Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Standard Work On Archetypal Religion
As a Psychology graduate, and a student of Jung and Assagioli, I cannot fault the logic of seeking out the archetypes from our European Unconscious and identifying with them. This is exactly what the revival of Wotanism / Odinism is about. The psychic processes which are set in motion by following this path can do nothing but good in terms of individual psychic health...
Published on October 14, 2002 by Capt I. McRae

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Strange, Strange Mix of Ideas
For a book that's supposed to be about "purity," this is a really strange mix of ideas. It contains a short chapter on everything -- from Hippocrates to Heremticism to Giodorno Bruno to the Druids -- and claims they all have something to do with an ancient tribal religion of "Aryan people." This is important because their God, Wotan, lives in the subconsciousness of white...
Published 21 months ago by Manjushri


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Standard Work On Archetypal Religion, October 14, 2002
This review is from: Temple of Wotan : Holy Book of the Aryan Tribes (Paperback)
As a Psychology graduate, and a student of Jung and Assagioli, I cannot fault the logic of seeking out the archetypes from our European Unconscious and identifying with them. This is exactly what the revival of Wotanism / Odinism is about. The psychic processes which are set in motion by following this path can do nothing but good in terms of individual psychic health for those of Northern European ancestry. It was particularly beneficial to have sectuons of this book on Carl Jung and Miguel Serrano, which stress the archetypal nature of our religious experience. For me, this is probably the most influential and respected title on the contemporary Wotanist / Odinist revival. It certainly brought me closer to my roots, and provided insight into why I am the person I am. I heartily recommend it to all. If you are of a Northern European background, then here is a glimpse into your roots. If you are not from that tradition, then here you will find an explanation of what makes Wotanists / Odinists tick. For the knockers, you will find that Wotanists are not racists, and hate no one. They are doing what many people around the globe are doing in response to creeping multiculturalism, which ultimately will mean no cultures at all. They are celebrating their archetypal ancestry and trying to keep their unique culture alive. This is the right of all peoples and cultures. Essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Wonderful!, September 4, 2001
By 
"v_i_s_s" (WAUKESHA, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Temple of Wotan : Holy Book of the Aryan Tribes (Paperback)
This has got to be the most comprehensive book on European Paganism, without all the Modern Political Correct GARBAGE that tries to lend itself as 'paganism' today. The poor skeptics of this book (I can tell they haven't read it, judging from their false accusations found nowhere in this book) are deliberately attacking this book, trying somehow to hurt the author. European Paganism is just THAT- EUROPEAN! Racist? Well, paganism is a combined mythos of experiences by a group of indiginous European people, so if THAT is "racist", so be it. It is a religion of blood, always was, always will be. No amount of psycho-babble will ever change that. This book is my #1 pick of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fulfilling the author's earlier promise, March 4, 2002
This review is from: Temple of Wotan : Holy Book of the Aryan Tribes (Paperback)
Where McVan showed promise in Creed of Iron, this time around he delivers the goods. A meaty book on Odinism/Asatru. Those who think McVan's spirituality is merely politics in disguise ought to do themselves the favour of actually reading this book. No-nonsense Wotanism for the modern age while drawing heavily on the past.
As in Creed of Iron, McVan chooses to write a little about a lot. Temple of Wotan covers a large field of topics directly and indirectly related to the core spirituality of the Northern path. There were times when I wish I could have read more of his thoughts on subjects but he was quickly off onto something else. This book covers a lot of ground.
The content of the rituals draws heavily on the published works of established Odinist groups, although the credits for these works are not given. This might lead the reader to assume they McVan's own rituals and wordings, when in fact they have a much richer heritage. Nevertheless, any exposure to such holy words is for the good and this is less a criticism than an observation.
If you feel a pull toward the Gods of your ancestors then you could do far worse than read Temple of Wotan.
Hail the High Ones! Hail the Ancestors!
Russ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insight Into the Ancient Beliefs of the European Folk and Nations., August 27, 2006
By 
Michael Chesbro (Rainier, Washington USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Temple of Wotan : Holy Book of the Aryan Tribes (Paperback)
There is no higher incentive for learning than self-esteem that flows spontaneously from awareness of a great past. In "Temple of Wotan: Holy Book of the Aryan Tribes" Ron McVan offers us insight and awareness of that great past. There are numerous photographs and inspiring illustrations throughout the book.

We find the complete `Havamal', C.G.Jung's Essay on Wotan, a study of runes and an explination of the Nordic calendar. We learn of the Druids, Gnosis, the Nature of Wotanism, and the Matrix of Destiny.

Sections include:

> Prologue

> Aryan Wotanism

> 20th Century Resurgence

> Havamal

> Calendar

> Ceremony & Ritual

> Invocations - Rites

> Poetry

> Epilogue

Some reviewers have tried to claim that "Temple of Wotan" is somehow racist doctrine. (Too bad these reviewers didn't actually read the book.) I have read "Temple of Wotan" several times, each time discovering some new insight, but not once have I found anything that degenerates another race, creed, or group of people. Rather, "Temple of Wotan" offers us an awareness of the ancient beliefs of the European folk and nations.

