Buy Used
$4.94
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book is in used condition. Your satisfaction is guaranteed!
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

That Crazy Eddie and the Science Project of Doom Hardcover – May 1, 2005


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover, May 1, 2005
$59.71 $0.95

100%20Children%27s%20Books%20to%20Read%20in%20a%20Lifetime

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Children's Halloween Books
Visit the Children's Halloween Bookstore to find everything from pumpkin picture books to spooky chapter books.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 7 and up
  • Grade Level: 2 and up
  • Lexile Measure: 450L (What's this?)
  • Hardcover: 96 pages
  • Publisher: Holiday House (May 1, 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0823419312
  • ISBN-13: 978-0823419319
  • Product Dimensions: 0.6 x 5.8 x 8.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,336,405 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Gr. 2-4. In this companion to That Crazy Eddie (2005), best friends Matt and Eddie are persuaded to enter the school science fair in order to win the $50 prize. Matt is very disappointed when normally exuberant Eddie comes up with a very ordinary idea (a volcano). The boy's friendship is further strained after Eddie broadcasts the details of Matt's bout with the intestinal flu all over school. The boys mend fences just in time for their presentation, and, though they don't win the prize, they have clearly been successful at a more important thing--maintaining their friendship. Believable characters and situations as well as large print and short chapters make this story easily accessible to newly independent readers. Sims' black-line, cartoon-style drawings add to the appeal and help to break up longer sections of text. A good choice for fans of Andrew Clements' Jake Drake series or Stephanie Greene's Owen Foote books. Kay Weisman
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

About the Author

Judy Cox is a celebrated author of children's book and elementary school teacher. Her titles include Go to Sleep, Groundhog! and One Is a Feast for Mouse: A Thanksgiving Tale. She lives in Oregon.

Blanche Sims is the illustrator of numerous works of fiction and nonfiction for young readers, including the popular "Kids of the Polk Street School" and "New A collaboration with writer Judy Cox, Cool Cat, School Cat focuses on a stray cat who adopts the new kid on the block and helps build a friendship.Kids of the Polk Street School" series by writer Patricia Reilly Giff. Sims has also contributed her pen-and-ink and watercolor skills to books by a variety of other writers, among them Eric A. Kimmel, Jean Marzollo, and Suzy Kline, the last with whom Sims has collaborated on books featuring spunky second grader Mary Marony. Sims often illustrates series of easy-reading books in which elementary graders can follow a likeable group of characters. In Butterfly Buddies, one of several beginning chapter books Sims has illustrated for writer Judy Cox, the "inky drawings add a pleasant and humorous touch," according to School Library Journal writer Debbi Whitbeck, the reviewer also comparing the work favorably with Beverly Cleary's "Ramona" series. Sims once told SATA: "I am self-taught. My grandfather on my father's side was an Italian painter. He was a professor of art at Mount Holyoke College and died at ninety-six years of age. When I was a child in Cleveland, he would send me assignments—'draw a hand,' 'draw a foot,' etc.—and reward me with chocolate bars, lockets, and rings. "I remember my elementary school teacher, Miss Cassatt. She knew I couldn't bring lunches and would always have me drawing maps or historical figures at lunchtime to 'feed' me. I once drew the Taj Mahal in colored chalk and it reached across the whole back wall of the class. "I had a wonderful high school art teacher, Mr. Paul Ulen, who had studied in London. In my first year of high school we were learning at an art-school level. He stressed drawing and that's what we did—from live models to plaster casts. A scholarship was certain, but I had to drop out of school and get out on my own due to an unpleasant home life. "I left Cleveland and moved to New York City, married an illustrator, had four wonderful children, and now have eight grandchildren. I divorced long ago and needed to work to support my brood...This pulled me together and I became a book illustrator." She lives in Sandy Hook, CT.

More About the Author

I was born in San Francisco. I'm the oldest of five children and enjoyed telling stories from an early age. I am a reading teacher at a small rural school. I am inspired to write children's books by my own love of good literature, by raising my son, and by teaching my students.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By Jaime Randall on August 6, 2014
Format: Paperback
Prompt shipping and book as described.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Midwest Book Review on September 11, 2005
Format: Hardcover
Blanche Sims provides the funny drawings for Judy Cox's latest chapter book, That Crazy Eddie And The Science Project Of Doom, telling of a third grader who will do anything to win first place at the school science fair - even if it means losing his best friend. Black and white drawings throughout illustrate Eddie's genius and downfall.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Search