is in turn followed by my second favourite song on Temple and that is "The Shadow Hunter" - it is a marvellous song and one that bears constant re-listening to capture all the intricacies hidden underneath. Another of my favourites on this album is "Morning Star" - the rest are solid Angra songs but really not a lot to write home about. Which is why for the new Music I would give it three stars. So why give it four in the review?

I gave this album four stars and the reason was that the live DVD and Packaging add another star onto it. The DVD, taken from the Rebirth tour was outstanding and living where I do the probability of seeing Angra live is limited, so it was nice to see them even via DVD. The packaging for this CD is beautiful...it really is.

All in all this album is a solid Angra album and Rafael and the boys should be congratulated. It marks a slight bit of progress from Rebirth and hopefully their next album can mark another step in their progression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OH MY GOD.... AMAZING!!, February 1, 2005
This review is from: Temple of Shadows (Audio CD)
Angra has been around for a while now. Without a doubt the Andre Matos'years were great, but this "new" Angra is rocking like HELL!!! They are amazing musicians...the dual guitarwork on this album is flawless...the bass line is awesome all the time, and eventhough Ricardo Confessori was one of the best, Aquiles plays like a GOD.

I liked the concept of the album...personally I think Rafael Bittencourt has written great lyrics over time and this album is no exception. Being a Blind Guardian fan as well, I think Hansi is great on track 9.

On vocals? Well, Edu is becoming one of the best singers...it sounds very European on this cd... he is in on higher level. Reminds me of a young Fabio Lione but with a more powerful and angry voice.

Very powerful and complex album...definitely one of the best of Angra.

GO AND BUY IT NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Talented Band..., May 5, 2005
By 
J-bird (Coldsnowy, MI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Temple of Shadows (Audio CD)
This is my 1st venture into the band Angra. Sometimes they sound like the European power-metal, other times a bit like a prog band, with a bit of their Brazilian influences creeping in to a few songs.

Where this bogs down is the writing, both the storyline and songs. The storyline, though better written than say, Avantasia, is not very well done. It is incoherant at times and more than a little on the "cheesy" side. The songs themselves arent bad, but Angra needs to work on songwriting a bit more to put themselves in the big leauges.

Overall, this isnt a bad cd, and Angra are talented musicians, so if you like power-metal-prog (more power metal than prog) then Temple Of Shadows may be a decent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angra - Temple Of Shadows, October 5, 2005
By 
This review is from: Temple of Shadows (Audio CD)
I wasn't a big fan of Angra, I spotted this, and thought I would give them another chance, I'm glad I did, very good CD, many good songs. Good guitar riffs, excellent singing. The best tracks would probably be "Temple Of Hate" with Kai Hansen, and the best song on the cd, Winds Of Destination with Hansi Kursch of Blind Guardian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic, April 27, 2007
By 
This review is from: Temple of Shadows (Audio CD)
After being absolutely blown away by Angra's 2001 album Rebirth, I had very high expectations for the band's follow-up album Temple of Shadows. Part of that is due to the incredibly high quality of Rebirth, and part is due to the fact that the band made us wait three long years for this album. Either way, once I finally heard Temple of Shadows I was both over and under-whelmed.

I was overwhelmed due to the fact that Temple of Shadows is an extremely ambitious, musically adventurous concept album. You can tell that Angra put a tremendous amount of time and energy into this album. The songwriting, musicianship, orchestration, and production quality are all on par with Blind Guardian's A Night at the Opera album, and like that album, it takes several spins to really get into ToS. The persistence pays off though, as you'll soon start to really appreciate all that Angra accomplished with this album.

Temple of Shadows is a bit underwhelming in that it doesn't have the immediate impact that Rebirth had. I know it's not terribly fair, but I was expecting another album like Rebirth, and this is a totally different kind of album. As impressive as songs like "Spread Your Fire" and "Angels and Demons" are, they don't jump out at you right away the way nearly every song on Rebirth did. Again, once you've heard the album a few times you'll start to appreciate it more.

Angra isn't the kind of band to do the same thing twice, so Temple of Shadows is as different from Rebirth as Holy Land was to Angels Cry. In fact, Temple of Shadows comes across as a (much) heavier version of Holy Land. Both are ambitious concept albums that showcase a group of musicians who constantly evolve and challenge themselves. That's probably where the similarities end, as Temple of Shadows is a much heavier, much more aggressive effort than Holy Land, and the Brazilian elements that made Holy Land so compelling are not as evident on Temple of Shadows.

In the end, Temple of Shadows is a very satisfying Angra album, even if it wasn't exactly what I had expected. It goes without saying that this is a must-have for Angra fans, but most prog/power metal fans will want to check it out as well, if for no other reason than that Hansi Kurisch (Blind Guardian) and Kai Hansen (Gamma Ray) make guest appearances.

NOTE: The special edition of Temple of Shadows comes with a bonus live DVD. This isn't just some random collection of live footage either. It is the actual Live in Sao Paolo DVD that the band released a year earlier, which makes the Temple of Shadows special edition such a bonus.

NOTE 2: The early import version of the Temple of Shadows special edition comes in a nice digipack with a poster, but the DVD won't play in US players. The US version of the special edition has an all-region DVD, but comes in a standard jewel case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect power metal album, June 22, 2005
This review is from: Temple of Shadows (Audio CD)
This is absolutely amazing. Angra is my favorite top 3 power metal bands, and this cd is a must if you are just beginning to listen to them. This cd is more than just power because it has hints of jazz and a lot of orchestrated sections which ultimately makes this like a progressive metal album. You need this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Temple of Shadows
Temple of Shadows by Angra (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.