Customer Reviews


890 Reviews
5 star:
 (599)
4 star:
 (130)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (71)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


235 of 253 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie, Excellent DVD, Excellent Special Features!
First, the movie. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is probably one of the scariest movies ever made. It was unique for its time, and there's still nothing quite like it today. The plot doesn't sound like much- 2 women and 3 men make a drive to rural Texas to check out a graveyard that has been 'defiled', and to also relax and enjoy themselves. This last part of their vacation...
Published on May 9, 2001 by Kitten With a Whip

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars UK Blu-ray superior
"The Texas Chain Saw Massacre", the 1974 original by Tobe Hooper, is one of my absolute favorite films. It has a certain atmosphere and visual style/cinematographic brilliance that in my opinion is only matched in the horror field by John Carpenter's "The Thing", Sam Raimi's "The Evil Dead", and Dario Argento's "Suspiria". It's an absolute treat to the senses (visually,...
Published on August 1, 2010 by Christopher D. Jacobson


‹ Previous | 1 2 389 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "My...my brother makes headcheese! It's real good!", March 17, 2000
This review is from: The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (DVD)
The DVD edition of "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" is simply essential for all TCM fans. For a movie that's achieved almost mythical status among its devotees, the unearthing of unknown and unseen gems from the making of TCM is a treasure trove. On the DVD, you get outtakes and bloopers, trailers and TV ads for the original movie and its inferior sequels, scores of publicity stills, and an alternate audio track featuring Tobe Hooper, Gunnar Hansen and cinematographer Daniel Pearl giving a running commentary of the film as it plays. Their comments lend much insight into how TCM was made, the impact of the film, and updates about what happened to various cast members. The film itself has been restored to a vibrantly colorful print, and the viewer has the option of watching the film in stereo or in its original mono mix. If only every DVD could be this lavishly issued... If you haven't seen the film yet, you must know that this is a landmark horror/suspense film. Far from the river of blood its title suggests, there's relatively little killing in the movie; its strengths lie in a palpable atmosphere of Texas heat and dread; black as oil humor, and heart-in-your-throat suspense. Its reputation as a sick, gory slashfest comes mainly from its myriad inferior imitators. Check out the DVD and make your own judgment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be forewarned - this "new" special edition is a reissue, October 14, 2003
I won't go into the details of this DVD as the other reviewers have done a fine job already. What I do want to make sure everyone knows is that this "new" Special Edition released on October 14, 2003 is simply a reissue of the same DVD put out in 1998 with a spiffy new slipcover! It's not even anamorphic! The transfer is actually inferior to the old Elite Laserdisc version as they failed to use the final product eventually issued by Elite. They used a work in progress that had not had almost 200 minute horizontal lines removed (even though they thank the folks that did the removal!) that were the end result of poor storage of the original negative. While I did enjoy the extras, I kept thinking "Where is the almost feature length Making Of, or the interviews with cast and crew or cool booklet that you get with the Region 2 DVD?" It's a shame, really, that Pioneer didn't put forth a little more effort into this Horror Classic. If you already own the 1998 DVD then save your money. If you don't, well I can't really recommend this as I'm sure someone will issue a proper updated Special Edition with a new anamorphic transfer (Blue Underground? Anchor Bay? Hello?). Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Join us for dinner, January 25, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is just one of those movies that leaves you feeling disturbed. So few movies are capable of eliciting such feelings - in fact, few even attempt it anymore. Since the 80s, movie-makers flood the screen with gore, completely abandoning what is truly scary and contributing to turning the genre into something of a joke.

I didn't get to see this movie until the mid-90s due to my age. I can only imagine how unsettling it must have been when it was released in 1974. "The Family" came before Jason, freddy and all those to follow - and what made this film so much more gripping than those others was the fact that it was loosely based on events that actually took place. Nothing is scarier than the manifestation of evil and horror from nightmare into reality.

The low budget of the film helped to make it what it was. Most of the camera-work appears to be handheld, giving the film a documentary-like feeling. This is, no doubt, what helped to make movies like "The Blair Witch Project" disturbing. They were forced to be inventive and the viewers are called upon to utilize their imaginations.

This is one of the most influential horror movies of all time. The director made no attempt to scare viewers with decapitations and excessive gore - that is not scary - it is just disgusting. This film, along with the other influential films in the history of the genre, coaxes the imagination and allows people to frighten themselves. The movie is wonderfully done.

