Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's No Angry Mob...Is a must Read!
Just finished reading the book. Loved it. Michael Graham has managed to debunk every leftist view without a single insult toward me. This book backs up every argument with FACTS unlike the progressives who's only idea is to call tea party participants "racist, teabaggers, and stupid" when questioned! Living in Amherst, Massachusetts where terroist are being invited to...
Published on March 14, 2010 by Sue N.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tea Party people are everyday people
The looney left, going back to the Vietnam protest days have had a hard time understanding why everyone does not see things there way. The Left cannot stand how ordinary people can think for themselves and protest the policies of the government in a peaceful manner. Liberal can not understand that one does not have to be paid to participate in rallies that are intended to...
Published 17 months ago by LARRY


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's No Angry Mob...Is a must Read!, March 14, 2010
By 
Sue N. (Amherst, MA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: That's No Angry Mob, That's My Mom: Team Obama's Assault on Tea-Party, Talk-Radio Americans (Hardcover)
Just finished reading the book. Loved it. Michael Graham has managed to debunk every leftist view without a single insult toward me. This book backs up every argument with FACTS unlike the progressives who's only idea is to call tea party participants "racist, teabaggers, and stupid" when questioned! Living in Amherst, Massachusetts where terroist are being invited to live once Gitmo closes (see page 13) I know only too well how the left believes their opinion is the right and only opinion. Michael's wit and sense of humor is evident throughout the book. Some parts were LOL funny. Joe Biden, need I say more? If you attended a tea party rally, or were there in spirit, or are concerned about the direction our country is heading, buy this book. You will feel vindicated and ready to keep fighting the fight!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Defense of the Tea Party Movement, March 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: That's No Angry Mob, That's My Mom: Team Obama's Assault on Tea-Party, Talk-Radio Americans (Hardcover)
Recently an Amazon friend wrote a comment under one of my reviews complaining that tea party participants were openly talking about nullification, the concept that states and local governments can nullify federal laws. This harkens back to the separatist south, he noted, with the implication that anyone who would believe such a thing is racist. Of course, it also harkens back to various liberal and libertarian constituencies that opposed the Bush administration's "Real ID Act" by encouraging state and local agencies to oppose it, but no one ever accused these "nullification" advocates of racism. But the broader point was a suspicion of people who attend tea parties and otherwise are active and vocal about their opposition to the policies of the Obama administration. Who are these people, and why do they arouse such heated passions? Talk show host Michael Graham's answer is that they are ordinary people who represent a significant new force in politics, and they cannot be simply written off by name calling.

In general, the "agenda" of the people who attend tea parties, according to Graham, is personal responsibility. They dislike government bailouts, whether to GM or Melanie Griffiths-Evans (a real estate agent who nonetheless managed to default on her Adjustable Rate Mortgage). It is not, Graham argues, that people who listen to talk radio (as opposed to NPR) and attend tea parties lack compassion. He claims conservatives contribute more to private charity than liberals. But tea party activists dislike rewarding those who make bad decisions. They also dislike government run health care and they especially dislike being told they are stupid (or racist) if they voice their objections. But they are, for the most part, not "intellectuals" in the sense that their opposition to government health care does not come from reading Milton Friedman; it comes from visiting the post office.

Graham concedes that there are a few rabble rousers among those who attend tea parties, just as there are more than a few leftist kooks who still promote vast conspiracy theories about how elections were stolen in 2000 and how the US blew up their own towers in 2001. (Fair warning; there are a fair number of right wing kooks who also believe that sort of thing.) But on the whole his take is that the tea party movement is made up of middle class people who are simply fed up with adding nearly 2 trillion to the deficit in a single year and who would rather run their own lives.

I found this book a moderately convincing and I say that as one of the "elitist" snobs who opposes socialized health care precisely because I read (and understand) free market economists. My main contact with the tea party crowd was at a local debate between a Democrat and Republican candidate for a state legislative office and they were very polite and thoughtful, and somewhat more critical of the Republican. They knew what the Democrat stood for and even found some common ground with him, but the previous Republican candidate had broken his no tax increase pledge on his very first budget vote, so they were understandably skeptical of people pandering to them.

