Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC SCI-FI CHANNEL FLICK STARRING BRUCE CAMPBELL
TERMINAL INVASION

How lucky was I that on the same day Bruce Campbell's "My Name is Bruce" came out that the long awaited DVD release of the Sci-Fi channel classic "Terminal Invasion" also starring Bruce came out. I have had this movie recorded on vhs for ever, since it debuted on the Sci-Fi Channel years ago. So of course we watched this movie as part of our...
Published on February 19, 2009 by fmwaalex

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a Sci-Fi Channel movie, plus it has Bruce!
With any flick that's made for the Sci-Fi Channel, you pretty much know what you're going to get. Terminal Invasion would typically fall under this category, except for the fact that it stars Bruce "Evil Dead" Campbell, and he alone makes this worth watching. Campbell stars as a death-row convict who, along with a small group of people, are stranded as a nasty blizzard...
Published on February 20, 2009 by N. Durham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC SCI-FI CHANNEL FLICK STARRING BRUCE CAMPBELL, February 19, 2009
This review is from: Terminal Invasion (DVD)
TERMINAL INVASION

How lucky was I that on the same day Bruce Campbell's "My Name is Bruce" came out that the long awaited DVD release of the Sci-Fi channel classic "Terminal Invasion" also starring Bruce came out. I have had this movie recorded on vhs for ever, since it debuted on the Sci-Fi Channel years ago. So of course we watched this movie as part of our marathon that ended with "My Name is Bruce", this one right before it since I bought them at the same time. Now I must say that this is a classic with out a doubt but I mean that in the sense that it is a classic for the Sci-Fi Channel, think about it this film had a low budget and also was restrained by being a TV movie. So with that said for a TV movie this is by far a classic in my mind

Deep in the mountains a car is pushing threw a snow storm trying to reach its destination in time, the reason is they are carrying a convict [Campbell] and transporting him to another prison. While driving they crash into a tree and are forced to find shelter else where, the find a small airport full of people who are stuck waiting for the storm to pass. Naturally they are not happy that they are in the company of a convicted murderer, still they must deal with it. Once everything is set up we meet a preacher who talks with the cops and prisoner in the bathroom but all is not what it seems, turns out the preacher is a creature [that rhymes] from another planet. Of course after he kills the guards are reluctant hero [Campbell] kills the alien, naturally all the people there swear he killed them as there is no trace of the preacher [they disintegrate after they die]. So from here the movie goes into a kind of who is who type film since no one knows who else could be an alien, of course that is after the witness them for them selves. So they all must survive the night and each other in order to make it out alive, if they can trust each other.

I love the story behind this film it really is an entertaining plot and keeps you guessing as well as to who is who. Writers Lewis Abernathy, John Jarrell, and Robinson Young should be credited for their story line because it really is quite good. Sure the dialogue could use some work and some of the characters seem flat, but hey this is a Sci-Fi Channel made for TV movie. Also director Sean S. Cunningham who is famous for the original Friday The 13th movie does a good job with this movie and keeps things moving nicely and keeps you guessing on who's who. I can't say enough good things about this movie since I enjoyed so much, sure it is low budget but it is what it is. Sure at times the film doesn't make sense, but I won't give things away. Still this is an enjoyable movie that even with its flaws makes for a good time.

Bruce Campbell of course does a great job as Jack the convict who must rise up to help them make it through the night. He gives another great performance on another low budget flick that honestly may not have been as good with out him, ok it would not have been. Kedar Brown also turns in a good performance as Darian and that is all I can say on him, can't ruin it. C. David Johnson does a good job as well as does most of the other cast but to be honest some of them need to go back to class, hate to say that but it is true. Most of the cast turn in believable performances but the ones who do not know how to make the flat characters come to life struggle. With that said it is still a fun movie that actually is not easy to predict as far as whom are aliens, and that is true.

