Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 11, 2003
Jo Ella Exley has complied and edited a collection of writings of frontier Texas through the eyes of Texas Pioneer women. This has to be one of the best books I've read describing life in early Texas. Some of the women came from much but most from little, but they all shared in the determination to survive the Texas Frontier. Whether it was Mary Rabb, one of Austin's original "Old Three Hundred", or Silva King brought to Texas enslaved, one word can be used to describe them all, "tough". Mary Blankenship homesteading on the staked plains of West Texas at the dawn of the twentieth century best described the loneliness and hardship of life on the frontier with this quote, "We had plenty of time to be still and know God. He was our closest neighbor."
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
This book should give Non-Texans, as well as those critical of Texas, a better understanding of its unique culture and place in the landscape of American History. I would also recommend it to the revisionist historians and those in the media that enjoy taking potshots at Texas attitudes and preferences. I doubt any of these people could have survived Texas, lacking in anything comparable to the courage and bravery of Texans. We are proud of being a Republic long before we made the wrong decision not to remain so.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2007
Jo Ella Exley does a great job of giving justice to Texas pioneer women when it is long overdue. Much is written of the great men of Texas. Heroes like Austin, Houston, Bowie, Crockett and Lamar--just to name a few. But, what about the women who stood beside their men forging their way together through the untamed Texas wilderness? Exley gives a voice to these women, in their own words they tell about life and love on the Texas frontier. Heartaches and hardships along with joy and triumph are told in the pages of this remarkable compilation.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2013
I have a female ancestor who came to Texas as a Republic and am amazed at the strength exhibited by the women of her time. These women were made of sterner stuff than I am. Books like this, with personal accounts of their lives, help me appreciate the difficulties they faced and the courage they exhibited in the face of monumental challenges. The book is a treasure for me. My thanks to the author for the tribute to their lives by celebrating them in this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2013
As a lover of Texas history, I consider this one of my all-time favorite books. The accounts are first hand, well written, and will leave you longing for more from each character. You will feel as if you actually set and talked with someone from a time and world that is so close, yet gone forever. You will see history as they lived it, not from someone who thinks they know what it was like. My gratitude to the author for saving these priceless accounts before they too were gone forever.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2009
I appreciate the author's efforts to collect these first-hand accounts of Texas History, but found most of them were difficult to read. This book is not for the casual history reader.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2013
I love Texas history and this is a great book telling about the women of early Texas. It's well written and researched. Great book!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2013
This is and excellent book especially if you love history especially womans history! Loved book because its all truth! I would recommend this to all woman.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2013
The best insight into daily life of early Texians and Texans that I have read. Most of it is unvarnished truth of what families faced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
This is an absolutely wonderful book. It is a book of short stories written by pioneer women of Texas .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse