Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative and soulful offering
This compilation of some of Windam Hill's most talented artists is lovely and, at times, bittersweet. Bygone Days by Ivers is reminiscent of some of the lovelier music from Titanic. The Saviour's Universal Prayer by Coulter & Phillips is truly meditative and touching, reminiscent of Barber's Adagio for Strings, and just as likely to bring forth a tear or two. These...
Published on December 14, 1999 by Leigh Deacon

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inferior version of a great collection
Look for the original issue of this collection instead! this one has different artwork and drops two tracks - Allelujah by Lisa Lynne, and Amazing Grace by John Doan - that appeared on the original. Another sad example of how the post-Will Ackerman Windham Hill label has gone downhill.
Published on October 19, 2006 by D. Maryon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative and soulful offering, December 14, 1999
By 
Leigh Deacon (Andover, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thanksgiving: A Windham Hill Collection (Audio CD)
This compilation of some of Windam Hill's most talented artists is lovely and, at times, bittersweet. Bygone Days by Ivers is reminiscent of some of the lovelier music from Titanic. The Saviour's Universal Prayer by Coulter & Phillips is truly meditative and touching, reminiscent of Barber's Adagio for Strings, and just as likely to bring forth a tear or two. These pieces will often transcend the contemporary and bring you to a place remembered of family, gathering, simplicity, and safety. Buyers should be aware, though, that Winston's beautiful Thanksgiving is an abbreviated version of the full-length track found on his recording December.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Serene and Moving Music for Anytime!, April 4, 2000
This review is from: Thanksgiving: A Windham Hill Collection (Audio CD)
Thanksgiving is a wonderful blend of different Windham Hill artists, which of course display a wide variety of instruments....piano, violin, flute, cello, oboe, fiddle, and a variety of stringed instruments. This certainly would be an asset to a Thanksgiving Day celebration, but I also enjoy it throughout the entire year. It's beautiful, meditative and serene. I especially like the very moving, sentimental Eileen Ivers, "Bygone Days," the beautiful rendition of John Doan's "Amazing Grace," and what a treat to end the cd with Will Ackerman's "The Gathering," and George Winston's "Thanksgiving." What more can be said! This collection opens the gamut of a wide variety of emotions, which is what I expect when listening to music.....an emotionally provoking experience. (Sometimes, that doesn't happen with certain artists) I highly recommend this cd and think it would make a wonderful gift for any music lover.....yourself, a relative or a friend. Even if you only enjoyed half of the songs in this collection, I still think it would be worth the purchase, but I'll go as far to say that I don't believe that would happen. I think you'd truly enjoy the entire bit. It's a nice break from the hustle and bustle of life. Picture yourself....a cup of steaming hot tea or coffee, kicked back in your most favorite chair, and listening to "Thanksgiving....." I hear it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent holiday album., November 9, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Thanksgiving: A Windham Hill Collection (Audio CD)
This recent compilation by Windham Hill's artists is filled with the joy of thanksgiving, not only for the holiday, but for all year round. It is spiritual without being pushy about it, and its production values remain some of the highest in the industry. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sentimental Reflection, November 5, 2005
By 
Captain Nojaa "Nojaa" (Melbourne, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thanksgiving: A Windham Hill Collection (Audio CD)
Thanksgiving is a time to reflect on friends, family, and blessings. At this time of year, we celebrate our families, we think of those who are less fortunate, and we reflect on the solemnity of the season and what it means to be truly thankful.

"Thanksgiving" is a compilation of that reflection in music. It celebrates the gathering together of those whom we hold dear, the solemnity and courage of the human psyche, the spirituality of the human soul, and the season when everything must change.

The CD progresses through a series of reflections, from "We Gather Together," a traditional hymn that emphasizes the gathering of friends and family, to George Winston's "Thanksgiving," moving through all the emotions of the Thanksgiving season with feelings of humility, prayer, blessedness and thankfulness.

