Qty:1
  • List Price: $16.95
  • Save: $3.88 (23%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

That One Spooky Night Hardcover – September 1, 2012


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$13.07
$9.07 $0.01
Gifts%20for%20Young%20Readers
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Children's Christmas Books
Visit the Children's Christmas Bookstore to find stories about Santa and his reindeer, cozy books to read by the fire, and sweet stories about family celebrations.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 7 - 10 years
  • Grade Level: 2 - 5
  • Lexile Measure: 130L (What's this?)
  • Hardcover: 80 pages
  • Publisher: Kids Can Press, Ltd. (September 1, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1554537517
  • ISBN-13: 978-1554537518
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 1 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 15.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,255,626 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 2-4-Combining humor and gentle spookiness, this is a graphic novel for the Halloween season. The three stories take place on the same night. In "Broom with a View," a girl accidentally ends up with a real witch's broom, leading to a magical experience. In "10,000 Tentacles Under the Tub," two boys find their post-trick-or-treating bath transformed into an undersea world. The final story, "The Fang Gang," follows a group of friends as they end up in Dracula's mansion on the scariest night of the year. Although the Halloween setting ties everything together, these selections function chiefly as stand-alone tales, their tone is more likely to elicit smiles than shivers. The full-color cartoon illustrations are appealing and nicely match the mood of the book. An economical use of dialogue allows the artwork to do the bulk of the storytelling. Brisk, entertaining, and easy to enjoy, this is a good choice for children looking for something light on Halloween.-Travis Jonker, Wayland Union Schools, MIα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

From Booklist

What happened on this one spooky night? In this fun trio of interwoven comics, young readers follow six trick-or-treaters on their Halloween adventures. In “Broom with a View,” Giselle finds the perfect accessory for her witchy costume, but when she bumps into another hag on the way out, who’s to say which broom is hers? Aspiring Aqua-Heroes and twin brothers Anthony and Alexander give their dad a hard time in “10,000 Tentacles under the Tub.” Last but not least, Gemma, Hiroko, Jobeth, and Malaya make some new friends in “The Fang Gang.” With hungry friends like these, who needs enemies? These quick, cute, gentle, snappy, and sassy holiday comics are a great transitional read for those moving out of Babymouse territory into something a little more sophisticated yet still safe. This title would be perfect for fans of Scary Godmother (2010), by Jill Thompson. Grades 3-5. --Candice Mack

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Bradley James Weber on September 9, 2012
Format: Hardcover
THAT ONE SPOOKY NIGHT is an entertaining trio of sequential art stories detailing the Halloween adventures of suburban kids who wander over the boundary between the natural and the supernatural. Alternately comedic and harrowing, each story puts the kids into a Scooby-Doo kind of danger; but the pacing, drawing style, and bright color palate keep it all from getting too heavy.

Dan Bar-el's words and David Huyck's illustrations work together as any good comic or picture book should -- blending to tell a story neither could tell alone. And like any good comic, the art attracts browsers and the story keeps the book in readers' hands.

At 80 pages, THAT ONE SPOOKY NIGHT feels a bit light and too quick a read for an older reader, but the stories and the art will bring younger audiences back for multiple readings.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Lou Shepherd on October 10, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Halloween really belongs to children. The grown-ups in "That One Spooky Night" just don't get it. They are either too tired, too busy or just clueless. For the children, on the other hand, the most ordinary activities can become extraordinary adventures on "that night like no other".
In "10,000 Tentacles under the Tub", my favourite of the three stories in this book, taking a bath turns into an adventure of epic proportions.
The text by Dan Bar-el may seem deceptively simple at first, but it is very well adapted to the graphic novel format: between lively bits of dialogue, it allows the illustrations (by David Huyck) to add hints of visual humour. The intended public here is really younger children - there are more laughs than scares. This book is perfect for 7-8 year olds who will totally relate to these stories and to the characters.
Perfect for Halloween - or any time!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Ionia Martin TOP 500 REVIEWER on February 4, 2013
Format: Hardcover
This reminded me a lot of the old style comic books for kids. I loved the illustrations as they really brought the story to life. There are three individual stories in this book, each with a Halloween theme for kids 7 and older. This is the first graphic novel I have read that was intended for a younger audience, and I think it really worked well. The stories are more geared toward having fun than being very frightening and the characters are cute. There are so many illustrations on each page that it is difficult to get bored with so much to look at. With three stories, you and your child have choices about how much you want to read at once. The text is easy enough for a new reader and the stories are filled with adventure and excitement. My personal favorite was the first story in the book, but the others were really good as well. I also liked the way this book didn't seem to show a preference for a female or male audience. It would work for either.

I would recommend this book to parents. It would make a fun addition to a Halloween sleepover!

This review is based on a digital copy from the publisher.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on December 5, 2012
Format: Hardcover
These three spooky tales are perfect for Halloween, but young readers will be back to reread them again and again. Done in graphic novel form, the illustrations by David Huyck are as funny as the stories are creepy - but not too creepy.

In A Broom With a View, Giselle finds the perfect witch costume and completes it with a broom. When she dresses for trick-or treating her broom's behavior leads her into trouble. Her one spooky night is just beginning.

In 10,000 Tentacles Under the Tub, two brothers dress up as Aqua Heroes. After leading their dad on a laugh-filled Halloween journey as they keep Sea Monsters in check, they return home for a bath. The bath is just the beginning of a scary adventure that could only happen on that one spooky night. My favorite part of this story involves the dog.

In The Fang Gang, four friends are laughed at because their costumes aren't scary enough. They change costumes and change that one spooky night for everyone.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?