Beyond that, however, I was a little put off by this book. It has a very chatty style which is what I should expect from a talk radio host but nonetheless I like more analysis and less anecdotes. The book spends a lot of time dissecting the attacks made by "Team Obama" on the tea party crowd. And undoubtedly the administration has tried to marginalize their increasing large number of opponents as extremists. But I don't think every left wing blogger can be categorized as part of "Team Obama" any more than I think every right wing hack is a "birther." Nonetheless, the strident opposition to the Obama administration cries out for some sort of analysis and simply labeling these people as racists (or as "my mom") will not do, regardless of how convenient these labels are for a given political agenda.

My own take is fairly simple. Obama won because people were fed up with George W. Bush. Specifically, they were upset at how long two wars were taking. Beyond that, many Americans, for whom fiscal responsibility is a big deal, were upset at Bush's 700 billion dollar bailout (more than a few fiscal conservatives, myself among them, actively hoped the Repubicans would lose for that alone) and in general the previous president's policies on immigration and his own venture into socialized health care (prescription drug coverage) alienated his base without attracting any real support from the left. Obama, a man without a record, said all the right things. He would support a transparent government; no secret deals. He would impose fiscal discipline and pay for any new programs with cuts elsewhere. He would not raise taxes on anyone making more than $250,000 a year. And he would bring our troops home. Obama has since broken every one of those key campaign promises and people are upset. And they are becoming increasingly vocal about it. So naturally, the administration and its supporters are faced with a choice: they can actually do the things that won them the election, or they can attempt to marginalize their opponents. They are going with the latter strategy and all polls suggest it will come back to haunt them this election year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To understand the Tea Party Movement- Click Purchase!, March 10, 2010
By 
Christine (COHASSET, MA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: That's No Angry Mob, That's My Mom: Team Obama's Assault on Tea-Party, Talk-Radio Americans (Hardcover)
Just received my pre-ordered copy and cannot put it down. As a 4-15-09, 1st time activist, just call me "Mom!" Michael has our backs and the bullhorn! Reading the "Love Letters from the Left", you will be amazed just how many insults have been thrown at mild mannered, taxpaying, Americans. Michael's cutting wit will have you laughing the fools off. The book captures the arrogance of 2009 and brings you to The People's response- Scott Brown. A must read for anyone who feels insulted or unheard and wants a good laugh. It is an educational book (common sense 101) for politicians or those who have spent too much time with MSNBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title captures it perfectly, March 28, 2010
By 
MD (Massachussets) - See all my reviews
This review is from: That's No Angry Mob, That's My Mom: Team Obama's Assault on Tea-Party, Talk-Radio Americans (Hardcover)
The Left cannot stand how ordinary non-ivy league educated people can think for themselves and protest the policies of the government in a peaceful manner. Should they not get paid attendees to carry predesignd signs, run amock, damage property, threaten violence, silence opponents like the lefties do?

No, so what the left can do is brand them as an angry, racist, violent mob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humourous--Yet Sobering (Is That Possible?), July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: That's No Angry Mob, That's My Mom: Team Obama's Assault on Tea-Party, Talk-Radio Americans (Hardcover)
I think I would love Michael Graham's mom. We are just a couple of women who want what is best for our families, our communities, and our country. We know how to take care of things and don't need a nanny government to tell us how. That's why liberals hate us.

Graham explains why the left hates his mom--and me--and anyone else who isn't blindly dependent and following the mass media and the politicians promising "free stuff." His writing style is factual, but with smart humor that helps the reader keep hope alive even in the midst of dark days for freedom-loving citizens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is Anybody Listening?, July 27, 2010
By 
This review is from: That's No Angry Mob, That's My Mom: Team Obama's Assault on Tea-Party, Talk-Radio Americans (Hardcover)
In the interest of full disclosure, and before I begin discussing "That's No Angry Mob, That's My Mom," I want to acknowledge that I am the veteran of two Houston tea-parties. I attended the first event out of curiosity, the second out of hope that someone in government might actually listen to what was said there. Of course, no one did.

Let's face it. Politicians think citizens pay so little attention to what happens in our national and state capitols that they will believe anything a government spokesman tells them. These same "representatives of the people" believe, often correctly, that a little bit of spin will cover even the dumbest legislation, most vile criminal acts, and worst wastes of taxpayer money imaginable. But, at some point, politicians are no longer able to baffle the public with BS - and that is when things get ugly. When character assassination of its critics becomes the government's weapon of choice in political debate, a tipping point has been reached.

