Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pickford's Best!
This 1922 remake of the 1914 version is far superior, and my favourite Pickford. Mary moves effortlessly from mischief, to humour, to eye watering scenes and shows why she was perhaps the greatest star of the silent era. The cinematography is fabulous, as is the orchestral score. A must have DVD
Published on March 29, 2000 by Rob Brooks

versus
2 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another Lousy DVD print!
This is my fourth(and last) silent movie(on DVD) added to my collection.Print is so BAD, I was unable to complete watching this film. Box promises best print available but do not believe it - it sucks! Other silent films(on DVD) also offer extremely poor quality. No more silent films for me which is a pity because they are an important part of history.
Published on December 28, 2000 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pickford's Best!, March 29, 2000
This review is from: Tess of the Storm Country (DVD)
This 1922 remake of the 1914 version is far superior, and my favourite Pickford. Mary moves effortlessly from mischief, to humour, to eye watering scenes and shows why she was perhaps the greatest star of the silent era. The cinematography is fabulous, as is the orchestral score. A must have DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous Mary Pickford, A MUST, October 15, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tess of the Storm Country (DVD)
There is little doubt as to Mary Pickford's brilliance. As a silent screen star she was not the most beautiful nor the MOST dramatic, but she was by far one of the most marvelous stars on the silent screen. With expressions and mannerisms so refined and masterful and ability that far exceeded many of those around her she made any role a GREAT one.
"Tess of the Storm Country" is a masterful film. It really does show Mary Pickford at "top form" her acting is superb and her performance clearly does her justice. The film quality is not as good as some of her other roles that have been transposed to DVD but if you love Mary you MUST watch this movie.
Mary Pickford plays "Tess" a fisherman's daughter who lives in a shanty town just below the "hill toppers" a rich family whose patriarch despises his low brow "neighbors". With manipulation and cruelty he will do anything, even use his daughters would be fiancee to get rid of the shanty people to give him an "unrestricted" view of the water. Mary Pickford plays Tess with vitality, warmpth, and a certain rough neck edge that will have you laughing and crying at the same time. Tess eventually catches the eye and the heart of a rich young man, who... oh no happens to be the "hill toppers" college bound son. With classic twists and many developments "Tess of the Storm Country" will captivate you. Be aware that this movie has a heavy Christian theme and is quite "heavy handed" when doling out its doses of morality. There is little doubt as to the good vs. evil in this film and the ideal of sinners and repenters. However, "Tess of the Storm Country" is a certain MUST for all Pickford fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fine Mary Pickford vehicle, October 24, 2007
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tess of the Storm Country (DVD)
Mary Pickford stars in one of her greatest films ever, Tess Of the Storm Country. The plot moves along at a good pace even though the movie is two hours long; and the convincing acting impressed me every step of the way.

When the movie begins, we see the wealthy Elias Graves (David Torrence) who is aggravated, to say the least, by the poor squatters living on the shore of his land. One squatter who is particularly colorful is Tess Skinner (Mary Pickford), who loves her father who fishes in the sea. When Elias Graves cannot evict Tess and the rest of the squatters he tries to catch them breaking the law by fishing on the shore. Along the way we also meet Elias's daughter Teola (Gloria Hope) who plays a woman who is pregnant with her boyfriend Daniel 'Dan' Jordan's (Robert Russell) child. Just as Teola and Dan are about to be married, one of the squatters, Ben Letts (Jean Hersholt) kills Dan Jordan and frames Tess's father (Forrest Robinson) for the murder of Dan Jordan.

Well, suffice it to say that the plot gets fairly complicated; there are several subplots along the way. There is the issue of Teola's baby born out of wedlock; we see an innocent man framed for murder; and we see the tug of war between the squatters and Elias Graves. When Elias's son Frederick (Lloyd Hughes) falls in love with Tess, things get only more complicated when Tess eventually returns his love.

Despite it all, however, the movie never gets too hard to follow; and many topics are dealt with in very different ways than they would be today. For example, we see a slender Teola who is supposedly nine months pregnant flinging herself into the river rather than be caught bearing a child without a father. They didn't even show Teola with a pillow under her blouse to make it seem she was pregnant! My, those were different times.

But more than anything else, this is a strong Mary Pickford vehicle. We see Mary as Tess playing with Teola's baby, fighting physically against Ben Letts when he tries to molest her, and we see Tess sweeping the house to make it clean as she prays for her father to return from being in jail for a crime he didn't commit. Mary shines throughout this fine picture!

