Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn how easy it is to be younger
This book was an enjoyable read covering a lot of the same ground as some of the new diet books and anti-aging books, like RealAge and the Anti-Aging Zone. But it is useful and easy to implement.

Here are the diet guidelines:

1. Eat at least 30 grams of fiber a day.

2. Consume 4 to 5 cups of colorful fruits and vegetables a day...
Published on October 11, 2006 by Steve Burns

versus
38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound Advice, But Nothing New
In the intro, Dr Masley promises that his Ten Years Younger Program can help the patient reverse the aging process and be ten years younger in just 10 weeks. There are 3 pillars to this program. No surprises, they are 1. Diet, 2. Exercise and 3. Relaxation.

Dr Masley goes on to explain what causes accelerated aging. No surprises here either. They are oxidative...
Published on June 22, 2008 by Chan Joon Yee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn how easy it is to be younger, October 11, 2006
This review is from: Ten Years Younger: The Amazing Ten Week Plan to Look Better, Feel Better, and Turn Back the Clock (Hardcover)
This book was an enjoyable read covering a lot of the same ground as some of the new diet books and anti-aging books, like RealAge and the Anti-Aging Zone. But it is useful and easy to implement.

Here are the diet guidelines:

1. Eat at least 30 grams of fiber a day.

2. Consume 4 to 5 cups of colorful fruits and vegetables a day.

3. Reduce saturated fat and shun trans fats.

4. Choose healthy omega-3 fats.

5. Substitute whole grains for highly processed, refined foods.

6. Seek out foods rich in calcium and magnesium.

7. Hydrate. (Eight cups of water a day).

8. Save room for a healthy dessert.

9. Watch your portion sizes.

10. Select healthy snacks. (Fruits, vegetables, and nuts).

He also has a plan for fitness, relaxation, detoxification, and what supplements to take. I have read 50 other books on diet and nutrition and completely agree with this authors suggestions.

The author discusses how our modern day lifestyle of refined foods,little exercise, and high stress are accelerating our aging. He does a great job simplifying the solution and showing how to live a much healthier life.

Read this book, it could extend your life span by 10 years or more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound Advice, But Nothing New, June 22, 2008
In the intro, Dr Masley promises that his Ten Years Younger Program can help the patient reverse the aging process and be ten years younger in just 10 weeks. There are 3 pillars to this program. No surprises, they are 1. Diet, 2. Exercise and 3. Relaxation.

Dr Masley goes on to explain what causes accelerated aging. No surprises here either. They are oxidative stress, diet, metablic syndrome, physical inactivity, chronic stress, toxins, inflammation. Nothing new here. For people who have been reading health books, this chapter will sound like a boring repetition. However, I think Dr Mansely does a good job of debunking low carb diets.

Then, there is a chapter on "sweet 16" vitality foods. No surprises in the list - except for one - chocolates! Like many health gurus, Dr Mansley advocates supplements that apart from the usual things, include selenium, ginger and garlic.

Chapter 6 is all about fitness. I totally agree with his advice on strength training in addition to aerobic training. He also advises on practical, easy to do exercises like walking. It's a pity there's only one chapter.

Chapter 7 is all about relaxation. Very little information here except that sleep is important, meditate, be positive, share love and intimacy etc.

Next 2 chapters deal with detox and skin rejuvenation. Again, very simple advice that is easy to follow.

Part 2 of the book introduces the program itself in 3 phases. Dr Mansley actually gives you a daily time-table for your various routines. Recipes, exercise routine, relaxation routine, supplement routine and detox routine are all listed. This part is probably all that makes the book worth buying. The routines are very simple and easy to follow. I'm quite sure anyone following it faithfully will succeed in looking and feeling younger. Whether he/she is going to look as young as his/her cousins 10 years his/her junior will be a subject for debate.

If you're tired of extreme stuff and need an anti-aging book with simple, useful routines to follow, then buy this book. The info is factual and reliable. If you are already a fan of the subject of anti-aging, nothing inside is unfamiliar. You may just want to skip it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten Year Tounger: The Amazing Ten Week Plan to Look Better, Feel Better, and Turn Back the Clock, March 10, 2006
This review is from: Ten Years Younger: The Amazing Ten Week Plan to Look Better, Feel Better, and Turn Back the Clock (Hardcover)
Dr. Masley does an excellent job outlining a workable and realistic health plan which includes receipes that are delicious.Be sure to try the leek souffle receipe. As a former Atkins fan I have switched over for a senseable approach that I can live with.This is practical, hands on sutff! I appreciate his medical explanations and always enjoy another option in handling my diet and health. A must read for anyone who wants to increase their awareness and gain insight on how nutrition works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are serious about improving the quality of your life, January 6, 2006
This review is from: Ten Years Younger: The Amazing Ten Week Plan to Look Better, Feel Better, and Turn Back the Clock (Hardcover)
Nothing is easy about improving your well being, but this book, "Ten Years Younger" in little less than three months will totally turn you around and guide you towards better living habits.. It is well written, and the explanations are clear an simple, easy to follow, and you do not need to be a health specialist to understand it - it is well researched and supported by scientific experiment and life long experience by Dr. Masley. You really owe it to yourself to read it. You have nothing to lose, it is a wonderful book. It has lots of wonderful recipes...among other things, Dr. Masley looks kindly to having some dark chocolate from time to time. It is good for you and for me! Jean Vidal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read and re-read over and over, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Best health and nutrition book ever . Helped me lose 85 pounds and keep it off for a year so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!!!, May 26, 2009
I saw Dr. Masley on TV when this book was released. I was intrigued by his knowledge of the subject and he seemed to be very caring about the people he wrote the book for. The non-physicians. At that time I was a 1st medical student and I thought he explained many aspects of metabolism, aging, and diet better than anyone including some of my professors. I suggested the book to my wife since she was having trouble remembering my explanation of the "plateau" which causes so many diets to fail. Home run there Dr. Masley, she gets it now and can explain it to patients at her clinic.

Bottom line: If you already understand metabolism, dieting etc. you might want to read it because its nice to look at a subject through someone else's eyes sometimes. For all of us non-experts its a must read. I recommend it to any patient that asks me for information regarding weight loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Improvement Book!, February 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved this book - it is organized so well and easy to follow, plus this book makes a lot of sense!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book, December 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fine-- LOts of good ideas for saving and burning calories.
I have tried many of the recipes and they are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound Advice, January 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent book - an easy to understand fool proof program to improve your life. I consider the negative comments made by reviewers to be actually positive. Nothing new here indeed - just proven good advice supported by well regarded scientific studies concerning diet and exercise. There is no miracle cure or groundbreaking advice offered in this book - just tried and true sound advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT Nutrition Lifestyle, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book explains why certain foods are nutritious and beneficial to our bodies. A detailed daily meal plan with choices that are most filling. Losing weight and feeling better each day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ten Years Younger: The Amazing Ten Week Plan to Look Better, Feel Better, and Turn Back the Clock
Used & New from: $7.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.