Radio talk-show host Michael Graham has organized tea-parties in the Boston area, events attended by his mother, among others. Graham sees who attends the tea-parties ("retirees, military vets, small business owners, and suburban families"), has read the hundreds of handheld signs, and has experienced the tea-party atmosphere first hand. What he describes in "That's No Angry Mob" is almost exactly what I observed for myself in Houston: a gathering in large numbers of citizens concerned that the country is being relentlessly driven toward bankruptcy and that the future of their children and grandchildren is in jeopardy.

The government's response to all this citizen concern has been to label every single attendee of a tea-party event as a racist and/or a domestic terrorist. Even the Speaker of the House, tear in her eye and tremor in her voice, hints that she fears a deranged assassin or two will be motivated by what he or she hears at a tea-party. And, of course, the national media share the Speaker's concerns, as well as her lack of subtlety and self-awareness.

"That's No Angry Mob, That's My Mom" offers little new information to those who have paid attention to recent current events. It does, however, offer a nice recap of the absurdity of the government's response to the threat it feels from citizens (many of them elderly) wanting to ask questions of those who should have their best interests in mind. Graham, who is also a former stand-up comic, has a keen ear for comic timing and uses comedic one-liners throughout the book to keep it relatively light despite the intensity of the hatred directed at him (and all tea-party attendees and talk-radio listeners) by those so determined to minimize them by destroying their reputations.

Despite the way Graham uses humor in discussing the very personal attack on Americans who dare openly disagree with the administration's policies, he makes serious, and distressing, points like this one: "And the liberals who suspect (and some who openly proclaim) that most Americans are selfish, bigoted dolts, have amplified that message. They divided America into two groups: people who support Obama and his policies on the one hand, and racist holdouts on the other." To many tea-partiers this is the most distressing thing of all about today's politics. Never in recent memory has the race card so often been pulled from the bottom of the deck to shut down legitimate public dissent. Is this what we have come to?

Rated at: 3.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST read for all LIBERALS (Wake Up), March 27, 2010
This review is from: That's No Angry Mob, That's My Mom: Team Obama's Assault on Tea-Party, Talk-Radio Americans (Hardcover)
Michael is my favorite host on WTTK and I enjoy his columns in the Herald. Combining his humor and befuddling the loony left with those nasty things called facts, his show is entertaining and provides a bit of sanity in these crazy times. Unfortunately, in his current time slot I can only catch him for a few minutes when I occasionally dash out for lunch from WORK (usually I 'bring', can't afford going out every day). This book, using his Mom as the 'protagonist', is written in the same vein. A spot-on, enjoyable (quick) read. Michael illustrates numerous examples of lack of personal responsability on steroids, the agenda of the current administration and much more. This is all presented for the most part without denegrating the libs, simply by laying out facts. BTW Michael - being fiscally conservative (i.e. currently bent over) I refused to pay list price, I paid 1/2 of that, hopefully it didn't effect your commission ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 96.9 Boston Talks Insider Reviews, March 22, 2010
By 
This review is from: That's No Angry Mob, That's My Mom: Team Obama's Assault on Tea-Party, Talk-Radio Americans (Hardcover)
Five 96.9 Boston Talks Insider Members were allowed to preview the book and below are thier "unedited" thoughts on the book!

Michael's new book offers a hilarious and stirring look at how the elite Left is not just mocking but barreling over normal, concerned conservatives who dare to speak up against ludicrous government policies and out of control spending. For readers who don't spend hours reading or listening to mainstream media, this book is a great compilation of snippets in which talk radio listeners and tea party attendees are thoroughly trashed for having the audacity to ask for government accountability. The device of using Mom as the typical concerned conservative is brilliant; the hard working, fair minded, and yes, intelligent, people who are causing this wave of involvement are normal people who have been pushed to the limit by ever higher taxation and the complete disregard for the working of Economics. If you love Michael's sense of humor and unapologetic jabs at the lunacy of the Left, you'll love this book. He so clearly points out the "Alice in Wonderland" kind of craziness that we've been dumped into, where Obama's change equates to rewarding maximum debt, no savings, and penalizing hard work. Despite the insults from the Left-leaning media, Americans are flocking to tea parties and talk radio precisely because normal people do want to be able to work hard and enjoy the fruits of that labor. Some of Michael's examples of the Administration's completely demeaning views of us voters just left me saying "Wow, really?" This book has my kids discussing it and my husband trying to read over my shoulder. I expect it to be a well-worn copy very shortly!