The DVD doesn't come with much in the way of extras; we get a scene selection feature and there is a filmography for Mary Pickford. I wish the print had been clearer, especially in the first 30 minutes or so of the film; but this is an old film and it's quite a good one at that so I can forgive it.

Overall, Tess Of The Storm Country is a fine Mary Pickford vehicle that also deals with many social issues of the day with grace and well crafted artistry. I highly recommend this film for Mary Pickford fans; and people who enjoy high quality silent films should be pleased as well.

Great job, everyone! Thank you, Mary Pickford--we will never forget you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film for Pickford fans, January 8, 2001
By 
Mr Peter G George (Ellon, Aberdeenshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tess of the Storm Country (DVD)
Tess of the Storm Country is one of Mary Pickford's best films. This was the first of her films which I saw and rather got me hooked, for I have gone on to buy four other Pickford DVDs. It may be that her style is somewhat out of favour now, but she is often funny and in this film shows great personality. It is true that the print quality of this edition is not always perfect. There are signs of decay of the film stock, but one has to accept this when one watches silent films. I would rather watch a slightly damaged 'complete' print than one that has been edited. The DVD box is not misleading if the print it describes is the best available, the best available undoubtedly is this print. Anyway why not focuss on what we have, which is a highly enjoyable film with a delightful story and star performance? There is no point grieving over what we have lost forever, i.e. a perfect print. Perfect prints of silent movies will rarely be available to us now, but that is no reason to ignore a style of filmaking which at its best is unforgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling story, February 1, 2006
By 
Anyechka (Rensselaer, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tess of the Storm Country (DVD)
This is a really compelling drama, and a film that easily would have been in the running for at least one Academy had the awards existed in 1922. The basic outline of the story is that Elias Graves, an unfeeling capitalist, is trying to drive away the poor squatters living at the bottom of his hill. He lives in a lovely mansion with his two children (his wife is deceased) while they live in poverty and in shacks. This part of the plot is a compelling portrayal of the eternal class struggle and the exploitation of the poor and working-classes by the rich. Mary Pickford's character, Tess, has caught the eye of a number of the young men living in her neighborhood at the bottom of the hill, although she doesn't care for any of them. By far the most aggressive suitor is Ben Letts, who isn't a very nice guy, to say the very least. Ben eventually frames Tess's father for the murder of Teola Graves's fiancé Daniel. This not only devastates Tess, who maintains her father's innocence all during his incarceration and trial, but also Teola. Not only has Teola lost the man she loves, but she had also recently told Daniel that he had gotten her into trouble and they would have to be married sooner than planned. (Many modern audiences today, particularly the younger generation, wouldn't realise that that meant Teola was pregnant.) Mr. Graves himself has been out of town while these things have been going on, so this buys Teola some time. Meanwhile Tess and Frederick, Teola's brother, have developed feelings for one another, but a romance seems out of the question since they come from different classes. Trouble develops when Fred comes home from college and sees his sister and Tess together, with the baby who has since been born. He believes it is Tess's illegitimate child, and feels lied to and betrayed. He now believes she is an immoral woman. Things get even more complicated when Mr. Graves comes back to town. All in all, this is the stuff of compelling drama. (It would have been a nice treat if the original 1914 version of this story Mary did had been included as an extra, particularly since her leading man in that version was Harold Lockwood, and that is one of the few surviving films of this extremely popular but today all but forgotten actor.)

To many people in the modern audience, however, pivotal parts of the story may now seem dated. People today are so used to people having children without being married that it seems like a completely different world where it was actually a disgrace and a scandal to get caught in the family way, and then worse yet to have the child's father die before a wedding could occur. This movie never even uses the word "pregnant," and it does sort of suspend the modern person's sense of disbelief that Teola is never shown to actually be pregnant. She looks exactly the same at the beginning of the story as she does when Tess finds her about to about to take her own life and saves her, taking her back to her house so she can give birth. It's hard to believe that people once thought it was disgusting and improper to show a pregnant woman on the screen. I also found the story to be a little preachy in spots, with some rather heavy-handed Christocentric messages.

