Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$21.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 22, 2012
I watch That 70's Show almost constantly. I thought the HD versions were pretty good. But after watching it on blu ray I am blown away with how much time and effort was put into making a great show even better. You can read the games in the basement from a distance, you can read the warning labels off the water heater, I thought Hyde was wearing jeans in the pilot, it turns out they were stripped pants. Colors are brighter, the screen is clear and the detail is AMAZING! And that doesn't even cover the bonus disk with side by side comparison and other fun stuff. This is worth every penny, even if you aren't a hardcore fan, this is a must have for anyone. I cannot wait for season 2. I will be disapointed if they do not release a complete box set by Christmas.
33 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2005
That 70's Show came out screaming at a point in my life when I needed it most. Eric Foreman and Donna Pinciotti, were my boyfriend, Terry and myself hanging out in the basement of his mom & dad's house with a variety of friends with personalities much like Michael Kelso, Steven Hyde, Jackie Berkhart, and Eric's naughty sister Laurie...Fez, however, did not exist but the rest of the first season was dead bang and more like a memory than a sit-com. In 1976, as the stage is set in season 1, I was 14 years old and seeing all the life-learning wacky, goofy experiences the characters live out is extremely humerous and more like a trip down memory lane. Like Hyde, there was always somebody around with " a whole big bag of love ". Without much more than Packman, pinball or foosball for entertainment, we had to change the channel on the tv by hand, too. The soundtrack of songs are true to the era, as well. I remember the drive-in theater, and my daughter, who is 20, only knows what a drive-in is from watching tv. These are just a few examples but now that it's the end of 2005 and as the characters grow and change, NOW I find myself relating more to Red & Kitty ( Eric's parents ) and/or Bob & Midge ( Donna's parents )!!! All I know is it's awsome to go back in time and experience the nostalgia and adolescent situations that bring back a time for me when things were so much simpler, the grass was greener and the sky so much more blue. With no disrespect intended for the rest of the season, which is so unexpected and fresh, I never fail to laugh no matter how many times I watch Season 1, disc 1, episodes 1 & 2, which are in my oppinion the VERY BEST of That 70's Show and the heart of what it was really like to grow up in the '70's! :)
22 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2005
The first season will remind you of why you liked the show (forget the current seasons now airing). Everything is clicking from the start.

The only problem here is that the original DVD is CENSORED! In the Wrestling episode, when Donna has Eric in a head lock she asks why he is not fighting back. Hyde's comment about "Why, look where his head is!", which is right next to Donna's breasts, has been cut. It was cut way back after the first airing. Too bad it was not restored.

***Update on new Blu-ray That '70s Show: Season 1 [Blu-ray], this has the UNCUT episodes.***
There are also reports of other DVDs with uncut episodes.
66 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2005
I really enjoy this series. The entire cast is excellent and complements each other. This is one of the few series I look forward to, both new and reruns.

This first release of That 70s show on DVD contains all of the episodes of its first season. All 25 episodes are contained on 4 disks. It is full frame and list at 575 minutes.

Episodes:

-----------

1) That `70s Pilot - Red gives Eric the keys to the Vista Cruiser and tells him he can go anywhere but out of town but of course they go out of town.

2) Eric's Birthday - The last think Eric wants on his birthday is a party but he gets one anyway.

3) Streaking - President Ford comes to town and the boys decide to streak. Red is selected to ask the President a question.

4) Battle of the Sexists - Eric feels less that a man when he loses a game of basketball to Donna.

5) Eric's Burger Job - Eric gets a job at Fatso burger.

6) The Keg - Eric and Donna skip a day of school and find Hyde and Fes in the back seat of the car. While driving down the road they find a keg of beer.

7) That Disco Episode - Kitty teaches Hyde how to dance.

8) Drive In - Eric and Donna go to the drive-in.

9) Thanksgiving - Laurie comes home for Thanksgiving.

10) Sunday, Bloody Sunday - Red's mother comes for a Sunday visit and drives everyone crazy, except for Fes.

11) Eric's Buddy - Eric has a new friend and Kelso and Hyde can't stand it.

12) The Best Christmas Ever - Red give Eric $40 to get a tree but he keeps the money and cuts down a tree from beside the road.

13) Ski Trip - The gang goes to Jackie's cabin for the weekend. Kelso is uninvited when Jackie finds out he was fooling around with Pam Macy. Kelso show up anyway.

14) Stolen Car - Eric scratches the car and Red takes away the keys. Kelso get a car from his cousin and they get arrested for having a stolen car.

15) That Wrestling Show - Kitty "forces" Eric and Red to become friends. So the gang, Red and Bob go to a wrestling show.

16) First Date - Eric and Donna have their first date. Donna gets drunk and Hyde show up and tells Donna how he feels about her.

17) The Pill - Jackie thinks she may be pregnant.

18) Career Day - The gang spends career day with their parents.

19) Prom Night - Eric gets a motel room for him and Donna but nothing happens. Hyde takes Jackie because Kelso is out with Pam Macy.

20) A New Hope - The boys go to see Star Wars. Kelso is so impressed that he even says no to sex with Jackie just to see it again.

21) Water Tower - The boy's paint a giant pot leaf on the water tower and Kelso falls off. After coming home Eric runs upstairs to get his mother, to look at Kelso arm, and finds his parents having sex.

22) Punk Chick - Hyde meets a girl and tries to convince him to go to New York.

23) Grandma's Dead - Eric is driving his grandmother home and she dies. We also get to meet Red's brother.

24) Hyde Moves In - Hyde moves in with the Foreman's.

25) The Good Son - Now that Hyde has moved in he has become the preferred son and Red's war buddy (Mitch Pileggi from the X-Files) returns and he turns out to be a swinger.

Addition special features include:

----------------------------------------

Hello Wisconsin!

Season Featurette

That `70s Trivia Show

Promo-Palozza!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2004
Frist, I would like to say that it is about time for "that 70's show" to be released on dvd. With seven seasons of "friends" and shows like, "all in the family", and "MASH" in second or third seasons, it's great to see a more recent show being realesed on dvd. I guess the producers have finally learned that people will pay for season to season of their favorite show's.

The show is terrific, the first season has great episodes like 'eric's first job', and 'the pill', and who could forget the pilot, pass it this way, puff puff give. Nothing like network television finally acknowledging bud smoking in prime time.

Even though I think the second and third seasons are the best; season one is a great start. Buy this dvd you will not be disappointed.
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2004
The long awaited release of the 70's Show on DVD (the 1st Season) has finally arrived. In recent years the sitcoms have been empty and shallow punching for laughs in a manner that lacks class or wit. This show is the exception. In fact this was the only show I found so engaging that it was hard to miss an episode, and then even the reruns. No matter how many times I see this show and even episodes I have already previously seen, the show remains fresh and incredibly funny. I find myself laughing out loud incessantly every episode sometimes to the point of tears and belly aches. This show is a true gem with intelligent writing, interesting characters played by very talented young actors (several of who have already displayed a wide range and high competence as actors in major motion pictures) and older ones as well such as Kurtwood Smith who is a riot as Red, Eric Forman's Dad. Most important the show has heart and soul. This show manages to touch who ever may be watching and take you to a fun and enjoyable place. For whoever grew up in the Seventies this flashback really takes you back and reminds you of the innocence and freedom that characterized the era (i.e. getting high and casual sex). For the younger generations it is just as accessible providing a template for new experiences and open mindedness in a playful and fun way. I am so glad this is finally being released on DVD and I eagerly await the other seasons as well. There are few shows as worthy as this one that merit being watched and enjoyed again and again. This trip was definitely worth it!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2004
Eric Forman (Topher Grace) and his friends are growing up in an era of change, mysticism, intrigue, and eclecticism, and this television retro-comedy documents their misadventures and mischief. Hyde (Danny Masterson) is probably the most laid back of the bunch, preferring a simple approach to life, while the odd undertakings of Kelso (Ashton Kutcher) serve as comic relief throughout the season's entirety. Donna (Lora Prepon) is the more conservative book-worm of the group, as well as Eric's girlfriend. Jackie (Mila Kunis), Kelso's girlfriend, is the girl with the snobby, egocentric viewpoint whom everyone loves to hate. Meanwhile, foreign exchange student Fez (Wilmer Valderrama) is not only trying to find his place in the era and world, as is every teenager, but also his place in a new country. Together they are on a perpetual quest for beer, the infinite wisdom to found in the pot-smoking circle, and all around good times.

In addition to Eric's cast of friends, the show also involves Eric's parents Red and Kitty (Kurtwood Smith and Debra Jo Rupp). As is true for any parents, no matter what decade, there are differing viewpoints and philosophies that come into play. Though set in the 70's, the dilemmas presented and the issues posed (not merely with regards to the "parental units") are relevant to teenagers and young adults of any decade, regardless of the current fashion and music trends.