Highly recommended for fans of the horror genre who want to see a movie that will finally frighten them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars twisted, August 25, 2001
By 
g cooper (New York City) - See all my reviews
This is a very strange film. it is regarded as one of the most violent horror films ever made (that it is), yet, strangely, there is not a lot of blood in it. I expected non-stop gore from this film, but got something completely different but twice as horrifying; a truly psychological horror movie. The movie is basically about five young people who are driving around deep texas, finding a house that is part of an inheritance. They find a complete dump, but start wandering around, until meeting the neighbors, a horrifying, inbred family of cannibals who kill them one by one. The worst of the group is a huge, disgusting man named Leatherface, who wears a mask made out of human flesh. Only one of the people, a young woman (marilyn burns), is given the chance to run, but she too is caught by them, and forced to sit with the family at the dinner table with for dinner. With her hands tied down, the viewer gets to see what true horror looks like as they do unspeakable things to her. The camera goes in close to her eyes and you can see the veins popping out. Effective stuff. And Marilyn Burns is simply outstanding, and has screaming ability equal to shelley duvall in, 'the shining.' The last two scenes in the movie are equally scary. The first on is of marilyn burns sitting in the back of a pickup truck, covered in blood, and laughing hysterically as she makes her getaway. And the last is of Leatherface whirling his chainsaw around madly. So SEE THIS MOVIE! you will probably never be the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, ANOTHER version of TCM on DVD, June 28, 2006
This review is from: The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (2-Disc Ultimate Edition) (DVD)
Yeah, I'm a sucker for buying special editions. The cult classic, TCM, is now going to be released in a very impressive way.

THE LOWDOWN ON THE MOVIE

TCM is a classic in it's own rights, being one of the first truly horrifying movies of our time. It's low budget, but that truly adds to the chemistry of director, Tobe Hooper, and the actors. If your looking for a good horror movie and a good time, look no further than TCM.

THE ULTIMATE EDITION

There was the "ORIGINAL" edition, there was the "SPECIAL" edition, and now there is an "ULTIMATE" edition. Yeah I'm gonna buy it, Just look at those special features:

"Steelbook Packaging": Ok, that's kinda cool. Featured on the Ultimate Edition.

"Feature-length commentary with actors Marilyn Burns, Paul A. Partain, Allen Danzinger, and art director Robert A. Burns": That's a new and impressive feature. I'd like to hear what the actors think about the cult classic. Featured on the Ultimate Edition.

"Feature-length commentary with director Tobe Hooper, cinematographer Daniel Pearl, and actor Gunnar Hansen": Wait a second...wasn't this on the last DVD. I'm almost positive that it's the same, but nonetheless it is a very good one. Featured on the Ultimate and Special Editions.

"Theatrical Trailers & TV and Radio Spots": Kind of fun to watch, an edition to all of the DVDs.

"The Texas Chain Saw Massacre: The Shocking Truth": Sounds very cool, i'm interested. Featured on the Ultimate Edition.

"Flesh Wounds": Another documentary, also sounds interesting.

"A Tour of the TCSM house with Gunnar Hansen": A tour of the original house would be awesome. I've always wanted to see what it looked like.

"Deleted Scenes and Outtakes": Pretty neat stuff. Featured on the Ultimate and Special Editions.

"The Shocking Truth" Outtakes: Ha, could be kind of fun to watch.

"Still Gallery": Eh, I think they're boring most of the time. But it could be kind of interesting. Featured on the Ultimate and Special Editions.

Alright, I tried to give you guys an idea on how the new special editions stack up with the old ones. From the looks of it, we're gonna get one impressive DVD.

I hope this was helpful to you. Thanks for your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of 40th Anniversary 4K 4-Disc Blu-Ray...A Truly Definite Edition, October 16, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE has been released and re-released on VHS and DVD so many times that comparing the best version seems impossible, but I think they've finally done it. This marks the first time I have ever double-dipped on a film without regretting it just a teeny bit. I seriously doubt that a better version of this film could be released without inventing an entirely new type of data technology.

The major reason I bought this is to take advantage of the brand new much-ballyhooed 4K restoration for the anniversary release this year, and even I have to admit, it looks better than the previous Blu-ray edition. I think the image quality we see here is as good as the film can ever get. TCM was shot on 16mm reversal stock--meaning the film was shot as a positive image instead of a negative image as was traditional--so the limitations of the source material have finally been reached. ALL the special features from the previous editions have been ported over and some even upconverted so they don't look as poor as they did before, and included are some featurettes that had been left off the previous editions, such as interviews with the producer (who sheds some light on the dark financial history), and a new interview with Jim Dugan, who played Grandpa.

The only thing that seems to be missing is the 1988 feature-length documentary TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE: A FAMILY PORTRAIT, which was probably too long to include on the special features disc or perhaps in copyright limbo. Either way, that seems to be the only thing they could have added to make this 100% complete.

The 4K restoration is glorious. The image is as clean and bright as any I've seen despite the heavy-handed digital color-correction that's been in place since the mid-2000s. The image is slightly grainier than it should be because the film has been formatted to fit a 16:9 screen, so as a result it has been "magnified" to fill that and as such, the flaws in sharpness and the textures in grain have been magnified with them, giving the final image a little general fuzziness because it's been enhanced so large. At times it feels like watching the movie through binoculars focused on the actual frame because the details are so big. And that brings me to the special feature I am DYING to mention:

SUPER SPECIAL FEATURE
Along with all the additional featurettes comes a NEW set of outtakes and deleted scenes, which consist mostly of BTS production footage. Unhappily, the audio has long since been lost, but the footage looks like it was shot yesterday. Whoever had this footage apparently kept it locked in a vault for 40 years because aside from the scratches and dirt it probably accrued in the field, it looks positively pristine.

This BTS footage is kept in the original 1.33:1 aspect ratio, and as a result, the image looks probably the way the feature film should: viewing it in its untruncated aspect ratio makes the fine details finer, and the grain doesn't create the border fuzz that you see in the actual feature. Despite the lack of restoration and the cleaning of dirt, I get the feeling watching these outtakes that the final film should look the same way, and the magnification effect I mentioned above doesn't occur. But you definitely get to see how this film would have failed because the deleted portions show the B-roll and alternate angles that are very plain, boring, and functional, and with none of the impact of those in the master. Included is a test shot of the famous dolly shot of Pam approaching the house as a functional profile angle, which would have been a disastrous choice.

CONTROVERSY
There are 2 small differences in this full restoration from previous versions that have been noted and I'm confirming that I have found 1 of them. The first is in the beginning "flash bulb montage" where the shot of the boot cuts immediately to black rather than fading to darkness. This is the only shot in the montage that does so, and from what i have gleaned from official Facebook posts, this was a request of Tobe Hooper's during the restoration. It isn't jarring, it's merely noticeable from the previous shots. As far as I'm concerned, it doesn't detract from the film at all. The 2nd is a looping of Marilyn Burns' screams at the 1:21:xx point but I haven't detected the differences although I believe them to be true. There are still questions as to whether Dark Sky will adjust these changes in the future, but they are so incredibly insignificant that even I don't care that they've occurred.

Overall though, if you're going to buy TCM to have it as a reference library copy, then this is the edition to get. I think that all the previous editions have been building to this one, and even I don't foresee a future edition any time in the next 20-30 years that can top this. Not only do you get the film and it's features in Blu-ray, but you also get the exact same thing on DVD as well (2 Blu-rays, and matching 2 DVDs).

So yes, I recommend this as THE DEFINITIVE VERSION TO GET.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TCM Ultimate Edition: you can throw those other editions out!, October 16, 2006
By 
Drew (Metuchen, NJ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (2-Disc Ultimate Edition) (DVD)
(this review refers to the Texas Chainsaw Massacre Ultimate Edition only)

This is the second "special edition" of TCM. The first was more or less cash grab by Pioneer around the time the TCM remake hit theatres. It offered a "restored and remastered" picture and soundtrack plus all new special features. It did have a few extra special features added to it from the original no-frills version, but everything else was the same.

Well, another TCM movie hit theatres recently, this time a prequel, and yet again another special edition dvd for the original hit store shelves. I bought the dvd due to a favorable review in fangoria and was pleasantly surprised. If you've seen the movie before you know how good it is and that it really deserves a good special edition release. It's easily one of the best horror films ever made and quite possibly the greatest slasher film of all time.

In this edition the picture has never looked better. It offers a new high definition transfer from the original 16mm camera originals. Gone is the grainy, pixilated, washed out transfer and in it's place is a vibrant, colorful, beautiful version of the film. The greens of the trees and grass and the blues of the sky nearly jump off the screen, while the interiors are dark and brooding, but sharp and clear. And in the last scene, you've never seen a more beautiful sunrise in your life. The sound is also improved. A new stereo surround soundtrack is available and it's crisp and clear. I've never noticed how great the soundtrack is until now. In some scenes it's loud and wrentching, and in others it's low and droning, providing a deep sense of dread.

How about those special features? well, i haven't gotten through them all yet, but suffice it to say that they needed another disc for all the special features they decided to cram in here. There's all the special features of the last special edition (a blooper reel, radio and tv spots, the original trailer, deleted scenes, a still gallery, and an informative and entertaining commentary with director Tobe Hooper, cinematographer Daniel Pearl, and Leatherface himself, Gunner Hansen), but this time around they added much more including two documentaries titled "Fleshwounds" and "Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Shocking Truth", as well as a tour of the original TCM house (which is now a restaurant, believe it or not) plus outtakes from the documentaries, and a brand new commentary with the actors and art director Robert A. Burns, all packaged in a really cool tin case.

