Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Beauty Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals TheGoodDinosaur Shop Now HTL

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

  • List Price: $16.95
  • Save: $1.66 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
That One Spooky Night has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: The item shows wear from consistent use, but it remains in good condition and works perfectly. It may be marked, have identifying markings on it, or show other signs of previous use.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

That One Spooky Night Hardcover – September 1, 2012

6 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"
$9.56 $0.01

Personalized Children's Books
Inspiring and entertaining tales that let kids be the star of the story and live out fun adventures through the pages of a book. You can change the name, hairstyle, hair color, eye color and skin color of the main character to truly customize the story for your little one. See more
$15.29 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • That One Spooky Night
  • +
  • Nine Words Max
Total price: $32.53
Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 2-4-Combining humor and gentle spookiness, this is a graphic novel for the Halloween season. The three stories take place on the same night. In "Broom with a View," a girl accidentally ends up with a real witch's broom, leading to a magical experience. In "10,000 Tentacles Under the Tub," two boys find their post-trick-or-treating bath transformed into an undersea world. The final story, "The Fang Gang," follows a group of friends as they end up in Dracula's mansion on the scariest night of the year. Although the Halloween setting ties everything together, these selections function chiefly as stand-alone tales, their tone is more likely to elicit smiles than shivers. The full-color cartoon illustrations are appealing and nicely match the mood of the book. An economical use of dialogue allows the artwork to do the bulk of the storytelling. Brisk, entertaining, and easy to enjoy, this is a good choice for children looking for something light on Halloween.-Travis Jonker, Wayland Union Schools, MIα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

From Booklist

What happened on this one spooky night? In this fun trio of interwoven comics, young readers follow six trick-or-treaters on their Halloween adventures. In “Broom with a View,” Giselle finds the perfect accessory for her witchy costume, but when she bumps into another hag on the way out, who’s to say which broom is hers? Aspiring Aqua-Heroes and twin brothers Anthony and Alexander give their dad a hard time in “10,000 Tentacles under the Tub.” Last but not least, Gemma, Hiroko, Jobeth, and Malaya make some new friends in “The Fang Gang.” With hungry friends like these, who needs enemies? These quick, cute, gentle, snappy, and sassy holiday comics are a great transitional read for those moving out of Babymouse territory into something a little more sophisticated yet still safe. This title would be perfect for fans of Scary Godmother (2010), by Jill Thompson. Grades 3-5. --Candice Mack

Hero Quick Promo
Holiday Deals in Kindle Books
Save up to 85% on more than 1,000 Kindle Books. These deals are valid until November 30, 2015. Learn more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 7 - 10 years
  • Grade Level: 2 - 5
  • Lexile Measure: 130L (What's this?)
  • Hardcover: 80 pages
  • Publisher: Kids Can Press, Ltd. (September 1, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1554537517
  • ISBN-13: 978-1554537518
  • Product Dimensions: 6.8 x 0.6 x 8.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 15.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,547,229 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Bradley James Weber on September 9, 2012
Format: Hardcover
THAT ONE SPOOKY NIGHT is an entertaining trio of sequential art stories detailing the Halloween adventures of suburban kids who wander over the boundary between the natural and the supernatural. Alternately comedic and harrowing, each story puts the kids into a Scooby-Doo kind of danger; but the pacing, drawing style, and bright color palate keep it all from getting too heavy.

Dan Bar-el's words and David Huyck's illustrations work together as any good comic or picture book should -- blending to tell a story neither could tell alone. And like any good comic, the art attracts browsers and the story keeps the book in readers' hands.

At 80 pages, THAT ONE SPOOKY NIGHT feels a bit light and too quick a read for an older reader, but the stories and the art will bring younger audiences back for multiple readings.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Lou Shepherd on October 10, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Halloween really belongs to children. The grown-ups in "That One Spooky Night" just don't get it. They are either too tired, too busy or just clueless. For the children, on the other hand, the most ordinary activities can become extraordinary adventures on "that night like no other".
In "10,000 Tentacles under the Tub", my favourite of the three stories in this book, taking a bath turns into an adventure of epic proportions.
The text by Dan Bar-el may seem deceptively simple at first, but it is very well adapted to the graphic novel format: between lively bits of dialogue, it allows the illustrations (by David Huyck) to add hints of visual humour. The intended public here is really younger children - there are more laughs than scares. This book is perfect for 7-8 year olds who will totally relate to these stories and to the characters.
Perfect for Halloween - or any time!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Ionia Martin TOP 1000 REVIEWER on February 4, 2013
Format: Hardcover
This reminded me a lot of the old style comic books for kids. I loved the illustrations as they really brought the story to life. There are three individual stories in this book, each with a Halloween theme for kids 7 and older. This is the first graphic novel I have read that was intended for a younger audience, and I think it really worked well. The stories are more geared toward having fun than being very frightening and the characters are cute. There are so many illustrations on each page that it is difficult to get bored with so much to look at. With three stories, you and your child have choices about how much you want to read at once. The text is easy enough for a new reader and the stories are filled with adventure and excitement. My personal favorite was the first story in the book, but the others were really good as well. I also liked the way this book didn't seem to show a preference for a female or male audience. It would work for either.

I would recommend this book to parents. It would make a fun addition to a Halloween sleepover!

This review is based on a digital copy from the publisher.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
That One Spooky Night
This item: That One Spooky Night
Price: $15.29
Ships from and sold by

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: comic book, halloween kids, baby's first halloween