"Temple of Wotan" is Highly Recommended! Get your copy while they are still available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folkish Path to God!, October 4, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Temple of Wotan : Holy Book of the Aryan Tribes (Paperback)
Ron McVan a master Armanen/Erulian and adept in the Teutonic mysteries of the blood, the folkish religion of our Indo-European forefathers, takes the reader on a quest to the divine godman within all Aryankind through esoteric pathworking of the Yggdrasil, Sedjr, and Galdr. No stone is left uncovered in McVan's study of the spiritual path of Aryan man. Hermeticism, Gnosticism, Alchemy, Runelore and extensive study of ritual and the mythos are analysed and it's relation to the present struggle for the preservation of the folk. Warning: This is not universalist Norse wicca ala Thorsson and Aswynn but true folkish Wotanism for Aryan revival!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Leader!, December 24, 2000
By 
Mr S Jones, BA MA (Newcastle upon Tyne United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Temple of Wotan : Holy Book of the Aryan Tribes (Paperback)
In TOW Ron McVan presents a holistic world-view for today's Odinists and Aryan people in general.
Critical reviewers have said that Ron's Odinist writings push a political line, or 'academics' say that Heathen lifestyle is better understood by studying antique sources. But this misses the point entirely. In pre-Modern times the leaders of our folk combined both political, territorial and cultural imperatives in all their actions and thoughts. So how else could it be for those struggling to restore the true religion and community of the Euro-Germanic peoples at this time?
It is this synthesis that Ron acheives in his works. Ron McVan's writings and art in TOW and Creed of Iron, and the excellent magazine Focus Fourteen, are the texts I turn to for creative, philosophical, spiritual and political guidance. I for one am eternally grateful to the Aesir that today's Teutons and Celts have such inspired leaders as Ron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Guide to the Practice of Wotanism, November 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Temple of Wotan : Holy Book of the Aryan Tribes (Paperback)
The perfect guide to the beliefs and religions of our ancestors, and a must-have for anyone who follows this path today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zarathustra, January 2, 2005
This review is from: Temple of Wotan : Holy Book of the Aryan Tribes (Paperback)
Like all attempts at recreating the esoteric into the waking aspirations of men, this work stands today, in our 'modern' rationalism, as a seminal work beginning the cycle of 'thought' and 'birth' of a People who, perhaps, have forgotten their way in the world...in Life. Archetypes, like all dreams and aspirations, have their beginning in the 'seed' of their Blood. Those modern's of today who cringe at the age-old sound of Race, Breed, and Spirit excepting, perhaps, those 'only' of those who remain 'outside' their own 'tribe' as worthy of attention, should 'choose' once and for all, who is worthy of attention First; only after this admission can they discover the ability to Love themselves first, will their 'world-view' become balanced.

Ron McVan and his fellows make no apologies as to the matter of Truth as they see and feel it; why should they? This is an honest study, and intended to give to their fellows that knowledge which will uplift and ritualize once again the understanding of Nature and nature's Law. (See al of David Lane's works)

Dare to be Who you are....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't go wrong when you follow your Blood, April 3, 2003
By 
GixxxerKim (Long Island, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Temple of Wotan : Holy Book of the Aryan Tribes (Paperback)
I'll keep saying it, because it's true. Though it can seem extreme to many pagans and even non-pagans, extreme is all we have in today's extreme world. Can't we say walking around the street with a viking axe and carrying a necklace of human ears around dripping with blood from a fight is extreme? Well it was more common back then. We've become so comfortable that we forget what brought us here. This book reminds us, of that and ALSO to be thankful for it. An eye opener of a book if you are so used to the usual pasty pagan spells and hints at respect for your roots. This one comes right out and says it, while backing it up with facts from NATURE. There are far too few warriors out there anymore. Times change and we change with them. Hate is natural, but you cannot have hate without first love. Don't brush off this book by saying so easily "it's full of hate". Be as open minded as you think others are "ignorant", and read. To love one's people, and one's way of life, IS to hate that which threatens it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars moved me deeply, May 13, 2002
This review is from: Temple of Wotan : Holy Book of the Aryan Tribes (Paperback)
This is the only work of spiritual content, or purporting to be of spiritual content, that has ever spoken to me on so deep a level. I can not accept some elements that are frankly pseudo-scientific: but its description of Asatru as a frankly <i>non-supernatural</i> religion of human mythic archetypes makes sense to me, and has helped me to understand myself and my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Temple of Wotan : Holy Book of the Aryan Tribes
Temple of Wotan : Holy Book of the Aryan Tribes by Ron McVan (Paperback - September 6, 2000)
Used & New from: $48.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.