Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recapture the love of your life�
There are so many scenes in this delightful farce that I would love to describe in detail, but I will not spoil the surprises. Carl Reiner directed That Old Feeling to perfection. The roller coaster ride begins with a very romantic marriage proposal -- which nearly puts the bride-to-be in the hospital.
Who knew that 14 years after Lilly and Dan (Bette Midler and...
Published on June 16, 2001 by Victoria Tarrani

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing Romantic Comedy!!
First off, this movie is very colorful which is great. The cast wear some very vibrant and pleaing to the eyes costumes especially Bette Midler. Bette and Dennis Farina are two famous people who attend the wedding of their daughter only to find that they still love one another alot. They argue much throughout the movie. Because of her parents, the daughter ends up not...
Published on August 20, 2002 by M. J. Moore


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recapture the love of your life�, June 16, 2001
This review is from: That Old Feeling (DVD)
There are so many scenes in this delightful farce that I would love to describe in detail, but I will not spoil the surprises. Carl Reiner directed That Old Feeling to perfection. The roller coaster ride begins with a very romantic marriage proposal -- which nearly puts the bride-to-be in the hospital.
Who knew that 14 years after Lilly and Dan (Bette Midler and Dennis Farina) divorced and remarried that one very public argument would activate That Old Feeling? The "nuclear" relationship was rekindled at their daughter's wedding, and the on-screen chemistry between them is sizzling.
Their daughter Molly (Paula Marshall) is the "adult" of the trio. Her poignant comment, "Do you realize how lucky I am that someone normal wanted to marry me?" foreshadows her decision to not settle.
The acting is excellent, and I am sure the cast had a lot of fun making this movie. In one scene, Molly is fixing Joey's (Danny Nucci) hair; her eyes shift quickly as she figures out what will work to tame his wild locks. It is a simple scene, but it shows what good acting is about -- making it believable.
Bohemians and politicians in a showy wedding where Molly's grandmother is tap dancing beg for comments. The political jibes about liberals and Republicans fit the scene and add to the farce.
There are no "F" words; in fact, no swearing at all. Also, there are no sweaty bedroom scenes. The "action" is shown through innuendoes that stimulate imagination. In my opinion, this is much better than bearing it all.
The fights and conversations between Lilly and Dan are stunning. Throughout the movie, great dialogue is snappy and fresh. In the end, Molly and Joey are accused of being just like her parents ... "No, but we soon will be..."
The music score is superb. I own the music CD too.
Five stars for one of my favorite movies.
Victoria Tarrani
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars midler and farina were made for each other!!!, March 15, 2004
By 
Kate C. (Lansing, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: That Old Feeling (DVD)
I can't count how many times I have seen this movie and still it makes me laugh.
Not a very complex comedy but it doesn't need to be: Molly (Paula Marshall) is getting married to an up-tight blue-blood and is worried that her parents (Midler and Farina) who have been divorced for many years and still hate each other "with a nuclear capability" will ruin her wedding. Despite her reservations she invites them both and it almost comes to a slugfest in the middle of the reception. Yet immediately afterwards the romance, mysteriously, rekindles and the reunited parents of the bride ditch their new spouses (a gold-digger step mother and an overly sensitive therapist stepfather who is a little too attached to his dogs) to head off for a wild weekend, leaving Molly to find them and split them apart.
For help finding her actress mother Molly gets the help of an overzealous paporazzi (played by Danny Nucci) to find them (of course the romance between the two youngsters can't be contained either).
What is the true gem of this movie is the way Midler and Farina play off each other; here is a middle aged couple acting (and even dressing) middle aged but show that no matter how old you are you still have "that old feeling". The argument scenes between them are hysterical and quick-witted (a staple of any Midler performance; aside from Bette Davis-- Midler's namesake-- no one can deliver an insult better than Bette Midler with humor and wrath).
This is a great movie for a Saturday afternoon and I would highly recommend this to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun- Bette at her Best!, July 11, 1999
By 
MaryannJr "MaryannJr" (PHILADELPHIA, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: That Old Feeling (DVD)
First a suggestion to the viewer below from Rockwall. You need to see this one again. In terms of comedy, "That Old Feeling" is bubbling with it ! Anyone who knows anything at all about Bette Midler, knows that her snappy wit and peppered dialog go along with the program. As a film star who meets up with her writer ex-husband after 14 years at their daughters wedding, Bette and Dennis Farina bounce beautifully off one another. The dialog is quick and sharp , and Bette is at her best in her scenes sparring with Farina. Paula Marshall and Danny Nucci are good as the younger romantic leads, and David Rasche and Gail O'Grady stand out as the present spouses of Midler and Farina, but it is Bette, as always who steals the show. Though the characters break all the rules of taste and family stability, you still root for them to kiss and make up in the end. Romance and comedy are mixed to perfection here. Carl Reiner did a fine directing job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can you not love this movie?, September 15, 2004
This review is from: That Old Feeling (DVD)
I loved everything about this movie. Bette was at her Diva best and Dennis was a perfect foil. I loved the story about him begging her to sing a lot on the set. You could just tell in the restaurant when she was singing that he was totally enthralled.

