Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy upgrade?
Having previously owned the ti 84 plus graphing calculator, this was not a big step up for me in terms of calculator features. All of the ti 84 plus features are implemented into the ti 84 plus c silver edition and then some. The new featured included do not change the previous functions of the calculator but add on to the calculator's usefulness. While the color screen...
Published 11 months ago by Brandon H.

versus
83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Evolutionary, not revolutionary
The good: Color, high res display is extremely useful when graphing. Slightly larger home screen and a nice font. Rechargeable battery.

The bad: Slower all around compared to B&W TI-84s. Mathprint features not implemented as handily as they could be in favor of keeping exact same layout. Not much new in the way of features.

The ugly: Sluggishness...
Published 10 months ago by ZigZagJoe


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy upgrade?, May 1, 2013
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus C Graphing Calculator (Office Product)
Having previously owned the ti 84 plus graphing calculator, this was not a big step up for me in terms of calculator features. All of the ti 84 plus features are implemented into the ti 84 plus c silver edition and then some. The new featured included do not change the previous functions of the calculator but add on to the calculator's usefulness. While the color screen might sound like a gimmick, it is very intuitive seeing graphs in multiples colors because when you look at the table, the colors on the table represent the color of the graph. Another plus about this calculator is that it has a log root feature, meaning you can now take the log of a number with a base that isn't 10. This feature saves me the time of using the change of base formula to calculate logs with a base other than 10. I believe this feature was also available on the ti 84 plus silver edition, but I'm not sure. Since the calculator just came out, I would wait until texas instruments has all of the downloadable applications up and running to make sure you can use the calculator to its full potential without having to wait for features. While these new features may not seem too convincing on making you purchase the calculator, the color screen adds much intuitiveness to the overall experience, including being able to play games in color!

I also have to mention that in comparison between my ti 84 plus and my ti 84 plus c silver edition, the ti 84 plus c silver edition lags behind. While it is noticeable and does become quite annoying, the speeds are not horrendous and you will get used to them. It might take a second or two longer to graph a function or a second to open a menu. These speeds are not terrible by any means but on a timed test, these seconds could add up.

I've told you some positives and negatives of the calculator. After spending a day with mine, I'll never go back to my old calculator. You should buy this calculator if

1: you need a higher pixel density color screen
2: if you would use some of the new small features mentioned in the review

If you are looking for a speedy calculator, I would not recommend this but recommend the ti 89 or one of the ti nspires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Evolutionary, not revolutionary, May 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus C Graphing Calculator (Office Product)
The good: Color, high res display is extremely useful when graphing. Slightly larger home screen and a nice font. Rechargeable battery.

The bad: Slower all around compared to B&W TI-84s. Mathprint features not implemented as handily as they could be in favor of keeping exact same layout. Not much new in the way of features.

The ugly: Sluggishness can't be fixed as it's the exact same hardware with a greater workload (that fancy LCD). No programs/apps for normal TI-84s can be used without being updated.

Basically, what the TI-84 Color boils down to is TI bolted a color screen and a rechargeable battery onto the good ol' TI-84 and called it a day, without upgrading its elderly CPU. As a result, the calculator is slower everywhere because it has 12 times more pixels to drive. UI is where it shows the most. Graphing is relatively quick so long as you turn off asymptote detection in graph format options. Turning it on (it's on by default) reduces it to TI-83+ speeds.

No existing programs or flash apps can be used without the developer updating them. If you have an app you simply must have, DON'T GET THIS CALCULATOR! A lot of programs are no longer maintained, and the ones that are will require varying degrees of effort to be ported as the display slows things down a lot. Games won't work period until a faster display method is found.

Conclusion: Do you own a TI-84? Good, keep it and don't bother with the color version. If you don't have one, and need to buy one NEW, you may as well get this, seeing as it's only 10$ more. Used TI-83+/TI-84+ are way cheaper, though.

3 stars. Not majorly deficient, but nor is it outstanding.

Technical rant: In the day of carrying multi-gigahertz CPUs in our pocket, the least TI could do is grab a more modern member of the Z80 family, like the EZ80, which is 4-11 times faster than a Z80 of the same clock speed. Software modifications would be minor as it's binary compatible, and the benefits manifold. Faster everything, more RAM (up to 256 times more!), more powerful software, longer battery life... the cost to TI being that they'd have to design a newer PCB, which would eat into the truly ludicrous profit margins on these calculators.

