Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much to see!
A great book to read with children who are anticipating the Thanksgiving holiday! I will use it with children before and after that big food/family day. All the fixings are here! The family arriving, the action, the food, the children's antics, the cleaning up in the kitchen and everyone's departure. So many details for children to spot as they look at the wonderful...
Published on October 14, 2003 by bea cromwell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for young children
I bought this book for my almost 5 year old daughter. It was too simple for her. It is a good book for younger children.
Published 15 months ago by Karen V


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much to see!, October 14, 2003
By 
bea cromwell (Philadelphia,PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thanksgiving Is Here! (Hardcover)
A great book to read with children who are anticipating the Thanksgiving holiday! I will use it with children before and after that big food/family day. All the fixings are here! The family arriving, the action, the food, the children's antics, the cleaning up in the kitchen and everyone's departure. So many details for children to spot as they look at the wonderful illustrations of this action packed day.
Feel the anticipation of this great family holiday and that good feeling once the day of friends and family have come and gone.
A great way to discuss how you celebrate this day with your children, friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is Thanksgiving this much fun at your house each year?, November 24, 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (COMMUNITY FORUM 04)   
This review is from: Thanksgiving Is Here! (Hardcover)
Diane Goode went to a lot of large family gatherings when she was growing up, which is why when she asked herself "What happens at Thanksgiving?" the answer was "Why, everything!" This idea is important because you want to pay attention to the details in these pen-and-ink drawings with a watercolor wash that tell the story of what happens when twenty-eight friends and relatives arrive on Thanksgiving Day. It begins with Grandma and Grandpa rising early on Thanksgiving morning to get the turkey in the oven before the guests arrive to help, talk, and eat (not necessarily in that order). The story is told by young Maggie, who arrives with her family first, when it is time to peel the potatoes and roll out the dough. But then more people arrive, from Maggie's glamorous aunt and the uncle with a hairpiece that cannot stay in one place to the acrobatic cousin and the friendly dog that follow Maggie around. Intended for young readers age 3-8, being able to read the simple text of "Thanksgiving Is Here!" is only part of the fun. The main part comes from looking at the pictures and discovering what is in the surprise package, who might be interested in becoming more than friends, and several other things that can be learned only by carefully studying each and every illustration. "Thanksgiving Is Here!" is either a perfect reward for young readers who have helped prepare the food or set the table, or as a fun way of keeping them occupied while the adults have all the Turkey Day fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joyful celebration!, November 24, 2003
This review is from: Thanksgiving Is Here! (Hardcover)
The busy, whimsical illustrations tell much of the story in this book that kids will enjoy poring over. Grandma and Grandpa are up early to wrestle the turkey into the oven. Aunts, uncles and cousins start arriving, with assorted babies, pets, paraphernalia and packages.
The simple acts of peeling potatoes, setting the table, hunting for extra chairs, yakking, horseplay -- and several visual subplots --are joyfully depicted in this celebration of family gatherings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art is great fun, September 3, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Thanksgiving Is Here! (Hardcover)
The pictures of everything that happens at Grandma's house on Thanksgiving Day make me think of my family's house at Thanksgiving. There's all the moving of chairs and finding seats and eating and sitting around waiting for the pumpkin pie, with a bunch of familiar-seeming relatives. And I love the cute little dog. This has the real spirit of Thanksgiving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanksgiving is here, September 29, 2003
By 
Ecapuozzo (Escondido, ca USA) - See all my reviews
I bought Thanksgiving is here for my grandchildren.It is a wonderfull reminder of when all family came together at holiday time no matter what hohiday it was. the book was done with all the fealing of the holiday with all the food and trapings of the day.It is great that children of today see how important family and family time is.They become such wonderfull times to remember as we grow older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My girls love it!, September 3, 2003
This review is from: Thanksgiving Is Here! (Hardcover)
My five year old and 2.5 year old love this book. They enjoy watching the events unfold in the illustrations. It also inspires them to talk about our Thanksgiving. Our most cherished holiday. Like all of Goode's books, the illustrations show different types of people that the typical fare. It fits wonderfully with our collection of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My kids will love this, September 8, 2003
By 
Victor Jay (Kew Gardens, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thanksgiving Is Here! (Hardcover)
Although I am waiting until thanksgiving to give the kids this book, I had a ball reading it myself. I was reminded of the times I had as a kid at thanksgiving. I can't wait to show my own children the pictures and point to the people I remember at holidays at my grandmother's house. What a great gift for the kids or grandkids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute gem, November 11, 2013
This review is from: Thanksgiving Is Here! (Paperback)
I just pulled this book out of my sons' bookshelf to read with them again, as I do every fall. It's a gem of a book, celebrating a holiday that never seems to get a lot of attention (though it should). I love how this book is so simple in its story -- a large extended family gathers at Grandma and Grandpa's to have Thanksgiving dinner. There's nothing flashy, nothing gimmicky, just a celebration of family and togetherness and gathering around a table. The illustrations have so much character and charm, and a fair amount of humor, too. This is a book that holds kids' attention and it's a great way to help them look forward to their own Thanksgiving family celebrations. It's a very, very special book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, January 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thanksgiving Is Here! (Hardcover)
Illustrations are adorable and colorful. There's a whole lot to see, and the illustrator is very detailed in her drawings. The book will take about ten minutes to read, there isn't that many words. It is one lined sentences. The book is hardcover book jacket. Cover looks just like the picture shown. The book is big lengthwise. The pages are made of glossy quality paper. It is thread bound.

I bought it directly from Amazon. It arrived within a week with Free Super Saving Shipping. It arrived new and nothing was damaged during shipping. I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Children will love the riot of activity in the lively illustrations., November 9, 2012
By 
Laura Irrgang (Lone Oak, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thanksgiving Is Here! (Paperback)
Grandma and Grandpa welcome the family to their home on Thanksgiving Day. The house quickly fills with family, extended family, friends, and pets. The busy illustrations are the real star of this book, rendered in pen and ink with watercolor. They depict a riot of activity and a large cast of characters. Children will love following all the visual happenings in the images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thanksgiving Is Here!
Thanksgiving Is Here! by Diane Goode (Paperback - August 16, 2005)
$6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.