Customer Reviews


213 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring....
Temptation is an extraordinary story of love, faith, friendship, betrayal, and forgiveness. It tells the story of Kyla and Jefferson Blake, their picture-perfect 16-year marriage, and their commitment to one another and also to God. Jefferson makes the mistake of sleeping with Kyla's best friend, Jasmine, showing that Christians are also faced with real trials and...
Published on December 1, 2001 by Pretty Brown Girl

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As The Reviews Say
I was expecting something so different. I guess the old saying is true that you can't take the words of others. You have to judge it for yourself. I didn't think this was any different than any other love story with a happy ending. If you want to read a really different love story with a christian flavor, read Promises Beyond Jordan. It's a good love story and a...
Published on January 21, 2004


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring...., December 1, 2001
By 
This review is from: Temptation (Hardcover)
Temptation is an extraordinary story of love, faith, friendship, betrayal, and forgiveness. It tells the story of Kyla and Jefferson Blake, their picture-perfect 16-year marriage, and their commitment to one another and also to God. Jefferson makes the mistake of sleeping with Kyla's best friend, Jasmine, showing that Christians are also faced with real trials and tribulations. The lessons of the story are illustrated in how the characters overcame this event-dealing with the issues of trust, betrayal, love, redemption, and forgiveness. The strength, belief in God, and the ability to act according to His wishes (despite desiring to do otherwise) is inspiring. This novel moved well and was paced just right.
The supporting cast of characters was balancing: Alexis and Brian both dear friends of Kyla and Jefferson begin a relationship together based on Christian values and go through their own temptations and issues, and Jasmine, the seductress, is relentless in her pursuit of Jefferson.
Murray sprinkles bible scriptures and words of love and faith to share the source of wisdom and power. It is a delightful, easy read that isn't "preachy" or condemning...in fact, I think it renews the inner spirit. This is a definite must read for Christian couples or anyone needing another's forgiveness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Captivating, December 21, 2000
By 
Tee C. Royal (Boonies, AL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Temptation (Hardcover)
How would you handle temptation if it were placed before you? This book asks that question and then continues to answer it in a story that touched my heart and strengthened my faith in the commitment of marriage. Temptation is an extraordinary story of love, faith, friendship, and forgiveness in spite of mistakes that a person may make through the course of their life. Temptation tells the story of Kyla and Jefferson and their picture-perfect marriage and their commitment to one another and also to God.

In addition to Kyla and Jefferson, we get a peek inside the windows of some of the other characters....their friends: Alexis, Brian, and Jasmine. From one scenario to another, I found myself talking out loud at the characters, smiling, and also crying as I flipped the pages of Temptation. It will take you from one situation to another in which you find yourself wondering what's going to happen next and just how strong STRONG is and how the characters will handle the obstacles faced before them. This was an easy to read book that I devoured in one sitting.

Through bible scriptures and words of love and faith, Murray writes this book in a way that will make you re-evaluate your life and your relationships with others and also with your inner spirit. This is a definite read for anyone who's ever faced temptation or one who has been placed in a situation in which someone else needed your forgiveness.