Software changes required would be minor at best, which is hilarious because of the effort TI had to make to port the OS and flash apps to a newer display - which broke all existing programs for the TI-84. If they were going to semi-break backwards compatibility, they might as well have done it for the sake of an upgrade.

Even jettisoning the ancient TI-83 layout in favor of a layout similar to the TI-36x Pro scientific calculator would have been a worthy improvement. Nope, too much effort. Sigh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Calculator, September 8, 2013
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus C Graphing Calculator (Office Product)
This is a great calculator! The color feature is fun to have when graphing. There has been complaints about the calculator not graphing fast and that is because the DetectAsymOn feature is on. If you turn this feature off the graphing speed will increase tremendously. Turning off the feature does not harm or change your calculator or it's abilities to do math in any sort of way! To turn off the feature go to the catalog (press 2nd and then press 0), scroll down to DetectAsymOff and select it, press enter, and that's it! The feature will be off and your calculator will graph a lot faster. If you ever want to turn the feature back on just go to the catalog, scroll down to DetectAsymOn and select it, press enter, and your done! Have a nice day everyone :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is the color worth it?, August 26, 2013
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus C Graphing Calculator (Office Product)
When I first got the Ti 84 plus c silver edition it was kinda of slow and sluggish. After I turned off detect asymtotes in the 2nd zoom menu and switched the calculator over to classic mode it was much faster, just as fast as regular ti 84 plus. The addition of color really helps when you graph more than one equation. Importing images and using them as your background while graphing is really gimmicky, as the photo is just distracting. But, overall it's a great calculator and it would be an excellent tool in just about any college or high school math class. Besides, On the Ti 84 plus you can't play tetris or connect 4 in color. If you have any questions leave them in the comments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TI dropped the ball with this one - prettier than the 84 but lacking important tools, October 29, 2013
By 
John W. Mycroft (Asheville, NC, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus C Graphing Calculator (Office Product)
The display of the TI-84C is undoubtedly its strong point. The resolution is far better than the 84 meaning you either get smoother graphs, more readable text or more lines of text on the screen. All of those are really good to have.
However, TI have dropped the ball in a number of places with this upgrade and they are serious enough to be both annoying and to lead to getting the wrong answer.
1. The graph drawing is markedly slower than the TI-84. For example, a plot of y=cos(x) in radian mode and standard zoom takes over twice as long on the 84C as on the 84.
2. There is a lag in the keyboard that can lead to missing keystrokes. Considering how fast the modern texting kid can work a keyboard, that can lead to some odd results and I am constantly having students ask me what's wrong with their calculations because a keystroke has gone astray.
3. Most seriously from my point of view as a teacher is that TI have not made the Smartpad app available for this calculator so if, like me, you have been used to teaching the use of the calculator by using Smartview and Smartpad together, you are now officially out of luck and have to use your PC's keyboard which is significantly slower and more error prone than using the calculator for computer input. Based on this alone, I would recommend looking for a different calculator as your school's standard (and no, I don't know if any other maker's calculator has this very useful and basic feature).

I can only hope that a future OS for the 84C addresses these problems as right now it looks like this calculator is just a repackaged version of some very old technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Slow, unresponsive, overall more cumbersome, September 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus C Graphing Calculator (Office Product)
I've had this calculator for 2 months and there are a lot of problems. Do not buy this calculator if you value speed, simplicity, and reliability. It will work for slow, high-school calculations but cannot handle college-level, calculation-intensive functions.

I've been using TI graphing calculators all my life, but recently purchased the color TI84 since I lost my old black and white TI84. This new calculator is pretty horrible and doesn't fit my needs at all because although they increased the resolution and have colors, the company did not change the processor. Therefore simple calculations like 1+1 take significantly longer to appear on the screen because the processor is slower to refresh the higher resolution display.

In addition, programs (even the simplest ones) take about 3 seconds to load, let alone run (compared to ~.5 on a B&W TI83 or 84).

