Customer Reviews


726 Reviews
5 star:
 (504)
4 star:
 (118)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


304 of 314 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 52 Year Old Rates The TI 84 SPlus
I have owned the TI 82 and TI 83S Silver Plus before this. TheTI 84 is another wonderful product from Texas Instruments for the student in high School or College student. Any complaints about speed is irrelevant. I personally found the TI 84 very easy to read, fast, nice case-I like it better the TI 83 Silver case-and it included some programs that were not on the TI 83...
Published on July 12, 2005 by David E. Schlewitz

versus
84 of 92 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars calculator is great; PC interface software disappoints
The TI-84 Plus Silver Edition is a powerful calculator with almost every function that one could desire, a powerful programming environment, and a well-organized keyboard.

On the other hand, the calculator-computer interface is slow and the PC software is limited and poorly documented. One can transfer programs from the calculator to the computer or vice...
Published on September 2, 2006 by Phillip M. Feldman


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

304 of 314 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 52 Year Old Rates The TI 84 SPlus, July 12, 2005
By 
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus Silver Edition Graphing Calculator, Silver (Office Product)
I have owned the TI 82 and TI 83S Silver Plus before this. TheTI 84 is another wonderful product from Texas Instruments for the student in high School or College student. Any complaints about speed is irrelevant. I personally found the TI 84 very easy to read, fast, nice case-I like it better the TI 83 Silver case-and it included some programs that were not on the TI 83. It is supposed to have other stuff that the TI 83 did not have but I did not notice this. This is because I bought it to assist me in Algebra, trig and etc. For the money it is a great investment and a very useful tool. I will say that one area I noticed a great difference in was viewing the window. For me, (and I wear bi-focals) the TI 84 was noticeable in its clearer image and etc. Hope this is helpfu. -Dave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good calculator, but consider your options, September 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus Silver Edition Graphing Calculator, Silver (Office Product)
If you're buying this calculator, it's probably because you need it for school. In which case, you're probably trying to decide which TI model to choose from. In that case, there's four models to choose from, really: the TI-83+, TI-84+, TI-84+ Silver Edition, and the TI-89 Titanium. There are those TI-Nspire models out there, but they're not worth the money, in my opinion.

The first three are basically the same.
The TI-83+ is the budget model, but it will still do just about anything mathematical that the other two will do. It'll certainly be good enough for any class that recommends a TI-83+ or TI-84+.
- The one major feature it doesn't have is Pretty Print, which shows equations and expressions as they would be written on paper, not as you would type them into a computer. That is, the TI-83+ shows 1/2 instead of a vertical fraction, and shows 2^3 instead of using superscript for the exponent.
- This calculator also comes with a few less built in apps, but only power users will ever use them.

The TI-84+ and the TI-84+ Silver Edition are even more similar.
- The TI-84+ has more memory than the TI-83+ and the Silver Edition more than the regular TI-84+, but that won't matter unless you're putting games onto your calculator.
- These both have Pretty Print, which makes the math on the screen more readable, but this was an add on feature that wasn't present in these calculators for the first 6 or so years they existed. In my opinion, the screen doesn't have a high enough resolution for it to work well, and any wide equation will scroll off the screen, which is frustrating. The feature can probably be turned off though.

As for the math capabilities for the TI-83+ and TI-84+ family:
- Perfect for any math class you'll take, until you get to calculus. It's still incredibly useful for calculus, but at that level, the TI-89's symbolic manipulation is nice to have (see below).
- Evaluates complicated expressions, solves some single variable equations, draws graphs (Cartesian, polar, parametric, sequences) and plots, calculates descriptive and inferential statistics, handles complex numbers, and I'm sure there's stuff I'm leaving off.
- See TI's website for more (they do a better job of describing its features).

