Customer Reviews


800 Reviews
5 star:
 (578)
4 star:
 (138)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


137 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb series that is crying out for renewal
Warning! Multiple spoilers!

As I write this review, just after the end of TERMINATOR: THE SARAH CONNOR CHRONICLES, the future of the show is very uncertain. The ratings after the show's move to Friday night in February 2009 were never strong, although it persistently ranked #1 among shows having the largest percentage of their viewers watching via DVR. The...
Published on April 11, 2009 by Robert Moore

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Started awesome, ended not-so-awesome
Something clearly changed between the first and second season. The first season contained delightful sub plots (a terminator being asked to prom; the mystery of the suicide of the high school girl) as well as some traditional franchise action with terminators chasing down John Connor. It was great fun. Then came the second season. The fun sub plots were simply...
Published on April 30, 2010 by M. Barnes


‹ Previous | 1 2 380 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST SEE, August 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Words, words, words. They are difficult to contain the love I have for this series. This love also comes with a broken heart. It's cancellation hurts more than anything that has ever been canceled. I can't believe it.

This series, its characters, its story: ICONIC. This is a half told story. This was Josh Friedman's Terminator story. It is the greatest. And I love him for it. It is the greatest, and I love it, and they killed it. The only hope I see for its return is if the sales for Season 2 on September 22 are monumental. The sales would speak volumes and get attention. It's the only way I see. They need Josh Friedman to make the other two seasons to finish the story.

As for this particular product: Season Two. BUY IT. That is all. The entire series resonates that feeling that Terminator 2 had about humans and artificial intelligence views of life, how we are different and similar, how a machine can learn the value of human life and a how a human can be cold and heartless. Every episode of this series had me either near tears or silently crying by the end of every one of them. It's beautiful and the love that went into this series with the end result is truly an under-appreciated accomplishment.

If James Cameron views this series, I truly believe he would be very proud. (This is the real Terminator 3. It follows T1 and T2.
T3 and Salvation is just an alternate continuation of the story, it has nothing to do with The Sarah Connor Chronicles.)

Buy The Terminator on Blu-Ray. Buy Terminator 2: Judgment Day on Blu-Ray. Buy Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles Season One and Season Two on Blu-Ray. Then you have yourself the complete story (so far, if it ever returns).

Season 2 does have a very appropriate ending. It's beautiful as the last moment of the series. But knowing there was more coming and it getting canceled shatters the heart. It reverberates that something special in the middle of its productivity is now dead before it could reach its untold, mysterious conclusion.

I declare this possibly my favorite series ever.

Watch T1, T2, T:TSCC Season 1, and T:TSCC Season 2. In that order. And you have yourself one of the most important and beautifully imagined stories ever told.

"Trust me"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please, keep the future alive!, April 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been a Terminator fan since 1984. Like most of the people, I loved T2 for such a great story and its breakthrough visual effects. I wasn't that much happy with T3, but I didn't hate it, and look forward to T4 this summer.
I have to say that I wasn't that much sure when The Sarah Connor Chronicles premiered in 2007, but I thought to give it a try, and the moment I saw that first episode, i was completely hooked! Loved the story, loved the acting, loved the actors, loved everything!
I bought the First Season DVD when it came out, and you bet that I'm gonna buy the Second Season when it comes out! Can`t wait for the commentaries, the interviews, the bloopers... I loved the bloopers on the First one!
Finally, I really hope that the series gets picked up for a Third season. The Second season finale was absolutely superb, and I wanna see more of it! And I'm sure that many people agree with me...
Please FOX... our future is in your hands!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, April 19, 2009
This is an excellent series. It's intelligently written, action packed and just plain great entertainment. Highly recommended.

I watch all of two shows on TV and TSCC is one of them. If they cancel the series (which is rumored) and don't do a 3rd season then FOX just doesn't get it.

FOX moved this series to the Friday time slot and of course the ratings tanked. The folks who watch this show are out on Fridays (dates, restaurant, partying, etc.) and either watch the show on Hulu or on their DVR later. Viewers like these who don't or can't watch TSCC in real-time don't count on the ratings!

Anyway, I bought the first season and will buy the second season as well, canceled or not.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly excellent work, August 28, 2011
It's a shame that this series didn't get picked up for more seasons; this really is exceptionally good work for a TV series. In many ways it seems superior to the Terminator movies, in spite of what was no doubt a much smaller budget.

