Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally WACK (this album sucks), October 25, 2005
By 
This review is from: That's Them (Audio CD)
Got your attention there didnt I HA HA. This is one of the greatest Hiphop releases of the 90s if not one of the greatest of all time. El Da Sensei and Tame One Drop some ill Metaphors while Lord Finesse and a host of other veteran producers hook up the beats. I love how the funky beats change right in the middle of the song this adds alot of variety to the tracks and keeps you coming back for more. The dope arangements are put together so masterfully on this CD that I have been listening to this album litterally for months And each time I listen I hear something new. The beats are some of the dopest you will ever hear and this is one of the few albums I have heard that could stand on beats alone with no lyrics. after listening to four mediocre Hiphop albums this was a nice suprise. El da sensei and Tame One are truly great Lyricysts their metaphors are not the best in the world but they are better thatn 98% of the rappers that attempt the classic CANIBUS metaphor formula. If you do not own this album seriously WHY ARE YOU STILL READING THIS click on the buy button and get everything that these guys ever put out. You will not be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hip hop how it should be..., February 23, 2006
This review is from: That's Them (Audio CD)
This is the follow up to the 1994 album Between a Rock and a Hard Place. That was a classic album and so this LP had a lot to live up to. But it succeeds by bringing that classic hip hop style while making the transition in to an era that was dominated by everything "gangsta". El Da Sensei and Tame One come from a true hip hop background as they are both graf artists originally and they manage to keep that element running throughout their music. I never really understood why this album got so overlooked when it was released, as it had all the things you need for a classic, including tight production from Shawn J and Lord Finesse, as well as El and Tame's lyrical skills. If you've heard the 1st album, this won't disappoint and if you've never heard the Artifacts before, this is an excellent place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringin' Lyrics To Ya Chest, July 18, 2005
By 
This review is from: That's Them (Audio CD)
Another classic. I like their debut slightly more, but not by much. El da Sensei & Tame One (Redman's Cousin) keep the same formula from the first album - completely rip the mic over unique, dirty beats. In many Hip-Hop arguments I often have, I constantly name Artifacts as being ideal Hip-Hop. They have charisma, mic presense, great beats, originality, dope flows and most importantly, meaningful and intelligent lyrics. Both their albums belong in every serious Hip-Hop collection.

The only real difference between "That's Them" & "Between a Rock..." is "That's Them" sounds more updated and the beats are more serious and less wacky. But neither of those things affects the quality of the music at all.

The production is stellar and handled by all-star, beat-masters:
Shawn J-Period (Black Star, Bush Babees, Mad Skillz), Lord Finesse (D.I.T.C.), 2/3's of Tha Beatminerz - Mr. Walt & Baby Paul (Boot Camp Clik), V.I.C. (The Beatnuts) & Showbiz (Show & A.G., D.I.T.C.). The only guest spots belong to the two lords, Lord Finesse & Lord Jamar on the lovely posse-cut, "Collaboration of Mics."