In comparison, the TI-89 Titanium is a whole different level of calculator. If you buy one, you'll realize from the steep learning curve. Once you get used to it though, you'll never want to go back.
- Its huge advantage over the other 3 calculators I mentioned is symbolic manipulation. This means it can solve equations for you and take derivatives and integrals. To demonstrate what I mean, if you put 2x+3x in, it will tell you 5x. And if you put in arcsin(.5), it will give you pi/6, not a decimal. For any class from calculus beyond, this will make your life much easier!
** The downside to this power is that this calculator isn't allowed everywhere the other 3 are, like the ACT and in many classes. It is, however, allowed on AP tests and the SAT.
- It has better hardware than the other calculators, with a higher resolution screen, faster processor, and more memory. It has always had Pretty Print, which works better than the TI-84+ with the higher resolution screen.
- It can still do everything the other 3 calculators can, plus generally a bit more.

Back to the TI-84+ Silver Edition...
As far as the actual value of this product goes, it's a perfectly good graphing calculator, but all of TI's calculators are overpriced. For example, look at similarly priced phones on Amazon (even in the unlocked section, so there's no discount from contracts) and you'll notice the hardware blows these calculators away (I'm thinking of a particular XKCD comic... :) ). To be fair, I'm sure some of what you pay for is the calculator's software (cell phones can't do advanced algebra), but do a quick search for "Casio graphing calculator" and you'll still see TI's are overpriced. Unfortunately, virtually all schools and textbooks use TI exclusively, so we're stuck with the price until something changes.

As for my final recommendation:
- If you're taking a class that's lower level than calculus, buy this calculator. It's pricey, but your teacher and textbook will know how to use it, which will help you immensely when you're learning the ropes. If you want to save a buck, the TI-83+ is a good choice too. And a TI-89 Titanium would be overkill for your needs (your teacher probably won't even be that familiar with it).
- If you're taking calculus or above, buy a TI-89 Titanium. Once you get past the learning curve, you'll be glad you did. Trust me, it's worth it. Being able to check those derivatives and integrals will save your butt more than once.
- If you're buying a graphing calculator for personal use (i.e. not school), try shopping around. There's other great calculators out there not manufactured by TI (a lot of people like Casio and HP), and they're often cheaper.

P.S. (Last thing, I promise!) The product description says it comes with a silver faceplate. It doesn't. It comes with the plain grey one (they do manufacture a metallic silver one as well, which is the one I expected).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 140 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product -a little pricy, September 23, 2005
By 
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus Silver Edition Graphing Calculator, Silver (Office Product)
Got this for my son to replace a lost TI-83plus.

Some nice improvements but a much better value to get the standard edition instead of the silver edition. Silver addition provides a few additional preloaded programs and is great if you are not price sensitive.

Retailers are very competitive with the standard edition and are not discounting the silver edition as heavily.

I wasn't price sensitive so I dropped some additional cash for a slightly better product.

Recommendation: If you want bang for the buck, stick with the standard edition. If price doesn't matter, the silver edition does the trick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 92 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars calculator is great; PC interface software disappoints, September 2, 2006
By 
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus Silver Edition Graphing Calculator, Silver (Office Product)
The TI-84 Plus Silver Edition is a powerful calculator with almost every function that one could desire, a powerful programming environment, and a well-organized keyboard.

On the other hand, the calculator-computer interface is slow and the PC software is limited and poorly documented. One can transfer programs from the calculator to the computer or vice versa, but this capability is not documented in the user manual. I would like to be able to edit a calculator program on the computer, but it appears that this is not possible.

I also have one complaint with the programming environment-- There should be a "break" or "done" command to exit from a loop without using a goto.

Based on my current knowledge, I would rate this product at 4 stars rather than 3 (Amazon does not permit me to change this).

Dr. Phillip M. Feldman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Calculator!, April 24, 2012
The TI-84 Plus is a great calculator with as many built in functions as the average high school/college math student needs. The battery life is goof compared to other graphing calculators and last about 6-7 months with daily use.

Make sure to take advantage of the programming capabilities on the calculator! The language is easy to learn and programmed formulas and equations can save tons of time and memorization. My favorite and most used is the quadratic formula. If you don't feel like learning TI Basic (the programming language), there is a large online community of TI users who regularly post programs. These can be downloaded to the calculator easily with the included USB cable.

One not of frugality, the Silver Edition is nice but unnecessary and the regular TI-84 Plus has the same math capabilities. The only difference between the two are that the Silver Edition comes with a few extra built-in programs (like a puzzle pack) and it has interchangeable face plates. These can be nice perks but are not worth the extra money in my opinion. The programs can be downloaded and there is no need or occasion to change the face plate.