The major characters were all well cast. Sarah and John are believable characters for people in such extreme circumstances. Lena Headey's role as a soft-spoken Sarah Connor was, for me, a big improvement over the strident Sarah in the T2 movie, a more complex character struggling with how to translate her love for her son into the discipline needed to keep him alive and to ready him for the impossible role he is to play in the salvation of humankind. And Thomas Dekker does a great job as a brooding young John Connor as he struggles with his mother and comes to grips with the reality of his destiny and the depth of his sacrifice.

You can think of the TV series as being like T2 but with half the action and ten times the character development. The series is about human courage, flaws, suffering, relationship, and what makes us different from machines -- all delivered in a Sci-Fi action envelope.

Summer Glau did a great job as a Terminator; she is beautiful while still having a slightly unusual face -- large eyes and a big forehead. When she holds perfectly still, tilts her head to the side slightly, opens her big eyes wide but keeps the rest of her face expressionless, she invokes the "uncanny valley" effect (look it up on Wikipedia) that makes her seem slightly creepy. I feel sorry for her having to do more mundane "beautiful young woman" roles since; the Terminator role was perfect for her, and she did it justice. And even her role as a cyborg was used to explore what it means to be human, with Glau appearing at times vaguely compassionate, but then suddenly turning brutally inhuman.

Most of the other roles are interesting and well cast, too. The fellow who played Cromartie / John Henry did a wonderfully creepy job. For some reason I didn't really like the role of Riley Dawson that much, though -- the one weak spot for me personally. I think that role was intended to help us understand what this all meant for John Connor, but it rubbed me the wrong way somehow.

The special effects are reasonably generous (but of course modest compared to the T movies), and there is a good deal of action. Episode 1 of Season 2 is particularly awesome -- true edge-of-your-seat entertainment.

The cancellation of this show was a shock to many people; kind of makes you wonder. I think part of the problem may be that this show is a bit dark -- more like Stargate Universe and the new Battlestar Galactica than, say, Stargate and Stargate Atlantis. Sci-Fi doesn't appeal to everyone, and even less so when it's the dark variety. Add to that what were probably relatively expensive production costs, and it didn't make it.

Too bad! This was really good work. My hat is off to everyone involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 was great!, April 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
TSCC is easily the best show on TV. The story and the character development keep you wanting more. After watching both seasons, there needs to be a season 3. I can't wait to re-watch this season again. And, if you haven't seen this show yet, then you don't know what your missing. It's a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it. Favourite TV show ever. Classic., April 13, 2009
This show is just simply amazing, great character development, great action, beautiful filming, and powerful captivating plots. You will enjoy this show, because it has everything you need, just watch it from beginning to end, the story-telling is a masterpiece. I've seen all the new FOX shows lately, I watched and enjoyed Fringe, I watched and enjoyed Lie to Me, and I watched and enjoyed Dollhouse, all are new shows, and trust me, TSCC is the best out of all of them.

Like you, I too was at first hesitant because of the whole "remake" idea of another terminator show, but trust me, it is truly an amazing show. It's like a movie you want to watch over and over again. I have done that with my blu-ray season 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, June 26, 2011
Too bad it was cancelled. Executives must have had a brain fart. In the same league as BG (though on the bottom rung of course).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joind the resistance!! LET'S GET SEASON 3!!, April 22, 2009
T:SCC is truly an awesome show. It's the only show on tv I actually look forward to watching. Pre-order your copy of season 2 now and help the chances of getting a season 3!!! There's no fate but what WE MAKE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TSCC Season 2 Review, April 18, 2009
If I could, I would have given Season 2 six stars! This season is a must have for any fan that enjoys an intriguing series...especially those of science fiction, action or drama genres. From the beginning to the mind blowing finale, this season was brilliantly written! The addition of new characters along with new challenges provided the show with even more complexity than Season 1. The pacing of the different episodes allows the audience to not only enjoy the typical action/chase dynamic of the Terminator franchise, but also gives them insight to the development of the different characters. I truly enjoy the series more than the films, as it touches on deeper multiple concepts i.e. the human/robot relationship and the bond between mother and son. So if you're looking for a sophisticated science fiction thriller that contains elements of dark humor, romance, and action, you've come to the right place. Give this show a chance and trust me, it will draw you in, in an intense fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's too bad this show was terminated--it had a lot of potential, September 23, 2009
It's hard to figure out why "Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles" lost its audience. Perhaps it's the lack of humor (although there is some dark humor in the series)or perhaps it just didn't have enough variety for most people in the story department. Either way when Fox moved the series to Fridays (any show on Friday is making a slow death march towards cancellation the only exception to that rule was "The X-Files").That's a pity because the show demonstrated a knack for sharp, intelligent writing, action and was amazingly well made. The first season ran into a few minor road blocks with the first being the Writer's Strike which meant season one was cut short. The second season had some terrific episodes (and yes some of them had humor--albeit dry or dark humor but humor)and "Terminator" like its sister series "Fringe" had terrific production values making it a joy to watch.