Over all I really believe that for this type of film this is a classic in that realm, and you should buy it. The DVD comes with a wonderful commentary from director Sean S. Cunningham and executive producer Chuck Simon, both speak not only of the film and the actors but also what everyday people can do now a days to get into the business and learn. This was a wonderful film and a classic Sci-Fi flick, come one and all and purchase this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a Sci-Fi Channel movie, plus it has Bruce!, February 20, 2009
This review is from: Terminal Invasion (DVD)
With any flick that's made for the Sci-Fi Channel, you pretty much know what you're going to get. Terminal Invasion would typically fall under this category, except for the fact that it stars Bruce "Evil Dead" Campbell, and he alone makes this worth watching. Campbell stars as a death-row convict who, along with a small group of people, are stranded as a nasty blizzard rolls in. Things go from bad to worse however when it is revealed that there are aliens in disguise among the group, and it isn't long before they all start wondering who's who and the body count starts to mount. As said before, Terminal Invasion would fall under the usual kind of Sci-Fi Channel drek, but Campbell manages to save it, regardless of the budget limitations and sloppy direction from original Friday the 13th helmer Sean S. Cunningham. All in all, Terminal Invasion is really only worth seeing if you're a Bruce Campbell fan, and you all know who are. Also featuring Star Trek: Deep Space Nine vet Chase Masterson and Daily Show correspondant Jason Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terminal Invasion, February 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Terminal Invasion (DVD)
Bruce has done a number of B Science Fiction movies, and this is one of the better ones. You will have fun with all his B movies but this one stands out a little more because of a good story, great cast, and expert directing. Production values are excellent and help the movie feel real. You will feel you're at the airport with the rest the passengers waiting to board a small plane. Bruce is a prisoner that we know has murdered someone, but not the circumstances. He is being transported from jail to another location when they wreck in a snowstorm. They end up at the airport along with a bunch of stranded people wanting to fly out. The heavy snow isn't the worst of their worries, an alien taking human form is killing people. Problem is poor Bruce gets blamed for it. My rating is closer to three and a half stars, but for Bruce I round up. If you like some comedy with your SciFi, you will probably enjoy it. If you're a Bruce Campbell fan, you'll love it. I think this one fits into the Bruce Cult category. Good quality DVD with plenty of replayability. If you enjoyed this catch "Bubba Ho-Tep". This dropped dramatically in price by at least ten dollars. I highly recommend you grab this one whether you are Bruce Campbell fan or you just enjoy a good B SciFi.

CA Luster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce + aliens = awesome!!!, June 30, 2007
This review is from: Terminal Invasion (DVD)
I just finished watching this movie and I was impressed. First off you have Bruce throughout the whole movie as the hero, secondly you have aliens trying to take over the world, and lastly you have the women flocking to Bruce... what could be more natural, awesome and perfect for a movie. I don't know why a movie of this caliber is so hard to find, and find in the correct DVD region, this gem should be mass-produced and be on the shelves of any Bruce Campbell fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, September 27, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Terminal Invasion (DVD)
Always love Bruce Campbell movies. This was a good one. Not cheesy. Enjoyed it. Good cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look!, January 22, 2015
By 
murboyd "voracious reader" (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Terminal Invasion (DVD)
Okay, so it's a B movie. So it's the first of the movies made for Sci-Fi channel back when it was spelled the way I like it. So my disk had a scratch. :-( I still like this movie! I liked it when I first saw it on tv, remembered it for the longest time, finally had to research to find it. A convict is being transported when the car carrying him crashes in a snow storm and the officers and the prisoner Jack (Bruce Campbell) take refuge in an out of the way airport in Alaska. Jack is handcuffed in the men's room when a man, one of the other stranded guests, comes in. Jack watches helplessly as the person now revealed as an alien begins killing people.

And that's all I will tell or I'll spoil it. No spoilers here. If you like the old movies with aliens hidden as humans, this is a fun one. When you watch the directors' commentary on the disk, and I strongly recommend you do, there's lots of good stuff there, you will find out how they worked to use the little time and budget they had to make a rather fun movie.

If you can find it, and this genre appeals to you like it appeals to me, don't pass it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Campbell Does 'The Thing', October 22, 2010
By 
Daniel Pate (Birmingham, Alabama, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Terminal Invasion (DVD)
A 'John Carpenter's The Thing' rip off of sorts. A scifi/horror tv movie directed by Sean S. Cunningham (Friday the 13th) and starring Bruce Campbell. Campbell plays a convicted murderer being transported by law enforcement when they are stranded at an isolated airport with several other travellers. Some of which are aliens. Bruce elevates this one and Cunningham doesn't do a bad job in the director's chair(especially for a tv movie).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like cheese, June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Terminal Invasion (DVD)
Campbell is king of these movies. Enjoyed it much, standard fare for lower budget Sci-fi. Am on a Campbell kick and will read a book of his or two too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!!, February 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
At least five stars for this movie. He plays a great role as the con/hero in this action/sci-fi film that the SyFy network won't even run anymore. MionesBitch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you think it's bad, you're right but that's the point :P, December 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Terminal Invasion (DVD)
'Twas the night before Brucemas and all through the evil cabin not an alien or zombie corpse was stirring except that of his own hand. Then the Bruce came and there were guns and chainsaws and screaming brains galore. Dead monsters and Chinese war gods strewn about the floor without a care.

All Hail Bruce The Great Zombie Destroyer! \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Terminal Invasion
Terminal Invasion by Bruce Campbell (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: $10.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.