Testo Junkie and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$19.95
Qty:1
  • List Price: $22.95
  • Save: $3.00 (13%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Testo Junkie: Sex, Drugs,... has been added to your Cart
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $4.61
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Testo Junkie: Sex, Drugs, and Biopolitics in the Pharmacopornographic Era Paperback – September 17, 2013


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$19.95
$16.25 $21.18
Take%20an%20Extra%2030%25%20Off%20Any%20Book

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book: Use promo code HOLIDAY30 at checkout to get an extra 30% off any book for a limited time. Excludes Kindle eBooks and Audible Audiobooks. Restrictions apply. Learn more.

  • Get a $150 Amazon.com Gift Card: Get the Citi ThankYou® Preferred Card and earn a $150.00 digital Amazon.com Gift Card* after $1,000 in card purchases within 3 months of account opening. Learn more.

Frequently Bought Together

Testo Junkie: Sex, Drugs, and Biopolitics in the Pharmacopornographic Era + Terrorist Assemblages: Homonationalism in Queer Times (Next Wave: New Directions in Women's Studies) + Gender Trouble: Feminism and the Subversion of Identity (Routledge Classics)
Price for all three: $61.65

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 432 pages
  • Publisher: The Feminist Press at CUNY (September 17, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1558618376
  • ISBN-13: 978-1558618374
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 5.5 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 15.5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #150,168 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Bookforum

Testo Junkie is an arresting hybrid work: a philosophical treatise and a literary homage embedded in a sexually explicit drug diary addressed to a ghost. Preciado’s prose is psychedelic, hyperbolic maybe, but exciting, persuasive, and even consoling. —Johanna Fateman

Review

Testo Junkie is a wild ride. Preciado leaves the identity politics of taking T to others, and instead, in the tradition of William S. Burroughs, Kathy Acker, and Jean Genet, s/he conducts a wild textual experiment. The results are spectacular . . . The gendered body will never be the same again.”—Jack Halberstam, author of The Queer Art of Failure

“Beatriz Preciado’s brilliant book oscillates between high theory and the surging rush of testosterone. Flush with elegant theoretical formulations, lascivious sex narratives, and astute histories of gender, Testo Junkie is a key text to comprehend the deep interconnectedness of sex and drugs today.”—José Esteban Muñoz, author of Cruising Utopia

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 5 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By sparrowmag on December 18, 2013
Format: Paperback
Partly quasi-fictitious memoir of a body somewhere between "feminist hooked on testosterone" and "transgender body hooked on feminism", partly high-speed gender theory and partly Foucaultian analysis of our world, testo Junkie has truly revolutionized the way we look at ourselves. I recommend this book for anyone who likes anything from Derrida to Chuck Klosterman. This is truly required reading for anyone interested in gender, pharmaceuticals, technology or sex.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Experimental. Graphic. Intellectual. Sexual. Even political in the personal sense. TESTO JUNKIE is a work of loss, grief, emergence, fighting against expectation, seeking one's essence & a whole lot of graphic stuff that might startle the more sedate open-minders. But as a way to challenge beliefs, realign gender definition and create an arc where urges are reduced to almost reflexes and stripped of emotion or cognition, TESTO JUNKIE provides an on-ramp to broader ways of viewing the world and the possibiities.
Hard to read in places, shatteringly real and painful, Beatriz Preciado pulls no punches in her bondage, testosterone and identity quest -- but it is in the name of understanding, not prurience Empathy rises from the shock; clarity settles the chaos and the churn.
As a work of writing, its execution is jagged and visceral -- and provides a window into a world most of us will never glimpse let alone experience. Bravo!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Heady and thought-provoking, but also immensely personal and introspective--the way "theory" should be. TESTO JUNKIE is an in-depth study of the pharmaceutical industry, the social construction of gender in the second half of the 20th century, and of how the intersections of culture and economy have re-shaped and re-defined our definitions of sex and gender. But it's also a personal account of the author's journey of self-medicating with testosterone, grieving a recently deceased friend, and of a developing romantic relationship with another feminist theory superstar, Virginie Despentes. Together, it makes for an invigorating read that never lets you forget the reason for such intense theorizing in the first place--it all goes back to personal liberties, and to personal oppressions. The academic side of things is all the better for its obvious relation to real life.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
If you're interested in cutting-edge gender or queer theory, read this book right now. Preciado's work is both gender- and genre-bending in a way that's engaging and thought-provoking. Read it if you want to think about how birth control creates our concept of womanhood, ponder how a scientifically insubstantial amounts of testosterone might make one feel "more masculine," or brush up on your Foucault.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I love how it is personal and clinical, historical and academic. It's definitely one of those books where I go OMG THIS BOOK IS SO GOOD at random intervals.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?