Customer Reviews


274 Reviews
5 star:
 (233)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best small pond fish food I've found - regardless of price
Don't know which fish food to buy? I didn't either. So I started buying various brands and noted the way my fish and pond reacted. At first I thought "What do fish know about taste and quality? One food's the same as the next." How wrong I was! My pond is about 200 gallons in which live 13 comets, walkin and shubunkin. The largest fish is an 8" comet. This flake-style...
Published on September 12, 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality Food - You Get What You Pay For
I've been keeping Fancy Goldfish for close to 40 years and if I've learned anything about these marvelous creatures it's that they need all the room you can provide, massive water changes and wide variety of sinking foods.

Here are the ingrediants for TetraFin:

Fish meal - You want to see a specific fish named such as salmon meal or white fish meal...
Published 21 months ago by Peter Suslock


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best small pond fish food I've found - regardless of price, September 12, 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Don't know which fish food to buy? I didn't either. So I started buying various brands and noted the way my fish and pond reacted. At first I thought "What do fish know about taste and quality? One food's the same as the next." How wrong I was! My pond is about 200 gallons in which live 13 comets, walkin and shubunkin. The largest fish is an 8" comet. This flake-style food floats, as well as all the other brands I tried. It makes it easy to observe how quickly the fish take the food and whether they spit it out after taking it. In retrospect, of 5 competing products I tried previously, the fish ate all of them but seemed disinterested, taking the offered food only because there was no alternative, not because they were particularly fond of it. Then my daughter recommended that I try TetraFin Flakes. I first bought 7 ounces, fearing that it would be "more of the same". The difference, however, was nothing short of amazing. Suffice it to say that the fish "attack" this food in what can only be described as a "feeding frenzy". After feeding this food for a week, the fish completely ignored or rejected the products they previously ate. Another pleasant outcome was the reduced solid waste produced by the fish when on this food. This seems to be much more within the capability of my "vegetable" filter and, coupled with the apparent lack of any undesirable parasites, makes for a cleaner, healthier pond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fussy Fish, September 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tetra 16140 TetraFin Flakes, 7.06-Ounce (Misc.)
I bought a house last year and inherited some fish in a pond. The seller left some food behind and when the fish finally awoke from their winter sleep I gave them some of the food. There were two kinds of food--one flake and one in stick form. They didn't seem to like the stick variety so I tossed it and fed them the flakes. Inevitably I ran out of the flakes and went to purchase the same product. The Petco store was out of that brand. I picked a similar flake food and brought it home and tossed it in the pond. The fish rushed out as they usually did for food but seemed a little taken aback by this new one. I figured "different food--takes a while to adjust". The next day they seemed less interested. By the third day they didn't even bother to come out of their little cave under the waterfall. Point taken. I went to a different Petco and found the right brand and brought it home. They were a little slow trusting me but by the second feeding they were happily rushing out to eat as always. I checked out Amazon to see if it was available here to avoid the "out of stock" problem again. Not only did Amazon have it but for nearly $5 less a container. Win-win! I ordered three canisters to get free shipping and will continue to get the food from Amazon until the fish go to sleep for the winter again. Thanks, Amazon, for having the right brand for my very picky fish and at a good price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one's for the fish, October 16, 2007
Length:: 0:50 Mins

TetraFin Goldfish Flakes are supposed to contain essential nutrients and extra Vitamin C for your goldfish and koi.

It has stuff in it like fish meal, brown rice, dried yeast, oatmeal, wheat gluten and a lot more.

Unfortunately, I can't tell you if it tastes good, or if the nutritional claims are sound, but the fish seem to like it just fine, and they're growing fast and have lots of energy.

We've tried a couple of other brands, but our fish are confirmed TetraFin fans.

Original music used in this video is by Peter John Ross of sonnyboo dot com, and has been used with his kind permission.

Amanda Richards, October 17, 2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fish love it, I love the value!, December 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been using TetraFin for my pond goldfish. I have what I would call a large pond, with hundreds of golfish of all sizes, and they love it! With this bucket of fish flakes, I don't have to run to the store every month or so to buy the smaller (7 oz.)cans of flakes. I compared the cost of this purchase to the cost of buying the smaller cans and this value cannot be beat.

