Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: That '70s Show: Season 2 [Blu-ray]
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc CaseLangVeirs Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars109
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 4, 2005
The second season is amazing! I'd say about equal to the first and this set picks up the slack the first season left behind. Tons of bonus features and 26 amazing episodes from 1999-2000.

The episodes on this set are, again, spread out onto 4 DVDs and the layout of the cover art and thinpak cases are the same to those of the first season. The set includes all episodes from the season and are as follows:

Disc 1:
2.01: Garage Sale
2.02: Red's Last Day
2.03: The Velvet Rope
2.04: Laurie and the Professor
2.05: Halloween
2.06: Vanstock
2.07: I Love Cake

Disc 2:
2.08: Sleepover
2.09: Eric Gets Suspended
2.10: Red's Birthday
2.11: Laurie Moves Out
2.12: Eric's Stash
2.13: Hunting
2.14: Red Gets A Job

Disc 3:
2.15: Burning Down The House
2.16: The First Time
2.17: Afterglow
2.18: Kitty and Eric's Night Out
2.19: Parents Find Out
2.20: Kiss Of Death
2.21: Kelso's Serenade

Disc 4:
2.22: Jackie Moves On
2.23: Holy Crap!
2.24: Red Fired Up
2.25: Cat Fight Club
2.26: Moon Over Point Place (Part 1)

AND THE BONUS FEATURES ARE!!! (FAN FARE):
+ Audio Commentaries
+ Episode promos for EVERY episode
+ Behind the Scenes: "Kelso's Serenade" Featurette (Disc 3)
+ Behind the Scenes: "Jackie Moves On" Featurette (Disc 4)
+ Behind the Scenes: "Holy Crap!" Featurette (Disc 4)
+ Behind the Scenes: "Red Fired Up" Featurette (Disc 4)
+ Behind the Scenes: "Cat Fight Club" Featurette (Disc 4)
+ Behind the Scenes: "Moon Over Point Place (Part 1)" Featurette (Disc 4)
+ Checkpoint Music Video (Disc 4)
+ That '70s Show Season 2 Overview (Disc 4)

Thank God the fine people at 20th Century Fox are smart enough to start releasing the DVDs of That '70s Show close together and just releasing them at all. I can't wait for future season releases and more of THAT '70S SHOW!

REMEMBER TO KEEP YOUR EYES OPEN FOR SEASON THREE COMING THIS NOVEMBER!!!
11 comment|102 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2005
If you liked the 1st season, then you are sure to like the 2nd.

This release of That 70s show on DVD contains all of the episodes of the second season. All 26 episodes are contained on 4 disks.

Episodes:

-----------

1) Garage Sale - At the Forman's garage sale, Hyde makes his special brownies.

2) Red's Last Day - It is Red's last day at the plant, so he goes to the bar and gets hammered. Kitty sends the boys after him but they wind up joining him.

3) The Velvet Rope - Donna, Hyde and Fes go dancing but Eric can't get in.

4) Laurie and the Professor - Eric sees Laurie making out with her professor and believes he has something on her.

5) Halloween - The gang goes back to their old grammar school.

6) Vanstock - Eric, Donna, Hyde, Kelso, and Fez are all going to Vanstock, Wisconsin's version of Woodstock.

7) I Love Cake - When Donna says "I Love You" to Eric, he freaks and tells her "I Love Cake".

8) Donna and Eric Sleepover - Donna spends the night with Eric and all they do is cuddle.

9) Eric Gets Suspended - Eric is suspended from school when he is caught with a cigarette.

10) Red's Birthday - Red celebrates a birthday.

11) Laurie Moves Out - Laurie movies out and moves in with a boy friend and Red finds out.

12) Eric's Stash - Eric accuses Hyde of taking his money for his secret hiding place, which everyone seems to know about.

13) Hunting - Red and Bob take the boys hunting.

14) Red's New Job - Red gets a supervisor job at Price Mart and Eric also get a job at Price Mart.

15) Burning Down the House - At Jackie's party, Kelso invites a lot of people and also start a fire.

16) The First Time - Bob and Midge renew their wedding vows and Donna is so moved that her and Eric take their relationship to the next level.

17) Afterglow - Donna indicates to Jackie that Eric is not good in bed and of course the secret is revealed to the gang.

18) Kitty and Eric's Night Out - Eric goes to the movies with his mom and is a little self-conscious.

19) Parents Find Out. The police catch Eric and Donna in the Vista Cruiser. Donna has to tell her parents.

20) Kiss of Death - Eric runs over Donna's cat and Jackie catches Kelos making out with Laurie.

21) Kelso's Serenade - Kelos writes Jackie a song.

22) Jackie Moves On - Fez takes Jackie to a restaurant and all she does is talk about Kelos. Eric tells the gang that Laurie was born with a tail.

23) Holy Crap! - Since Eric and Laurie won't go to church, Kitty brings the pastor home and Laurie makes a move on him.