Overall, it is a great calculator I could not live without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Calculator, August 23, 2007
By 
Amber L. Earl (Springville. UT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus Silver Edition Graphing Calculator, Silver (Office Product)
As a math teacher, I LOVE this calculator better than any of the other graphing calculators and would recommend it as a great high school or college calculator. It has the capability of any other calculator (even the advanced stuff if you want to take the time to learn how). The basic stuff is EASY to get to and quite user friendly. You can use it on the ACT and SAT (and the AP calculus exam) with no problems. I have also used and taught with the TI-82, TI-83, TI-92, and some of the HP calculators (I really struggle with the HP notation), but this calculator is far and away the very best one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well for advanced math, November 2, 2005
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus Silver Edition Graphing Calculator, Silver (Office Product)
I bought this one after my 83+ Silver decided to stop working and I use it in my AP Calculus BC and AP Physics C classes. It is very useful if you know how to use it. It does advanced things like definite integrals or derivative graphs. PolySimult is a high schoolers best friend: it factors any polynomial. The key commands for these advanced features can be somewhat specialized but my teacher teaches how to use them in class and once you know it you will love the calculator even more. In short it has a LOT to offer, you just have to figure it out. Try pushing random buttons and see what happens and maybe you'll discover a cool new function.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TI-84 Silver Plus, June 20, 2007
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus Silver Edition Graphing Calculator, Silver (Office Product)
This is a great tool. It is complicated and I highly recommend getting the two "Dummies" Guides. But, when you learn how to use it, this is an amazing tool. I really liked the Study Cards, and use this feature often to create new stacks. Used this for Algebra II and Chemistry, and it was the most important study tool for Chemistry. The TI website offeres quite a few excellent study stacks, and creating your own is pretty easy. Bummer that the TI-83 doesn't have a USB port, so that version cannot download new programs. On the TI website there are a lot of "manuals" in PDF form. From what I understand, this calculator is allowed in most testing scenarios, where the Titanium is banned. Spend the extra money and get the TI-84 silver plus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TI 84 Silver Edition, November 5, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus Silver Edition Graphing Calculator, Silver (Office Product)
I am 13 years old and already have the TI 84 silver Edition Graphing Calculator because I am in accelerated math. It is a great calculator and is very user friendly even to a 13 year old. There are so many applications on this calculator besides a ton a math things including a couple fun games, a periodic table good for advanced sciences, you can make study cards, type access the calculator with your computer, download games and little pictures for your start up screen, have a daily calender, organizer and know the date and time, you can do a plethora of things of on this fantastic piece of machinery. When you first get this calculator before using it I recommend you skim through the owners manual which is extremly helpful. Some things are a bit complicated but ones you get it everything is reliable and not prone to goofing up. The batteries last a long time too. I have had it and used it almost everyday in math class since the beginning of school. This calculator is so cool, and works well plus if you don't like the the cream or grey color you can get snap plates and stickers to cover it made specially by Texas Insturments. Mine came in pink, I know someone with blue and orange and blue and green snaplates,it is so snazzy and can be a fun fashion statement too. Many teachers recommend this calculator more then others because of the memory, the easy access, and the good applications and graphing for many classes, not just math. The ergonomics a great to, it doesn't just look like box and is not two heavy and has an impact resistent case so if you drop it just relax! I highly recommend this tool, it works and functions well, and I am only 13!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus Silver Edition, April 6, 2007
By 
P. Hall "Tyler" (Sanford, NC, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus Silver Edition Graphing Calculator, Silver (Office Product)
My high school is making us buy these calculators, and I want to say it is definately worth the price! This thing works wonders, and it will do ANYTHING Math-realated that you want to do!!!!!! I would strongly encourage you to buy this calculator. It also comes with a great unit converter and the periodic table, so it's great for students like myself to use. BUY THIS CALCULATOR!!!!! You can also hook it up to your computer through a USB cable, so you can view your screen that is on the calculator, on your computer monitor, and you can back up and restore your RAM memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus Silver Edition Graphing Calculator, Silver
$189.00 $174.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.