There's also the issue of the quality of the print. Obviously some of the frames are not in a very good state, but it seems clear that that is the result of disintegration of the film stock, not a blurry print that wasn't given a better digital remastering. People who complain too much about the quality of the print often miss the bigger picture, and it's not as though we should expect every single silent film to be as crystal-clear and beautifully preserved as 'Cobra' or 'The Garden of Eden.' Isn't it better this film still exists and is in pretty good overall condition than to have it lost or so far along in its disintegration that nothing can be done to save it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, July 6, 2003
This review is from: Tess of the Storm Country (DVD)
I was apprehensive when I first started watching this movie. I am usually not a big fan of 'heartwarming stories' with poor girls who prove their worth, but I wanted to see the movie Mary thought important enough to re-make.

This is an amazing film!

Although some of it has been damaged over time, like a blurry scene in the beginning that seems clouded over with water damage where Tess dances around, it is easy to understand and engaging. Mary Pickford handles the inspirational cliché plot with seriousness that allows many audiences to relate.

I definitely recommend this movie. Even if you aren't a fan of silent movies, Mary will grab your attention and you'll find it hard to look away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An American Masterpiece without doubt, December 13, 2008
This review is from: Tess of the Storm Country (DVD)
The 1922 remake of "Tess of the Storm Country" is one of the best surprises of the silent film era. In fact, for me, it has been a surprise twice in my life. The first time was at the age of 16, in 1960, in that little silent movie theater on Fairfax Avenue in Hollywood, where I was spending many solitary afternoons after having happily discovered the little place during one of my many, many adventures through the Hollywood landscape. Inside that scrawny little theater I got to see an amazing art that nobody had ever told me about, movie after movie after movie, often tinted, and toned - sometimes both, and always completely unexpected to my eyes because I didn't understand why I was watching "silent" motion pictures - or more accurately, why I was so mesmerized and compelled by such an experience.

The second time I saw "Tess of the Storm Country" was yesterday, when I viewed this DVD version (produced by the Mary Pickford foundation). Up until then I thought I had seen this film; but I really had not. This DVD contains what seems to be a full and complete version, replete with all the damage one would sadly expect from years of what appears to me to be complete neglect, but intact with its original shape, its ambitious print coloring, its fully mature pace, and the thoroughly engaging performance of Mary Pickford and the entire cast.

Although it's a modern addition, Jeffrey Mark Silverman's music score for this film is a real gem - fully in sync with the drama on screen and consistently adding understanding to the scenes. In fact, I watched the film twice in a row, back-to-back, "listening" to this silent masterpiece and its glorious sound.

For me the triumph of Mary Pickford's remake of "Tess of the Storm Country" is the completeness of its timeless, agrarian prayer - as sweet as you will ever experience. It is one of the greatest films ever made. It is absolutely an American masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gloriously restored melodrama is a triumph, February 15, 2000
By 
R. Kozlowski (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tess of the Storm Country may be 78 years old, and the scandals that erupt in its storyline may be dated but there's nothing denying the energy and verve of this film, rich in its detail and acting, Tess belongs in the upper echelon of silent film history and Pickford's career. Her finest melodrama,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful Melodrama, January 18, 2011
This review is from: Tess of the Storm Country (DVD)
"Tess of the Storm Country" is a remake of the 1915 film of the same name, also starring Mary Pickford. Both were smash hits, and after watching this film, I can see why. To modern audiences the story may seem overly melodramatic with characters who seem one-sided (i.e. either pure hero or evil villain). However, watching the film, I was completely caught up in the story of how Mary gives up her chances at love and happiness by pretending her sister's illegitimate baby is her own while also coping with the false accusation that her father is a murderer. Mary often plays the part of a poor, martyred girl but never did she play the role better than in this picture. Especially entertaining are her scenes eluding the villain (the true murderer). There is a particular shot when Mary, though she is tiny in stature, flings her weight against the villain with such force that he falls on his back from her little home. It is humorous and nail-biting at the same time. The film has plenty of humor such as this, and supense, as well as pathos, as Mary touchingly demonstrates at the end of the film when she brings her sister's baby to a church and baptizes it herself. For an excellent glimpse into the type of drama that first addicted America to moving pictures, see "Tess of the Storm Country"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another Lousy DVD print!, December 28, 2000
By 
Amazon Customer "jbd12" (Glen Oaks, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tess of the Storm Country (DVD)
This is my fourth(and last) silent movie(on DVD) added to my collection.Print is so BAD, I was unable to complete watching this film. Box promises best print available but do not believe it - it sucks! Other silent films(on DVD) also offer extremely poor quality. No more silent films for me which is a pity because they are an important part of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tess of the Storm Country
Tess of the Storm Country by John S. Robertson (DVD - 1999)
Used & New from: $169.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.