Bottom Line: This is an amazing album from start to finish, no skipping needed. This album should be owned by every Hip-Hop fan, no excuses. A 5 star classic, Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!, February 5, 2002
By 
Slappy McCracken (Amsterdam, Holland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: That's Them (Audio CD)
This is true hip-hop, no compromises. If you're dig that raw "underground" sound, don't miss this one, and also cop "Between a Rock & a Hard Place". Artifacts have great lyrics, their technique is above average to say the least, and they got nothing but the dopest beats. I think they should get some more credit cuz i've only seen one video, once or twice (The Ultimate) and most people haven't even heard of 'em.
This is a great album, and anyone who likes hip-hop should cop this one. I can't even list my favorites, just play it from start to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's them......that's perfection!!!!!!, November 12, 2003
This review is from: That's Them (Audio CD)
There isnt a bigger compliment i can pay other than to say it was a damn shame these 2 cats didnt get what their talent clearly deserves.......multi platinum status+globel recognition.
From start to finish this is nothing short of a masterpiece. The beats and rhymes at a level most artists in hiphop today or previous will never reach. The 2 mc's flows are fast, witty, honest, hard edged, skilled and basically perfect. The beats are absolutely rockin'. The dj (KAOS) is off the meat-rack, his cuts and slices are awesome, and they bless EVERY track. Its basically "2 turntables and a microphone" time baby!!!! All the tracks are excellent but my stand out joints are "art of facts", "31 bumrush", "to ya chest", "the ultimate", "its gettin'hot", "the interview", "this is the way", "who's this?" and the showbiz remix of "the ultimate" at the end. Off the hook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As close to perfection as your going to get., January 16, 2005
This review is from: That's Them (Audio CD)
Damn, this stuff is tight. No tracks worth skipping at all. All great songs. Man, El da Sensei seriously has to be in the top ten as the best one of the best MC's ever. Tame One, another top notch mc with great skills. It's weird the direction both took after the Artifacts days, still underground, but in the different circles, but man, these were the days when the two traded mics and riped all the wack mc's and all the fake cats apart. Buy this. Great beats, great lyrics, djing, all I can say is wow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need this, November 7, 2006
By 
This review is from: That's Them (Audio CD)
This is one of the only CDs worthy of a 5 out of 5 in hip hop. The beats, lyrics, and production are all outstanding. Classic New Jeruz album. All you need to do is take a listen to the samples above. I know it sounds bandwagon, but I think Illmatic is the best album ever, but other than that I would say this is definitely worthy of being in the top 10. "That's Them", Royal Flush "Ghetto Millionare" and Mic Geronimo "The Natural" are probably three of the most overlooked albums in hip hop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dont sleep, October 1, 2003
By 
"STEVE" (ontario, ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: That's Them (Audio CD)
yo if you want a real hip hop album, this is it!! yo this album leaves off where the first album left off and damn its hott...everytrack is on point and lyrically tame-one and el tha sensai is always on point and together their honestly dope!!! mos def this album is a classic no doubt you will like this album and if you get this one defiantly get your hands on their first album "wrong side of the tracks"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Straight Fire, March 2, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: That's Them (Audio CD)
The Artifact's second album, 1997's That's Them is nothing short of fire. In fact, with the better production here, I find myself enjoying listening to this one more than their 1994 Between a Rock and a Hard Place. They bring a lotta heat with this one. Tame One and El Da Sensei both have a rich chemistry on the mic, and both combine for a great, entertaining listen. This, and the hot beats make for some ill boom bap straight out of New Jersey. The album opens with a brief dj cut produced by Rob "Beef" Tewlow, and scratches by DJ Kaos. The beat has a deep bass, and Kaos cuts up the beat nicely. Kaos does more scratching throughout the rest of the album. Production credits go to a lot of different names, but a few include Ken "Duro" Ifill, Buckwild, Lord Finesse, and a remix by Showbiz. My choice cut here is Showbiz' remix for "The Ultimate." Showbiz's beat is slammin,' as is the beat to the original. The beat is dramatic and laced with as hard bassline, and menacing drums. That joint along with the original is, and many other songs here are fierce flowing battle raps and full of braggadocio definitely merited. Remember, these guys have skills, and also consider that the "jiggy era" was in full effect. That's Them is a refreshing alternative to all that stuff. I totally dig the "Collaboration of Mics" with Lord Finesse and Brand Nubian's Lord Jamar. The beat is raw and unadulterated boom bap, not glossy and shiny as many joints were in 1997. They trade vicious flows and stomp out the competition. "Ingredients to Time Travel" with a somewhat abstract type beat, which provides a cool atmosphere, and it sounds like doo wop horns or something of the like in the background. They represent again who reigns supreme in real hip-hop. They revisit the 1994 "Wrong Side of the Tracks," with a sequel: "Return to the Wrongside." I like the beat to this one better; it is smooth and sophisticated, although I liked the funkiness of the 1994 one too. That's Them definitely represents what I love about true hip hop, great beats, good chemistry on the mic and between producer and emcee. This is an ill album that flew under the radar, although "The Ultimate" did appear on a 1996 soundtrack High School High. This album will pump you up, and definitely sounds hot in the whip. Between a Rock and a Hard Place is also definitely a must have for hip hop purists and fans alike. Heads that are bored with hip hop now who had never heard this one will be restimulated and reenergized by this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "The Rap Game Is Gettin' Hot, Consumers On Their Knees" (Rating: 9 out of 10- -4.5 stars), September 9, 2008
By 
Chandler "Infamous" (Atlanta (College Park), Georgia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: That's Them (Audio CD)
What do you get when you take The Artifacts' first album, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and bring it over to 1997? You get this album, That's Them. The throw in some top notch producers from the 90's such as Shawn J. Period, The Beatminers, etc. The album is very much on point, as Tame One and El Da Sensai drops heat behind the microphone. Their metaphors have gotten better as well (especially Tame One's). They even brought along DJ Kaos to place some scratches along the album. Check out the album's intro "Art Of Scratch" on how good he is.

As for the album itself, expect a good amount of standout tracks here. Beginning with the second track "Art Of Facts". Another great standout is "Where Yo Skillz At?", where the duo shows their skills at a high point. Lord Finesse and Lord Jamar comes in for the posse cut "Collaboration Of Mics". Next is "The Ultimate" which is nice, but I prefer the remix at the end of the album. My favorite is "It's Gettin' Hot". The beat by Mr. Walt and Evil Dee is top notch, and Tame and El put it to good use. Further on into the album is "The Interview" with a nice mellow beat by V.I.C., with some hot lyrics and punchlines, especially with Tame One ("Keep my family F'ed up like The Jacksons"...just to name one). Closer to the end, you have the follow up to one of their hit songs "Return To The Wrongside". The album ends off with "Who's This?" and "The Ultimate (Showbiz Remix)".

If you enjoyed their first album, I'm almost sure you'll like this one. My recommendation would be to hear that one before hearing this one, so you can follow how much they've updated their flow and their style of beats. Unfortunately this would be their second and final album together, as the crew would break up into solo careers (and doesn't look like its going to be a reunion anytime soon). This one is for you hip hop lovers. Check it out. Peace.

Lyrics: A
Production: A
Guest Appearances: A-
Musical Vibes: A

Top 5 Tracks:
1. It's Gettin' Hot
2. Art Of Facts
3. Return To The Wrongside
4. The Ultimate (Showbiz Remix)
5. The Interview

Update: I see Big Beat/Atlantic Records has this out of print now, which I think is very stupid of them (they'll suffer the same fate as their partner label Elektra). Grab this ASAP before the price skyrockets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

That's Them [Explicit]
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.