Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Realistic Feel for Indie Fantasy, It is Not Horror
Meet the "Huldra" - a mythological forest creature (humanoid) from Scandinavian Lore. The setting is beautiful at times, but primarily focused upon a woodland cabin (underground warren) and surrounding terrain. However, this low budget Indie approach works, as we experience the daily grind of two men who clean houses, including those with crime scenes or dead occupants...
Published 15 months ago by Worldwalker1967

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NORWEGIAN TAIL
Leo (Jon Sigve Skard) sometimes called Ray, operates a cleaning service for crime/death scenes. He is aided by Elvis (Erlend Nervold) who has a sensitive stomach. While on a clean up, they discover a hidden basement and a girl mysteriously alive. She is naked and does not speak.

From a flashback from a drone narration we know she was found and cared for by the...
Published 12 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Realistic Feel for Indie Fantasy, It is Not Horror, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Meet the "Huldra" - a mythological forest creature (humanoid) from Scandinavian Lore. The setting is beautiful at times, but primarily focused upon a woodland cabin (underground warren) and surrounding terrain. However, this low budget Indie approach works, as we experience the daily grind of two men who clean houses, including those with crime scenes or dead occupants. These characters are nicely developed as the story unfolds, and you end up caring about them. They are dealing with the burdens of life - as we all are. Their mundane cleaning assignment takes an "Alice" turn when they decide to fall down the metaphorical rabbit hole only to meet a seemingly "habituated" Huldra. The performances are good all around, with the actors carrying the water without much dialogue - they must rely upon emotion, interaction, flashbacks, physical, etc. The pace and plot are just fine, albeit slower than the big budget stuff - same feel as Troll Hunter. The CGI was well done for the price, and I deemed the rental cost worth it for the intro to the Huldra mythology. On my Indie scale, it's a 4 star, but temper your expectations to that production style. Finally, this doesn't meet my threshold for the "horror" category. It's barely Dark Fantasy. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Indy Horror/Drama, March 19, 2013
This is premium quality, foreign, indy film. The characters are well developed, the flash backs are done creatively and cleanly and no one tried to overstep their bounds with effects. I felt genuine emotion during the dramatic sequences and wished it had been longer. I can imagine some people will find fault with specific parts of the movie after having rented/ purchased it but in my opinion this movie delivers what it promises. I wish that the writers had made the time span we get to spend with the three main characters longer and that there had been a few more action sequences. I think it's worth every penny of a rental fee and I would consider purchasing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ILHM Reviews: Thale, April 10, 2013
This review is from: Thale BD/combo [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A pair of unsuspecting cleaners stumble upon a mysterious girl that has been locked away beneath a remote cabin in the woods during one of their jobs. After searching the cabin, they quickly come to find that the lovely Thale may belong to a mythical race of woodland creatures, and that there are evil forces at work outside the cabin that hope to capture and exploit her for their own gain. Aleksander Nordaas brings the Scandinavian legend of the Huldra to life in the Fantasy Horror film, THALE. THALE is given a sense of whimsical wonder through Silje Reinĺmo's inquisitive performance as the titular creature. Reinĺmo acts as though she is experiencing the world for the first time, and lashes out with an animal-like ferocity when cornered. Erlend Nervold and Jon Sigve Skard are left to navigate us through the story as Elvis and Leo, whose personal defects give them an unbridled sense of humanity as we are drawn deeper in to their characters. The story, itself, seems quite strange at first for a Fantasy Horror piece of its kind, but Nordaas adapts many modern themes in order to blend myth with reality. THALE continues the trend of fanciful Scandinavian creature features as we have seen recently in RARE EXPORTS and TROLL HUNTER, bringing a dark new twist to ancient lore.

-Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, August 10, 2013
By 
Brian Hart "reanimated" (approaching your city, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thale BD/combo [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I find myself buying more films from Sweden, Norway, Russia, and other European countries because the stories are superior, uniquely told, and more thought provoking than most of the crap coming out of LaLa-land. Hate to say it but American films (except for most independents and small studio fare) could be made by thoughtless automatons. Perhaps this is because American movie makers only care about the holy dollar, not the story. Too much money is spent on special effects or terrible overpriced actors (?) and advertising. I believe that LaLa-land can't make movies without nudity, foul language, anti-Americanism (I don't understand this position at all), thinly disguised racism, anti-God or anti-Christian, anti-family, etc messaging. The few good films that get made earn Billions worldwide so I just don't get it.

Generally, foreign films are low budgeted endeavors concentrating more on story. No matter the genre, the story is what matters. In the case of "Thale", a film based on the "hulder" of Norwegian folklore, we have one of these beings, female, discovered by "cleanup men" (sort of a forensics team) as they process a death. She's been locked away by members of a government research group for years, unable to speak, and not understanding her situation.

