Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Wonderful authentic recipes, great photography
David Thompson, the author of "Thai Food", the English-language "bible" of Thai cooking, has done it again!

I lived in Thailand for 3 years, and found the street food to be wonderful. You will find delicious morsels for sale on every street corner in Thailand - many Thais graze all day while running around getting their shopping and work done. This is the...
Published on September 23, 2010 by C. Cutler

versus
17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, very irritating organization
I lived in Thailand for five years and studied Thai cooking while I was there so I can see that these recipes are good and accurate. However, good luck finding them! There is no index and things are only organized by the time of day they're eaten. If you're not already familiar with these dishes, and even if you are familiar with these dishes, you will find it irritating...
Published on December 27, 2010 by Lumpy


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Wonderful authentic recipes, great photography, September 23, 2010
By 
C. Cutler (Orlando, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thai Street Food (Hardcover)
David Thompson, the author of "Thai Food", the English-language "bible" of Thai cooking, has done it again!

I lived in Thailand for 3 years, and found the street food to be wonderful. You will find delicious morsels for sale on every street corner in Thailand - many Thais graze all day while running around getting their shopping and work done. This is the first cookbook I have ever found, even in Thailand, that captures all these delicious recipes in one place. The recipes are very authentic and approachable for the home cook. This is Thai "comfort food" at it's best. And mixed in with the excellent recipes are tons of outstanding photos that really capture the essence of the Thai street scene. As a photography book it could stand alone, even if you never cooked anything from it. But that would be a shame - I tried a couple of my street favorites this week, and the recipes were EXACTLY like I remember the taste.

An outstanding book - but I didn't expect anything less from David Thompson. If you don't have his other book, "Thai Food", you should consider adding that to your collection also. It's full of recipes that you rarely find in cookbooks outside Thailand (as well as all the old favorites), and some of my very favorites came from that book. Buy them together and you will never need another book on Thai cooking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thai Street Food -- the final word?, October 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thai Street Food (Hardcover)
This huge and heavy book will be of interest to anyone who wants to know and revel in the experience of Thai street food. For those who have traveled to Thailand, it will be worth having because of the authentic recipes and fabulous photos. For those who haven't been there but love Thai food as they know it in restaurants, it will be an educational experience in what the real food of Thailand -- at least as it is eaten in the markets and street stalls -- is all about. For people interested in the culture of Thailand, it is also a great book. David Thompson is as much an anthropologist as a chef. His book Thai Food is also as much an investigation to the history and culture of Thailand as it is a recipe book. It was a real work of scholarly research and of preserving the Thai haute cuisine. This book is similar except that as a study of street food it is at the other end of the culinary scale -- but not any the less delicious.

My one negative comment -- and the reason for only 4 stars instead of five -- is the weight of the book. It is huge and heavy. It can't be held comfortably to read -- it needs to be on a table and as such wouldn't be easy to work with in the kitchen when cooking any of the recipes. I would have paid extra to have the book have a companion text for just the recipes. As it is, I have to say its size and weight are a significant drawback. Perhaps Thompson and his editors and publisher expected that no one would actually use it as a cookbook, but even reading it is a challenge -- and I'm no dainty lightweight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it..., December 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thai Street Food (Hardcover)
I read the other reviews before purchasing this book. While I understand the few low scores, it's still the most beautiful, accurate and helpful book on Thai cooking that I've ever seen. I lived on and off in Thailand for years and this book absolutely captures the essence of Thai street food. While a few of the ingredients can be a challenge to find, the overwhelming majority are easily found at any Asian market like the ones in any big U.S. city. There are also online Thai grocers that will ship harder to find items. While there are a great many pictures that are unrelated to the specific recipes, they capture the feel of what it's like to eat on the street in Thailand. Moreover, the Thai transliteration of ingredients is hugely helpful to me - something I've wished I had for a long time. I've cooked several things from this book and they're all delicious. My wife (who is Thai) insists that if she didn't know a farang was cooking, she'd have assumed it was a Thai cook.

My only complaint is that the book is far too big and heavy to be practical in the kitchen. However, I think the fact that there are large color pictures of *every* dish is fantastic and something that I wish all cookbooks had. Add in the healthy Amazon discount and buying this book is a no-brainer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by a Master, October 18, 2010
By 
This review is from: Thai Street Food (Hardcover)
I have been a fan of David's work for a very long time (over 15 years) and I have always found his written work to be the equal of his undoubted culinary skills.

He is witty and charming in real life and absolutely passionate about most, if not all, aspects of Thai culture and he is able to convey this passion and wit in his written work as well which is no mean feat.

There are some recipes in this book which are easy to do and are a great way for someone new to preparing this type of food at home, for the first time. As well as the easier recipes there are some more complex ones which are very satisfying to make and produce absolutely delicious food.

Generally these recipes are easier and more accessible than the ones contained in his seminal work "Thai Food" which is I think is only to be expected.

I can highly recommend this book to most cooks except perhaps for the very beginners but even then I think there is something that can be gained by reading this book. There is always something new to learn!

Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, very irritating organization, December 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thai Street Food (Hardcover)
I lived in Thailand for five years and studied Thai cooking while I was there so I can see that these recipes are good and accurate. However, good luck finding them! There is no index and things are only organized by the time of day they're eaten. If you're not already familiar with these dishes, and even if you are familiar with these dishes, you will find it irritating trying to find what you want. Makes a good coffee table book/conversation piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the best!, August 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thai Street Food (Hardcover)
This book shows you the most complete Thai street food available with a good indication of all ingredients per dish needed and the step by step instructions on how to make it. It also shows many elaborate pictures of all various places where street food comes from and the scenes how they are consumed. Most impressive, are the stories that make Thai street food the complete bible on this subject is the descriptions of where dishes come from on the history behind it. In the back of the book are the thumbnails of the pictures and the description where they are made, this might give you inspiration which markets to go when in Thailand.

Pictures are of fantastic quality and so are the recipes. The other book by David Thompson (known to me as being the English speaking guru on Thai food and a capable man who know to prepare Thai food better than many Thai themselves) is a complete bible on almost all recipes from Thailand, however being more technical and being more a recipe book. This is besides a very good recipe book also a fantastic coffee table book to show off. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Authentic but fussy recipes. Best for experienced cooks., June 17, 2012
By 
This review is from: Thai Street Food (Hardcover)
The dishes I've cooked from this book and David Thompson's previous book Thai Cooking have been delicious. Without a doubt this guy is expert when it comes to Thai food.

The recipes tend to be incredibly fussy though with crazy detailed ingredient lists and long, rambling cooking instructions. Homemade curry paste is indeed a sublime thing. But can you really taste the pinch of nutmeg in his green curry with copious amounts of birds eye chilis, garlic, shallot, galangal and the dozen or so other spices already in the mix? Or the cassia bark or the single cardamom pod in the braising liquid? Professional kitchens have well stocked spice cabinets and and plenty of extra hands for prep so I imagine this level of detail is no big deal for Thompson to pull off in his restaurant. But something tells me that street vendors in Thailand work with what they have available to them. An inexperienced home cook unfamiliar with Thai flavors could pull their hair out chasing down every little ingredient in these recipes and spend hours slavishly following each step (not to mention a lot of money in the process). Which is why I recommend this books for people with some experience cooking SE Asian food. If you've made a curry paste before you know not to sweat the small stuff and you know how to cut through complicated instructions and achieve a perfectly delicious result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compendium of Thai Street Food Culture - A Must Have, October 25, 2010
This review is from: Thai Street Food (Hardcover)
I have be waiting for David's book to come out and now its here, a mammoth masterpiece of exploration thru the streets of Thailand. Two decades and more than 20 trips to Thailand later I have feasted on the creations of the charming Thai people that fulfill your every culinary craving and he depicts the people, places and food with charming accuracy. The massive size and countless full page spread photos is enough of a reason to add this piece of work to your collection. It has several features I especially like, such as the photo index where thumbnails of all the photos are organized and captioned, giving you more insight into these stories behind the photos. I spent a week in Bangkok with David testing the recipes for the book and its a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What ever happened to protective packaging?, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thai Street Food (Hardcover)
This is a pretty large book - coffee-table sized really. So twice now it's been sent to me loose in boxes with little/no protection around it. Needless to say, the book was all scuffed up and both times one corner was crushed where it had obviously bounced around inside and smashed into the corner. Both went back - both got appropriate packaging feedback, but I wanted to put something here so that people realize that if you want this as a gift or expect to get a book in perfect condition, you may want to consider picking it up elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most authentic and true Thai recipes, December 15, 2013
This review is from: Thai Street Food (Hardcover)
This book is a treasure. The recipes are authentic and that is what is unique about this book. Other Thai recipe books are catered to the western palate and ingredients market. This book stayed true to Thai palate and original ingredients. I agree few of the ingredients are difficult to find but not impossible. Most of these ingredients are available online from some distributers. If there are no Thai specialty store in the area, some of the ingredients are available in other ethnic grocery stores, too. For example, the lime paste that are used in a few desserts and snacks, are very easily found in any Pakistani, Indian, Bangladeshi grocery stores where they sell condiments that are eaten with betel leaves. They are usually kept on the shelves right beside betel-nuts. Also Banana leaves are readily available in any Sri-Lankan and South Indian grocery stores. Jasmine flower water and Rose water are available in these stores too. Galangal, Kafir lime leaves, Pandan leaves and Lemongrass are available fresh and frozen in any Chinese and Pilipino grocery stores. I bought the griddle to make Khanom Krok, from a Chinese store. I am a foodie and I live in Toronto, Canada. I fell head over hills in love with Thai food when I lived in Bangkok for 3.5 years when I was growing up. Now I often cook Thai food and I was for a long time looking for 100% authentic recipes for Thai street food. So far, this is the only book where I found recipe for the Thai wafers (Khanom Beuang). I have so far made Thai Cup cake (Khanom Krok), Boild Sticky Rice with Banana (Kao Dtom Jim) and Fried rice with crab (Kao Pat Bpuu). Next recipe to try are the wafers and Stir-fried squid with flowering garlic chives. I "converted" to the recipes in this book to cook the Hot and Sour Soup (Tom Yam Gung) and Green curry. I have been cooking those for years but adjusting to the proportions according to this book, gave it a flavour boost and authentic taste! This book and "Thai food" by the same author, are the most authentic Thai recipes, I have come by. "Authentic" is the key ingredient of this book and that is what made it unique! Thank you Mr. Thompson, for explaining the processes so elaborately. Absolutely worship this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thai Street Food
Thai Street Food by David Thompson (Hardcover - September 21, 2010)
$60.00 $37.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.