You will notice that in the product description, they indicate that you are purchasing a 4.52 lb. container. The picture of the product they show is one of the smaller cans. Make no mistake, you will get a bucket of fish food that would last someone a long time. Hey, extra value, you get another plastic bucket to use around the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Product is great, fish love it., February 24, 2009
By 
Willy Peeters (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I tried two other flakes from different makers, but my fishes didn't seem to like them. Not only is TETRA POND Terafin Goldfish Flakes a great product, the bucket size is a great value. My fishes love it, are healthy and growing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Fishy Here, July 11, 2009
By 
Couldn't find TetraFin Goldfish Flakes in this large container in stores any more. Glad to know I can get it on line. Our goldfish won't eat pellets; this size makes their healthy appetites for flakes much less costly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine Fish Food, February 2, 2008
The fish love it, stay healthy, live long and prosper. We have two ponds with approximately 90 total goldfish, 2" to 8" long, some plain, some fancy. We sure haven't seen any problems with "air bubbles trapped within their bodies." The fish have been living on it for over five years, so I think it's pretty good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality Food - You Get What You Pay For, January 21, 2013
This review is from: Tetra 16140 TetraFin Flakes, 7.06-Ounce (Misc.)
I've been keeping Fancy Goldfish for close to 40 years and if I've learned anything about these marvelous creatures it's that they need all the room you can provide, massive water changes and wide variety of sinking foods.

Here are the ingrediants for TetraFin:

Fish meal - You want to see a specific fish named such as salmon meal or white fish meal (as with all pet foods) "Fish meal" means the MFG is using whatever is cheapest at market including rancid diseased fish and fish by products.

Ground brown rice - The first three ingrediants of ANY pet or fish food should be a specific animal protien - period. Rice is a filler used for weight and volume to the packaging.

Torula dried yeast - cheap protien enhancer

Oat meal - binding agent and filler

Shrimp meal - Excellent but is only found in trace amounts in this food

Wheat gluten - The number one source for pet food related deaths and recalls in the past 20 years. Works as a binding agent and artifically pumps up crude protien percentage

Soybean oil - Few Omega fatty acids

Fish oil - Again you want to see a specific fish named like salmon. When a specific animal isn't mentioned it means the manufacturer is buying whatever is cheapest at the time. What is more, this leaves them free to use rancid and diseased fish.

Algae meal - Excellent but in very low arounts here.

Sorbitol- Artifical sweetner makes food more palatable to fish, can be potentially toxic.

Artifical colors including yellow 5, red 3, and blue 2, - Zero nutrional value

ethoxyquin. - Ethoxyquin is usually listed as a "preservtive - however it's a lethal pesticide. The FDA has banned from dog and cat foods. Studies show ethoxyquin is especially lethal to fish. research Google or simply look it up on Wiki-Pedia and follow the links to the research findings.

What is more, flake foods should be avoided at all costs. Most Fancy Goldfish especially deep chested fish like Oranda, Ranch and butterflys are all extremly susceptable to bouyancy issues and swim bladder disease. One of the significant causes of this, is the taking in of air. That said your fish are infinatley better off with sinking foods.

Much better commercial foods include those by ZooMed, Aqueon, Omega One, New Spectrum and Hikari.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Color enhancing? You've got to be kidding!, February 20, 2010
By 
A steady diet of this caused my goldfish to lose color. And I don't mean a little. I mean she went from being a gorgeous red and orange to shock white. Other goldfish in my tank also started losing colors. After inspecting the ingredients, trying to figure out the problem, I discovered it's full of fillers, and more importantly lake colors. A lake color will only disperse in oil, sucrose, or alcohol. It's also the same stuff you find in your makeup. What do you think that does to a poor fish's digestive system? I will never buy this again. Oh, and that color change issue with my goldfish? 1 year later, on a good frozen pure food diet, the white goldfish is still white, and the ones who lost some of their color, never did regain it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best deals...., December 21, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tetra 16140 TetraFin Flakes, 7.06-Ounce (Misc.)
I'm glad Amazon offers Tetra Flakes. My goldfish prefer this food to others that I've tried but often my local pet store doesn't have the large containers in stock. (I refuse to buy the small containers as it ends up being more expensive and more time consuming b/c I'd just have to go back to the store sooner.) Plus, by ordering on-line I can completely save myself the trip and headache of going into the store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tetra 16140 TetraFin Flakes, 7.06-Ounce
$13.99 $8.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.