Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
TENTH GRADE BLEEDS takes readers on the continuing adventures of a young vampire named Vladimir (Vlad) Tod.

Vlad is different than most vampires. He was born a vampire instead of created. Since the death of his parents - vampire father and human mother - he's been living with his aunt. There have been some bumpy times, but with the help of his vampire uncle...
Published on July 1, 2009 by TeensReadToo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 3* review
Good. The rest of the series is too.😜lol cool. It's very interesting once you get into it. He kinda whines about merideth too much tho...
Published 4 months ago by noah___


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, July 1, 2009
TENTH GRADE BLEEDS takes readers on the continuing adventures of a young vampire named Vladimir (Vlad) Tod.

Vlad is different than most vampires. He was born a vampire instead of created. Since the death of his parents - vampire father and human mother - he's been living with his aunt. There have been some bumpy times, but with the help of his vampire uncle and his best friend and drudge, Henry, he's survived his first year in high school and is about to begin his second.

The previous years have held some challenges for Vlad, but his tenth grade year is threatening to reveal some of the more potentially serious vampire issues. Uncle Otis headed off on his own adventures; however, Vlad wasn't really worried about his absence since the two have a mental connection that allows them to easily communicate. Otis isn't gone very long when Vlad discovers that the comforting communication seems to be missing. Now he doesn't have a clue where Otis is or how to get in touch with him.

Another new challenge is Henry. Their best friend relationship seems a bit strained. Henry finally admits his desire to be released as Vlad's drudge. First of all, is it possible? Secondly, can Vlad survive without the support and protection offered by a vampire's drudge?

The scariest change in book three is the fact that Vlad is beginning to have urges more typical of vampires. His blood supply has always come courtesy of his aunt's access to the blood bank at the hospital where she works, but he now is finding that the sweet scent of live human blood may be a temptation he might be unable to resist.

Combine these immediate concerns with continued problems from distant vampire councils, and Vlad may have more than he can handle. As evidence mounts that he might, in fact, be Pravus, life as a one-of-a-kind vampire is quickly turning dangerous.

Heather Brewer has joined the legions of authors writing vampire tales, but THE CHRONICLES VLADIMIR TOD series has many twists and turns that make it unique and will have teens excited to read each upcoming book.

Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for a teenager, August 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This doesn't have the gore of Rice books and the sexual content in the Meyer series, so a good vampire read for a 12-16 yr old. Good story line and characters you can relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tenth Grade Bleeds, July 2, 2009
Vladimir Tod, growing vampire and probable Pravus, knows things aren't going to be easy when he begins his tenth grade year, even if he does have a wonderful girlfriend, Meredith. For one thing, his uncle Otis is leaving, just when Vlad thinks he's most needed; for another, his best friend Henry seems to be slipping away as a friend. Most troubling of all, though, is the increased thirst for blood that Vlad is constantly fighting. Oh, and yes, D'Ablo, his archenemy, is still after him, even slipping into Vlad's room to demand Vlad's father's journal. So when does that leave a fifteen-year-old time to study?

The third book in The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod series follows the standard formula of a school year in the life of Vlad. But things are becoming more difficult on several levels for Vlad. He realizes he's not the most popular kid around, but with Henry wanting distance from being his drudge, and other kids teasing Meredith about liking him, Vlad suffers in silence. Otis is MIA for most of the book, and Nelly begins to realize that raising a vampire isn't an easy task. At least half of the book is teenaged angst, which of course makes sense, but when the action does pick up, it's fast and furious.

Like the other two, I liked this installment well enough, even if I did get tired of Vlad's insecurities at times. There were times when I felt the writing definitely was more childish than young adult, making me wish that the author would adjust as the character grows older (much as JK Rowling did with the Harry Potter series). And speaking of HP, I really did get a sense of a very Harry Potteresque ending when Vlad was facing D'Ablo for the big ending. Though not all of the final action made sense as a fight scene, I did enjoy it in general. I also feel that the final chapters really set the stage for major conflicts for Vlad in the future, and that makes me anxious to see how it's all going to turn out. Recommended for those who like books of the vampirish flavor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Series Keeps Getting Better, July 1, 2009
By 
Kamagi (Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
So far, I've been rather so-so on the Vladimir Tod Series. As an older teen, I've felt the first book was rather childish, meant for middle school and elementary kids. I never had a really strong feel for the characters or the plot, which felt lacking. I did like it enough, however, to keep reading. The second book was better, if only by a little. But this third book in the series is a vast improvement. I loved it!

In this new installment, Vlad grows as a person, changing from a naive preteen to a (at least somewhat more mature) young man. More and more problems are being thrust Vlad's way, giving the story more layers and depth. Tenth Grade Bleeds has a somewhat more darker tone to it than the previous books, especially when it comes to Vlad dealing with his growing bloodlust, but that's what I like best about the book. I also like how, for the first time, Henry didn't just follow Vlad around like a typical sidekick, and actually had his own opinion on some things. I like Vlad's relationship with Meredith, although the loser-hooking-up-with-popular-girl routine is nothing new, and Meredith seems a little too good to be true. I especially like how Vlad started hanging out with the goths at school. I couldn't help but think "it's about time!"

There were still quite a few things to keep me from giving this book five stars--the writing still seems too childish at times to be a Teen book, and there were still quite a few inconsistencies and illogical moments in the plot (especially how Vlad wound up at his final confrontation with D'Ablo). But what I like about this series is that, so far, every book has gotten better. Tenth Grade Bleeds was a great new installment in the series, and I have high hopes for the rest of the books to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this book is amazing and action packed if you like the valdimir tod series. I just love this series Heather brewer is one great author!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, June 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved every bit of this book. I loved all of the action in the book. This book would be for anybody but mainly people that love a good non-fiction book. - // |\ -|- -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good books, May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I believe that it is a good read for teens. My oldest son loved it. My thirteen year old is reading it and it's hooked on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3* review, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good. The rest of the series is too.😜lol cool. It's very interesting once you get into it. He kinda whines about merideth too much tho...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not worth it, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As I read this book, I realized I had made a horrible mistake. I had prematurely bought the entire vladmir tod series. The more I read, the more I wondered why I kept reading. However, to just say "I don't like it" isn't fair, so I'll try to be constructive with my feedback.
vladmir needs to grow as a character. throughout these books, he stays basically the same in his thinking and actions. in fact, everyone does (until the end of the series in which everyone becomes evil for no reason). We need to learn more about the characters as time goes by, and they need to change in response to the things that happen around them and this story doesn't do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good series, April 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tenth Grade Bleeds #3: The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod (Paperback)
This Book Series by Heather Brewer is very good. You become attached to the characters. The growing relationships between Todd and his human Aunt Nellie, his guardian and his friends. His interaction with his Vamphire Uncle Otis is indearing. His close growing friendship with Joss the Vampire slayer and the Goth kids.
I would highly recommend this series to any reader from teens to the older generation who just enjoy a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tenth Grade Bleeds #3: The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod
Tenth Grade Bleeds #3: The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod by Heather Brewer (Paperback - January 12, 2010)
$8.99 $8.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.