24) Red Fired Up - Red and Eric get along at work and Kelos starts dating Laurie.

25) Cat Fight Club - Hyde teaches Jackie how to be cool and Red finds out about Kelos and Laurie.

26) Moon Over Point Place (Part 1) - Donna picture show up in the year book where she is mooning, Eric get mad and Hyde takes the rap for a bag of pot that belongs to Jackie.
0Comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2005
The second year of That '70s Show took an already great show and completely amped it up (even the theme song got a small change). Knowing what worked and what didn't work from a very solid first season, the writers and actors were able to deliver a sophomore year that was superior to Season 1.
The year starts off with a true gem; in "The Garage Sale", Hyde (Danny Masterson) bakes "special brownies" to help out at the Formans' (Topher Grace, Kurtwood Smith, Debra Jo Rupp, and Lisa Robin Kelly) garage sale to raise money, now that father Red is out of a job. Despite Eric's pleas to not do it, he unknowingly gets Eric's Vista Cruiser sold when Red, Kitty, Bob (Don Stark) and Midge (Tanya Wright) sample some of the drug-laced chocolate. What follows is one of the shows most hilarious "circle scenes" with the parents talking nonsense while under the influence of the brownies. And that is just the beginning of the season...
This year, a few story arcs develop. Donna (Laura Prepon) is put through a painful ordeal when her parents' marriage begins to crumble, Kelso (Ashton Kutcher) and Jackie (Mila Kunis) face trying times for their relationship when Kelso begins sleeping with Laurie Forman, Hyde gets a job at the Photo Hut, and we meet Leo (Tommy Chong), a burnt out guy who is the source of so many funny lines. Eric and Donna take some big steps in their relationship, while Red continues his search for a job. Finally, Fez (Wilmer Valderama) continues his search for a girlfriend, and hopes that Jackie will be the one for him.
One of my favorite things about this show is the cutaway bits. Some of the funniest moments this year involved either dream sequences of cutaways to bizarre 70's references, such as when Fez wished that they could be cartoon teenagers, just like in Scooby-Doo. Next thing you know, the rest of the scene is animated! Or after Eric went to see Annie Hall with his mom, he sees himself as Woody Allen and Donna as Diane Keaton.
Season 2 had so many great episodes, I still find it hard to believe that the show's been on for 7 years. One might think that due to all the greatness this show has displayed in the first 2 years, it would have run out of ideas long ago, but it is still going strong. Anyway, some highlights of the year include "The Garage Sale", "Vanstock" "The First Time", "Afterglow", "Eric and Kitty's Night Out", "Halloween", "Hunting", "I Love Cake", "Parents Find Out", "Moon Over Point Place", and "Burning Down the House".
The special features are much improved over season 1 (although, most television shows on DVD aren't too strong in the specials department on the first season releases). We have a few commentaries, some making of features, and a few featurettes. Also, the episodes seem to be in sequential order throughout the set this time (it seemed as if some of the episodes were in the wrong places on the Season 1 release). This is a strong set, and I highly reccomend it.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2012
I have to admit that it was hard for me to believe that "That 70's Show" was actually filmed in 16x9 widescreen, but it was.
For the new Blu-ray release, Carsey Werner went back to the original camera films to create these new transfers, not the old analog standard defention 3x4 videotapes that the old DVDs were mastered from.

Not only does this mean a wider picture, but it means a sharper picture with even more detail and vibrant colors! The films were not scrubbed of grain, so it still looks natural like very fine-grained film.

The composition of the widescreen image presents some interesting visuals. Since the producers knew that the FOX Network was going to CROP the image for a square screen broadcast, some shots such as those around the kitchen table or riding in the car are clustered together in the center with dead space on the sides. Other group shots will add cast members to the sides of the shot who were not originally seen in the FOX broadcast & DVDs. So purists may argue that the show was composed for the square picture, but I tend to like the widescreen as originally filmed.

I can't wait for the later seasons to get re-mastered from the original widescreen films.

