Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


156 of 163 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the protection pcb does and why its so important
We understand more now about lithium ion rechargable batteries than we did almost a decade ago. Back then, I designed products for Logitech to sell in the 100,000 qty that had a built in li-ion battery so the china company who made them came out to Fremont, CA and explained all the good, bad, and ugly about li-ion rechargables.

Back then the good was no memory...
Published on March 24, 2010 by HMMWV

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
This battery came apart ofter a few months. It seems that there are electronics soldered onto the end of the battery (but you cant tell this) and if one of the solder joints break (there are two of them holding it on) the battery is useless. I bought a different battery to replace this one.
Published on September 30, 2012 by WV Radio Guy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

156 of 163 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the protection pcb does and why its so important, March 24, 2010
This review is from: Tenergy Li-Ion 18650 Cylindrical 3.7V 2600mAh Flat Top Rechargeable Battery w/ PCB (Electronics)
We understand more now about lithium ion rechargable batteries than we did almost a decade ago. Back then, I designed products for Logitech to sell in the 100,000 qty that had a built in li-ion battery so the china company who made them came out to Fremont, CA and explained all the good, bad, and ugly about li-ion rechargables.

Back then the good was no memory effect, charge when you want to, and a high terminal voltage of 3.5 - 4.3 V depending on mfgr

The really bad is that just like we know every light bulb will eventually burn out, we also know that during the lifetime of the cell - at any random moment, 1 in 100,000 li-ion cells will either explode or catch fire (back then this made headlines because it usually happened in an airport and most flyers were a little edgy to begin with). The reason was that laptop battery packs often had 10-14 cells in them thus multiplying the odds of a failure to 1 in 10,000 which are pretty good odds that someone's laptop is either going up in flames or making a big boom.

Step forward 7-10 years

Now we have the protection pcb (printed circuit board). It prevents the li-ion cell from being overcharged or undercharged, both of which are dangerous regions to operate in. PCBs are often gold plated with 50 microinches of hard gold - you can see the underside of the pcb when you look at the tenergy battery. While the positive termial is just metal, the negative is gold. Not realy - inside there is a metal connection to the protection board, and the under side of it has a circular gold spot to make contact with the device springs. The second photo attached above helps to illustrate this with the wrapper removed.

When I bought my 18650 batteries on amazon recently there were 4 amp hour designs available: 2000, 2200, 2600 (these) and 3000. I chose the 2600 because it had the protection pcb in the package over the 3000 which normally I would jump at. It's a trade off - I'm giving up 400 mAh to get the insurance that my cell won't do anything nasty while being charged or discharged. (in actuality the 2600 mAh are turning out to be more like 2800 mAh as I discharge them in testing)

I'd recommend any li-ion cell TODAY that has the protection board built in. They are as safe as NiMH rechargables, and preliminary testing of these has shown they are actually about 2800 mAh instead of 2600 but I just got them in the lab and have not been able to draw any statistical conclusions on the design yet other than they are more than 2600.

EDIT 10/2011 - the 3000 mah cell ALSO has the protection pcb on it - so now no reason to stop at 2600. Also I failed to mention that there is a tradeoff in how you get capacity. These cells operate in the 3.5 to 4.2 V region per cell - so 10 cells in series coud have 35 to 42 volts on them. The tradeoff (you knew that was comming right) is that the higher the voltage you charge safely to, the shorter the lifetime of the cell. So you might get 50,000 charges out of the 3.8V cell - x 3AH or 11.4 AH in that cell, to 4.2 V in the same cell x 3AH - or 13.2 AH but maybe only 10.000 charge cycles. Often they aim it at the desired usage and profit scheme - if the cells are in an instrument that is expected to last for years, they run more cells at a lower voltage and do a dc/dc step down converter. if it is, say a mobile phone, where its lifetime is 2 years or less than 1000 charge cycles they may charge to a full 4.2 volts knowing 3.8 and 4.2 are both safe, but that the phone will wear out before the battery whereas the instrument (IV pump in a hospital etc) is going to be around for years as the technology does not change, so they will want the 3.8 VPC charge. Please don't let this muddy the waters - just think the more charge you put in - the shorter the life of the exact same battery. items that will only be charged 1000 times (e.g. cellphones) can even go to 4.3VPC safely for a little extra power over time.

