Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: That's What Leprechauns Do
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars65
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 20, 2008
This charming picture book for young readers is sure to delight any child with its comical story line and whimsical watercolor drawings.
Everyone knows that leprechauns hoard gold and their main function, besides being shoemakers to the fairies, is to hide their pots of gold from the grasping hands of humans who would take it from them if they could. The trick is to put it at the ends of rainbows where it is safe since no human has ever found the end of a rainbow. It's not that the dear fellows don't want people to find the gold, but they are very selective about the kind of person who finds it. It must be someone with a "bit of luck and a bit of imagination."
While protecting pots of gold is their job, the leprechauns can't stay focused on it when there is so much mischief to be done on the way, mischief they can't resist because, it's just what leprechauns do, don't you know? They are what they are and it can't be helped.
Ari, Boo and Col, the three engaging leprechauns in the story, do eventually get to their job-site at rainbow's end, but the distractions that threaten to make them late are really the main delight of the book. From polishing the cow's hooves red to tying the legs of long underwear, drying on the hedge, into a knot, to putting a tennis ball under a farmer's hen just to make him wonder, children will be kept laughing while being thoroughly engaged in the hilarious illustrations.
This is a must have for any young child's library.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2012
I wanted to get a fun, illustrated book to teach my children about St. Patrick's Day and Leprechauns. I would recommend getting a different book. This book was just okay. Reading the book's description, I thought it would be a lot cuter of a story, but it is hurried and scattered and even my young children felt like the story was missing too many details. It almost has the feel of reading a condensed version of a book.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2013
My husband is from Ireland. My sons kindergarten teacher asked my husband to come to school and be the Secret Reader. He brought this book to read to the class. The children had all built their Leprechaun traps and he read this book to the children the day the project was due- They LOVED it!! It is a cute little story - I gave it 4 stars because as an adult the story seemed a little unfinished to me - but kids don't care! If you buy this - I'm sure your kids will love it! It shows just how sneaky those little leprechauns can be! ;)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Even though St Patrick's Day has passed, I thought this would be a fun read with my preschooler, and it was! Three mischievous leprechauns see a storm coming, and anticipating a rainbow, proceed to the spot where they've buried the pot of gold [their job is to place said pot of gold at the end of the rainbow to be found by someone deemed worthy].

Of course, being leprechauns, Art, Boo and Col cannot resist getting sidetracked along the way - playing pranks on unsuspecting villagers [placing a tennis ball under an obliging hen to be discovered by it's owner etc]. Their shenanigans are comical and I loved the use of words and illustrations to convey the leprechauns' antics.

This is a fun book that may not only be appreciated on St Patrick's Day, but any day throughout the year, especially for little lovers of folk tales!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2010
Pros: It's a holiday book (not religious at all) about the essence of leprechauns, which is making mischief and having a pot of gold at the end of a rainbow. In this way, it's great for kids who aren't all that familiar with what leprechauns are. There's a story with a beginning, middle and end, and clearly defined characters. There's just a touch of "Irish speech/language" in this book, which provides a great talking point about the differences between cultures in this area. The illustrations are beautiful.

Cons: I work in special education, so I was conscious of the fact that there was a lot of text on each page. I didn't dare try it with kids under 2nd grade (special ed.).
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2010
I LOVED this book. I read it to my grandchildren when I did a "Nana's Leprechaun Camp". The illustrations are great and the story is delightful. It got my grandchildren excited about leprechauns and and the harmless mischief they can cause. Both the story and the illustrations kept their attention.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2013
This is such a cute book about leprechauns. It give a background about leprechauns, that is it points out that leprechauns are mischievous. In the story the leprechauns are in a hurry to hide their pot of gold at the end of the rainbow on their way they play a few pranks on the humans like hiding a jacket. The book is a little wordy so kids younger than three may have a hard time staying focused.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2006
Three leprechauns have an important job: they must dig up the pot of gold before the rainbow comes to expose their hiding place - but on the way they can't resist some mischief involving farm animals, putting the pot of gold in danger. A fun story of animal encounters and lessons learned evolves.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2014
This jovial tale of three leprechaun friends shares tells the story of how the gold is placed at the end of the rainbow and demonstrates how mischief making these little guys can be along the way.

It's a book that would need to be read aloud to children Pre-K through the first grade, but could be easily tackled by your second grade readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2014
This book is exceptionally cute. The artwork is beautiful, and one gets a glimpse of Ireland throughout the book. Having visited the green Isle, I love sharing the cultural / fanciful history with children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.