Parenthesis and equation conventions have changed. TI thought it would make lives simpler by "intuitively" doing parenthesis for you, but in doing so, just made the overall accountability of parenthesis-heavy calculations more confusing and unnecessarily annoying. For example, doing e^(xyz)*(123) on a regular B&W TI would automatically put the "123" as a multiplier of the exponent, which is conventional in the order of operations, but on the TI84C, you must manually specify which term is the exponent and which is the coefficient, which does nothing but make the calculation more confusing. On multiple occasions, I've entered an equation and have it output completely wrong answers even when the equation on the display is accurate. The problem arises from the calculator automatically judging order of operations for the user.

Lastly, and possibly most frustratingly, typing in equations too quickly will cause the calculator to not register certain keystrokes, which is never never an issue on a B&W TI83/84. I believe it is because the processor takes so long to refresh the screen after keystrokes that pressing a button during this refresh phase will cause the device to ignore that input.

As an engineering student, speed and reliability are incredibly important when performing calculations. When this calculator trades speed, reliability, and accuracy for some bad color and resolution upgrades, the calculator becomes a last resort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horribly slow and under powered., January 10, 2014
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus C Graphing Calculator (Office Product)
In this day in age when good performance 32 bit microcontrollers are so cheap, it doesn't make sense to leave this calculator so seriously underpowered. If they're still running a 15 MHz Z80 instead of the newer 50 MHz Z80 just to save a couple cents they made the wrong choice. Who tries to run USB apps, long floating point math, and all on a color screen with a 15 MHz processor?? Nuts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone., December 26, 2013
By 
T. Parks (Long Beach, MS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus C Graphing Calculator (Office Product)
I got this because, let's be honest, if you were in school within the past decade you probably used a TI83/+ or similar and you know how nifty they can be. I should have done a bit more research. It still has all those same qualities of the TI83/+ and more. However, it is still teetering on yesterday's technology as far as gadgets go. The color isn't really a noteworthy attribute unless you're making graphs with many different denominations (which this 1980's hardware technology can only handle so much...)

Pros:
- All the perks of the TI83/+.
- Longevity. We all know the TI quality well and as of yet it has stood the test of time, mostly. The rules of mathematics are pretty concrete so what it does and how it does it shouldn't change. The calculator does what it's supposed to as well as it always has and it's allowed in the classroom, on standardized tests, etc.
- App4Math and other apps. App4math hasn't proved fruitful as of yet, but there are some programs that can really 'help you out.'

Con:
- Very limited memory. Almost cripplingly so. It was released in 2012 so it HAS to pack a punch, right? Nope. Still a 15MHz processor and they graciously upgraded the RAM to 128KB and the ROM to 4MB with 3.5MB useable. Long story short, when I unboxed my shiny new TI-84 Plus-C and began to load it with programs it was very quickly full and I had to start deleting.

I know this review may seem tedious or situational. Maybe this is all you want/need in a calculator. Maybe you're in school and only allowed the older TI models. Only the older models are allowed on ACT and SAT testing while the newer Nspire models are not. If that's the case then by all means, this is the TI quality and reliability you may have known and loved. Nothing has changed and this is a 5-star TI-quality capable calculator.

I, on the other hand, would definitely consider some of their ARM-based TI-Nspire series calculators over any from this antiquated series in the future. With 100MB storage and 64MB of RAM (and with the OS upgrades and improvements over the years) the Nspire series seems to be more 'up to speed' with what I would expect from post-2012 technology.

All in all, different people have different needs. If you're going to be using the calculator academically and restricted to what kind of calculator you're allowed to have then may as well get this one. If you're going to be using it for practical application outside the classroom then definitely consider newer generations of TI calculators. Although the Nspire seems to have a learning curve if you're accustomed to older generations.

Just do your research and know your limitations.

______________Hint: Search the internet for "TI-84 vs Nspire CX CAS" (or other graphing calc you have in mind.) ___________________
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars color screen is great, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus C Graphing Calculator (Office Product)
screen clarity is nice. I do not use this calc. but my HS daughter said it is wonderful. She is in Algebra 2 and said this makes the work so much easier. She did say that her friends and teacher commented positivly on the color screen, and she likes it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review, April 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus C Graphing Calculator (Office Product)
It is powerful and I think it worths the money. I love this a lot. I am learning Algebra1 right away,and this graphing calculator really helps me solve the problem. Thank you daddy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x96ff0b4c)

This product

Texas Instruments TI-84 Plus C Graphing Calculator
$150.00 $125.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.