This is the definitive version of the film that defined a genre and helped start a new one. You're not going to find a better version of the film and there are so many special features it'll take you hours to sift through all of them. For fans of the film, you can toss your old copies because this is the one that should be in your collection. As for new comers, get ready for a thrill ride like you've never expierenced before, because the Texas Chainsaw Massacre is back and better than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The REAL lesson in low-budget horror, February 7, 2001
By 
P. I. Johnson (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (DVD)
For the many of you who embraced Blair Witch (far more than it deserved) as a noble low-budget cause, Texas Chainsaw Massacre, along with Night of the Living Dead, is the REAL lesson in how to make a low budget horror movie. Unlike the Blair Witch creators, Tobe Hooper still manages to use his meager resources to introduce such apparently novel features as solid story structure; tight functional script; riveting suspense sequences and a (literally) blistering climax. The more one engages with Texas Chainsaw Massacre as a low-budget masterpiece, the more you realize there can be no excuse for the decidedly un-pioneering, artless, suspense-less Blair Witch Project. Hooper's superbly rendered, all-encompassing atmosphere of impending dread and depravity has never been equaled. The dialogue, set design and sound effects interact moodily and powerfully to convey a distinct, unsettling feeling of unprecedented evil closing in on the protagonists. And then the movie DELIVERS on that expectation as well. No stupid wandering around in the woods non-drama for Hooper. Instead his set-up is as compelling as his pay-off is violent (that little irrelevancy called story structure again...) Imagine the horror and intensity of Deliverance and times it by ten to get an idea of what you're in for with Chainsaw. For horror collectors, this is an essential acquisition as one of the key antecedents - and one of the best examples - of the now ubiquitous splatter/slasher sub-genre, as well as the cannibal and mad hillbilly crazes that passed through horror in the seventies. If you thought Bonnie and Clyde, Soldier Blue and The Wild Bunch pushed the envelope of screen violence in the early Seventies, then Texas Chainsaw Massacre saws it to shreds. A must-own for any decent horror collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ol' grandpa's the best.....it won't hurt a bit!, March 24, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (DVD)
Before horror filmmakers felt the need to poke fun atthemselves and highlight beautiful young stars rather than actualterror, this film does what horror films have long since forgotten how to do: scare the living hell out of you. Before there was a Blair Witch Project, there was a Texas Chainsaw Massacre. And similarities between the two are fairly numerous: the documentary style (although Witch went a lot further with this concept), the shunning of explicit gore in order to overdrive the imagination, and so forth. One of the things I particularly like about this film is that it's almost two movies in one. The first half focuses on the victims, which is something this film's sequels forgot to do. If you want to effectively scare people, you have to allow them to muster sympathy for those about to die.him die.)But once Leatherface comes roaring out of the woods with his weapon of choice (actually, despite the title only one person in this film is killed by a chainsaw) the film takes a sharp turn and drags us kicking and screaming into the world of the villains. This is where the film's strength lies: in the fact that the family isn't actually all together until the last twenty minutes or so. Therefore we haven't been given ample time to identify with them or laugh at them, and so we are just as mortified at the dinner scene as poor Sally Hardesty. Truly one of the greatest horror films ever created. However as far as the sequels go, here's a brief rundown: TCM2 is worthwhile for two reasons only; Tom Savini's gut-wrenching effects and the almost-unbearably over the top performance of Dennis Hopper ("TEAR IT ALL DOWN! "). If you can find an uncut version of TCM3 I'd say give it a shot. Otherwise don't bother (unless you'd like to see an early performance from Psycho's Viggo Mortensen). And I urge everyone on the planet to avoid Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Next Generation at all costs. There is nothing even remotely worthwhile about this film and will leave you nauseous for the rest of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable Restoration, November 4, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (2-Disc Ultimate Edition) (DVD)
When I first heard about this Dark Sky release, and its 'new restoration', I just assumed it was the regular restored version which has been out for some time, and wasnt to keen on buying it. After upgrading to a 32" LCD, a lot of the older films on DVD dont look to great, and I eventually ordered this release.

Im glad I did, compared to my other two releases of Texas Chainsaw Massacre, it makes them look like an old heavily-rented VHS. Sure, its no 'Departed' picture quality, but for its age, budget and style, it looks so good that I cant imagine it getting any better. If you've had doubts about ording this, dont wait any longer, get it today and you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 389 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (2-Disc Ultimate Edition)
$38.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.