Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Beginner Bowl
This is a simple and sweet bowl for your Betta. It is a good bowl but take note that the food will get buried beneath the rocks so it requires extra cleaning.The light is nice and runs on batteries, it is an LED light.
Published 16 months ago by Brandon

versus
15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Small!!!
Too small for a temporary home. Not bad I guess if you wanted to put one in there while your changing your REAL tank. You can get a 5 gal for cheaper at some places. Please be kind!
Published on September 29, 2009 by Starlit Rogue


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Small!!!, September 29, 2009
This review is from: Tetra 29237 Betta Bowl, Silver (Misc.)
Too small for a temporary home. Not bad I guess if you wanted to put one in there while your changing your REAL tank. You can get a 5 gal for cheaper at some places. Please be kind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TOO SMALL, PERIOD, March 20, 2014
This review is from: Tetra 29237 Betta Bowl, Silver (Misc.)
This is WAY too small. Despite common misconceptions, bettas do NOT like to be kept in tiny containers. They do NOT live in small puddles their entire lives. They live in rice paddies that are flooded in the rainy season and slowly dry up. Bettas have adapted to survive in shallow water, but will not thrive in a cup/bowl.

Ammonia will build up quickly in a container like this. Also, the temperature will fluctuate. Bettas need clean fresh water and a stable tropical temperature. Failing to meet these needs will result in illness and eventually death.

If you want to keep a betta, there are many wonderful online resources. Do some research before you buy one of these amazing creatures! They ARE NOT DECORATIONS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Beginner Bowl, March 24, 2013
This review is from: Tetra 29237 Betta Bowl, Silver (Misc.)
This is a simple and sweet bowl for your Betta. It is a good bowl but take note that the food will get buried beneath the rocks so it requires extra cleaning.The light is nice and runs on batteries, it is an LED light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Forget the Tetra - go SeaMonkeys!, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tetra 29237 Betta Bowl, Silver (Misc.)
Shopped around for an ideal small bowl that had some light. Bargain Priced. Sea Monkeys are thriving within. And they're being watched...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love This, February 7, 2014
This review is from: Tetra 29237 Betta Bowl, Silver (Misc.)
I bought this for work and I love it. It's the perfect size for a desktop and easy to maintain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too small for betta, February 21, 2012
By 
DKH "dhauer" (Stratford, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tetra 29237 Betta Bowl, Silver (Misc.)
I would never use this for any of my fish. Bettas needs are too many. Heck any fishes needs are many. Filtering, heat, freshness...
I do however love this tank for raising food for my fish. Its not a bad spot for brine shrimp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad for a betta!, June 26, 2014
This review is from: Tetra 29237 Betta Bowl, Silver (Misc.)
This is too small for a betta fish. You can get a 2.5 gallon tank for the same price as this at PetSmart! I know it seems counterintuitive but most pet stores and suppliers are misinformed about bettas. Learn about betta fish and their care from breeders and enthusiasts (like the Nippy Fish site), NOT sellers. To dispel some common myths about bettas:

- They do not live in small dirty puddles in the wild. The recommended tank size is 5+ gallons. They need at LEAST 1 gallon, and 2.5 gallons and up is much better.
- They shouldn't be with or near other bettas unless breeding.
- They are carnivores and need carnivore fish food. They do not eat plants, and they shouldn't eat dried pellets, flakes or freeze-dried food, which bind them up.
- They need heated water (75-80°).
- They need a clean tank just like every other fish.
- A single betta with the correct supplies for living by itself will cost about $100. Or it can live in a larger aquarium with certain types of other fish.

Hope that helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a GREAT home for bettas! (if you want to keep a fish torture chamber), August 20, 2011
By 
Alan Lee (Oregon and New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tetra 29237 Betta Bowl, Silver (Misc.)
this is crazy! bettas jump first of all, and need a heater! what kind of cracked up evil fish designer at Tetra came up with this one? Anders Behring Breivik??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for new betta owners., September 3, 2010
This review is from: Tetra 29237 Betta Bowl, Silver (Misc.)
I bought my betta a few weeks ago as a pet for college. Unsure of what container to get, or how much room I would have on my desk, I opted for this bowl.

I have been very pleased with this product. Although the bowl is smaller than I would like, my fish has grown increasingly happy and responsive the longer he has lived in it. There was enough room to place a small "fish castle" in the middle, which he absolutely loves! It gives him a wonderful place to hide, but also something to do. I also placed a few small rocks at the bottom for him to rest on, and to compliment his color.

Unfortunately, this bowl does not have a filtration system, so it requires almost daily examination/care. This is not a huge issue for me, but I can assume that it will become too much work eventually.

I plan on switching to a larger, filtered tank eventually, but for now, this bowl has been great for my happy, healthy little friend. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tetra 29237 Betta Bowl, Silver
$16.99 $14.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.