This movie cost about $10000 to make and not a penny is wasted. Acting is very good and so are the special effects. Thale is a great morality play and well worth watching. The film is in Norwegian or dubbed English. Subtitles are provided as are additional highlights.

The hulder are described in Wikipedia for those who are interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NORWEGIAN TAIL, July 12, 2013
This review is from: Thale (DVD)
Leo (Jon Sigve Skard) sometimes called Ray, operates a cleaning service for crime/death scenes. He is aided by Elvis (Erlend Nervold) who has a sensitive stomach. While on a clean up, they discover a hidden basement and a girl mysteriously alive. She is naked and does not speak.

From a flashback from a drone narration we know she was found and cared for by the dead Norwegian who lived there.

The film is an interesting concept. The characters started out interesting, but then became more boring as the film went along. Too much of the film is spent in the basement trying to unravel a mystery. The film has blood and some killing, but I would consider it more akin to sci-fi fantasy than horror.

This film is not for everyone.

Parental Guide: Nudity. No sex or f-bombs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thale a modern fairy tale., May 17, 2013
By 
Richard Ranta "rranta" (Grand Rapids, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thale BD/combo [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Hollywood should take lessons from this film. A simple tale became an excellent film. Huldra's supposingly live in the forest, but this one is special. You won't understand the nature of this gift till the end. It is a remarkable story that is told in the simplest terms. no pretense here. This sits right next to "Let the right one In". I bought this as a pay-for-view and then bought the Blue Ray. It is a great film. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Odd Norwegian Tale/Tail, July 3, 2014
This is one freaky weird movie. It is a Norwegian fable or tale about an "animal" which is humanlike with the exception of a tail. These critters release a specific scent or smell which can be tracked and are unique to each entity.

Two crime scene cleaners stumble upon a young "lady" called Thale. Through a series of flashbacks we discover how things are as opposed to how things seem to be. At a point near the end of the movie, our "heroes" are tied up, hooded and told they are about to drink poison unless they divulge the whereabouts of Thale. I won't give the story away any further other than to say it might take a second viewing to truly appreciate and understand the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Quirky yet Satisfying Film, June 4, 2014
By 
Bureau (Stillwater, MN United States) - See all my reviews
Thale is the story of two crime scene cleaners who, while dredging through the home of a recently deceased recluse, find a naked woman (Thale) in a tub of (what at least appeared to be) milk. Without spoiling too much, Thale was a breath of fresh air in that it avoids many of the common horror tropes and cliches. It doesn't inundate the audience with the sort of heavy-handed lore that comes standard with most creature/sci fi/fantasy films these days (indeed, what Thale IS is only openly referred to once.) It doesn't try to cram itself into the lost footage format that's getting amazingly stale these days. The main characters don't split up or do anything amazingly stupid to put themselves in danger; they're just a fairly average pair that have accidentally fallen upon something that is amazingly strange.

The film is minimalist; it elements are carefully pared down to what is necessary to carry the story, leaving your imagination to fill in many of the gaps. This, to me, conveys a sense of trust and faith in the audience, and given the ham-fisted approach many movies take these days, I'm definitely appreciative.

Was the film perfect? No. Some of the elements that the film introduced didn't seem to make a lot of sense, and without ruining too much, the antagonist's backstory/motivation was a major example of this. Unlike ET, where I felt like the government was acting out of some misappropriated sense of protection or scientific inquiry, or Serenity, where the unnamed agent was acting towards his twisted sense of the 'greater good,' the antagonist in Thale just seemed like an evil government suit crammed into the story with little to no reason for his motivation beyond "the huldra are evil and such" (something we never really see in the film.)

That said, this is really nitpicking as Thale was an absolutely wonderful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent--proof low budget suspense can work, May 25, 2014
This successful film works on every level--Proof that filmmakers don't need blockbuster budgets to create believable and suspenseful sci-fi/fantasy films. Even the subtitles didn't detract from the story given the minimal dialogue (and I generally hate subtitles). The pacing was perfect, the dialogue very natural, and the story intriguing (as well as easy to buy into even without knowing the folklore behind the mystery). It was easy to feel for every character as a fully realized personality (and very quickly) without the need of exposition--or even much of a backstory. The mystery and suspense are maintained throughout the film without leaving the viewer feeling left out or confused (as many modern films of this type seem to do) and while there is some violence, it is not overtly graphic. I highly recommend this movie--it harks back to the best of traditional story telling in film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT movie!, May 24, 2014
By 
MDianeM (Ft. Lauderdale, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This is my favorite kind of movie...Two men come across a strange, hidden laboratory while in the course of their job. Soon they discover a woman in a tub of water. She is alive. There is something strange in an old refrigerator and then they begin to hear strange noises coming from the forest surrounding their location.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thale
Thale by Aleksander Nordaas (DVD - 2013)
$20.99 $10.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.