Customer Reviews


253 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jennifer Nettles “That Girl” Album Review
Producer Rick Rubin is known for his resurrection touch. During Johnny Cash’s autumnal years when he was slowly slipping into aged oblivion, it was Rubin who revived the man in black’s most uncanny comeback via his “American Recordings.” This is because Rubin is never boxed by conventional or what’s in vogue. Rather, there’s...
Published 11 months ago by Timothy Yap

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars That Girl
I was waiting a long time for Jennifer Nettles to release an album. It's a good album but her voice is so strong that she is overpowering on some of the songs. I like that she wrote many of the songs. There are only a few songs that I really like.
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jennifer Nettles “That Girl” Album Review, January 14, 2014
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
Producer Rick Rubin is known for his resurrection touch. During Johnny Cash’s autumnal years when he was slowly slipping into aged oblivion, it was Rubin who revived the man in black’s most uncanny comeback via his “American Recordings.” This is because Rubin is never boxed by conventional or what’s in vogue. Rather, there’s something organic, quixotic and unpredictable in all the works that come out of his hands. Jennifer Nettles scans her partner Kristian Bush is wizened enough to engage the deft touches of Rubin for the production chores. And true to Rubin’s calling, “That Girl” brings out Nettles’ hillbilly soul that was often submerged between the megawatt stadium rock sounds of her Sugarland records. As a result, “That Girl” is country as country gets. Further, Nettles gets to air her country soul in greater measures than when she as a duo. This is partly due to the fact that she co-writes 10 out of the 11 cuts, often with the industry’s greats such as Mike Reid, Richard Marx, Sara Bareilles, Philip Sweet and Butch Walker among others. The only non-Nettles composition is her take of Bob Seger’s “Like a Rock.”

Shedding all the threads of her Sugarland rock persona, Nettles takes the dirt rock as she drives us back home to the time of her Southern teenage days on the opener “Falling.” Waxing nostalgia on her first taste of love, Nettles has not been more heartfelt than this Southern charmer. Then she enters tear mines with the melancholic acoustic guitar driven ballad “Me Without You.” While the lead single and title cut “That Girl” indeed is a standout. Never a mere cookie cutter of a song, “That Girl” deals with the complexities of a triangular relationship that updates Dolly Parton’s “Jolene.” Yet, the faux Latin groove, the flamenco flavour, the infectious congas and handclaps give “That Girl” her individuality. Also be pleasantly surprised by the awkwardly titled “Know You Wanna Know.” Richard Marx, who co-writes “Know You Wanna Know” with Nettles, has had written his share of banal pop forgettables. But this is not so here; featuring a Jerry Lewis-esque piano and a 60s style rock n’ roll groove, “Know What You Wanna Know” creates a grand slam of a good time.

Mike Reid, who is known for crafting hits such as “I Can’t Make You Love Me” (Bonnie Raitt), “Forever’s As Far As I’ll Go” (Alabama) and “Everywhere” (Tim McGraw), gets two co-writes with Nettles. Reid again shows what a towering writer he is with “This Angel.” Poetry and a mother’s heart have never woven so tightly as on this string-lade ballad. Adopting some of Bonnie Raitt’s bluesy belts, “Good Time to Cry” (the second of the Mike Reid co-writes) is a neo-soul barroom weeper that has a wrinkle of the old school –styled of country music. Sara Bareilles who is already making a name for herself as the neo-Norah Jones shares her pen with Nettles on the R&B-tingled “This One’s for You.” Lyrically reminisce of “A Song for You,” this is a sultry love song where Nettles bares her soul to her paramour. “Thank You,” on the other hand, is the album’s misstep where Nettles indulges too much in her twang.

The lone cover here is Nettles’ take of Bob Seger’s “Like a Rock.” Starting off raw, understated and loose, she slowly picks up steam as horns and guitars are added on layer by layer. Thus, when she gets to the chorus you can hear her soaring with her Gospel metered contralto. “That Girl” is an album that brims with character; this is far from being an anonymous recording, each song here is different and memorable. And yet they congeal together well—thanks in huge measures to the wisdom of both Nettles and Rubin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That Girl, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
I just downloaded the cd today & I think I've listened to it at least 10 times already. I'm waiting for my office mate to run out screaming! This has got to be one of my favorite cd's in a long time. A little country, a little rock, a little soul & all of Jennifer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get That Girl, February 17, 2014
By 
K. E. Sawyer (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
I don't listen to country music, and so this was a total gamble -- buying Jennifer Nettles new CD. The only time I've seen her perform is on a few Christmas specials and so have been interested in her but pretty unaware. So when I saw that she had a new CD, I took a chance on it and I really like it! The tunes were catchy, the lyrics were well written, and that voice -- she's got a great one. I especially enjoyed the title song, That Girl. Surprise lyrics there -- a very nice twist connecting it with an old hit song. Upbeat, funny, or tender and poignant, it was a very nice mix of songs. Very entertaining. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, January 14, 2014
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
There are few albums you can't wait to listen to when you haven't even finished listening to them once, let alone afterwards. (Some examples for me would be Norah Jones's first, John Mayer's "Born and Raised," Sara Bareilles's "Kaleidoscope Heart" and Springsteen's "The Rising.") Jennifer Nettle's "That Girl" is just such an album. It's almost astoundingly good, not in any way your run-of-the-mill, "this all sounds alike" country album. First of all, Ms. Nettles, a true class act, sounds better here than she has ever sounded before. (Does anyone on the planet sing better than she?) But what sets this album apart from almost every other album I've purchased lately is the care that has gone into its production (the album was recorded live and produced by legend Rick Rubin) and the material. Nettles co-wrote most of the songs, and there isn't one that could even be remotely considered "filler." I have my favorites (the poignantly empowering "Me Without You," the hilariously wrong "Jealousy," the warm and lovely "This One's for You," the powerful "His Hands," and the title track, which plays like the flip side of "Stay"), but they are each and every one a winner. In a recent Billboard article, Nettles is quoted as saying that she wanted the album to move people. I think she's succeeded beyond her (or my) expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the REAL Jennifer Nettles!, January 17, 2014
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
Those who only know Jennifer Nettles as the vocalist of Sugarland will no doubt be somewhat disappointed with "That Girl." It does not have the upbeat, energetic arena rock songs of the past few Sugarland releases.
Those of us who remember Nettles from Soul Miner's Daughter and her two excellent solo albums will recognize "That Girl" as her REAL voice and soul. Nettles was born to sing low key country, blues and soul songs. The tone of her gorgeous, slightly warbling voice is lost while screaming over bombastic songs meant to be accompanied by loud guitars.
I was fortunate to have seen one of Nettle's solo shows following the release of "The Story of Your Bones." She proved that she could sing pretty much anything. It is good to see that Nettles is not afraid to venture off the Sugarland money trail and go back to where she started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars That Girl, February 18, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (marlboro, nj United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
I was waiting a long time for Jennifer Nettles to release an album. It's a good album but her voice is so strong that she is overpowering on some of the songs. I like that she wrote many of the songs. There are only a few songs that I really like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: That Girl (MP3 Music)
I've been waiting for this and was soooo glad it didn't disappoint. Naturally I liked some better than others, but there isn't a dog in the bunch. I hope she still will do things with Sugar Land, but she should also keep her solo craft going. This is one very talented lady!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
Well rounded CD. Love it. It is fresh and new. But fans of Sugarland should love it also. Jennifer only continues to get better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what expected, January 26, 2014
This review is from: That Girl (Audio CD)
I was so excited for this CD, now I wish I didn't spend the money. It is dull, soft, and like lounge music. Not the fun and exciting and "want to sing along" I thought she would bring. She sings with great talent, but this is really just so dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL for the Jennifer Nettles fan, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: That Girl (MP3 Music)
Bought this after watching the 30 minute show about the making of it.
After seeing her during the creative process, including breaking down during "This Angel" (The song about her son Magnus, who was in the control room with her husband) it increased the "personal" look into her life and also made the songs feel more personal to me, almost like I was there.

I RARELY buy complete albums, since NORMALLY there are 1 or 2, or SOMETIMES 3, decent songs and the rest are just "filler"... NOT WITH THIS ONE!!!!

Having listened to the entire album, nearly exclusively, for the last few weeks, there's not a single song I'd come close to considering as "filler"

If you're looking for the latest from "Sugarland", this ain't for you. It's a much more intimate look into Jennifer's life and WELL worth the cost
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

That Girl
That Girl by Jennifer Nettles (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.