I must admit that when this show first came out I did not give it the chance it deserved. I pretty much despise most of what came out of the 70's and figured that a show set during that decade would not appeal to me. Thus, I never watched even a single episode up until the show's fifth season. Now, however, I'm hooked. I'm so glad these are coming out on DVD. Therefore, even though I missed the first few seasons I can still catch up on the odd ventures of Eric Forman and his band of friends.

Tacky clothing and interior decorating aside, the charisma between the cast is excellent and the writing is lighthearted and humorous. As with any television show, there are some episodes that are much better than other episodes. Sometimes the dim-wittedness of Kelso seems a little over-the-top, and there are times when Jackie's character gets a little too irritating (though both pull off their roles quite well nonetheless). However, overall it's a great show that makes for a pleasurable viewing experience.

Though the DVD extras on this set leave something to be desired, it's still well worth it to be able to watch the shows sequentially, on your own time, and without commercials.

I watch very little television at all, but when I'm in the mood for some blithe humor I turn to That 70's Show. This show definitely ranks up there among my favorites, and I look forward to the release of the remaining seasons on DVD as well.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2012
I'm not going to review the actual show- there's about a million other websites that are better for that. I'm going to focus on the quality of the BR transfer.

Overall, picture quality is excellent. Visuals are crisp and sharp. There's a little bit of grain in certain parts- but nothing out of the ordinary for a TV show. I can make out a lot of the finer details that I could not see with TV broadcasts (stitching on clothes, intricate detail on props, etc...). Audio is phenomenal with a 5.1 DTS-HD MA track (quite rare for a TV show circa 1999).

Don't pay any attention to the reviews saying picture quality isn't up to par. I own well over 250 bluray movies/TV shows. Considering how cheap the season costs, I'd say this is without a doubt one of the best blurays I've scored.

You can tell Mill Creek Entertainment really put some good effort into this release. I can only say that for about 25% of my bluray collection.

Looking forward to the rest of the seasons :)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon October 21, 2004
The first season of That 70's Show is a funny look at teenagers growing up in a small Wisconsin town in 1976/1977. The cast was made up of virtual unknowns and the plots revolve around usual teenage situations like having sex, drinking, pulling pranks and getting high. The show revolves around the Foreman family and most of the action takes place in their home, specifically the basement where Eric (Topher Grace) and his friends hang out. The friends are made up of Hyde (Danny Masterson) the conspiracy minded, juvenile delinquent, Kelso (Ashton Kutcher) the good looking one, Fez (Wilmer Valderama) the foreign exchange student, Donna (Laura Prepon) the next door neighbor and object of Eric's lust and Jackie (Mila Kunis) Kelso's annoying girlfriend. The first uses the events of the time (President Ford making a campaign stop, the release of Star Wars, Todd Rundgren concert, going to a new disco) than later seasons, but the essence of the show hasn't changed. All the actors are quite good especially Mr. Grace & Mr. Kutcher and Kurtwood Smith is a hilarious as Eric's stern father Red whose always threatening to put his foot in someone's ass.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2005
Hyde is to Fonzie as Eric is to Richie as Kelso is to Potsie as Red and Kittie are to the Cunninghams. All in all, this is one great American family all over again. And while 'Happy Days' was big in the seventies, 'That 70's Show' is big in the nineties/new millenium.

From Hyde moving in to Foreman's "lost sister", the parallels to 'Happy Days' are endless...yet this show is one of the greatest to come out and survive the nineties. Not only is the story great, thanks to geniuses Bonnie and Terry Turner, but the characters are so real and given so many emotional facets that even today, kids can relate.

Episodes from 'The Pilot' to 'Eric's Burger Job' showcase how generic the story can be, but how memorable they will always stand. 'A New Hope' brings in one of the best Star Wars homages, something almost mandatory in television sitcoms now a days. While 'The Prom Date' features some of the show's finest moments.

Eric Foreman is the youth today's Richie Cunningham, but he's also the youth of today's icon. He is everything any teen growing up can relate to and the writers, including the exceptional Topher Grace, carved him into such an interesting story.

'That 70's Show' is probably one of the greatest sitcoms to have ever come out, in my opinion. It's full of witty humor, snappy dialogue, and tongue in cheek scenarios that are both believeable and unreal. If you can't recall several moments you were laughing uncontrollably, then watch them again...you will.

Season One, I couldn't even put down...finished in a whole night. It's just such a great show to draw back on.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.