I also loved Danny Nucci & Paula Marshall. They were so sweet together! Gail O'Grady & Jamie Denton were the best "bad" guys, for want of a better turn. And when they get drunk and get it on, I could have died! Of course, Jamie was terrific on "The Pretender", so I have a huge crush on the boy! :D David Rasche was perfect as the neurotic psychotherapist. You go, Sledgehammer! :D

I HIGHLY recommend this movie to adults that want a good laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adorable. It never gets old!, December 9, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: That Old Feeling (DVD)
I've seen this film several times, and it just never gets boring. Snappy dialogue, witty characters, and Reiner's simple charm make this movie irresistable each and every time. Though it's not Hollywood's most well-known film or anything like that, THIS is what true romantic comedies are made of.
The film chronicles the "nuclear" relationship between actress Lily (Bette Midler) and author Dan (Dennis Farina), who have been divorced and re-married for 14 years and still argue over whose fault it was that ended their marriage. In a particularly hilarious "civil conversation" at their daughter Molly's (Paula Marshall) wedding, the old feeling is suddenly re-ignited and they embark on a comedic affair with Molly and her new husband Keith hot on their trail. Along the way comes Joey (Danny Nucci), a sleazy photographer who likes to capture particularly bad impromptu photos of Lily to sell in the latest tabloid magazines. Admist the absolute mess and chaos, Joey is hired by a desparate Molly to find her parents in her efforts to try and reunite them with their respective spouses. Though Lily and Dan are the main item in the film's romantic aspect, the relationship that develops between Molly and Joey is equally charming.
Though this film has its flaws, the charming and romantic parallel portraits that it paints are so likeable that the flaws are easily forgiveable. It reminds all of us that old feeling that we have inside of us through the hilarious and comedic affair between Lily and Dan, but at the same time, asks us what it is we're really looking for in Molly and Joey's story.
Overall, this is a highly recommended flick that is fresh each and every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That old Feeling, May 22, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: That Old Feeling (DVD)
Probably one of the best films I've seen in a long time..Bette Midler and Dennis Farina are great together...of course, he is good in anything...
Light and fun, what we all need to watch now..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love Bette, May 17, 2005
By 
Jordon (Hohenwald,TN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: That Old Feeling (DVD)
I love Bette Midler. I consider this to be one of her best films(next to Beaches of course). It is about a couple (Bette Midler & Denis Farina) who are divorced for 14 years. But at their daughters wedding they have an all out fight. Which leads to a crazy affair! This very affair leads to so many laughs it will leave you on the floor laughing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THERE NEED TO BE MORE MOVIES LIKE THIS ONE!, December 15, 2008
This review is from: That Old Feeling (DVD)
I'm still trying to figure out how Bette Midler and Dennis Farina pulled off this movie. They are TOO NATURAL! Did they act this movie, or did they live it? THEY ARE TOO NATURAL!

