Customer Reviews


213 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BY FAR THE GREATEST MOVIE EVER MADE!!!
I am only a quarter of the way through this movie as I type this but I can honestly tell you that there is no movie in history that even comes close to the sheer magnitude of brilliance, genius, originality and charm that is projected here. This embracing Master Work of Glory will go down in history as the Greatest Movie ever, and will remembered for generations to come...
Published on February 2, 2007 by Timothy M. Huguet

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright movie, but a little redundant
This is an alright movie, and has it's funny parts, but the overall gist of the film just takes tenacious D nowhere they have not been. Quite a few of the rehashing of the old jokes, batroom humor, sensless annoying swearing, and the songs were not nearly the quality of the first Tencious D album, nor their d fun pak single/ep. If you really like the stuff from the...
Published on February 27, 2007 by Concerned One


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BY FAR THE GREATEST MOVIE EVER MADE!!!, February 2, 2007
This review is from: Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny (DVD)
I am only a quarter of the way through this movie as I type this but I can honestly tell you that there is no movie in history that even comes close to the sheer magnitude of brilliance, genius, originality and charm that is projected here. This embracing Master Work of Glory will go down in history as the Greatest Movie ever, and will remembered for generations to come for it's sensitivity and bravado. I can see 20th, 30th, and 40th anniversary Deluxe Reissues a la Dark Side of the Moon or Pet Sounds happening too. I haven't even started about the music yet either. The soundtracks' compositions are simply amazing, and incredibly beautiful. The vocal melodies, arrangements, lyrics, virtually every thing about this album is perfect. Every single track on this album is a finely-crafted masterpiece: sweeping, dreamy instrumentals with warm, embracing vocal arrangements, all painting pictures of youth and naive love. The melodies are soaring and lyrics seem deceivingly simple, which is just about the point. It's heart and soul on put on film, and it will leave you breathless from beginning to end.

ALL HAIL THE GREATEST ROCK BAND IN THE WORLD IN THE GREATEST MOVIE EVER MADE!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard-Rocking Fun, January 12, 2007
By 
Leslie Halpern (Central Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny (DVD)
It's tempting to just say this film is a great pick for Jack Black and Tenacious D fans and leave it at that. But "Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny" is so much more. It's an hour and a half of creative special effects, outrageous fantasy and dream sequences, hard-rocking music, pop culture references, low-brow humor, guest appearances, and extreme close-ups combined to reveal the origin of the band Tenacious D.

Part music video, part comedy, the story begins with a young JB (Jack Black) belting out the profane lyrics to "Kickapoo," while his ultra-conservative family tries to eat dinner. After a lecture, a beating, and the removal of his prized rock star posters, ten-year-old JB leaves for Hollywood to pursue his dream of becoming a rock singer. After a circuitous route, he finally arrives years later at his destination and meets poser KG (Kyle Gass) playing his guitar for spare change on Venice Beach.

The two hook up to work on The Kyle Gass Project, what KG promises will be the best rock band on earth. In their quest for fame -- which includes a big win at a talent show in a dive bar -- they decide to steal a magical green guitar pick housed in the Rock and Roll History Museum. Along the way, they take lots of mind-altering drugs, watch television, indulge their fantasies, and solicit the help of star-struck Lee (JR Reed), a clingy pizza delivery man with a serviceable car, but no discernible backbone, and must fight off a mysterious stranger (Tim Robbins) who also has plans for The Pick of Destiny.

In addition to Robbins, other notable stars make brief appearances including Ben Stiller (who also served as an executive producer), singer Meat Loaf, and Fred Armisen and Amy Poehler, both of "Saturday Night Live." The film was written by Black, Gass, and Liam Lynch, who also directed. Raunchy, irreverent, and relentlessly funny, "Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny" is destined to delight Jack Black fans in the theater and attract new devotees on DVD.

Leslie Halpern, author of Reel Romance: The Lovers' Guide to the 100 Best Date Movies and Dreams on Film: The Cinematic Struggle Between Art and Science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The D have arrived!!!!, January 31, 2007
This review is from: Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny (DVD)
This is it!!! This is the movie that fans of Tenacious D have been waiting for!!! The new material in the movie is great. Jack and Kyle outdid themselves musically. The story is great, and the movie is extremely funny, and the songs tie in and help the story along. Make sure you watch through the credits, 'cause there's a great post script after the credits (not to mention the last 2 songs on the album play during the credits). I recommend this to all D-sciples out there, but it would also be a funny film for those who don't know the D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The co#k, use your c#ck!!!!!!, November 6, 2007
By 
Geri "Birdie" (Henderson, Nevada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny (DVD)
Wow, what a fun movie! If you like rock, hard rock/heavy metal with the likes of Dio, AC/DC, Van Halen, then this is definitely for you. It's a sort of rock opera that brings you into the world of rock-n-roll fun!

