Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Careful When Buying for a Mac Pro Computer
I originally installed the Tempo Sata E2P Pcie Card with 2 External Esata ports in slot 2 of my new Mac Pro (Early 2008) computer. It did not work! By reading and calling the company, I learned that it will only work in slots 3 or 4. I switched a USB Pcie card with it. The USB card works in slot 2 just fine and the eSATA card works in slot 3. The eSATA card connects a...
Published on March 19, 2009 by W. Cathryn Helms

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Works with ePCI Mac G5, but does not BOOT!
NEEDED A BOOTABLE CARD, I didn't realize that this was not a bootable card. Next time, check to see if it BOOTS, Otherwise works well
Published 20 months ago by A. Zacher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Careful When Buying for a Mac Pro Computer, March 19, 2009
This review is from: Tempo Sata E2P Pcie Card with 2 Ext Esata Ports (Personal Computers)
I originally installed the Tempo Sata E2P Pcie Card with 2 External Esata ports in slot 2 of my new Mac Pro (Early 2008) computer. It did not work! By reading and calling the company, I learned that it will only work in slots 3 or 4. I switched a USB Pcie card with it. The USB card works in slot 2 just fine and the eSATA card works in slot 3. The eSATA card connects a short eSATA cable to a LaCie 500GB external hard drive to use with the Mac Pro's Time Machine backup system.

The LaCie was so easy to setup with the Mac. It asks if you want to use the Time Machine with it.

I also learned that this card will NOT work at all in the NEW 2009 Mac Pro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SATA vs USB transfer speeds, Mac users, and more..., December 28, 2010
This review is from: Tempo Sata E2P Pcie Card with 2 Ext Esata Ports (Personal Computers)
SATA cards generally will do a lot for you. Not only are the transfer speeds very fast, but they offer other advantages. With two external eSATA ports on this card, you can have not only an external hard drive, but an external SATA optical drive, giving you in effect two available DVD drives for your machine. Software is available for Mac to support LightScribe burning on disks, which is a nice option. You can now also copy directly from DVD to DVD between the drives. In the case of PPC Mac G5's, which cannot boot from a USB drive, a SATA card enables you to boot (startup) and run on an external drive. I've seen another comment here about slow write times to an external drive, but there wasn't other information regarding drive setups. For instance, lots of external drive packages come with a 5,500 RPM drive, and you might have a much faster internal 7,200 RPM drive with much larger cache. Add to that, you may also have eSATA connectivity to your external drive, but the drive may have in internal IDE interface to an IDE drive, instead of having a SATA interface drive in your external enclosure. These situations may make it difficult for the SATA card to negotiate optimum transfer speeds to the external drive. For most people, you will see a big speed jump between SATA and USB. One more item on the Tempo SATA card which I dug up: Only Tempo SATA E2P with serial numbers starting with A, B, or D are compatible with Mac G5's; Tempo SATA E2P with serial numbers starting with C are not compatible in Power Mac G5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple & effective life-saver, November 14, 2008
By 
instantkarma (Watchung, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempo Sata E2P Pcie Card with 2 Ext Esata Ports (Personal Computers)
turns out there are very few eSATA cards compatible with the exact version of Mac (late 2005 G5 Mac PowerPC with a PCI Express 133 slot). Finding the right card was the hardest part. Installing it was a bit dicey as the PCI Express slot was blocked a bit by wires from the neighboring slot. But once I got it in, I only had to turn on the Mac again to see the card come alive. I used the install disc all the same to ensure the drivers got installed right. Now the card and the principal attached device (a Fantom 1TB Green Drive - see my other review on this) works like a charm. Transfer speeds are astounding me. Still, when I have to edit an HD movie I move it back over to the Mac. Editing movies live over eSATA i sstill a hairy proposition, unless you dont mind seeing the spinning wheel of death a few times and eating your nails down to the flesh hoping you dont lose the edits you just made. The Tempo cam highly rated, and I've given it top billing for good reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Works with ePCI Mac G5, but does not BOOT!, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempo Sata E2P Pcie Card with 2 Ext Esata Ports (Personal Computers)
NEEDED A BOOTABLE CARD, I didn't realize that this was not a bootable card. Next time, check to see if it BOOTS, Otherwise works well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well in my G5, June 29, 2009
By 
S. Gresham "Symonty" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempo Sata E2P Pcie Card with 2 Ext Esata Ports (Personal Computers)
Was not sure about this for an old g5 Quad, but worked well out of box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good product!, March 24, 2013
By 
Nikon F3T (Lakewood, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempo Sata E2P Pcie Card with 2 Ext Esata Ports (Personal Computers)
It's been little over a year since I installed in my 2008 Mac Pro. Been working fine, but wasn't aware that eSATA does not allow booting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works for me, December 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tempo Sata E2P Pcie Card with 2 Ext Esata Ports (Personal Computers)
Installed in an early 2008 model Mac Pro. Not recognized by OSX 10.7, but downloaded and installed drivers from Sonnet's website without problems. Mine is successfully putting external hard drives to sleep when sleeping the computer. Very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for some tasks, horrible for others., March 25, 2009
This review is from: Tempo Sata E2P Pcie Card with 2 Ext Esata Ports (Personal Computers)
For some reason, USB 2.0 is faster than this card when it comes to moving large files to an external hard drive from a mac. Once the files are there, however, it does its job well (for example: HD footage in Final Cut Pro). Strange that it works well one way but not the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tempo Sata E2P Pcie Card with 2 Ext Esata Ports
$72.99 $43.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.