The second season of "Terminator" dovetailed nicely with the four movies. The second season although it became a bit uneven towards the middle of the season picked up with a strong five final episodes. The cliffhanging grand finale also kicked butt but unfortunately we're not going to find out how the show was going to be resolved (Producer/writer John Middleton had plans to create a series of two hour movies to conclude the show but unfortunately that seems less and less likely although if this sells well enough who knows?).

The Blu-ray looks stunning with a sharp, detailed image rivaling the best transfers I've seen."Write the Future" features writer-producer-show developer Josh Friedman discussing how he came up with the story arc and individual episode plots for the second season.

We get a number of commentray tracks including one on the second season opener featuring actors Thomas Dekker,Lena Headey, Summer Glau, actress/singer Shirley Manson and writer-producer Josh Friedman.

"Blood and Metal" focuses on make up artist Rob Hall and how he creates the make up effects for the show.

Although the show loses a bit steam mid-season it regains it by the handful of final episodes and suggests that there was a lot of potential for this show. It's a pity it was terminated.

"Designing Destruction" lets Production Designer Marek Dobrowolski take center stage showing his designs for some of the futuristic sets and how he integrates real locations into the series.

"Choreographing Chaos" has 2nd Unit Director Joel Kramer and Special Effects Supervisor Steve Galich talking about and demonstrating how they create the imaginative stunts for the show without putting anyone in harm's way.

"War Stories" isn't about the imaginary future but, instead, has production crew discuss the challenges they faced in creating a science fiction show on time, often on location and on budget. For example, there was an unexpected earthquake that disrupted shooting on one day and they had to figure out a way to safely shoot the underwater sequences that appear during the second season on a their budget.

"Motivations" lets the producers discuss the themes of season two.

"Cameron vs. Rosie: Fight Rehearsal" gives us behind-the-scenes footage of the choreography sessions for the major fight involving Summer Glau . All I can say is that there is an amazing contortionist involved.

"Setting the Tempo" lets music composer Bear McCreary ("Battlestar Galatica") discuss how he develops many of the music cues for the series. Shirley Manson (of the band Garbage and one of the series regulars) performs on the opening season song "Samson and Delilah" and she discusses working with McCreary.

"The Storyboard Process" takes us behind-the-scenes and lets us see the development of key sequences from the second season and how they were realized.

We get a gag reel and finally audio commentary on key episodes by stars Lena Headey, Thomas Dekker, Summer Glau, Shirley Manson along with writer-producer Josh Friedman and producers James Middleton and John Wirth.

Finally the Blu-ray has an exclusive interactive special feature "Collision with the Future: Deconstrutcting the Hunter Killer Attack". It allows viewers to take a look at the individual elements from a variety of views.

I'd suggest starting with the brief first season of the show before starting with this set (although the first season is nicely recapped in a 45 second introduction to the first episode of this season). The second season continues the story set up during season one--Sarah Connor (Lena Headey-"300"), her son John (Thomas Dekker), Cameron (Summar Glau-"Firefly", "Serenity" and "The 4400") a Terminator from the future sent back to protect John and Reese (Brian Austin-Greene the original "Beverly Hills 90210") are trying to unravel the technological thread that allowed Skynet to take over the world and nearly make humanity extinct by going after the people and companies that developed the AI intelligence. They face a new threat from the CEO (Garbage singer Shirley Manson)of a company that is trying to develop the technology of that will help lead to the possible extinction of mankind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 380 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.