Movie starts off as a takeoff of the 1996 movie "Everyone Says I Love You" where lead actor Edward Norton puts an engagement ring in girlfriend Drew Barrymore's dessert in a surprise proposal, she swallows it without realizing it and after a scene in the restaurant where she tries to bring it back up, they end up in the GI Lab at the hospital where the ring shows up on X-ray film digested into her intestine! In "That Old Feeling," second lead Jamie Denton puts an engagment ring in girlfriend Paula Marshall's dessert in the same surprise proposal, but when a waiter pops the cork out of a champagne bottle at the next table, her startlement causes her to choke on the ring, which necessitates a waiter rushing over to give her the Heimlich Maneuver, sending the ring and dessert she'd swallowed out of her mouth and into Denton's nose! She naturally accepts his proposal, but warns him against inviting her parents to their wedding; divorced fourteen years and happily married to two other people, they hate each other with a nuclear capacity! Well, after that funny opener, Denton invites them, anyway, and the movie gets funny ridiculous as Midler and Farina blow up at the reception, forcing Marshall, a stuffed shirt next to them, to put them in the parking lot to cool off, where fourteen years of pentup rage becomes into fourteen years of expressed lust! Nowhere for them to go from there but together oblivious to both their spouses! Problem is, Marshall's new husband Denton is running for political office and does not need a scandal, forcing her to have to find her runaway parents alone before their adultery is found out.

Then there is the obnoxious papparazzi played by Danny Nucci that Denton had hired to photograph the wedding, unaware that Midler, whose character of Lilly is an actress, hated him, as he had taken a fat photo of her that she was still trying to live down; in fact, Marshall had had him carried bodily out of the reception! A reluctant alliance ensues as she then has to beg streetsmart photographer Nucci who she thinks a loser and an intruder on people's special moments and who's still nosing around looking for dirt the morning after her wedding to help her find her runaway parents in an odyssy of discovery wherein she learns he's not the loser she'd thought him, she'd had no fun and worst still, she'd just married a man she didn't know with who she wasn't about to have any.

This is the movie I watch whenever I'm in a bad mood and need a laugh and a reality check. Ain't no getting over that old feeling and things aren't always what they seem. Midler, and Farina as her writer ex-husband Dan, are outrageous in their rediscovery of each other trying to stay one step ahead of Nucci, who to their own disbelief found them the first place he looked and taught daughter Marshall so different from the three of them in outlook that she knew nothing about nothing. Carl Reiner delivers the humor and point of view in this comedy romp and magnum opus in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh and be happy., September 20, 2002
By 
This review is from: That Old Feeling (DVD)
I have watched this movie over and over -- every time I find something new and chanting. The two wedding scenes are hilarious, the opening scene is one of the best. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing Romantic Comedy!!, August 20, 2002
By 
M. J. Moore (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: That Old Feeling [VHS] (VHS Tape)
First off, this movie is very colorful which is great. The cast wear some very vibrant and pleaing to the eyes costumes especially Bette Midler. Bette and Dennis Farina are two famous people who attend the wedding of their daughter only to find that they still love one another alot. They argue much throughout the movie. Because of her parents, the daughter ends up not being able to spend time with her husband who ends up having an affair with her father's wife. There is so much confusion but comedy here. Danny Nucci is the papparazzi who falls in love with Bette and Dennis' daughter. This movie works mainly because all of the supporting cast which includes Danny Nucci, Paula Marshall and others do well as the starrers, BETTE AND DENNIS, have very little to do but add moments of comedy when they do appear. Overall, this is a nice film for couples of any age. It is both very funny and touching at the same time and the color here once again is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

That Old Feeling
That Old Feeling by Carl Reiner
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.