A mood piece throughout, "Thanksgiving" will help you take your own personal journey of introspection, inspiration, peace and spirituality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alone in the kitchen basting the turkey..., November 22, 2001
This review is from: Thanksgiving: A Windham Hill Collection (Audio CD)
I have many Windham Hill albums, but this one is an all time favorite. Songs are relaxing and reflective, and I start playing it when the leaves turn colors and evenings become cool. I remember holiday seasons past, and look forward to Thanksgiving and Christmas whenever I hear these beautiful melodies. I actually heard this album for the first time during a massage session, so that gives you a hint as to how soothing this music is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This music provides you with a sense of peace and well-being, November 3, 1999
By 
"ggery" (Tolland, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thanksgiving: A Windham Hill Collection (Audio CD)
It's lovely... soft and reflective of the moods and thoughts we should be having at Thanksgiving... but I listen to it throughout the year. A great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT ITS ALL ABOUT, April 12, 2004
By 
Crabby Apple Mick Lee (INDIANAPOLIS, IN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thanksgiving: A Windham Hill Collection (Audio CD)
For most of us, Thanksgiving confronts us with a variety of emotions. Gratefulness should be the primary one; unfortunately getting stressed out and bent out of shape can overtake all the best intentions. Everything from complicated and hurried preparations to being cooped up with unpleasant relatives can ruin the occasion. Some of us endure Thanksgiving alone or practically alone in that those dearest are far away. For a holiday that can mean so much, a lot can go wrong.
In its own small way, this CD reminds us what its all about. The selections generally are soft and soothing as well as gently uplifting. There is nary a vocal to be heard-a plus when you need to get away from all the chatter. The artists are from Windham Hill's diverse stable and no one dominates the proceedings.
No attempt is made to hide the reality of Thanksgiving being primarily of Christian origin as sometimes happens in these affairs. But at the same time no one would mistake this CD for a contemporary Christian recording. The viewpoint encompasses not only giving thanks but memory and returning home as well. Hence, many of the pieces are colored with a hint of sadness.
If you are looking for music to "cut the rug" with this is not it. But if you are looking for music which prompts reflection and joy, this one is the one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inferior version of a great collection, October 19, 2006
Look for the original issue of this collection instead! this one has different artwork and drops two tracks - Allelujah by Lisa Lynne, and Amazing Grace by John Doan - that appeared on the original. Another sad example of how the post-Will Ackerman Windham Hill label has gone downhill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Windham Hill compilations-listen to this Year-Round and experience the Joy of Thankfulness..., February 17, 2006
This review is from: Thanksgiving: A Windham Hill Collection (Audio CD)
Simply one of the best & most original of the Windham Hill compilations, and I'm very glad Windham Hill thought to release this one. Just as close to perfect as they come, and the only way it could have been any better was to have had a contribution by the always original arrangements & compositions of Barbara Higbee, (or Fred Simon) but perhaps they were not available at the time. Of course, in a compilation like this, you need to have "We Gather Together Together..." but it is particularly touching to hear veteran Paul McCandless' arrangement to open the disc and set a thankful & comforting tone. Tim Story's consistently original & moving here as always, and the true highlight for me is "Amazing Grace" by John Doan. It is "amazing" indeed to hear someone do an original take on this classic hymn which has been recorded by so many, many fine artists over but the many decades of music-recording history. Leave it to Doan and to Dawn Atkinson's masterful production experience & background to pull this off so well. Will Ackerman's "The Gathering" is a typically original piece, very listenable year-round, and Carlos Nakai is a welcome addition with a peaceful cedar flute offering. Finally, (and really, there are so many gems here...) Lisa Lynne adds a sort of Majestic Joyfulness to "Allelujah", which certainly blows the dust off of this great hymn tune, bringing new life to such an often heard melody. Like the very best of the "Solstice" collections, this is a perfectly appropriate collection to hear year round. For example, I have listened to it on Independence Day, and found it strangely perfect for refection on our American roots that gave birth to many of these hymns, and to the spirit of creativity that our Founding Parents passed on to us in America. Simply perfect, Windham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thanksgiving Windham Hill, December 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thanksgiving: A Windham Hill Collection (Audio CD)
A mixture of some great stuff and not so great material. The disc looked to be in immaculate condition however it came to a point where it skips and the music breaks down Tried on several CD players with the same result.
To much hassle to return it and no fault of the seller as the CD looked perfect. Fast ship, good seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thanksgiving: A Windham Hill Collection
Thanksgiving: A Windham Hill Collection by Thanksgiving-A Windham Hill (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.