Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The 100 Greatest Advertisements 1852-1958: Who Wrote Them and What They Did
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 29, 2004
While some of the ads in "The 100 Greatest Advertisements" may seem outdated - there are many others that one can learn from. Copywriters such as - Claude Hopkins, John Caples, Raymond Rubicam, David Ogilvy, and many others - have shown that most of the great ads were written back then. Some people may believe that today's advertisements are better then they were back then. Not so. Direct response copywriters know that yesterday's copywriters are the one's to learn from. As a former ad agency owner and master copywriter - I keep these ads as part of my "swipe file." So can you.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2012
This book contains ads written by some of the best marketing minds of all time, such as Hopkins, Ogilvy, Caples, and others. While the ads are old, the copywriting is stellar and timeless. This book also contains the stories behind each ad and how they did commercially, which are a fun read if you're into advertising.

This is a great book for swiping ideas and/or copy, or finding inspiration for new ads. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2011
"A customer" calls this thoughtful collection by Watkins "outdated" and of no value to a modern, savvy, cutting edge, tip of the iceberg, with-it, etc, etc, advertising wannabe, regardless of age, shape or fuel. And, that is the essence of what is wrong with what is being produced as advertising copy writers, producers, et. al. today. All huff, no puff.

(Yes, I were one)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
This book would be interesting for visual artists, and students of American culture, as well as advertising writers. People in the entertainment industry will get a great deal out of it, as well, especially stylists and costume designers. The vintage reproductions really give you a sense of what is was like to live and work back in those times. The author also provides a nice description on the facing page of each full page ad, explaining the background for the piece and context in which it was created. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2015
I've read a few reviews that say all of the adds are old... and that should be obvious by the book's title. The point is, these adverts were all successful and there is a reason for that. Media has evolved but human nature... not so much. If you are learning copywriting, marketing, or you own a business... get this and put it on your bookshelf! Better yet... read it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
I teach copywriting and ebook writing. After 50 years of studying the great advertisements it is a pleasure to have them all collected in one book. Thank you. I tell all my students at NZIBS "Get this book. Study every one of the top 100 ads." Brian MorrisHow to write a novel that becomes a best-seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2014
Great resource from the pioneering days of modern advertising. And rather a sociologic treasure - we were so the same and so different back then, us humans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2016
Save your money, this book is as exciting as reading a telephone book. . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
It was what it was supposed to be but to be truthful it was a disappointment...not really very well done or inspiring
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 1999
This book is very outdated; it does however contain the best ads of that period. Could be valuable for researchers or for students, but of no integral value to a practitoner. As soon as I saw the book I felt that I had wasted some money.
33 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse