Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful; gets better every year
I've bought every edition of this book since 2003. With the new authors the methodology has changed somewhat from the way Slatter used to put it together, but this book series continues to be one of the most useful reference pieces in my library. You can think of what they've done here as sort of an abridged earnings guide to the S&P 500, except that 400 of the companies...
Published on November 18, 2012 by Matthew Waterman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outdated info but useful as a "to do" checklist
The 100 best investment recommendations made by the author are based on actual data compiled and available as of April 1, 2012. Much too unreliable as a source of information for investing now. More than a few of the companies are rated currently as "sell" "avoid" or at best "hold". However, the first 69 pages constitute a well written...
Published on January 28, 2013 by The Max


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful; gets better every year, November 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 100 Best Stocks to Buy in 2013 (Paperback)
I've bought every edition of this book since 2003. With the new authors the methodology has changed somewhat from the way Slatter used to put it together, but this book series continues to be one of the most useful reference pieces in my library. You can think of what they've done here as sort of an abridged earnings guide to the S&P 500, except that 400 of the companies that kinda suck have been removed.

It's very easy to find the information I'm after with this book. The authors spend time with the "qualitative" aspects of each company as well, but I have always found a lot of use in the 10 year track records of compound earnings and dividends growth. And Peter and Scott are wise enough to ask themselves (And their readers) each year what they could be doing better. So guys, you said you wanted our opinion this year, and what I have to say is just keep doing what you're doing because I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outdated info but useful as a "to do" checklist, January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 100 Best Stocks to Buy in 2013 (Paperback)
The 100 best investment recommendations made by the author are based on actual data compiled and available as of April 1, 2012. Much too unreliable as a source of information for investing now. More than a few of the companies are rated currently as "sell" "avoid" or at best "hold". However, the first 69 pages constitute a well written overview of what to look for in selecting a common stock. Also, the 100 Best company descriptions are helpful especially in describing lesser known corporate entities an investor might overlook such as Fair Isaac, Molex, Total SA, Paychex, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good source, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 100 Best Stocks to Buy in 2013 (Paperback)
The '100 Best Stocks to Buy In 2013' is a very good starting place to identify many of the best high quality companies. It is an improvement over previous editions, based upon the writers additional experience. I have read and own several previous editions. Well worth the money, and good reference source to keep and refer to repeatedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Worth the Purchase, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 100 Best Stocks to Buy in 2013 (Paperback)
Almost none of the stocks are in the tech business. Since this is where the world is headed that way very disappointing. Also, they told us that there 2012 stock picks hardly made any money. So, why should I pay any attention to their 2013 picks. I did get a lot of information about each stock, so that was worth something. But I am not taking any of their advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Worthwhile Book, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 100 Best Stocks to Buy in 2013 (Paperback)
A Useful Guide to Stocks Worth Considering.

This is the latest in a series for th practical investor looking for a quick look at stocks worth investigating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Numbers are not accurate., April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 100 Best Stocks to Buy in 2013 (Paperback)
I've bought the past 3 editions of this book, and I have to say, I enjoyed them at first. After diving in deeper and doing my own research, I can't help but notice they constantly report inaccurate stock prices for most of their buys. For example, Coca Cola and ConocoPhilips are way off the mark with stock price. The past 3 books they have consistantly listed coke (KO) at around 70, while this stock has never been in the 50 per share in the past 10 years plus of history. The same goes with ConocoPhilips (COP). The prices they report are much greater then the actual prices.

The prices are based on April first of the past year. More specifically this 2013 version is based off of information going from April 1, 2011 to April 1, 2012. They specifically state the price of KO was 67.46 on April 1, 2011 and 71.94 on April 1 2012. If you research these dates you will find that April 1 2011 was 33.61, on April 1, 2012 was 37.00. A huge difference in percentage gain as well on the price. They report the price gained 6.6 percent, in actuallity, KO gained 10 percent.

Bottom line is outdated information by the time the book is released in late November as well as major inaccuracies in reporting the information. This book becomes irrelevant because they are presenting you with stocks based off of false numbers. With all this information, no one should buy this series until they revise all the numbers. The book has become untrustworthy in my collection. Thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sequel to last year's book, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is well written and contains not just a list of stocks but a discussion of the reasons for choosing them. It's not an easy road to riches because not every stock will do well. But it contains a very worthwhile assessment of the companies they cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Novice of buying stocks, April 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So far this book is informative and since I have been watching the NY Stock Exchange lately, this has been a great time to purchase a few shares of stock. I do enjoy the insight and what to look for when looking at the NYSE and deciding what stocks to buy. I am a novice so I am careful into understanding and learning how to buy stock..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The 100 Best STocks to Buy in 2013, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I won't buy it again as it is not worth it. The data is too far out of date to be helpful. As an investor, it is better to read Investor's Business Daily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The 100 Best Stocks to Buy in 2013
The 100 Best Stocks to Buy in 2013 by Peter J. Sander (Paperback - November 18, 2012)
$15.95 $13.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.