Jack Black and Kyle Gass star as some "upcoming" rock musicians that form a band, Tenacious D. They are wondering why certain groups gain rock stardom. They come to the conclusion that it's the same guitar pick. They try to get that guitar pick from a local guitar shop. The clerk, played by Ben Stiller, tells them a story that the guitar pick was fashioned from the tooth of the devil and has special powers. They want this guitar pick, but discover that it's in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Museum and highly guarded. The fun begins when these two "slim" guys try to retrieve the magical pick.

This isn't the best movie technically, or could never be consider a classic. It is, however, one of the craziest, fun movies you've seen in a while. I was totally entertained! If you have a great home theater system, the sound and music are awesome and sound great--like you're there!

This was recommended to me by my Amazon friends Mr. Know It All and Clint Bronson. They haven't let me down and I'm telling you if you want a good time and love hard rock/heavy metal this is DEFINITELY a buy for you. Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the classic I was hoping for, but in line with the quality of the the HBO series., November 26, 2006
By 
Boss Fan (Take a Right at the Light, Keep Going Straight Until Night) - See all my reviews
Most fans of the D will likely not be disappointed with this film, the boys' long awaited big screen adventure. The film offers much of what we've come to expect from JB and KG (that's Jack Black and Kyle Gass, for the uninitiated) from their short-lived HBO series of sketches. However, those fans looking for something more, some great cinematic achievement, or the idea that somehow, in a movie, the D will be even bigger and better - saving their best material for this outing, may be left wanting.

I'll admit, despite my near-constant laughter throughout the film, I felt a little like the guys squandered an opportunity to really do something great and branch out from the restrictions of sketch comedy. Perhaps they didn't want to deviate too far from their original, low budget/low brow glory. Going too high concept could also alienate fans, and the D has a tried and true cult of them. But as it is, this film, about how the boys meet, make a pact to become the greatest band in the world, and plot to steal the Pick of Destiny, a guitar pick forged from Satan's tooth and handed down from rock god to rock god, falls victim to the trap many movies based on short comedy sketches tend to. You just question weather there is enough material to sustain a feature length film and warrant paying those increasingly high ticket prices.

For those hoping for something great, the answer will be no. However, if you're like me and enjoy these kind of cruddy, crude, rough around the edges, vanity projects from artists that have amassed some sort of cult following and seem to be speaking just to that cult, then you, while not being utterly blown away, will have a great time with "Pick of Destiny."

The goofy humor, acoustic guitar heavy metal jams, foul mouthed musings and broad physical shenanigans of the D of old are all here. The songs in the film are not as good as almost anything from the D's first album, as anyone who has this soundtrack knows, but the performances of the new tracks in the film are as self-depreciatingly silly as the performances of the original stuff, one may not notice, or care about, the rather lazy writing of many of the tracks. And even though I said the film feels like somewhat of a sketch stretched too far (more inspired scenes may have helped), there are several standout sequences. The opening and closing scenes are classics and alone worth the price of admission. A terrific and terrifically funny "Blues Brothers" inspired car chase, KG and JB's first encounter, Tim Robbins' cameo, JB's rock god dream sequence and their first performance on open mic night are all great moments as well. Still it feels like there is filler, or some scenes that should have been funnier, throughout the film. And after the terrific battle with Satan at the end of the film, we are sort of left waiting for an epilogue that never comes.

With a little more tightening and a little more care, it is easy to see how this film could have been much more. As it is though, it is still funnier - and more of a wild and crazy, anything-goes approach to filmmaking - than just about every other comedy in theatres at the moment.

I think, with expectations lowered, this movie will play better on DVD and with repeat viewings (perhaps the presence of a few friends and a little liquid libation may be the key to unlocking where the film's true humor lies) than anything of this type, where a large fan base has waited far too long for a film they have been clamoring for, can hope to live up to in theatres. Based on this, I am giving the film four stars (4 out of Amazon's 5, but more accurately I would give this film 3 stars out of the standard 4) as I am sure, being a D fan, that I was expecting more than I maybe should have and will be happy with this sitting on my shelf as a companion to their "Masterworks" DVD down the road.

