Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Usually ships within 1 to 2 months.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Tennis (History of Sports... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This is a very good copy with slight wear; The dust jacket is included if the book originally was published with one and could have very slight tears and rubbing;
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Tennis (History of Sports) Hardcover – March 26, 2003


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$30.85
$12.00 $0.01

"Natural Born Heroes" by Christopher McDougall
Just as "Born to Run" inspired readers to get into the natural world, this book will inspire them to leave the gym and take their fitness routine to nature. See more
$30.85 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Usually ships within 1 to 2 months. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

"Castle Hangnail" by Ursula Vernon
From the creator of "Dragonbreath" comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. See more

Product Details


Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Grade 6 Up-Starting with facts about the medieval roots of the game, this book is filled with information about the history of the sport. Topics discussed include the growth of tennis in different countries, its competitive and recreational aspects, and female and African-American representation. Boxes highlighting various people and topics (fashion, "Grand Slammers," scoring, etc.) are included. Coverage of famous players focuses on historic figures such as William Tilden, who won his first championship at Forest Hills in 1913, and Suzanne Lenglen, who captured her first Wimbledon title in 1920. Mention of contemporary stars generally ranges from a mention to a few paragraphs (John McEnroe, Monica Seles, Venus Williams, etc.). Concluding sections include awards and statistics and annotated lists of books for further reading (some dating back to the 1970s). Average-quality, black-and-white reproductions and photographs appear throughout.
Rachel Fox, Port Washington Public Library, NY
Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.