Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully inspiring book!
As a Thai Massage Practioner I have found "A Thai Herbal" to be an excellent addition to my library & my practice. This book is perfect for people with any level of knowledge in herbology, from basic to advanced. It looks at Traditional Thai Healing systems from the holistic standpoint, discussing not only the Materia Medica of Thai Herbs but also the Thai traditions of...
Published on February 25, 2004 by Kelly @ Mango

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a fan of this book
Not too much info for people who interested in Herbal medicine. It was OK book for read but not too much info.
Published 10 months ago by Chino Mom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully inspiring book!, February 25, 2004
This review is from: A Thai Herbal (Paperback)
As a Thai Massage Practioner I have found "A Thai Herbal" to be an excellent addition to my library & my practice. This book is perfect for people with any level of knowledge in herbology, from basic to advanced. It looks at Traditional Thai Healing systems from the holistic standpoint, discussing not only the Materia Medica of Thai Herbs but also the Thai traditions of use for them. Pierce guides the reader on a journey of using Thai herbs thru diet, massage, herbal compresses and bodycare/household products that ends with the reader feeling they have really been taught from a traditional viewpoint. It also contains a very helpful resource section for those wanting to learn more about these healing plants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Book!!! A must read!!!, November 17, 2003
By 
"droylance1" (Ashburn, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Thai Herbal (Paperback)
This book combines information not available anywhere in the English language. This book can be useful to a reader just curious about herbs to the expert herbal practitioner. Pierce has unlocked the secrets of ancient Thailand recipes that have existed for over 2000 years. Its also helpful for Thai Massage Practitioners to understand how to incorporate herbs into your massage routine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Traditions Brought Alive, August 1, 2006
By 
Bronwen Evans (Bangkok, Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thai Herbal (Paperback)
I spend my weekends in the Thai countryside at a place called Kung Wiman and am amazed at the local knowledge about Thai herbs which they use in their everyday lives. My husband, who is Thai, taught me quite a lot, but it's been difficult because he only knew the Thai names for plants and herbs. So C. Pierce Salguero's book has been a huge help, as it gave names in Thai as well as common and Latin names along with explanations and context. It has helped me to identify plants and their uses. I am trying them out for myself and have had a good experience so far. By the way many of these herbs are now available in other countries and there are also parallels with traditions such as Ayurveda and Chinese. My only small criticism is that I would like to see the names written in the Thai script as well. I recently bought another of his books on spiritual healing which is also very good. These ancient healing techniques are unique and very much alive today and it is fantastic that C. Pierce Salguero is introducing them to a wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, August 8, 2007
This review is from: A Thai Herbal (Paperback)
This book reveals the depth of the practice of herbal treatments and remedies in Thailand, complete with recipes and recommendations. I regard this book as a valuable reference. You will find an accurate account of the herbal compress massage, which is certainly not regarded as a new spa treatment in Thailand! Instead, it is a vital part of Thai herbal healing. A great book and a good resource on the subject of Thai herbs and their place in traditional Thai medicine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of a kind, August 4, 2007
This review is from: A Thai Herbal (Paperback)
Even in Thailand, it is very difficult to find books on this subject written in the english language. In the western world, I don't think you will find any other. Luckily, it's a good one. If you are fortunate enough to travel to Thailand you can get the edition that does have the names of the herbs written in the thai script as well. I love this book, and am grateful that it's out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very worthwhile read, January 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thai Herbal (Paperback)
This book offers valuable insight into the influence and uniqueness of Thai culture upon both the art of healing and herbs in particular. C. Prierce Saiguero straightforward approach with personal touches is both entertinaing and educational. The book should offer value to the herbal novice as well as the season practitioner. A philosophical back ground on how herbs are treated and principals on how to administer them are well laid out. The suggestions on herbs for specific conditions are especially useful. As a practicing acupuncturist I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for the, May 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thai Herbal (Paperback)
Thai Massage Therapist. Mr. Salguero has provided a wealth of knowledge in this little book. I have never had the pleasure of meeting him, but I have trained under one of his teachers, Mama Lek, a highly regarded master of Thai Massage. Mr Salguero is one of the few therapist here in the USA that she recognizes as her special students (along with my primary instructor, which has a sister school with hers) His books are truly a wealth of knowledge! Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thai Herbs as Medicine, Food Ingredients, and Household Items, November 18, 2011
By 
Global Squatter (Orlando, Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thai Herbal (Paperback)
In his own words, C. Pierce Salguero, Ph.D., called using and eating Thai herbs packed with medicinal qualities "Food Therapy." The first recipe he presented in Chapter III Every-day Herbs is the famous Thai Tom Yam. Its main ingredients of this deliciously tangy soup are lemongrass, galangal and kaffir limes. Well, everyone knows how yummy the Tom "Yum" is. But he told us why and how Thai herbs can be beneficial to our health. This information is equivalent to knowing why a chicken soup is so soothing and how it cures the cold symptoms.

He also touched (pun intended) on the herbs and their usage in traditional Thai massage and sauna. Just perfect for the colder weather we're experiencing in fall and winter. If we can put lemongrass, galangal and kaffir limes in our mouth (not really; no one actually EATS them, but they flavor the Tom Yum broth), we can also put them on our skin and inhale the nice aromas during a hot herbal compress massage session. His on-line store (thai-herbs.com by Taomountain) sells Thai herbs that are hard to locate in the United States. I guess I'll be spending money there, too. Happily.

Last but not least, he shared tips on natural alternatives to clean almost everything in our house. For example, white distilled vinegar can be used to clean and disinfect any locations that germs hang out, such as bathrooms and kitchens.

And he also runs a traditional Thai massage school in the East Coast and has written about Buddhist medical and healing approach. Looks like he offers a complete holistic treatments for tummy, body, mind and spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reveiw for A Thai Herbal, September 26, 2007
This review is from: A Thai Herbal (Paperback)
I love this book. It is packed with information that you can use and will not go out of date. It is a treasure. If you have an interest in learning more about this subject this is the book. It travels easily and it is like a good friend , will help you feel better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a fan of this book, December 30, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thai Herbal (Paperback)
Not too much info for people who interested in Herbal medicine. It was OK book for read but not too much info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Thai Herbal
A Thai Herbal by C. Pierce Salguero (Paperback - June 1, 2003)
Used & New from: $12.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.