-Tee C. Royal
Founder, R.A.W. SISTAZ Book Club
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All That...and then some!!, November 7, 2000
This review is from: Temptation (Hardcover)
It is so refreshing to read a fictional christian book. I applaud Victoria for stepping out of the typical stories we so often read about, and to write something of substance. I am so tired of reading the same tired stories by uncreative authors. This book dealt with real life issues facing many christians today.
The life of Kyla and Jefferson seemed perfect to many, including her so-called best friend Jasmine. Kyla and Jefferson appeared to have everything, mainly Jesus Christ. Because of their strong religious faith and their daily walk with God, Kyla felt her marriage was above TEMPTATION. However, love did not conquer Temptation in her marriage. This books takes you through the process of forgiveness and one's faith in God. Will Kyla be able to forgive the sin of Temptation? Does she really have enough love and trust in God to forgive completely?
This book does not have alot of twist and turns or surprises; however, the story takes you through a process that will keep your glued to the pages. One you pick up the book, you will not put it down. Kyla learns that her marriage must be tried by Temptation in order for her begin her purpose and ministry in which God had prepared for her. She learned, that in order to truly be a testimony of God, you must be tried by a storm, and Kyla's was a storm of TEMPTAION.
Keep up the good work !! Eagerly awaiting your next novel JOY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INTRIGUING, May 9, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Temptation (Hardcover)
This book is truly a must read! It is so difficult to believe that this is the first book written by Victoria Christopher Murray. I totally agree with previous reviewers. The book held my interest from the beginning to the very end. This is exactly the kind of reading material for which I've been looking. Victoria does an excellent job of showing that Christians are also faced with real trials and tribulations, however, the beauty of this book is laid out through the actions taken by characters who have decided to do things God's way no matter the consequence(s). I was so blessed by Jefferson's determination to tell the truth and trust God to work a bad decision for good, in the face of loosing everything, including his wife, his daughter and his reputation. Then there's Alexis, who as a single sucessful young woman, has made a commitment to God and honors it more than the newly found relationship with the man of her dreams. This book definitely encourages one to stand firm on God's word and just watch Him grant the disires of the heart in His own perfect timing.
I was so caught up in the lives of the characters of the book, I dared to put it down. I must have read this book in record time. Bravo, Victoria! I'm looking forward to you next work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unconditional Love....., November 29, 2000
By 
Yasmin Coleman (PENNSYLVANIA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Temptation (Hardcover)
Temptation by Victoria Christopher Murray is an inspirational romance novel about forgiveness, building broken relationships and spiritual restoration. Meet Kyle and Jefferson who've been married for 16 years; they're the perfect couple until Jasmine(Kyle's good friend) decides otherwise. Will the bond that Kyle and Jefferson share be enough to keep them during the trials& tribulations that are rumbling on the horizon? Read Temptation to find out. Victoria Christopher Murray gives us realistic situations and characters in this debut novel/rewrite. At times the storyline appears trite and redundant, however, it's a believable storyline and one that's applicable to real life. In real life, we tend to rehash situations over and over until they make sense to us or become bearable. I liked the inclusion of spiritual references/bible verses which were interspersed and included in applicable sections and flowed smoothly in the body of this fictional novel. Temptation is a book that most will enjoy as it protrays black love in a marital setting that's based on a strong foundation. A marriage full of love, faith and hope in spite of deceit, betrayal and infidelity. Check out Temptation today for your own enjoyment and edification.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, September 5, 2000
This review is from: Temptation (Hardcover)
I had heard a lot about this book before I actually read it. It was everything that I heard plus more. This book grabs you from page 1 and carries you to the end. I was most impressed with the scriptures that are interwovened throughout the book. The book was definitely written by someone who knows the bible. The storyline is timely when marriages are being tested all the time. I can't wait for the next book by Ms. Murray. God Bless You!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Excellent, Excellent., May 2, 2001
By 
This review is from: Temptation (Hardcover)
Five stars is not enough to rate this book. I give this book an absolute 10. I have never read a book so inspiring, so wonderful, so full of everything that your looking for in a book. It's a page turner from beginning to end. I love the way the author quoted scriptures, that in fact helped to encourage and up lift me. Very inspirational. I just can't rave anymore about this book. This is by far one of the best books I have ever read in my life. I love the way Victor Christopher Murray made you feel Kyla and Jefferson's pain, their sorrow, their joys, their happiness. I mean she really made you feel what each character was going through. She just could not have done a better job. Oh and Brian and Alexis, Couldn't have happened to a better couple. I thank God for blessing Ms. Murray with such enormous talent. Truly his hand was in this. Victoria Christopher Murray, continue looking to the hills from whence cometh your help and know that he will do the rest. I will definetly be looking forward to reading more of her work. I would recommend this book to all. You won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As The Reviews Say, January 21, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Temptation (Paperback)
I was expecting something so different. I guess the old saying is true that you can't take the words of others. You have to judge it for yourself. I didn't think this was any different than any other love story with a happy ending. If you want to read a really different love story with a christian flavor, read Promises Beyond Jordan. It's a good love story and a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are many life lessons in this book., May 19, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Temptation (Mass Market Paperback)
God is truly glorified in this book. The author doesn't leave you guessing as to who is in control in this story, our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. It is truly about time that a Christian relationship is developed in a novel. This is a must read, a page turner and a novel that you will share with all your FRIENDS, MALE AND FEMALE. I look forward to hearing more from Victoria Christopher Murray. Your work is long overdue!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Uplifting tale, August 30, 2000
This review is from: Temptation (Hardcover)
Kyla and Jefferson Blake share some of the best aspects of the American life as few people do. The African-American couple believe God has blessed them, as they love one another, their beautiful daughter, and their devoted friends.
On the other hand, Kyla's friend Jasmine has divorced Kenneth Larson, a former UCLA football player she finally kicked him out of her home and life. Jasmine is unhappy and feels God is not answering her prayers. She decides that she made a mistake chasing after a headliner like Kenny instead of a steady doctor like Jefferson. Now she is as determined as she was in college when she chased after Kenny, but her target is Jefferson.
A second friend of Kyla's, Alexis Ward meets the love of her life in Jefferson's associate Dr. Brian Lewis. However, to have Brian means surrendering the core values that Alex has lived her life by, leaving her to wonder if love is worth all that?
Betrayal and adultery are in the air. Will faith in God help these individuals, especially the Blakes whose perfect marriage is on the brink, find the right way?
TEMPTATION is an exciting inspirational relationship drama that works because the prime cast all seem genuine. The problems (loyalty vs. betrayal) they face could happen to anyone, not just Christians. Though not for everyone, Victoria Christopher Murray cleverly weaves scripture throughout the plot, but deftly does it so that the message fits the character and the setting. Any reader who enjoys an entertaining inspirational romance that has a deep Christian core will gain much pleasure and enlightenment from Ms. Murray's well written novel that pays homage to the Lord.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Temptation
Temptation by Victoria Christopher Murray (Paperback - October 1, 2001)
$14.99 $12.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.