Now if only Joss Whedon will re-release Buffy The Vampire Slayer in the widescreen like it was filmed (the U.K. DVDs were in widescreen 16x9).
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2005
That 70's Show, is one of the best shows ever!!! These episodes are so hilarious. The show is also about more than comedy. People don't realize that there are a lot of serious aspects to the series. The show has lots of depth and character development. The cast is phenominal in their roles and the characters are all funny as shiznit. This season is way better than the first because it is very developed and advanced. The show really just keeps getting better season after season with season 5 being the best. 6 and 7 are awesome too but the writers struggle with consistancy nowadayz. Hyde is the best; his lines are alwayz hillarious. Foriegn Exgange (Z)Student FEZ is also great at punchlines. Kelso is great too but gets funnier as the show progresses. And of course there is Forman who never cieses to be hillarious. Red is also a favorite, this guy has some unbelievably funny lines.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2005
This season was my favorite. Fez trick-or-treats for the first time, Hyde gets a job at Fotohut, and Kelso cheats on Jackie for Erics sister and Jackie dosent know it! This was a very funny season! Cant wait till the other seasons come out on DVD!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2005
its now here, the second season of the grooviest show on t.v. in the grooviest decade ever. this season we join eric and the rest deal with more issues while living in the seventys. we see episdoes like there first hunting trip, kelso cheating on jackie with lorie, the infaoumus vanstock, reds new job, and many many more. once again that 70s show dazzles with its laid back ora and nostilagic tone. it also has some classic moments like when red sells the vista crusier and hyde getting busted for drugs. so if your ready hop on in and spend some time in the seventys.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2006
This has got to be the best show I have ever seen. At first, I was about 12-13 when I saw my first episode, and I was like what the hell is this, but then I saw it again when I was 15, and decided it was the best show I had ever seen. Before this, I loved family guy. I had all the seasons, and a lot of stuff, but now I've got to say this is better than family guy. All my friends seasons, and family guy seasons need to move out of the way...That '70s Show is coming in.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2013
It may just be me, but it doesn't seem as if this show was remastered for blu ray as it says. It may have been rescanned, but the picture quality looks close to the dvd version (don't get me wrong it always looked great on dvd as well). and the sound seems to go back and forth, when you watch the menu the sound is way too loud and seems a bit distorted the sound in the shows seem level and accurate. While this is a great show, and I personally wish all tv series were on blu ray to fit my collection better, there are times when I wonder if they know what they are doing when they put older shows on blu ray, you figured they'd have a test audience to see what their thoughts were. Other than that It's a great show and I'm grateful it's on a format that fits in with the rest of my collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2005
That 70's Show is greatest show on TV. The show's cast is fantastic and all have great chemistry with one another. Every one of the characters is as hillarious as they are diverse. The show revolves around the gang of 6: Main character Eric Foreman, his next door neighbor and girlfriend Donna Pinciotti, Best friend and Zenmaster/conspiracy theorist Steven Hyde, the wild and less than intellegent Kelso and his spoiled rich girlfriend Jackie, and of course Foreign Exchange (Z)Student: FEZ. Other characters include: Eric's parents (who are equally central) Hardass Reginald "RED" Foreman and wife Kitty. Also Donna's parents and Hyde's hippy boss Leo (Tommy Chong).

All of these characters are hillarious and original. That 70's Show is a character driven show. To really get addicted to the show you have to get aquainted with the characters to a certain degree. The show is histerical but it is also about more than comedy. There is a lot of character development and serious moments over the years. The show is NOT about the 70's, it only takes place in them, that is one reason why it is so sucessful; it is really timeless in many ways.

Season 2 is excellent and is a huge step up from the 1rst. The first season was great but this is the year that the show really starts to take off and find it's zone. The show just keeps getting better from here on out. Kelso is a fan favorite but he isn't the highlight of the show in these earlier years. The show is revolved around alot of things but the relationship of Eric and Donna is at the center, especially in this season. The best storyline of them is the episode in which Donna tells Eric she loves him in which Eric replies "I Love Cake". Freaked out about the turn of events he turns to the guidence of his friends. There are few story's with Hyde and Fez this year but there presence is still central and they are still hillarious. There are great storylines with Eric's parents and Kelso's messed up relationship with Jackie and a new relationship between Kelso and Foreman's sister Laurie.

One of the best aspects of the show is the extreme creativity. Among the best creative sequences include the circle scenes in which virtualy every line is a punchline. And the fantasy's which aren't really a major part until the 3rd year. Other great features are the phycidelic scene changers. Everything about this show is 100% original, that is a huge part of it's allure.

As far as the DVD's are concerned I was a little dissapointed. First the absence of the original 70's music played between scenes. I understand why they are cut from syndication, because of the price. But we payed to get the original network broadcasts and FOX couldn't dish out a few bucks!!! The music is important, it gives the show a nice feel of authenticity and many times it provides the central atmosphere. FOX really slapped their fans in the face. The special features were also a let down. What sitcom on DVD has NO bloopers??? There are also no deleted scenes and I KNOW they had some. The behind the scenes looks are very short and mostly uninteresting. They aren't what you'd expect at all. Plus there are no interviews with the cast. Regardless... this set is a MUST BUY for fans of comedy. That 70's Show is non stop hillarity.

Some of the best Season 2 moments include: Kelso's attempt to cheat on Jackie, Kelso setting Jackie's house on fire. Red's friendship with "dumbass" neighbor Bob Pinciotti. Hyde's zenmaster teachings. Foreman's screwing up with his relationship with Donna. The 360 smoking scenes. The many punchlines of FEZ. The gang getting into trouble. Any scenes with Leo. ECT... ECT.... That 70's Show is one of the best shows ever. It is very underrated. This DVD set is a must own.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.