Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Ten Years Later: Six People Who Faced Adversity and Transformed Their Lives
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 15, 2013
Hoda and Jane nailed it again with stories that make you stop and think and simply be grateful for all you have. TEN YEARS LATER is stirring and truly an inspirational book, and I would highly recommend as a gift for anyone needing a bit of inspiration or those whom you admire as it is filled with life lessons and rich stories. Bravo ladies.....I am ready for 20 YEARS LATER....bring it on!
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
This book is about six people who transformed their lives by over coming adversity stems from different situations that occur in their lives and changing their circumstances for the better good. After 10 years Hoda revisited the six people to find out how they were doing, and to her surprising all the people had a successful and happy ending. You will see that advesity bring out creativity, empathy, love and williness to strive to do better in people. I think the stories in the book are relatable because alot of people can identify with aleast one person story in the book. The people in the book changed their situations around because of other people in their lives, who needed them to be around for a long long time because they did not have the strength to do it on their own. The stories in the book will definitely make you shed some tears because I did. The stories are so touching and moving but you feel better due to the good outcome.

These are a few of the heartfelt stories in the book. Amy Barnes was an over weight woman who weigh almost 500 pounds, and was in an abusive relationship . She when on to lost over 340 pounds,and became a body builder and personal trianer. Linsey Beck survived a rare cancer in her early twenties and founded Fertile Hope Reproductive Preservation for cancer patients. Roxanne Quimby who lost three watressing jobs and was driving down the road and seen a man selling honey, and told him she can help packaged it and sell it and went on to build a multi million dollars company Burt's bees. Ron Clifford who pull a women from the tower escaping the september 11th attack only to find out his sister Ruth ,and four year oldniece Juliana had been on United flight 175 the second plane to hit the tower. Ten year later he talked about finding closure and dealing with PTSD. Patrick Weiland a television producer spiraled out of control after he is diagnosed with HIV ,and became addicted to crystal meth after his sister die he turned his life around.

I recommend this book for anybody who wants to read alot of inspiring stories and tips on how to overcome adversities ,you might me facing in your life. The book was a short easy read which I enjoyed alot ,and I know you will to. Overall I learned never give up, and keep positive because you never know what life as instore for you. No matter how down you feel in life there are better things out there waiting for us we just have to dig deep and find the strength to acheive them.
55 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
Everyone should read this book! It is inspirational and worth every minute spent on reading it. The kindle version allows you to blow up the print so it is a very, very easy read! Bring the tissues as it will tug at your heart strings.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2013
This book is a great idea, looking into the lives of someone 10 years later. BUT the stories go on and on and on and on! There are far more details than you would ever need. They add nothing to the story and actually had me saying, is this story ever going to end!? When I got to the ending I barely cared. I enjoy Hoda on t.v. but this book is a dud for me.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2014
Hora is still an amazing person. But, this book is not IMO.
I'm 3/4 finished with this kindle book and I've been ready to throw it against the wall (if I could).

A very large portion of this book tells the story of "Diane".

Diane's story went on, and on and on and on and did I say on and on and on?
It was downright exhausting!
At least a third of this book, deals with Diane's running and climbing.
With blow by blow ad nauseum, about her hundreds of treks. Yeah. That means almost every step of her way.
10 years later...
There is no discussion with her children, or what they went through. Big part of this story that was not covered.
Anyway. No. I do not recommend buying this book.
Sorry Hoda, love you still.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2013
The people who were the subjects of this book had some pretty incredible life stories (which is why I rated this with 2 stars instead of 1), but the writing style and editing in this book were pretty poor. A lot of the paragraphs were redundant, and there was no logical flow to the writing in many instances. On top of that, the stories were MUCH longer than they needed to be, and became profoundly uninteresting while I slogged through them.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
Very disappointed in her book. The stories read like victim stories however in reality they are just everyday
events that can and do happen to all of us. Nothing special, no mystery , Just boring stories. Sorry Hoda
love your today show but not this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2013
I really wanted to like it a lot more .. but each chapter seems to drag on forever. The stories are beautiful and inspiring; but just when you think the chapter is wrapping up and you've reveled in the full weight of the story... there's like 15 more pages after that and I found myself skimming, thinking, "Yeah yeah .. ok .. I get it .. "

If you're at a point in your life when you could use a pick-me-up, this is a cheerful read; but speaking on the author's merit- it's no 'Tuesdays with Morrie'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2013
This is a series of "victory" stories as they were told to Hoda over the years. The stories are personal and inspiring, but they don't really reveal much about Hoda; they are more about the people she met and interviewed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 18, 2013
This could have been such an excellent book. The stories are great, but the writing is poor and the editing is worse. It is as if Hoda took notes during her interviews, then had someone transcribe the notes, then put them in to book format. There is little smoothing or storytelling, just the jerky writing style of note taking without any re-writing for good story telling. Also, the editing is horrible. Just because she has a "name" does not mean that she does not need someone to clean up her fragments, commas, and grammar errors. These poor editing issues detract from the story.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse