Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering
Sell Us Your Item
For a $6.08 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Texas Bug Book: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly [Paperback]

by Howard Garrett, C. Malcolm Beck, Gwen E. Gage
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (42 customer reviews)

List Price: $29.95
Price: $19.87 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
You Save: $10.08 (34%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, April 28? Choose Two-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover --  
Paperback $19.87  
Sell Us Your Books
Get up to 80% back when you sell us your books, even if you didn't buy them at Amazon. Learn more

Book Description

September 1, 2005 0292709374 978-0292709379 Revised

Texas Bug Book is your complete guide for identifying and organically controlling all of the most common Texas insects. Drawing on years of practical experience and research, organic gardening experts Howard Garrett and Malcolm Beck give detailed instructions on how to identify, understand the life cycle of, and control or protect Texas insects, mites, snails, slugs, nematodes, and other critters. They also include striking color photos and black-and-white drawings to help you identify each bug. Garrett and Beck highlight the many useful roles that bugs play in nature and offer proven organic remedies for infestations of pest insects.


Frequently Bought Together

Texas Bug Book: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly + Birds of Texas Field Guide + Trees of Texas Field Guide
Price for all three: $41.99

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for Texas Bug Book: "Definitive ... This book is a must-have for any organic library!" Texas Organic News "Overall this [book] is probably the best of its kind. Given the excellent photography and affordability, it is definitely worth the purchase." Whole Earth "Texas Bug Book, unlike many of the characters it describes, is a keeper--highly recommended as a perfect companion volume to set beside your native plant books." Native Plant Society of Texas News "If you plan on ever stepping outside, or staying inside, or going to bed, Texas Bug Book is a wealth of information you can't possibly live without." Austin American-Statesman "This book is recommended essentially to all humans above the age of three. It conveys a wonderful message about our ecology and hope for living within our environment." Choice

About the Author

HOWARD GARRETT is a landscape architect, certified arborist, horticulturist, and organic practitioner in Dallas. He promotes his organic gardening program, The Natural Way, through his WBAP-820 AM radio show, weekly column in the Dallas Morning News, monthly Dirt magazine, natural organic Web site www.dirtdoctor.com, and regional and national speaking engagements.

MALCOLM BECK, of San Antonio, is the founder of Garden-Ville Fertilizer Company. Winner of the Governor's Award for Environmental Excellence in 1997, he writes and speaks extensively on organic growing practices.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 214 pages
  • Publisher: University of Texas Press; Revised edition (September 1, 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0292709374
  • ISBN-13: 978-0292709379
  • Product Dimensions: 11 x 8.4 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.9 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (42 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #75,487 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for organic gardeners! July 7, 1999
By Homer
Format:Paperback
The Texas Bug Book is a glossary of the most common pests and beneficials around the garden. For each critter, they explain its life cycle, favorite foods, benefits and detriments. There is plenty of information on how to attract the beneficials and how to discourage the pests organically. Most of these bugs are not limited to Texas, so this book would benefit any organic gardener.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bugs at their best September 6, 2002
Format:Paperback
I never knew bugs could abe so interesting. The authors combine factual information on insects with entertaining stories of buggy encounters. This book reaches my kids on a level they can understand (they are 8 - 12 years old), yet provides me with plenty of good factual information that helps with gardening. The kids were thrilled to discover that the funny things they had seen "growing" on the fence were actually lacewing eggs. We are eagerly anticipaing their hatching. I also appreciated the recipes for home-made, natural insecticides.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Kids and Our Bugs July 30, 2002
Format:Paperback
When my two and four year olds starting bringing me bugs from outside, I decided it was time to determine if they were harmful. This book had excellent photographs that helped me identify the bugs. I used it as an educational tool for my two little bug hunters. I am happy to report we have had no dangerous bugs gathered.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book for Texas Gardeners October 9, 2000
Format:Paperback
This is a must for fans of Howard Garrett. He and Malcolm share their experiences with bugs in Texas. They show great respect for nature. This book has given me a new appreciation for the world of insects. Many fascinating details and stories are included. Of course, for the bad and the ugly, they tell us how to rid ourselves of them in a way that is safe for our environment. A great accomplishment from 2 wonderful organic experts.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Bug Reference Book! April 13, 2005
Format:Paperback
It is important to know what bugs are beneficial and which are harmful. This book does just that! Not only does this book include many great photos, it also provides wonderful recommendations on how to manage the ones that are pests.

As for the only spiders one should be weary of in North America: the Brown Recluse and the Black Widow, this book has great photos for proper identification. Furthermore, valuable information is included on the nature of these two spiders and has great suggestions on what to do should you happen to encounter one.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good July 2, 2002
By TXGal
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I love this book. It has been really helpful in identifying several types of bugs that live in my yard. I use it on an almost weekly basis to help identify this bug or that. I think it's a must have for any Texas gardener.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it and use it August 14, 2006
Format:Paperback
I've been an organic gardener for years and this book is one of my "Bibles". You cannot maintain an organic garden or landscape without knowing the beneficial bugs from the harmful ones. My husband and I really enjoy being able to identify what's in our landscape and seeing them in action. The world around us is a remarkable, complex place and sometimes you have to look at bugs to have it really hit home. This is a great book, along with all of Howard Garrett's others.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! December 26, 1999
By Karen
Format:Paperback
I have a copy and gave one to our school library. The librarian says she can't keep it on the shelf it's so popular. Great pictures and even better information.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Bugs!
Found out what bugs you don't want in your garden. Some I thought were bad turned out to be good for plants.
Published 1 month ago by Nancy Criado
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for Texas gardeners.
I think Howard Garrett is excellent at what he does. If you want to do organic gardening this is a must have book. Read more
Published 3 months ago by kdb
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This book is chocked full of errors, as was the previous edition. Scientific names are wrong, and life histories are wrong in many places. Read more
Published 6 months ago by jhuck
5.0 out of 5 stars Texas Bug Book : The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
This is one super great book! Don't be Eewww about looking at bug pictures - Please! Not only can you get tremendous help in identifying a myrid of spiders, bettles, bugs and... Read more
Published 7 months ago by Mary Beth
5.0 out of 5 stars Good general bug book
I liked this book for my grandchildren. Easy to read. Great for kids to look up common bugs and snakes.
Published 8 months ago by trker
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bug book
This book has great pictures and even better information letting you know if the bug is beneficial or not as well as how to get rid of it if it isn't.
Published 9 months ago by gcassaday
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book
This is an EXCELLENT book! Great pictures, interesting stories and detail about each individual bug! A must have for anyone who gardens or is interested in bugs
Published 10 months ago by Mandy Marshall
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Helpful but...
This book has helped me out so much in the garden. I did know what a few good bugs and bad bugs look like but this breaks them into families along with helpful ways of getting rid... Read more
Published 11 months ago by K. Perry
5.0 out of 5 stars texas bug book
this book helps you get rid of texas pests the safe way. any book that has malcolm becks name on it is great. he is the expert.
Published 13 months ago by R. Sepulveda
5.0 out of 5 stars Got to See it Before Giving it Away
I had heard this was a good book for dealing with bugs in Texas and have decided that it's great. I bought it as a gift and think the recipient was also impressed with how helpful... Read more
Published 13 months ago by Anne E. Melville
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0x9f496084)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category