Fiona from Pepperell, MA

________________________________________________________________

I thoroughly enjoyed reading every word of Michael Graham's book, "That's No Angry Mob, That's My Mom." It's a hilarious, but truthful look at the state of politics today. A must read for any normal everyday person who just wants to be left alone to run his or her own life. Using his Mom, as a metaphor for all of us normal everyday working people, Michael slams us with the facts about how the media and the government treat us and feel about us... It's hard to argue with the facts, especially when they are backed up with memorable quotes from the very same people who are trying to put us down.
He takes a straight forward, and funny yet truthful look at the media and our government, with straight up facts to support every argument, using just the right amount of humor so if you weren't laughing so hard you would be crying. He also points out how many accusations and policies of the government and the media are not at all based in fact, but in feeling. Michael has a way of stating the facts in such a humorous way, that you just can't put the book down.
Any person, who is skeptical about how our government is being run these days, must read this book. From the media all the way to the presidency, it's a straight forward look at politics today in a humorous light.

Jodi from Northboro, MA

________________________________________________________________

As a regular listener of The Natural Truth, Michael Graham always makes me gasp, think, and laugh and this book was no exception. That's No Angry Mob, That's My Mom will make you laugh out loud and boil your blood at the same time. If you are feeling as if you just don't get it, every time you turn on the evening news and you are sick of being called a racist, an evil-monger, and stupid, you are not alone. Already fearful of the liberals and what they have the power to accomplish, I was relieved to know someone is leading the battle of defeating Obama and his agenda.

Michael will help you weed out the truth from the many news media outlets that can't seem to keep their opinions to themselves and just report the news. Readers will say to themselves over and over again "I feel the same way" throughout every chapter. He fights against the looney lefties with actual quotes that seem so unbelievable they can't be true.....but sadly they are. As a regular American citizen I was extremely angry when I heard the insults and the demeaning statements from the "mainstream media" and our federal government and it's great to know there are folks out there ready to stand up for what they believe in.

The Maestro of Boston talk radio has stepped up to the plate in the face of controversy. With humor and a unique way of deciphering the rhetoric spewing from the left, Michael will inspire you to join the Tea Party Movement and get involved to take back our freedom.

O-bot -noun
1. An American citizen mesmerized by the "Smartest President Ever".

Christine from Litchfield, NH

________________________________________________________________

Michael Graham has done it again. His insights into the Tea Party Movement and politics in general really shine through in this book.

He is a master at his art. From taking on the "O-Bots", to big government, to healthcare, to immigration and the administration, he absolutely has it nailed.

This book is very entertaining, and informative. I would call it a must read for anybody who has an interest in the politics of the day, or for our friends on the other side.

It made me laugh; it probably made his mother cry. But it is a fantastic read nonetheless, and I would highly recommend it.

Christopher from W. Bridgewater, MA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, June 1, 2014
By 
Phillip "pld7" (Roseville, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was so funny it was hard to put it down and hope you did not laugh so hard you annoyed the neighbor next door
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not What I Expected. At All, January 2, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Decades after the fact, I sometimes still think about an old college friend. While I concerned myself with the issues that mattered - like how to pass a class I never attended, and which frat house would have the best weekend party - she was latching on to every activist (read: Liberal) group within driving distance of our dorm.

The moment I best remember, the one which pretty much defined her character for me, was when she teed off on me in a 20-minute rant - a diatribe about religion that closed with the line, "Some behaviors are so @#!@#! offensive, they *need* to be illegal!"

I just stared at her. I was at a complete loss for words, because I had no idea how to respond to something so absurd. And dangerous.

As the years have gone by, I've often felt that same shocky paralysis in the face of the rage - and the resulting absurdities - of political zealots (within any group). When I decided to read "That's No Angry Mob", I was expecting a fun read, one that would soundly tweak those types while entertaining me. And Michael Graham certainly doesn't disappoint: This is a fun book, filled with Graham's quick wit and irreverent attitude.

What I didn't expect were the searing insights into the attitudes and beliefs of those who seek not only to control, but to eliminate all dissension. For example, in describing "normal folks", Graham says: "... they don't view politics as an all-encompassing struggle. They don't need 'the fight' to give meaning to their existence - they already have a life."

That one had me thinking for a while - a long while - and it's just one of the many insights that I'll take with me from this book. I'm pretty sure that the next time I'm confronted with a political purist of any kind, I won't be struggling with paralysis: I'll be trying not to laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

That's No Angry Mob, That's My Mom: Team Obama's Assault on Tea-Party, Talk-Radio Americans
$27.95 $20.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.