And much of it really is damn funny. No point in taking that away from the film just because I thought they were going to expand on the Tenacious D concept. So it doesn't do anything that new or truly special. It succeeds as a comedy and that's what is most important.

(And if you're about fifteen years old - or 15 still at heart - you can pretty much disregard all of my reservations because you will no doubt think this is one of the best movies EVER!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far and Beyond The Most Important Film of All Time, February 27, 2007
This review is from: Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny (DVD)
And on the million billionth day, God created Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny. Oh blessed is thy film. From the deepest bowels of your soul to the very core of the universe, you will feel it touch a place that no work of art has ever come close to before. STAND AT BAY NAYSAYER! You haven't earned the right to look upon its glory. Beware, only those pure of heart will survive its power. When Master Exploder graces the screen, your knees will quiver and your eyes will swell. Fear not! All will align when the moon and the stars meet the mediocre pot and fart humor. I like the Tenacious D movie because it was funny and had neat rock music... and God said... "That's good."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D is for Awesome, April 10, 2007
By 
Nathan Gress "max Power" (West Lafayette, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny (DVD)
It's Tenacious D. You probably either love them or hate them... and personally, I love 'em! I've been a fan for years so I couldn't wait for the movie and say it taps back into some of Jack's roots closer to his High Fidelity and Saving Silverman days than really even Nacho Libre. Kyle FINALLY has a chance to shine on the big screen as opposed to the small cameos he's had before and I think some people underrate him as a comedian. It's a cult movie through and through though because let's face it, not everyone can understand the levels that The D work on... I don't even think a lot of the people that do understand know why they understand at all. It's the combination of brilliance and unbridled childishness that's often attempted, rarely pulled off, never duplicated, and built from, and to create a larger, extremely loyal fanbase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious recounting of the history of the D, April 5, 2007
This review is from: Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny (DVD)
Critical reviews drove me away from the theatre, and I'm regretting it now after watching the film. How could some foolish naysayers lead me to doubt JB and KG? I am definitely reprimanding myself for that mistake.

Tenacious D in the Pick of Destiny is exactly what you'd expect from Tenacious D: a Rock and Roll musical comedy. Both Jack Black and Kyle Gass pull out all the stops in creating a comedic masterpiece that reveals the true history of the "greatest rockband of all time".

After receiving guidance from a poster of Dio, young JB runs away from home to escape the straight-laced rules of his father, and winds up in Hollywood, where he meets Kyle Gass rocking away on a street corner. The rest is Tenacious D history, and you'll need to check out the film to get that.

Overall, the comedy is dead on. None of the jokes are stale, and they didn't even reuse any songs that they've already played, even though they're all brilliant. Many of the new songs here are on a par with their first cd, but it would be difficult to ever top songs like "Wonder Boy", "%&*$ Her Gently", and "Tribute".

Among other cameos, Tim Robbins and Ben Stiller (executive producer) create hilarious and memorable characters to forward the plot. The number one cameo moment, though, goes to Colin Hanks for having ONE line in the background. Now that's dedication to the D.

All the extras are worth checking out. The deleted scenes are gems by themselves. The only thing that is lacking in this DVD is some kind of blooper reel. We all know that Jack Black riffs a lot, and I'm sure there are plenty of hilarious outtakes. Anyway, ignore the naysayers and check out Tenacious D in the Pick of Destiny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POD, March 25, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny (DVD)
The best movie ever, which happens to be the best DVD ever with the greatest bonus features of all time.

Also, the soundtrack is quite possibly the most amazing soundtrack in the history of films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much Better Than Expected, March 2, 2007
This review is from: Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny (DVD)
For fans of the D you will be pleased with their first major motion picture 'The Pick Of Destiny'. And if you aren't still a fan by now you just might become one. The film showcases their rise to power but doesn't show what it is like after getting there. So I was a slight bit let down. It seemed to end to quickly.

I did expect the film to be to silly with much over the top antics, but it seemed just right and flowed pretty well(as far as a funny stoner rock flick could). The acting is well done and ofcourse JB is a genius. There are many cameos which include:Tim Robbins,Ben Stiller, Meat Loaf and Dio.

The audio is presented in DTS which rocks and there are plenty of special features to dive into including:deleted scenes, a making of and in studio recording sessions which are really fun. All in all this is a funny flick with good features. Worth picking up..........and there is an extra disc out there that has even more special features that can be bought at Bestbuy...that's where I got mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny
Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny by Liam Lynch (DVD - 2007)
$12.97 $7.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.