It's nice to see modern flashlights using the 18650 cell - its a powerhouse as you can see with up to 13 WH per charge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it's supposed to. Great for flashlights., July 11, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tenergy Li-Ion 18650 Cylindrical 3.7V 2600mAh Flat Top Rechargeable Battery w/ PCB (Electronics)
I use this in my Fenix TA-21 flashlight. It works great, holds a charge for a long time, and is easily recharged with a decent charger (though it takes a while to charge). It has the PCB protection which is great. The only thing some might not like about it is that there is no button top. If you are going to be using these types of batteries in a device that requires more than one of them, you might want to get one with a button top or put some solder on the positive terminal of one of them. Some flashlights (like mine) only require one of these batteries, and have springs to connect to both the positive and negative terminals, whereas the button top is not an issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, May 17, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tenergy Li-Ion 18650 Cylindrical 3.7V 2600mAh Flat Top Rechargeable Battery w/ PCB (Electronics)
I use these batteries in my high powered Fenix flashlight. They last forever. Really great batteries and well priced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good batteries, February 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tenergy Li-Ion 18650 Cylindrical 3.7V 2600mAh Flat Top Rechargeable Battery w/ PCB (Electronics)
Purchased these for use in e-cigs. They work and last well. I would certainly buy this brand again when I am in need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great batteries, May 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tenergy Li-Ion 18650 Cylindrical 3.7V 2600mAh Flat Top Rechargeable Battery w/ PCB (Electronics)
I've been using these for a long time now... No problems with these in my E-cig.. The capacity is good and lasts me a whole day before having to re-charge.. I haven't experienced any overheating with these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, September 30, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tenergy Li-Ion 18650 Cylindrical 3.7V 2600mAh Flat Top Rechargeable Battery w/ PCB (Electronics)
This battery came apart ofter a few months. It seems that there are electronics soldered onto the end of the battery (but you cant tell this) and if one of the solder joints break (there are two of them holding it on) the battery is useless. I bought a different battery to replace this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broke from dropping a couple feet!, October 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tenergy Li-Ion 18650 Cylindrical 3.7V 2600mAh Flat Top Rechargeable Battery w/ PCB (Electronics)
I had purchased this along with my Olight Warrior T20 special ops flashlight. This battery holds its life well for normal use but within the first week, I dropped the flashlight on the pavement, fell a bout three feet. The battery quit working and wouldn't charge. The flashlight was fine, the the battery failed. Not recommended for everyday wear and tear I suppose especially not lasting for more than a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Failure to perform, February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tenergy Li-Ion 18650 Cylindrical 3.7V 2600mAh Flat Top Rechargeable Battery w/ PCB (Electronics)
Purchased for use with a Sunwayman T60CS, these batteries fail to allow the light to work in its 2100 lumen "Turbo" mode. It only works at the 1600 lumen "high" mode or lower. I bought 6 batteries and no combination of any 3 of them fixed the problem in the light. This T60CS did produce the turbo mode with other batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good buy, March 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tenergy Li-Ion 18650 Cylindrical 3.7V 2600mAh Flat Top Rechargeable Battery w/ PCB (Electronics)
I'll keep this quick and simple. When I received this battery the thing plastic layer on it was broken or cut. At any rate it did not work in my Fenix Tk11. Not happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tenergy Li-Ion 18650 Cylindrical 3.7V 2600mAh Flat Top Rechargeable Battery w/ PCB (Electronics)
These batteries are a waste of time and money. I bought them for a flashlight that I spent a bit of money on. They worked for awhile, but not very long. After charging them about 5 times, they stopped working all together. Bought a different brand for my light, and now it works fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.